Makoko: The Untold Story | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 16 January 2015

Makoko: The Untold Story

We have all heard stories about Makoko, the popular community under 3rd mainland bridge in Lagos, Nigeria. This short film by budding Film maker, Olajuwon Williams, shows us a side of Makoko that has never been explored before. After watching this video, you may begin to re-think your definition of happiness. Its good to want more, but more won’t necessarily make you happier.  l

For Production, Photography and to view some of Juwon’s works check out:
INSTAGRAM: @oh__shoot {two underscores}

To see the full video please click here: 

82 comments:

A good one

#SPEECHLESS
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Linda u shd watch this film......n encourage our actresses too...dont forget to call Tiwa wen u watch
#if u like dont posr my comment

Na wa o! It is well cos Baba God is on d throne. Linda take note!

K

CHERRY said...

Okay don't know abt it tho!

Hmmmmmmmm love fish but d idea of staying inside water, nahhhh

Interesting...

Linda where are d political ads now shio...just 1 since Monday.

Sad!!!

Wow!

That new series..."Blackish" love it so much....its all bout Black American comic lifestyle.....you guys will love it
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Tor!

Will watch it later

Bravoo

Thank God i know how to say "THANK YOU GOD" everyday. This is another life entirely

emperor! said...

wow...

Happiness is a tin of d mind

emperor! said...

this is cray mehn,,,..

mccoy said...

Yes money cant buy u happiness BUT neither would poverty!

will try to watch it!

Ok.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Wow. What a settlement. Makoko looks like some of my ijaw villages. Love d place. The people look so happy & there is peaceful co-existence. It's just that there is no electricity, Bt its cool & ok.

@Sophia Stephen

Hi Ms Ikeji

I remember you did a very touching piece on MAKOKO some 5-6 years ago, it was after reading this piece you and i became friends..and am happy to see how well you've done, as always keep up the good work.

God Bless
Kevin Obosi
UK.

True happiness is not linked to riches/possession.

Sylvonce said...

Linda my Data ooo lol. Nice vid. Wow! See that small one already paddling a canoe. Wht touched me most was wht d woman that said "we drive through everyday and perceive the smoked fish smell yet..."

Lindodo forget it....with more, I will be happier, I don't buy that idea

Emelinda said...

It good to see simple and happy people still exit.

Please visit this blog
www.falinoflavio.blogspot.com

Monkey Face said...

Happiness is a function of what you have (Wealth n all) Joy, goes far beyond that.

If u can afford υ̲̣̥r̲̅ basic needs then u need to go on υ̲̣̥r̲̅ knees and be grateful. Sometimes i wonder how many children here really achieve their dreams and make it but then, i remember God dey and with him everything is possible. #grateful#

WHAO.TAKE PEOPLE'S SETTLEMENT FROM THEM AND THEY WILL BEGIN TO DIE.ANY OTHER PLACE APART FROM WHERE ONE GROWS UP CAN BE SUICIDAL TO PERSONAL NATURE.IF GOVERNMENT CAN HELP THEM BULD A BETTER WATER HOUSE,THAT WILL BE NICE..AKA...WATER WORLD

Oh my wonderful piece

Kindly check out my blog and share ur views. Tks.
http://pamscrib.blogspot.com/?m=1Ok.

Hmm ok! will love to watch!!!

Hmmmm.....they are happy where they are,that's what matters most

wow. truly happiness is a thing of the mind

If you like grt stories, check this blog out.
opustjkwrites

They sure do appear to be happy, but I strongly believe something needs to be done to improve their lifestyle. Unfortunately, life is not just about survival and happiness. the ability of a people to keep up and compete in its generation is paramount. Education, health and security should no doubt be considered.

Yemi said...

A www i hve nver seen so much happiness fulfillment, God bless them.

Elvis Ono said...

I have always known that Happiness is Free..Ironically, some people still don't have it.

Good Video

I have always known that Happiness is Free..Ironically, some people still don't have it.

Good Video

Waoh! Well, at the end of the day, what really matters is happiness and peace of mind.

Happiness is not always about the things you own but often depends on what you do. Love this.

YHUR-ZEST-4-LIFE said...

I love this. Its very inspirational and nice. Happiness is not felt by everyone and those who feel, feel whole.

I love the fact that they are happy. However, no one should live in such conditions. The government should do something to improve their welfare. Better housing, good schools, etc. They can develop the place such that it becomes a major tourist attraction in Lagos. Good job Olajuwon for this video.

She dey form since, now they have abandoned her. Linda go beg them oh. The money wey you go lose too much.

It is good to want more but more won't make you happier. I love that line

Doc A said...

