Oh no! Comedian Chris Rock and wife split after 18 years of marriage | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 29 December 2014

Oh no! Comedian Chris Rock and wife split after 18 years of marriage

After nearly 20 years of marriage, comedian Chris Rock and wife Malaak Compton have decided to end their marriage. Malaak last night announced the split in a statement
"After much contemplation and 19 years of marriage, Chris and I have decided to go our separate ways,' she said
Chris's lawyer also released a statement confirming the couple have split
"Chris Rock has filed for divorce from his wife, Malaak. This is a personal matter and Chris requests privacy as he and Malaak work through this process and focus on their family.'
The couple got married in 1996 and have two daughters, 12-year-old Lola Simone and 10-year-old Zahra Savannah.

159 comments:

Chris Rock better not make comedy out of this one. Funny dude can't keep his marriage going.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.

Ummmm... After 18 years? What must have happened??

Boss said...

Happy new. Year linda..... I wish dem all d best in dier private life's! 'shit happens get over dem'

Hoping for the best

But why

She obviously must have cheated and seeing someone else reading her statement..normally these american chics spit out fire when divorce comes but her statement is too nice like i dont want trouble and the man is the one filling the divorce.

Haba...they have tried now...20yrs of an American celebrity marriage, cut them some slack joor...in fact they over tried.... Chris will hv a breath of fresh air, do u no how boring it is to date one girl for a yr ,talk less of 20yrs marriage..... Dude go have some fun, u hv gotten all u need from her....beautiful kids and 20yrs of wild sex

Wats up wit african american n splits
Seunsulaimon@yahoo.com

Hoping for the best

It's been 20 years, what could be that bad that it should end ?

The woman looks beautiful and loyal buh these black American sisters always have attitude.
I hope Chris Rock didnt tap a white ass. Lmao. . E don too yab dem....

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.

Linda I have been sending you several emails with this email address: aishat.ajala@yahoo.com. Please I will appreciate it if you reply

Alexekp1@gmail.com

spliting is among the disadvantage of marriage. this is also not a prospered everlasting mutual coexistence, no matter what is their, they should be patient and reunited again.

mjabdulk@gmail.com

There's a long history of discord in this marriage. It's miraculous it lasted this long.

Oh no!they didnt just do that.did they?

Mmmm!!!!The kind of union u fall asleep in for 19 years. And use 2seconds to leave it,inspite of the fruits of the union. i just pity the children. Nigerians will soon get to this stage. it is well o.

General said...

Evrythn is excessively possible in d USA

Pepe said...

What cud av happened? Hope its not that they are fed up with each other. Cos if so dey can try to make it work by spicing things up.

Americans and their divorce culture sha. Well we sef GE we own, If na naija Dem go say na because she no born boy.

So bad, no matter the case may be. I just dislike divorce. (sad face)

Nokia - Microsoft Lumia

Linda u think is easy to f**k the same p**sy or suck the same d**k haba is not easy na, tho I don't support divorce, huh hiting one pussy every nite, every morning ha me no fit oo abeg.# THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

OMG!WOMAN said...

So sad. that grown daughter looks so much like him. Linda why ain't u sleeping.

Temmy said...

That is Oyinbo 4 u. It is not how long but how happy.

NNaoo.. Happy splitting anyways!

mamma mia luv said...

All this western people sha dem nor even dey care oh choi..... Wetin come cos wahala wey dem nor fit settle after living together for gud 18yrs Na wah oh later now dey wud come and say they grew outta luv smh

That's bad. They should have consider the impart of this "break up" on their children.

***ECHOMASS***

SMH, what a way to round up the year

prettiyz said...

After 19yrs,such a pity

One last punch from 2014. Chai

Sometime people's take wrong decision may God take control

Wht a shame!

Must every dispute end in divorce. Wht happen to d children. They wil b d grass dat wil suffer frm dis seperation.

#Royal Priesthood#

I laughed when I read dis part "This is a personal matter and Chris requests privacy".
Y bring it to d public domain if u want privacy???

#Royal Priesthood#

Good riddicks to bad rubbish.

After 18yrs of marriage u decide to divorce d woman. Dis is heartless.

Where do u expect her to start frm. God wil definitely punish those dat indulge in divorce.

#Royal Priesthood#

Nawao 18years no be beans for marriage o...
King of BoyZ

Nawao 18years no be beans for marriage o...
King of BoyZ

It is well.

Good for them...

GLO AMBASSADOR said...

