US Embassy ruins Blessing Okagbare's honeymoon by refusing to give her new husband visa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 November 2014

US Embassy ruins Blessing Okagbare's honeymoon by refusing to give her new husband visa

The US embassy in Abuja has ruined the planned honeymoon of Nigerian Athlete Blessing Okagbare after they refused to grant her new husband, Igho Otegheri, visa to travel to the US with her.

The couple had planned to travel to LA where the sprint queen is based but the US embassy refused to grant visa to Igho, leaving Blessing distraught. Blessing tells Vanguard
"I feel so bad that America Embassy would turn down the visa request by my husband to travel with me to Los Angeles. I have resumed training for the season and I have to go back to my base with my husband so that I can concentrate.
“I have sent copies of my documents, including my Resident Permit in Los Angeles to them so as to facilitate my husband’s traveling with me to the States, but they refused.
"Help me appeal to them to grant him visa because it won’t be easy for me to shuttle between Nigeria and the States every time.
“I have to concentrate on my training and the only way to do so is to have my husband with me in the States. I have been so sad since my husband returned from Abuja with this bad news. They have to do something about it,” she lamented

128 comments:

Eya sad.they should help her now

concentrate to do what? u wan dey fuck everyday? if you no collect preek a day u go die? enyia go and train jare...

seunLondon said...

Poor girl ...what God had joined together , let no embassy but asunder #SeunLondon

Don't worry
Your case is settled

Awww! So sad!

Blessing I hope your husband met the requirements for issuance of visa. The US embassy know you very well. Not so for your husband. Let him fight his fight.

Eyah! Kpele dearie. Pray about it.

Abeg na,biko....i can imagine how frustrating

kunle said...

That's sad

Omaa said...

Na so! This one is not honeymoon again nah, the man wants to relocate!

Awwww so sori

Awwwwww

It was intentional. They specifically did this to her just to prove that they dont give a "shit" about anybody. Because you are a celebrated athlete does not grant you an automatic visa application approval for your hubby. Am very sure if he goes the second time, they will grant him even without doing anything different (they've made their point known). Na so we see am sha for this country. Madam Blessing, let oga re-apply again, they will grant him.

Uche Emma said...

Too bad

Don't too much worry ur self my dear, file for the appeal. Is going to work by God grace.

Peter said...

God will fix it up for u IJN105

eyaa! sorry dear...

I know someone that can help u there pls contact me if u are serious about it.jenniferjulius37@gmail.com.

Eyah! Pele I am sure they'll sson grant him visa.

Sorry, pele no cry tell uduaghan to do somtin...olubukola daniels aka blackmamba...

what is their reason, US embassy pls kindly grant the newest hubby his visa. why i am pleading is because i don`t support distance marriage

America, shes our sweetheart...shes given us so much and deserve very vip treatment avaliable...plz give her husband visa....if its all there politician stealing our money bet u 'll grant dm wit immediate effect...America do d right thing.....

Hello Blessing,
I believe by nw,yu ought to knw hw this things work..Yur hubby,cant be applying just bcos the wife is there.
I thnk,if yu had left & rquestd his visit by aiding wt yur documents;He might be luckier.
The thing is,yur hubby was suppose to be grounded in 9ja,as a working-class,employed or self-emploed wt good reasons of nt migrating,rather visiting.
The case of a woman joining her spouse out there are never considered migration to that of men..

Hello Blessing,
I believe by nw,yu ought to knw hw this things work..Yur hubby,cant be applying just bcos the wife is there.
I thnk,if yu had left & rquestd his visit by aiding wt yur documents;He might be luckier.
The thing is,yur hubby was suppose to be grounded in 9ja,as a working-class,employed or self-emploed wt good reasons of nt migrating,rather visiting.
The case of a woman joining her spouse out there are never considered migration to that of men..

Jobles idiot,so he had nothing doing here.you think sey God don bless you.well No.find something doing here in Nigeria u thief

Ndo

But Y nau........what's their problem.

ah..ah!!!...you should first get a visa before you fix the honeymoon..

Haaaa american embassy agbaya bad belle piple

Please oooo US embassy grant the man visa.

bbm 7F098C19 said...

and so. go to Ghana na. Engr Emy.

Neks said...