This is their natural habitat, like their village and they seem so much at peace. Please Lagos state govt should help build better structures and develop it instead. Help improve their schools buy paying higher salaries for teachers who can be posted there on a temp or rotational basis.
They should set up classes there teaching skills such as entrepreneurship and crafts. Generate ways that they can export their goods to the rest of Lagos.
They should set up a clinic, as I doubt they have one there and again employ nurses there who can handle basic care. They should carry out a census so it is known who exactly stays there. I can go on and on.
Linda these are the ppl who deserve many of the giveaways. That woman who was saying when her daughter is 2, she will start schl. That's the person who will really benefit from N25k and not the person on here who has enough money to pay for BIS.
Please Linda set up something through an arm of your org, and lead an initiative on your blog. I am sure many will donate, it doesn't have to be your money, just needs your name and leadership behind it. It's a collective effort.
I hardly comment but you have come a long way. I remember when you and Bella (back when she was on blogspot and still in schl abroad, with her plain black wallpaper background lol) were the only Nigerians blogging.

So touching, Linda please bless them too,

I loooove this story, Linda. These people have very little, but are extremely happy and content. What does that say about the rest of us?

Good job, Linda. This is what you should be reporting on your blog, not witches falling from the sky and the katrashians.

obiora said...

Nne abeg e don do. Linda don take note tired. You've been noticed ok

THERE IS NO HAPPINESS IN THIS KIND OF ENVANROMENT , THE PEOPLE URINATE IN THE WATER AND HAVE NO TOILET, I GREW UP IN MAKOKO WHERE MY FATHER STILL LIVE ,WITH HIS SO CALLED ALADURA CHURCH.
I HATE GOING TO SEE MY FATHER THERE BECAUSE HE REFUSED TO MOVE.

I WOULD ADVICE THE GOVERNMENT TO DEMOLISH THIS PLACE AS NOT TO CREATE EBOLA IN NIGERIA .
BECAUSE IT IS A VERY SMELLY PLACE TO LIVE .
THESE PEOPLE ARE SMILING ,BECAUSE THIS IS THE ONLY LIFE THAT THEY KNOW , AND THEY ARE TRAPPED. AND BLIND AND AFRAID OF ANYTHING CHANGE TO THE BETTER.
THIS AREA SHOULD BE DEMOLISHED AND RE DESIGN.
A LOT OF PEOPLE WHO LIVE AT MAKOKO WATER ARE FROM IVORY COST,TOGO BENIN, SOME OF THEM ARE NOT NIGERIAN
, SO THEY SHOULD GO BACK TO WHERE BELONG AND CAN MESS UP IN TOGO ,
WE NEED A VERY GOOD ENVANMENT IN MAKOKO. WE WOULD LIKE TO SEE A VERY CLEAN HOUSES AND OUR WATER FREE FROM POLLUTION .

That's for you. Everybody is different.

This piece is amazing! It says a lot in less than 10minutes! I hope the government takes the initiative to rebuild not destroy! Well done Olajuwon!

I can imagine why de re so comfortable dia!!

Omg I can't believe I actually cried! Even d happiness dat som of us in d city Culdnt gt...look @ dem so happy n contented even d children! n d song @ d end again gave me away...

Beast.

Jade said...

Well done Juwon! They seem so happy,unlike most of us that are always tense living and commuting in Lagos with all the chaos!. I hope the government will find a way to assist these people and not take away their home. The doc left me with a smile on my face. Refreshing!

This is worth reminiscing over!

The documentary sef didn't show the community well. It's a place of marvel, tho dirty, it is a place that can draw tourism in its own small way.

CELEB said...

Live and let live! They have a carefree happy life, why would anyone want to take it away! Why not just improve their area ? Government should please think again!

Kinda hurts wen I write a comment and don't get to see

pejulicious said...

As long as they are happy ,I just wish our government can build a befitting place for these people.
MAMA UCHE.

Cool...

cindy black said...

My community in church teach kids here (Makoko) every Saturday. Breaks my heart everyday when we reach out to them. These people suffer, we don't even know half of their story

Olaanny said...

Great Job from my sister!!! kip it up baby as always..

ure just an idiot! which one is TAKE NOTE? fool oshi

Happiness is really a choice, even people living in Banana Island don't smile and laugh like this people, its high time we shun living a fake life.

ÀSÀKÉ-Ọ̀KÍN said...

Kudos Juwon.... Thank you for telling their story... I just drive by 3rd mainland and wonder why someone will choose to live in such environment but now I know better.. They are genuinely happy... I should visit there one day... let's plan something. ...

Good job dear

Cindy Black, does your pastor own a private jet? Because that money can re - house this entire community.

Roman! said...

Good one*

Nice on. Great job

Redcandy said...

I haven't watched the video yet but the pictures on Linda's blog are spirit lifting. Such beautiful kids! and that baby is fat and fresh! Lol!

Redcandy
****www.idoncomeagain.com****

OMOOBA said...

Genuine happiness and contentment in it's fullness.

this is great, good work.

had tears in my eyes watching this. Thanks Juwon

They r so contented.

good the details directly from the router modem. wifikill other's wifi connection with wifikill apk you can additionally nice.

Lucky Patcher is an app that gives you real control over the permissions you give to the apps installed on your Android.
lucky patcher