LAWMA to convert popular Ojota dump site to golf course | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 30 December 2014

LAWMA to convert popular Ojota dump site to golf course

Have you ever passed by Ojota going towards Maryland in Lagos? Then you would have noticed the Olusosun dumpsite that stinks to the high heavens. The news is that Lagos State Waste Management Authority (LAWMA) said yesterday that it would soon turn the Olusosun dumpsite in Ojota into a golf course. Tagged as Nigeria’s most popular refuse dump, Olusosun has been a subject of foreign documentaries in the past because of the many activities of scavengers at the site.

The managing director of LAWMA, Mr Ola Oresanya, said the golf course project would come under the agency’s second 10-year-rolling plan.
“In the rolling plan, we are focusing downstream and our downstream is at the disposal sites. Our landfills development is a real focus, we already sign contract for development of our state of the heart landfills sites at Epe and Badagry. And those landfill sites are the real focus for the next rolling plan and a site also will be located in Ogun state. That is around Mowe/Ibafo area that we took over. Then we will close down the Olusosun dumpsite completely and turn it into golf course. We will continue to build transfer stations and material recovery plants in Lagos”.
“Those are parts of the ten year rolling plan and we will increase our waste conversion to almost 70 per cent to 80 per cent of the wastes we generate in Lagos. The wastes will now be converted to something very useful within that ten years rolling plan. Then, we want to make sure that we get the economics of waste management very well and the economics must be perfect within the next ten year. So those are the key ingredients of those plans.’’

101 comments:

God's son said...

Where would the next dump site be?..

U can say dat again...

#Royal Priesthood#

Dat place really stinks.

#Royal Priesthood#

tamara whyte said...

So where will be d nxt dumping of refuse site??? Msheewww. Misplaced priorities

Welcomed development.

Better than leaving it as a dumpster!

D I hear "It woulld soon"???

In Nigeria when u hear dat simply knw dat it just cheap talk until when we start seeing action.

#Royal Priesthood#

Dat area is disgrace to d institution of Lagos.

For crying out loud, they better do sth abt it.

I wonder hw d residents in dat area cope wit such air pollution.

It kills over time...

#Royal Priesthood#

Good ! Very very good.Responsible govt in action

Nice plan , good development strategy

yaxx said...

dats development 4 u

Good for dem, atleast no more stinks ard dat area, ojota is too beautiful for dat smell

it will be nice, i think if such conversion is done.

mjabdulk@gmail.com

Hian...relocation of dumpsite

That'll be rili great. Making beauty from a garbage site. Fashola is still working. Great man indeed.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.

Abeg, they should park well, all na gimmicks, with that their bald-headed thief M.D.

Nice **EMZEALLOS**

That's nice. I have confidence in Lagos state govt. Ambode for governor!

Can't wait for them to convert it. The odour coming out from that place can block someone's airways to death

That's a nice development,but where will they now shift the dump to

Check Out Vabadon's Blog#Click Here to See

Nice... So thoughtful

That will be so so cool

gab2shoes said...

Lagos for show we are watching!

Gab2shoessaysso

Welcome development

Good.

Nothing is impossible... waiting to see the outcome....

So let wait and see

Nice. Just hope that when Fashola be gone, the plan won't roll 10yrs away

I love one documentary of that place "This is Lagos". Who will the golf course help, Lagos is not meant for only the rich oo, I rather they make it a big amusement park for kids and family

Perfect. I hope the wealthy will use the golf course?

Dats better...
Gdmoni Linda and Libers.....Av a blessed day

Better o
That place stinks like hell!!

Amen ohh,that place stinks for years.

Let's watch and see

A GOLF COURSE WOULDN'T BE A BAD IDEA BUT COME'ON....IS THIS WHAT WE REALLY NEED!!
WHY NOT USE THE RECYCLED GARBAGE TOO GENERATE POWER #LIGHTBULBMOMENT

Omalichanwa said...

Good initiative.... That place stinks a lot.

Kene Ugochukwu said...

And how would a golf course impact positively in the lives of the average Lagosian bearing in mind that it is an elitist sport. Why can't they make it a large scale housing area for Lagosians. APC is just a government for the elites. Jimi Agbaje all the way!

Golf course by d road?do they know how hard those balls .. If they want to use if for sports i suggest Olympics related sports.. See when Nigeria goes for Olympics how many things we dey participate inside? G.O

Neks said...

>>>> A golf course is going to look really beautiful there but, have they provided an alternative dumping site? <<<<

Nice. Very nice.

Great ideas

Godson1 said...

