Photos from the Lagos state Gubernatorial debate today... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 15 January 2015

Photos from the Lagos state Gubernatorial debate today...

Lagos state governorship candidates gathered today at the Archbishop Vining Memorial Church Cathedral, Ikeja Lagos for a debate organized by the Diocese of Lagos West of the Anglican Church. The debate had in attendance 17 governorship candidates of various political parties. The candidates took turns to explain how they plan to improve the state if elected as Governor. More pics after the cut

77 comments:

Steady said...

Frosh!

Mr G said...

Organisation leads to progress. Happy this is being done, I cant wait to see the presidential debate, thats if there is any.

Ofcourse d debate would be same old story.

That man in between Agbaje and Akinwunmi really cracked me up. What a confused and funny man.m

Hmm
Good initiative

well said. ***ECHOMASS***

i dont like anything politician do in church

Unbelievable! ! It is church that organizes debate now... this country is finished

sanky said...

That's the spirit.
Lagos is often a pacesetter.
there's a reason why its the Center of Excellence.

If you are an Abian and you have not yet visited the website below, then you might have yourself to blame.

http://emekaotimbagov.com/

Some of the faces i'm seeing here ehn..lol

#Commentinf thru Glo 4G LTE

Okay, nice thing there was a debate at least people will see the performance of the candidates

@ least I saw my coz Rev Gbenga Oniye there , Egbon no forget us wey dey house oooo cause you'd sure get the envelope both ways .
I hear it's dollars they are sharing , no take holy holy forget to collect oooo , be seeing you later in the day . Your aburo married to omo ibo on the mainland .

That's nice, saying things they crammed and won't remember.... Who was a better liar? who won?

Blue_Belle said...

Nigerian politicians will always say one thing and do something else when they get to the promise land. Let's pray it will be diff this time around

#ItWillAllEndInPraise

godson onyekuru said...

Good for them

Awwww i missed it!

The Sexiest Mother Of This Blog said...

Lovely pics
www.jovialmum.com

Na dem sabi

Tired of same old political debates with no result once elected into office.
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

I hope we all vote wisely.

What has church got to do with politics.....i see no reason why a political debate was held in a church......

This is welcome development to a healthy living n environment n needs to be applauded....

Sugarvie said...

Ok oooo. Na Naija we dey!
***SUGAR***

Seun A. said...

When did churches start getting involved in politics and organizing debates abeg? I tot they were supposed to be neutral! Odiegwu o!

Lmfao.

GR8BABE said...

I pray everything plays out well...

Bokunor said...

4 dem pocket

What a way to start. I love the fact that all the aspirants were available for the debate.

This Ambode just be like Pomo and Amala.

Seriously?Political debate in the church?Lord have mercy!!!

In church???

Hummm...

See politicians standing on d alter of God, the Lord is a merciful God...

Lagos can do senior things & wots with d debate being held in a church lyk environs, abi na church? Linda take note!

I jus don't get it. Whn will it b proper for us to start using our brains and forgetting dogma and routine. A body has to organise it and d church took up d responsibility. I think d church ought to b commended, besides are members of d church frm heaven or frm nigeria?

Didn't see it on the TV!

God help us wit all dis church involvement in politics.

It all good if all christians tak active part in politics which wil b guided wit our prayers and intervention frm God.

Thumbs up to d Anglican church for this noble initiative.

God help us wit all dis church involvement in politics.

It all good if all christians tak active part in politics which wil b guided wit our prayers and intervention frm God.

Thumbs up to d Anglican church for this noble initiative.

bluemagic said...

Ndi ara,cn ds election be over alrdy..

gab2shoes said...

@femi fex, why d hate? Arise above it.

God help this land and nation...
The gods are wise...
Gab2shoessaysso

felicious said...

Very good indeed. The church is waking up politically.
Guys, Do you want a 'serious' relationship? Try 
BV HookUps

Brethren,
This is a desperate and urgent call from the throne of Grace that the brethren in Christ are about to make the greatest error of their lives by selling off their kingly heritage for a mess of pottage called "change". Change into what? Change into what happened to Egypt , Sudan, Lybia, Algeria and Turkey which were once flourishing Christian countries but because the brethren there also sold their souls on the premise of "it does not matter" they became the last set of Christians in those countries! Remember Turkey! It was the beautiful Christian country called Constantinople! Today it is history! The foundation of the planned islamisation of Nigeria was taken in 1989 in Abuja by OIC. Since then they have not looked back! Our Government gave them a contribution of 21 billion dollars then! Wonder then where the funding of boko Haram is coming from? They have painfully now infiltrated one of the biggest denominations in Nigeria and offered one of their best Pastors -a Professor,a Vice presidential Slot! Now a larger community of that denomination now promotes this "change"! They did it in Constantinople ! Remember brethren, that the biggest denomination of Christians in the North - the EYN has been wiped off! All their churches burnt. You may say that it is the North it can't get here! They said the same thing in Sudan, Libya, Algeria and Constantinople! How come the brethren have become so dulled in the Spirit that they no longer are sensitive?
We may be the last Christians in Nigeria if this grave error the brethren is about to commit is not averted! Our Lord Jesus is greatly miffed by our irresponsibility as His Followers! How come we no longer hear Him! The Great shepherd of the Sheep! How come that Christians have forgotten that this country was made ungovernable by these same people and Christians are holding the wrong person responsible? How come? The signs of the eventual Islamization of Nigeria are awash in the 1999 constitution where Islam, Sharia are mentioned more than 100 times.! Not a single mention of Christ or Christianity! You say it does not matter. Now, mark it you cannot amend the constitution without a bitter progrom!
Brethren, the night is here! We must contend for the faith and our heritage which was handed once and for all to us by our maker!
Don't relent, sound this trumpet by forwarding same to all your contacts! We will not be the last Christians in Nigeria! Amen.

