Catholic Archbishop of Jos queries America's help in fight against Boko Haram | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 January 2015

Catholic Archbishop of Jos queries America's help in fight against Boko Haram

The Catholic Archbishop of Jos, Ignatius Kaigama has queried the quality of help America is said to be giving to Nigeria towards the fight against Boko Haram. In an interview with BBC Africa, Bishop Kaigama wondered why Boko Haram attacks is still on the increase despite the reported help America is offering Nigeria
"The question is if the US has been providing help, intelligence and assisting in one way or the other, why the growing destruction? Why is the activities of Boko Haram becoming so sophisticated? So I wonder the quality of help. How effective is that help? How can it bring this situation to a halt? We (Nigeria) certainly need help to overcome this terrorist group because they seem to be expanding and growing more sophisticated in their approach and they are claiming lives and displacing so many Nigerians."
He called on the international community to show genuine concern to issues of terrorism on other parts of the world and not just Europe..
"Let us act together. It is important to feel concern when one part of the world is in trouble. Whether it is in the middle east, Whether is in the sub saharan africa. whether it is in Europe or America. I think we should be genuinely concerned for one another and do what we can like I see the very positive response of the french government in tackling the issue of religious violence after the killings of their citizens. There have been very very positive and putting in all they can in order to ensure this does not happen again. We need that spirit to be spread around. Not just when it happens in Europe but when it happens in Nigeria, in Niger, in Cameroon, in any poor country, that we mobilize our international resources and confront the people who bring such sadness to many families"he said

92 comments:

CHERRY said...

Okay!

No countries will help a corrupt nation like Nigeria .

God help this nation.

Humm, what a question!

Ooo it is well!

Too many questions yet no answers

How many tyms hv we cried out and yet nothing is to b done?

We need competent government dat cn fight dem.

Dear archbishop,its beacause unlike Europes,Nigeria's is purely politicks intertwined with terrorism.The US knows that and thats why they're developing cold feet to help genuinely

This man talks too much for a Bishop, what am i even saying, what do i expect from a bishop in the north central it north east, they all think the same way.....archaic

The answer is near feBUHARI 14th is d date...

Tell dem sir

Which America isnhe talking about? The one Nigeria cancelled their help -training agreement and went putting in their faith in Russia's hands?

He should ask what the russians are doing to help nigeria because to the best of my knowledge, Nigeria already cut military ties with America.

Or better still, He should ask his President as America did not undertake to protect our lives and properties.

All would soon be a story of the past..lets just be patient..God still saying something. Psalm 46:10. @Bishop_Dammy

Pls shut up..how can america help u? Have u helped urself? what is d govt doing to stop BH? how can 2000 pple die and gej is busy taking pics wit obasanjo and dancing sekem? is dat d way forward? Heaven help those who help themselves..Nigeria isn't ready to fight Bh yet, when they are ready Help will come................................#KingOfKings #6God

Bia oga, o ginwa ka anyi ga ebidozi yaba.....ina ekwu ka! Onu okwuru

Linda has said it all. The Bokos must Hara. It is well with Nigeria.

The reported help? Didn't the U.S withdraw its support based on the FG's request? Abi i read this wrong?

lol....Linda check ur headings.. boko hara

--------------LIB prince--------------
--------------LIB prince-------------
--------------LIB prince--------------

You have said it all Sir

Gift Lawrence said...

BH sponsors will not let them assist

That's very good questions cos obviously we aint seeing any tangible thing that's happening oooo.......
All we see is still increased rate of boko haram issues....bombing everywhere,

The Armies are not willing to shear Intelligence with the America and the rest of the World cause they will expose the real sponsors of BH..
.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Nigerian military was once one of the best in the world. The even helped MALI to fight insurgency recently. Some things are still not clear but i hope one day, this insurgency will end.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Gentletee said...

Them allow them?

Can someone please give me one reason why General
Muhamadu Buhari jailed Fela Anikulapo Kuti against the
respect to his fundamental human right ?