Lol, American Embassy which way na? Una can show una self. What else do they want, he is her husband for Christ sake! abi they no trust the guy face?

VERSACE said...

Awwwwww! Why na. US embassy sef! By the way linda o, which one be the 'new husband' she get old before?

Dearie weep not okkk, the us embassy have absolute power to refuse or advance visa because it is there country! All your hubby have to do is to apply again, and again if need be, weeping and making it public can't changer their mind okkkk! Dnt worry God is on ur side always

America no dy look person face oooo if u like be d richest man or woman dts y i like dm. Kpele bt u fit nack head for dt transformer wey dy utako. U dey beg mk dm appeal for u lmfao. U aint seen nada. Welcome to d real world

This is typical of the US and UK embassy to reject spouse visa applications. I am afraid this outcry won't do anything to change the situation, at the end of the day he would be issued the entry immigrant visa but the process could take 2years or more. As frustrating as it is they both have to exercise patience, all these delays are deliberate to discourage ungenuine travellers. In Britain, 9/10 marriages today are labelled 'marriage of convenience' until proven otherwise in a tribunal court. I wish them all the best!

AWWWW the least Nigeria can do is help her with this, she has made this country proud on numerous occasions.

Bold Kid said...

Blessing no mind dem...dem d jealous you...God will intervene, ndo.

ada said...

hard luck to her

SAME THING HAPPENED TO ME AND MY HUBBY,HMMMM NA WA

Ehya... But why?

hmm...

If u like spend 1000 years in the US. U'll always be a second citizen. I hope they resolve it soon sha.

Julit said...

Hahahahaha! They should appeal? Come on go and train. U want prick

A sad one...

So sad...

Baby P said...

Ehya,sorry.it happens to people.u just havw to deal with it

Eyahhhh.........Us Embassy grant our girl's hubby Visa now. Ejorrrrrrrrr
Atleast dere is a cogent reason 4d Visa App. Dese people sef! Nawa ooooo

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

Dats nt D End Of D World, Life goes on

Besides Linda which is her new husband???????? Her husband jor.
New ko!! New Ni!!

This should have been resolved before proceeding with any wedding arrangement. Anyway its not too late except otherwise.

To me it can not be anything bad for the couple. Than , the fact that it will redirect them to to refocus themselves on the real motive to go spray their hard earn money for a marriage they're not sure to master the future. That is what we call unnecessary spend.

Did the two carry on with the marriage, if they carry on with their lives in Nigeria, then glory be their blessing. This is what matter most not the USA yeye nursing and painful to show off as it will have been marred in the American style of marriage sickness of marry today and divorce tomorr

Sassy Blog said...

Eyah take heart my dear it normal

EVA said...

Did Blessin give them the right documents?then she should get a lawyer to appeal on her behalf and she wil win.just that it wil take time. just to digress a bit, (I know Blessin and her husband's case is different) Our great President and Governors should do something about the country.so dat Nigerians wil travel less. They should do something about the economy, electricity,the roads, (it is not only major roads that should be tarred), fund education, provide portable water, housing, jobs.security,agriculture(cheap food for all),welfare of nigerians, rule of law, low cost of living,health care, Nigerians will travel less and be respected. When I was abroad, and said I am a Nigerian, it becomes a different story. We are not respected outside. these countries we run to have harsh weather conditions .I am sure many Nigerans in the diaspora do not like the fact that they are abroad.they want to come bac home if only.. GEJ pls think about the future of Nigerians

Pele!!

This is really painfull i swear....

wellcome to KingEneogwe blogspot said...

Chai,kpele ooh

Ehyaaaa
Make una give her source if concentration visa o e jorrr

Eeeyaaa.Pele o nne.

Wanna buy a car? Get a great deal at www.peaconmotors.com

Ndi oso chi egbue, don't cry dear

awwww soo not fair. she should tell us the reason they gave for the refusal though

LINDA WAS THERE AN OLD HUSBAND B4,LAUGH,THERE ARE DUE PROCESSES TO FOLLOW U CAN,T JUST TAKE YOUR PERMIT WITH SOME DOCUMENT TO THE EMBASSY AFTER MARRIAGE ND EXPECT VISA,NEEDLESS CRY,LINDA TELL HER TO ASK FOR THE SERVICE OF IMMIGRATION LAWYER IN LA,WHO CAN DO JUSTICE TO HER CASE

rukkybankz said...