Congratulations Anglican Church. Nice initiative. The ball is now in our cot

CHURCH can no longer keep silent again let's stop complaining and make Nigeria work. That's the spirit

Why can't dis be replicated in the presidential level. Be dat as it may we dnt jst need big big talk but action.

Order for your beautiful designers Bedspread @78AEFD3B .Delivery available Nationwide.

Spirit of sportsmanship.

Ademola Owolabi said...

Ambode even looks older and tired while Agbaje is fresh and vibrant. JK = OK

Seen.

I will llike the media to rebroadcast it again cause working people can't actually watch it live because of work. Or linda should add the video on her site thanks.

May the best man win

Biased people. How would a political debate be held in a church? Is it that all the candidates are Christians? Later, they would say they want to islamise the nation. What is the meaning of this? After all, everybody is saying Nigeria is a secular state.

I SAW SOME APC PAID AGENTS REMOVING POSTERS OF GEJ AND REPLACING WITH PA BUHARI.
THIS IS NOT FAIR, THEY SHOULD ALLOW THE PEOPLE TO DECIDE WHO THEY WANT TO VOTE IN

why take the debate to church??..... dem no know road to court ni?? jk vs ambode 2015!!

JIMMY AGBAJE,MY MAN ALL THE WAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY..AKA...JIMMY GBAJSON

Why would a debate take place in the house of God for Christ sake?

Wow.. I was there live and i can tell u that Ambode is a big olodo! He isnt really smart! The people that are really smart are Jimi Agbaje, LP rep and mega party rep. Its just that we all know that Lp amd mega party are going nowhere. the real competiton is between Jimi & Ambode(simply bcos of his party). Pls lets all vote with our conscience and not for party! Also those of u asking why the church is getting involved- I too asked the same question ooh! But come to think of it, it was a very free and fair debate. Very open. Besides it would have been different if the church had just campaigned for one person! No-one organizes debates in Nigeria, so i dont think it is out of order for the church to organize one! It was really interesting! I cannot forget was the Bishop of Lagos West said during his address, he said that God will hold them(aspirants) accountable if they make promises in Church which they dont plan to do when they get elected!

Debate is ok. It would allow us to listen to what and what they have to offer.

Chidinma Grace said...

Hmmmmmm nigeria politricks I wonder. Why do we always over do things we learnt?

love the idea of having a debate, really do but I don't like that its a church that organised it, and since when did we have 17 political parties? had no idea!

I know u will not post my comment miss linda, I don't belong to any party but I want the will of God to be done in Nigeria.

Make d brainiest man win

Lagos is miles ahead of other states

See dem lying in Gods temple!! Besides y did dey choose a church 4d debate?? Would it make dem more sincere. Nahhhhhh

Jimin is looking frail... he should go and take care of his old sef jare, let APC DO THEIR THING...

Engee via Techno

missboss said...

I wish dem luck. Sipsmyamarulacream#

This is really good. It looks very organized. It is debates like this we need so that the right candidate can be voted into office. Hopefully other candidates follow.

Hmmmmm

At miss ngozi itodo yo brain really seem like yo name dou! It ain't fucking abt party! It about the brain! So base yo contribution on sensible things! Abi APC don give yo family rice and spaghetti as usual? Lmao

Seun Oke said...

I wonder why people here complained and found it odd that a debate took place in a church building. It is a building with chairs to for human beings to seat for programmes! Or is a debate devilish?

The Church is an institution, why cant is organise a debate? Are members of the church not human beings and Nigerians? I thought there is freedom of association for all citizens

Moreover, it is a matter of choice, the candidates did not have to honour the invitations. They only seized an opportunity to improve their chances of being elected. And any institution has the freedom to do the same!

I wish Agbaje luck in the election ,and I pray he triumphs over the evil ones running Lagos like and Animal Farm.I am sure that with the dignity he has shown in these debates we will soon be freed from those who believe that Lagos is their personal property