This is a serious issue that need immediate intervention

Charity begins at home
GEJ does not care about his citizens
How do you expect others to stick their necks

Yes, have been wondering what kind of help, they render to these nation

Hmm he's correct. Asfar it was OBJ, regime. BH must hv been a thin of the past since it started far back!!! Nd Africans leaders re 2 corrupt that's the problems they hv

With all duo respect sir bishop noting concern america we are the problem we are coursing because the boko haram spornsors are in the federal level and i support what pastor ashimolowo says in his own interview beyund resonable diout boko haram we not stop even if all american soldiers we be in nigeria because the boko haram get fully support from the anonymous in the federal and state before army we be dispartch it we be announce in the air why if army kill one it becomes the talk of the town why soldiers are dying every time in the hands of this insurgent and the sluggish president over six years in power is doing noting active to stop them he knows the cuprit why not unravel them to be persecuted are we talking about curuption hey hey heyyyyy that one is noting again it is we that can stop boko haram by arresting the so called politicians sponsoring them simple so keep american away from this sir please because american has a problem befalling them now so nigeria a country of jokers.

I thought US withdrew their help long ago?!

Gentletee said...

Its complicated and I think the military doesnt help either.

MOTOLA said...

BISHOP, ITS LIKE ITS LONG U SEE UR NEWS OO, U.S HAS DEFINITELY WITHDRAWN FOR LONG SINCE ITS KNOWN BH IS AN IN HOUSE THING, U.S WONT EXPOSE THEIR TROOP TO DANGER WHEN THEY KWN THERE ARE TRAITORS AMONGST THE NIG ARMY ITSELF.

African leaders should come together and help themselves, must Americans and Europe always help? All they do is loot their nations, don't you think you should talk to this thieves about that?

If Nigeria truely wanted help america would have helped. But this BH thingy is too politically orientated

Hmm he's correct. Asfar it was OBJ, regime. BH must hv been a thin of the past since they started far back!!! Nd Africans leaders re 2 corrupt that's the problems they hv

Me too dey follow wonder the kind help dem dey give us i swear......

Help yourselves first!

MOTOLA said...

BISHOP, ITS LIKE ITS LONG U SEE UR NEWS OO, U.S HAS DEFINITELY WITHDRAWN FOR LONG SINCE ITS KNOWN BH IS AN IN HOUSE THING, U.S WONT EXPOSE THEIR TROOP TO DANGER WHEN THEY KWN THERE ARE TRAITORS AMONGST THE NIG ARMY ITSELF.

This question is really needed cos they can't be helping us and what is happening is increasing

U re stupid for making dis kinda comment.

My personal view: the united states are willing to help, but our corrupt leaders are giving them no room to do so. God help us.
Hilary: the voice crying in the wilderness of Nnewi.

Tony young ode check the headline before u ask nonsense question

Nice one my bishop. Jeep asking dem. God is God oooo. Oneandonlynwa@gmail.com

Abi o. Na to just chill read comments o

Can someone pls tell d archbishop to follow in d steps of Rev. Fr Mbaka? These clergy men all know the truth about what is happening in dis country, dey should all rise up & hit d nail on d head! #shikena!

I remember reading somewhere that the US withdrew their assistance.

Americans wont want to meddle in our affairs due to the political war and upcoming elections.

God will see us through

We r on our own

Hope u knw wot u are saying!? Hope u knw wen BH started der operation!? If u don't know just shush ya mouth!!!

Dunno wot went down

Speechless

so many questions yet no answers

Wot was he expecting, abeg park well joor. Linda take note!

With the way GEJ is behaving, do you think they'll be encouraged to help?

AMAKANDIDI said...

CORRUPT OR NOT CORRUPT EVERY COUNTRY HAS ITS OWN UPS & DOWN, MAY GOD HELP MY COUNTRY NIGERIA

Odiegwu. God pls give our leaders the wisdom to fight this boko haram.
Shalom! !!!