This people can so spoil someborry's plan...pelle dear blessing,I'll talk to them.

It is not their fault .it is the fault of our present and past leaders who have sucked Nigeria to death .that is why those nations treat us like rags they know that our leaders has sold Nigeria ,collected the money and shared it among themselves.
But one day one day monkey go go market ....m
Very soon as the God of heaven lives for ever they and their children will not see where to hide to enjoy their loot
They will vomit .They will pay back .They can not escape.Right from independent until today .their names are not hidden ,They will pay back

New husband kwa? Is there an old one?

How dare you talk to a married woman like that? Do you think she is one of your girlfriends??Mtcheeew!

Evil mind! That's what you have.

Stay with him in nig.if u love ur hubby. Not compulsory DAT both of u live in d usa

Smh u don't think b4 talking. Ode

Stay with him in nig.if u love ur hubby. Not compulsory DAT both of u live in d usa

Evn if dy knw u it doesnt mean dy'll gv u visa. Dy dont do it by who dy knw so gt dt straight

419 thief

Olusoji said...

What is wrong with this whitey they should let the couple travel. Give them visa now

couple are not meant to stay apart,if there is a way to sort this.

Mr stupid anonymous 8.33a.m, it is your stupid thinking like this that has made you not accomplish anything in your life. Repent there is still hope for your miserable soul

ebonydoc said...

Very true!!! Blessing, take note.

These Americans set do they think their country is heaven... mtcheeewwww. I have a dream that one day the US embassy will not see any Nigerian applying for visa to their country because our country will surely be better than the US.

heyaa ... sorry my colleague.Blessing,God would make the next application a blessing u hear?America,u fit make person run mad oooo,e jo fun won visa,nitori olorun,e jooooo!!Blessing,invite me too naa.....

Lol easy man...but I wonder why he thought they would let him relocate just like that,a jobless man shouldn't just come to the US my friend,i wonder the kind of man she married,hope he isn't a liability

There are many places in your country Nigeria too, other parts of the world nkor?

She for call Jonah naw...

What kind of Idiot spent his time to write such nonsense? you are selfish. I pray he gets his Visa and they are United as a Husband and Wife should be.

Vacancies in Nigeria said...

US embassy abeg ooo, make you help her.

Gorgeous Diva said...

If e no work,kukuma carry ya sef come back for here!

WHO SAYS THEY CANT SPEND UR HONEY MOON IN NAIJA. OR IS HE RELOCATING WITH HER? SHE ISNT THE 1ST TO BE TRUNED DOWN, SO Y MAKE IT PUBLIC.

hrm paul ojeih said...

wen people say i hope her husband met the requirement which stupid requirement are they talkign about Blessing has been in the started for close to 8 years she is an international athlete she has residence permit she is legally married so wat in da hell is the embassy all about refusing him visa abi their plan is for the man to remain in Nigeria she remain in the states no be their fault abi dey are mad at her becos she refuse to nationalize and run for them that is why dey are beefing her.
American immigration statutory act of the 212 amendment allows a man that is legally married to a woman to migrate with his wife and vice visa.
now Linda back to you you really need to screen stupid and insulting comment that idiot that commented under anon 8.33 am sayign that all blessing want is to be screwing with her husband is an idiot that commentator si a retard in your generation you can never produce an international star like blessing you think she is like your sister that is a runs girl thunder fire you and your generation you come to social cloud to droop hating comments no be ur fault na linda way publish ur sick comment

You are right but I can tell you, this is blessing in disguise. Wifes, do not bring your husbands to europe yourself. 99% of husbands leave their wife because of the husband's ego. Everything that came up the husband feels the world is looking down on down just because the wife brought him over. I'm sure of this fact that they do not stay. Seperation and divorce has become the way. Please think twice.

hrm paul ojeih said...