Verily verily I tell u, some men are mean! Now tell me, wat did u discover nw dats making you to break up dat u didn't discover for 19 years..or during ur dating years??? Maybe he's not 2 blame sha! Some women can pretend for forty years until they are sure they now own d house b4 dia true colors can be shown! Nt knowing dat a man can divorce u even after 100 years of marriage, wateva it is sha...who cares? SIPPING MY COLD BOTTLE OF ORIGIN!! We rep! 5 STAR MUSIC!!

If in Africa we would say because the woman didn't produce a boy. kiki old age tails.

But I never saw this coming. Inshort I am speechless that Chris filed for divorce years ago and went through with it recently.

Mostly it's women who file. I just have a quirky smile on face that marriage na package oh!
FIX IT JESUS CHRIST!

Oh nt again.is well

awwww that's sad anyways wish them all the best #Chizzy says so. Lib addict

gbemsco said...

Chris Rock too

what's with all this breakups???even with such beautiful girls,now @such tender age their lives is scattered.

hmmm nawa oo

Nawa o wetin come cause am na?

Oh no...lizblemico@gmail

They know their reason, divorce is now rampant with these people

After 19years.. They are not serious.. Easy for them to file a divorce, what about the kids, have they thought of the effect on them and the later aftermath.. Stupid unserious ppl.

When I hear splits like this it saddens me, after 18years together, what could have possibly happened?

MUVA said...

What a shame...such a beautiful family

After such number of years! That's not a good one.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

VERULE Says - y re dey separatin!

Ugochukwuka said...

Hollywood marriages..... even those that seem like a match made in heaven cannot avoid that split in the end...

* * commenting live from river ethiope **

Too Bad!

Oh my! Chris whyyyyyyy? *Shock of the day*.

That's their problem...

19years not 18

AQO said...

Get married, stay married or don't get married at all. They are easy choices. I'm an advocate of that.

Oooooops too bad nigga

SUPERSLIMC4

oops!! another marriage bites the dust!! makes me wonder why marriages of today are just too prone to divorce and seperations, definitely the kids are gonna be on the recieving end , the aftermath of the split is usually very messy!!

OBINNA JAMES said...

Na them sabi.

Na so....every small thing divorce. May God help us...smh

SalmaLena said...

Awww...

BUGATTI said...

Why do this people always divorce.its those marriages I see as a model one that do crumble

Hmmmm dem try sef
Follow mi on IG @darkpearl41

SalmaLena said...

The one on pink boots looks exactly like Chris Rock.

Wow!!
I always love both of em 2geda

I wish them happy seperation though... Mumu people...

Heya o ma sheyyooo. Omolara.martins@yahoo.com

Divorce ain't new anymore I just pray I don't find myself doing this in the future cos it's not nice to me #onelovefromSnow#

Everybody be gettin divorced!

RMCF>>all

Awwwwwwwn sorry Chris Rock but ain't much of a news flash thoe

xquisite said...

Why na? Some are getting married while some are divorcing.

3 kids not 2 linda

stripes said...

That's thire new year gift for each other...stupid pple. Why do they got married in the first place...

divorce after 19 years of marriage, sad story

Enny said...

Too bad!

Chuks Bruno said...

this is officially mow a Hollywood marriage.

Dia bizness

Privacy ko. Why did u file 4divorce? Did she sleep with a better and younger lover like chris brown?

J Wilson said...

Not good, especially wen children are involved. Too bad!

Eya
Why now, if u can stay for 19year what's remaining again.

Afta 19yrs.....U guys stil thought of divorce? too bad

Bellah said...

Jeeezzzz... 19years of marriage??? Must every celebrity marriage always end in a divorce?? Cute couple tho'

Chyluv! said...

So who has the last baby?

Zoë said...

They tried 18yrs, kim's previous was 72days. Hollywood married is not meant to last, its a normal phenomenon.

Akwaugo said...

Bad market lol

Lib ugegbe

They are just mad, split after having these beautiful girl?

they are just very very stupid

3 Things That Make People Cry

3 Things Christian Churches Can Do to Fight Ebola

Recovering The Lost Art Of Personal Evangelism -Mark 16:15-20

Na WA. Luv him though.

*****www.lindaikejiblogspot.com*****

Ha! I just wonder d reasons couple breakaway after spending so much yrs 2geda in marraige Y??????Dat will never be my portion in Jesus name..Amin......UWA DI OMIMI AMA NDI ANA EZE.

FRUITILICIOUS said...

Really sad, marriage ain't easy...

This is sad

But this ita Hollywood... Anything goes

This is sad

But this ita Hollywood... Anything goes

first timer.... Awwww but I love this man, he is so funny with his jokes. but why would Ppl love each other, stay together most if there years decides to split... tears!

18,19,20yrs...which one is it?

Anyway,congrats to them...Chris can now get some new pussy and the lady can get some new dick too..marriage is boring!