Shut up your God forsaken mouth if not that you are a kid I don't see reason why you won't see clearly what the situation is, America will not benefit anything from the north if it was in the naija delta region they would have jumped over there cus there companies are looting there, they went to Afghanistan cus of there opium, they went to Iraq in the name of (WMD) weapon of mass destruction but there main reason was for there oil, they went to libya that was in peace and instigated a civil war that is still going on till today for there selfish interest which is oil and they settled there allies . you mean to tell me they have not been hearing of boko haram destructions all this while and consider them a terrorist group as they consider (ISIS) Islamic state of iraq , al-qaeda and the rest of em all. Boko haram has been in existence since 2002 and the world new if they where not checkmated they would grow into a force that it has grown to today, but they have nothing to gain so they act like they don't know of em

Do people watch CNN, the international community offered to help, but we rejected because some people are benefitting from this insurgency. Nigeria has been on CNN in the last 72 hrs. No one is taking us serious.

Why will America help us, while we are not ready to share information with them, we claim they want our oil, sorry Dying Oil, if give full hand the americans will deal with Boko haram in no time, ask osama, and co naijaside.com

Admin said...

''BOKO HARA''
Plz is there another terrorist group called boko hara
Jesus!!!!
LOL LINDA IKEJI ALWAYS CHECK YOUR BLOG A'TIMES CUZ YOU DAE EMBARRASS ME DIE

With reports of troops fleeing from/abandoning their duty posts in the face of attacks, zero support to troops with regard to ammo supply and the woeful, hollow and corrupt military system that we have on ground, no sane government would attempt to send troops down here. Who is this Book Haram? Perhaps the Americans know something that we don't? That Book Haram is nothing but a tool in the hands of wicked and corrupt kingmakers. ..

Chop Chop said...

Where are the tanks recently acquired?

Why blame Americans whereas the president have neglected the security of its citizens....abeg leave them alone they have the issue of ISIS that they are tackling
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

US is like satan, he uses one hand to give and the other hand to collect something dear to you..as far as am concerned, US cannot totally help Nigeria cuz we are against Gay rights, which according to them is against fundamental human rights..they are agents of the devil, so don't expect much help from them, without them gaining something from us..

Bia isi monkey , mechie onu gi..shut up ur mouth and show some respect..come oo is ur mummy aware that ur using phone?, cuz the last time I checked she collected it from you..

Erm... but US has withdrawn its help since na, they said our military was reluctant to fight, abi dis baba did not read the news that day?

em... Mr. Bishop, na u sabi, if him no call them now you go still talk. haba

Emily B said...

No it's not Okay... It's the leaders of Nigeria that are Boko Haram.

You are a complete idiot for saying such a thing. It's obvious you don't know that the Christians in the north are under attack and threat of extinction

lord kaiser said...

Will u shut that ur dirty mouth...see ur head like corrupt nation

Well said but I dont think they r yet to giv assisting hand in Bh fight...

Hopefully it will go a long way and mak d difference.

Well said but I dont think they r yet to giv assisting hand in Bh fight...

Hopefully it will go a long way and mak d difference.

It is the responsibility of any government to protect all its' citizens. the world is too civilized and developed for any nation to ultimately depend on another to protect her citizens. Nigerians have got to wake up from slumber and begin to hold the government accountable for inaction and stop criticizing another nation for not helping. Let's stop celebrating ill acquired wealth and start rebuking everyone-not just politicians-that fuel the inordinate quest for wealth that has become a pandemic in Nigeria.

chi_ special said...

We r on our own,no help 4rm Americans anymore

Henry said...

I beg to differ..don't think we are as corrupt as we make to look.

@ king kok, get dis straight. Heaven help those cannot help themselves

south ockendon said...

Gbam. Very well sed

Amaka said...

All you Bishops were condemning Fr. Mbaka for saying the truth. You shy away from the fact and ask stupid questions. All must rise up with one voice to save our country before seeking for outside help. A word is enough for the wise

Eze, U r so unreasonable

Better bury ur head in shame, cos u are archaic 4 speaking ill of a man of God

Well said.

DaBabe said...

Why will the US waste their resources on Nigeria. When the Nigerian govt doesn't seem to be bothered with everything going on.

na only GOD go help us. too many issues

Nigeria OYO

na so life be