@anon 8.33 e no go ever better for u thunder fire u u will never ever achieve the success like the likes of Blessing okagbare an international artist that has put Nigerians name in athletics u have the guts to insult her and Linda dat should deleted ur fucked up stupid comment published it u are a bastard a retard.
your type will never see something good in another person all u do is tear down instead of show empathy politicians are ruining this country ur type wont do anything about it ur type are the first to sell their votes for ground oil and branded matches box and biscuits cheap ass bastard.
for ur info blessing okagbare is highly decorated with a national award mfr which nobody in ur generation will ever have she is well known all over the world ur super eagles failed woefully instead of u lamenting about it ur here insulting blesing its on record dat ur players sleep with call girls even on the eve of crucial matches u wont attack them ur attacking a girl that is responsible and married no be ur fault if ur man enough or woman enough publish ur comment with ur real name bloody fuckign hater i dont no Blessing but u dont come here and talk shit

biola pounds said...

@hrm bross take am easy u dey vex kool down the person way post that coment na linda she dey beef the girl unto say she her sef never marry lol no mind linda if no be she post am she for delet the comment

na linda post this comment.Libers na linda do this hate post o

Blessing is not a citizen or permanent resident of USA as she went there with student visa. Husband must show strong ties to Nigeria which he couldn't prove as the strongest tie is Blessing who is based in the US. I suggest he should re apply if he has a good reason to prove that he will return

Some of una for this blog dey talk anyhow sha!!!

~Linda na me~

No matter who you are,u must follow due process,it would ve been easier if he had visited her n done court

My husband that is a citizen sef not resident like her file for me 18months ago i never smell US embassy make she go queue go wait and expect results in at least 3yrs. She of alll people should know this typical money miss me!!!! Wealth indeed isn't knowledge oma se oooooooi

If you are a US resident your spouse does not qualify for a visiting visa because of you. You need to study immigration law. Visiting visa is a non immigrant visa. Since you two will be based in Nigeria it is difficult for them to determine if he will return. You need to apply for his permanent residency right away through your resident permit. Right now the waiting list is about 1.5yrs. Sorry there is nothing you can do about it, do not try reapply or appeal for a non immigrant visa, you will be wasting your time.

the guy no gv d embassy strong reason to bliv say e dey come back to naija

Even if she wants prick, is it your business? She is married to him and it's allowed. So go nd jump into a huge tank of shit and drown to death with ur empty skull! Foooool!!

the guy wont be granted a visit visa...he has to apply for long stay visa and that can take up to minimum of 6 months. They will check Blessing finances etc before they grant him long stay. the guy is not allowed to go there on a visit visa cos they know he is going to stay. blessing, let your hubby do the right thing. meanwhile, it sounds like the they guy wan go there to live off the girl o. Vicky1

True talk. The man can very much get his own visa. He does not need to go through her.

Olaide said...

This your comment na satanic version.

If your spouse is a green card holder or US citizen, you can never be granted a visiting visa. You have to apply/file for him. It doesn't take long anymore. With a green card, the filing takes just 3months now. Just put in your paperwork Blessing.

I feel your pain....

http://www.earnrealpay.net/aff/go/Imonik

i think the Nigeria Sports Commission thru the office of the Minister of Sports should come in here. Protection of the welfare of Sportsmen/women should be their priority.

This man, I have read ur comment a thousand times trying to make sense of it, all to no avail. Do u even understand what u have written? I doubt that. I'm sure nobody does. Can anybody help, pls?

U have come again ooh as anonymous. Chei

phlexx said...

For the fact that they are married does not grant him automatic visa to migrate to USA...she has to apply for the appropriate visa and that would have to start from the USCIS not directly from the embassy but if he is applying for a visitors visa then he has to show ties that will make the embassy believe he will come back to Nigeria. She needs to ask questions and do the right application I bet Their visa will be granted.

As a nigerian, I say amen to Nigeria being better than the US in the future. But with the way we are carrying on, it's gonna be a very tall order. Nigeria should first catch up with the US of 1900s.

U are stupid to link Linda to the comment. It means u don't know her. She publishes every comment. Why should she delete the comment in the first place? Because it's okagbare? People have been leaving all types of comments about other people and she's has been publishing them, why should okagbere own be different? I have read so many u printable comments and name calling that people left for Linda that she published. So, ask yourself, if she could publish bad comments against her person and wouldn't delete them, why should she delete comments about okagbere? You don't know linda, she does not play dirty like that.

Chyke
City: Unknown.