There should be a law where couples can sign up for the amount of years they want to get married for in court,from the start. 3,5,6,7 or 10 yrs... It's a very brilliant idea! LET'S LIVE! why would anyone wants to spend the rest of THEIR life with ONE SINGLE PERSON?

What a great couple they were

Gift Lawrence said...

divorce here and there, nobody respects God again. especially all this celebs... nawaoooo

Agnes Oveh said...

That is life

Americans just can't stay married

Mischievous said...

Marriage is God's institution, it cannot be personalized. It's the Spirit of God that keeps a marriage, it's the fuel that keeps a marriage going, it is the binding force. Without God, your personal effort will fail, no matter how long you try. Couples must learn to call on the Almighty God every day through prayer, He is the sustainer, and His book, the Holy Bible is there to direct us, no matter the storm. A family that prays together, stays together. May God help all married people going through crisis.

Golda Awosika said...

wat d hell is wrng wf ds ppl, cant u jus try to work out ur differences n stick to echoda. what is wrng wf d world????

Y na? Dey r so cute together

This is serious can't the just settle dere differences

This is so sad to hear

chocolate said...

Eyaa hmm it is well

Oh no. I hate divorces.

dis is bad news hope they settle amicably

really smh

So. Sad after almost 20 yrs what could have gone wrong? I wish them well JC

too much divorce thz year
xyz(aittyfinest)

y would dis lovely couple split? Abi dat thing don tire dem

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

always sad to see marriages break up...wish them happiness.
pls visit my blog...

Liflblog.WordPress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERYDAY!

Since its personal I guess I should respect that and not say anything.....Chris you're a great comedian and I love all' yo black Americans
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Ehya! Very cute family. Prince Gozie okeke member split today, come bck tomorrow..

=CYNTHIA=commenting from my TOYOTA CRICKET

awwwwww....

Awww! Anoda black couple I loved

Wonder why but whatever it is, i wish them the best in life

The west has no respect for marriage institution,its now a fad but what do you expect wen the women only give birth to female kids they are losing their masclinity.

MR EDDY said.
Hmmmm. Lips sealed
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u merry Christmas and a happy new year.

Chei akuko borochi so sad

Whaoooo! Can't they work it out? After 19 years

Wonder what would cause such a split after so many years together! Its simply innappropriate.

wow after 18years!!!
our parents and grandparents stayed true and are enjoying the fruit of their labour after the hurdles.
Wondering why they divorced after 18 good years.

Wtf!! All these things are damn weird!! Why stay with someone that long, bear beautiful children with him/her and then wake up a day and call it quit!! To me, greed is what is worrying some of these white women!!

Normal tradition

ChincoBee said...

awwwww this is sad having been together for so long..i hate this kinda news

Why now? so sad. jacksoninem@yahoo.com

Cynthia Iyede said...

Eeyah. I like him a lot.

jessica egolo said...

Why are this people so quick to divorce. 19years and u just cut itoff like that?

Na wa o...y can't u jes cont to endure??? 18 fuckin yrs?? sh-t

Darn it, how sad. Guess, the laughter has gone out of their marriage.

wow! too too bad. God will intervein.

Stan said...

Rich n HillArious still dey can't keep dere shit 2 geda ...smh

ada nnewi said...

You are the real definition of an idiot!

End time things

This is sad.

Divorce is now so rampant

Where is my comment madam single lady....it took me like 30minutes to compose the msg...better approve it, don't annoy me

Favour belle said...

And then they will call it *trending*smh. What's the joy in divorce sef?

Chris was once accused of fathering a child with a Hungarian model who also alleged rape and other sordidness. He settled that case, but maybe the recent Bill Cosby accusations made Malaak realize she doesn't want to be another Camille Cosby giving her life to a man who's shenanigans destroy her self esteem. The illusion of the perfect marriage wasn't enough.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Are u okay at all. Dear Lord!!!!

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Chris rock of all people. What a pity

..👏BIG BROTHER SAYS SO..👏

chris ma man, am disappointed in you, when i get married, it will be till death do us apart and not divorce

just not cool

Beebee said...

U r a big fool nd have no manners

Dude you're rude!!damn!!! U really need 2 learn how to address people and if your statements were meant 2 be sarcastic, It came out wrong!

Gbenga said...

Linda do something about this guy!

Gbenga said...

Linda do something about this guy! Get him off your page for good; he's a bad influence even on adults.

Marie said...

I can see three daughters and not two o. lawyer!

Bastard ibo boy

hmmmm very sad but they tried

After 18years?......too bad.

lol..Men..He thinks he's in love now with someone else until reality wakes his ass up..He should be thanking his stars he got a lovely wife to marry in the first place....sigh