That's would be a very welcome development .👍

Ok heard. Very gud development. Hope there is an alternative place.

Hmmmm! I would love to see that magic! It would take some doing to transform that place.

Thank God...that place is an eyesore

Golf course ke? Ok ooo

Thats a good one.Goodluck.

That would be so nice for real #onelovefromSnow#

chocolate said...

Beta,gud development

tefe said...

convert it into a low cost housing estate.

Ok, this one concern lagosians....

This may be a good ideal if properly done

3 Things That Make People Cry

3 Things Christian Churches Can Do to Fight Ebola

Recovering The Lost Art Of Personal Evangelism -Mark 16:15-20

Commendable effort.
If well managed, I'm sure it will solve the drainage problem in Lagos.

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Loool na so!!! that would probably b vision 2060

Okay! At least it will get rid of the awful smell

That will be 9th Wonder.

Is it for real?

That will be great if they can achieve it.

Wish LAWMA d best.

MR EDDY said.
It's necessary
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u merry Christmas and a happy new year.

thats a good news, though not currently in lagos but iv passed tru that area and it really stinks

dexman said...

Nice idea,but where are the refuse going to?that's just where the prob lays.

ENIAFE said...

PRAISE GOD FOR THAT O...AT LAST WE WILL BREATH FRESH AIR

It's a good plan which all Lagosians will be proud of, we pray and hope it comes to reality

Woow...what a great and excellent idea!! Good of them.

That's good.

Nigeria with a great vision but never to to reality just like obasanjo vision 2020 why do we put things in a time that it can never come to happen..now just golf course is 10 yrs project.in UAE this we not last up to 2yrs..but I we advise if the can build shopping mall there that we generate money and if well managed

Speak grammar speak grammar all na to siphon money. Nwokem jee norm ala n ikpo ahihia osiso. #dtsnoneofmybiz

Speak grammar speak grammar all na to siphon money. Nwokem jee noro ala n ikpo ahihia osiso. #dtsnoneofmybiz

Na so. Why not convert it into a farm

Good.

hmmmmmmm, that'll be nice o, Fashola again!

Sugarvie said...

That's a good move.. Cleanliness is next to Godliness.

**SUGAR**

CHERRY said...

Nice!

Hmm

Jesus Reigns said...

Thank God

Jeni_zee said...

Ok dats not bad,they want to put d land to better use

That would be great but another dumpsite should be provided for the people living in that area. If not, Nigerians would continue to pour refuse ther in the middle of the night.

Good one.

good idea. that place is irritating. smelling

Eko o ni baje!!! Always on point

Perfect plan. Expecially d Mowe/ ibafo area, pls sir continue with d plan

MR EDDY said.
Igbo man. Even if Jesus come today u go say na China made. Haba mana

MR EDDY said.
No. It's not.

Abia state governor said he will build an airport before February 2015!!! Buhahhaha. Oga pay our parents their 5months salary that you owe them....we don't have money for keke then u wan bring airport join. Mtcheew

Good plan, keep it up

Its a good initiative and development...
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

nice one,

need a reliable Bulk sms Site? visit www.tradeonlineng.com. and send sms for as low as 90K.

send Reliable Bulk sms for as low as 90k visit www.tradeonlineng.com

Nyc idea.A couple of qstns though, where will the next dump-site be n also,is this quite necessary?.A rational answer to both n i'm up for the idea

That place stinks like hell!chai!it wil be nice if they do something about it.i fear. Pple staying in that area.

Bolateethole.blogspot.com

A disable learning arena would do just fine instead of wasting resources on a golf course SMH...Mr+tive

dodo said...

Thank God for that

That place stinks

kush baba said...

Hope the plan will be executed and not another way of opening office for some political office holder. ......our eyes are on you guys!

O.M.A. said...

You're just looking for a way to rubbish the good idea.. is jimi agbaje going to perform a miracle?

Oskirin said...

omo,tank God.av always said wanted it 2 b in ikorodu or badagry.

You're very daft. Read the story again and you'll find your answers.

FUTURE LEADER said...

MADNESS. SO ARE WE GOING TO PRETEND THIS ISN'T ANOTHER WHITE ELEPHANT THAT TOTALLY ALIENATES THE MASSES, SERVES THE RICH AND CONTRIBUTES VIRTUALLY NOTHING TO POVERTY ALLEVIATION. THE FACT IS IT IS MORE PRODUCTIVE AS A LANDFILL THAN A SILLY INORGANIC GOLF COURSE SERVING OUR FAKE BIG BOY CULTURE.

Linda, almost a year now nothing has happened. Take note