Sir, with all due respect, you are talking out of ignorance. America is a nation of rules and laws that they try to adhere to. There are set down rules guiding granting of visas and no matter your status, they're not not gonna bend it, except on humanitarian grounds or in cases of exigencies. Okagbere's case is more complex because she's not a citizen. If she were to be a citizen, she could have gone back to America and apply for a fiance visa for the hubby, provided she did not marry him officially here in Nigeria. If she did, the only recourse is to go back and file for immigrant visa for him and it wouldn't take too long a time for it to be granted. Now, since she's a green card holder, it may be more difficult for her. The only option is to go back and file for an immigrant visa for him and this may take a longer time. The embassy requires anybody applying for visa to show that he or she will be back after visiting. The fact that her marriage is well publicized and the possibility that she may have gone to the embassy with pictures of the marriage thinking that that would help, may have contributed in no small measure in their refusal to grant him a visa. To them at the embassy, it's a clear evidence that he's not gonna come back to Nigeria and that he's trying to relocate. Okagbere should do the right thing, go back to the US and apply for immigrant visa for her hubby just like every other person, it may take time taking into consideration her status, but is she happens to become a citizen in the interim, the process would become faster. It will be hard now to get even a visiting visa for him knowing fully well that he has a wife in the US and may, in all likelihood, be relocating.

abujakenneth said...

Father, when I apply to them sometime in March 2015, let them not refuse me visa, IJN. Amen

If he meets the requirements they will issue him the visa at their own time, if he doesnt, forget it. You can cry all you want. By the way, weren't you train without him before? What errant nonsense! Your ignorant reaction should be enough reason for them not to issue him visa.

tonero said...

The USA that I know will not turn you down just because. Check yourself, did you submit all the requirements, did you meet the deadlines, not because you have a visa and get married means your husband automatically gets a visa. If you go through the right process you will get it. I also went through this situation but I did everything on par and got it. FYI I am not a celebrity or an athlete, I am just a common man weh come back marry naira woman...Yankee no send celebrity oh.. den go bounce the living daylight out of you and yours until u get ur ducks in a row

tonero said...

Bros forget vex oh....America has laws and they must be followed whether you are a resident or a citizen if you don't do the right paper work and follow due process I am sorry to say....the husband go dey naija tire... me be citizen and I did the same thing when I got married. There are no 2 ways about it. No be by muscle oh.

If wishes where horses.

Chop Chop said...

Married to a resident alien does not grant you visa. It's the least for US immigrant visa priority.

Linda,why do you want to kill people with this kind of post ????laff wan tear my belle as I dey read all these Q & A of contributors..guys make una take am easy even though na democracy we dey..In any which way Blessing is entitled to her hubby anytime,anyhow and anywhere..Oyinbo America should something ooo before somebody stuff go turn to another man something !!!.

she need preak by her side daily for she to concentrate

Which you and your hubby??? For where ?? Haa!! No be ajegunle una do una own honeymoon?? Abi u just wan show yourself for here ...

nystyle@ said...

You all above have spoken correctly, these are all the reasons that wld hv led to his denial. If u'r a legal resident then go thru the normal immigration chanel to get him in as ur husband.

Her green card can not grant him visa into US. She have to be an American citizen for her to be able to file for him. I did for my hubby and he is here with me for three years now. The process take 6 to 9 months. As easy as ABC Blessing whatever your last name is. Am out sisters.

Aigbe kester said...

He shud hv given them d correct paper work.. e.g: Marriage certificate.

Blessing, you a not a US CITIZEN...It beggars belief that you are saying this. You cannot take your husband to the foreign office and expect them to grant him a visa because you got married to him less than 2 weeks ago. File your papers and by the grace of God they would call him for an interview in less than six month. That would be a miracle,though.

Effects said...

Child of a whore

I can't understand either.lwkmd

Number 1: The husband is an immigration risk. She must have applied for a b1/b2 visa for him, meanwhile, she is on an F1 or M1 visa> If she has sense, she will apply for an M2 visa for him because obviously, he will abuse the conditions of a b1/b2 visa and overstay just because his wife is a resident.
This is why people should use consultants or lawyers, to avoid these kind of stories that touch!

I think he should go and get something doing before he can think of going to US with newly wedded wife. US embassy no send who u be(Blessing)

Me neither.

Lol diff comment