Huh? Gays have gifts and qualities to offer the church - Vatican | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 14 October 2014

Huh? Gays have gifts and qualities to offer the church - Vatican

The Vatican has asked for gay men and women to be given a chance in the catholic faith as they have gifts and qualities to offer the church. This call was made in a document released yesterday October 13th by the Vatican after a week-long Synod (Council of a church, usually convened to decide an issue of doctrine,) attended by about 200 bishops, who deliberated and came up with the resolution contained in a document which is known by its latino name "relatio",
"Homosexuals have gifts and qualities to offer the Christian community: are we capable of welcoming these people, guaranteeing to them a further space in our communities? Often they wish to encounter a Church that offers them a welcoming home," the document read..
The document also asked the Church to challenge itself to find 'a fraternal space' for homosexuals without compromising Catholic doctrine on family and matrimony.

264 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 264 of 264

And are u, the issue is realising u have a problem and not petting the problem hoping it would go away. If I lie and I feel guilty it's one step close to salvation, but if I see lies as no sin that is a problem. Gays do they see their sexual preference as wrong or just part of who they are

PHINITE said...

Excusssssssssssss me! Which is worst among these... Killing tru abortion, armed robbery, looting, fornicating, child abuse, adultery, rape, slandering, gossiping, cheating, stealing n being a homo?..... Hw many of us can say we are free from all these sins? Are we nt welcome in the church? If so, hw dare u single out a sinner? Wt moral justification do we hv to condemn these set of pple? Pls in d midst of our confusion lets try to analyse the situation n understand it b4 playing God. If a sinner is nt welcome in d church where else can we go to? Peace out.

The white man brought Christianity to Africa. The white man wrote the bible and laws to suit themselves at the time they founded Christianity. Now it doesn't suit them anymore so they have changed the rules to suit themselves again. Why are people complaining? You should accept it automatically because this what they now say is right. It's so sad that people have been brainwashed for centuries and don't even know it. It's all coming out now. How did we live our lives before the white man brought Christianity to Africa?

PHINITE said...

I lov d catholic church cos it understand d human nature n accomodates d gud, bad n ugly. We ar nt hypocrites, we face fact n reality, we dnt pretend all is well wen its nt. Wat beta way is there to make a sinner repent than showing him lov n care?

PHINITE said...

Excusssssssssssss me! Which is worst among these... Killing tru abortion, armed robbery, looting, fornicating, child abuse, adultery, rape, slandering, gossiping, cheating, stealing n being a homo?..... Hw many of us can say we are free from all these sins? Are we nt welcome in the church? If so, hw dare u single out a sinner? Wt moral justification do we hv to condemn these set of pple? Pls in d midst of our confusion lets try to analyse the situation n understand it b4 playing God. If a sinner is nt welcome in d church where else can we go to? Peace out.

End tym o

Bonita u r a b8g fool.

The best comment i have seen here so far.

Bona u just disappoint me

I see a lot of people frown at homosexuality but have no problem with furnication, kidnapping, stealing, abortion and even G.Os divorce their wives yet we don't want a gay in d church. I know homosexuality annoys God but just so we are clear, other sins do same.

Bonario you are the one I was expecting to see what you we say...if its another church u talk rubbish now look at you ..finally u didn't say your to be a Catholic

YHUR-ZEST-4-LIFE said...

wait let me understand something oh!!! so someone you grew up with, he is so intelligent and smart and he found the prevention and vaccination to rabies but just because he doesn't have sex with woman that makes him EVIL or A CHILD OF SATAN but yet a rapist or a man who rapes both little boys and girls is seen as normal person ba. Please People stop being myopic with your perspectives and widen your reasoning. And yes if someone I knew yesterday comes and says he/she is gay, I will still love him/her the way i did yesterday. Condemnation is not the Key

YHUR-ZEST-4-LIFE said...

@phinite thank you very much for that interesting insight. People always want to condemn forgetting they have worst skeleton in their closets.

JANE said...

SPEECHLESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

u re vry correct

What do you mean by if there is time? What's stopping you apart from the fact that you really have no proof?

you sayyyy what???

Having the word in your head is different from having it in your heart. Your post shows where you keep yours, so the power in it won't work on u. Harden not your heart

Catholism is Christianity and always has been. Good thing your saying it is not is irrelevant in the scheme of any thing

You are blessed!!

This is funny. No wonder who separated from who? Aren't there gay Anglican priests? All which Pentecostal churches? Should we make our pick? Are we now allowed to divorce? Or masturbate? Or commit adultery? Smh

A fool’s paradise is a wise man’s hell said...

Erm! I hope you are married to pastor now? My dear read... if u gave birth to a gay child will u kill him? Dats wot. D church is saying.... embrace Pple wit a different sexual orientation. the church teaching doesn't change!!!! Please read! Catholic church. Doesn't permit gays.... as part of their teaching!

A fool’s paradise is a wise man’s hell said...

Well said!

Paul said...

Linda ikeji pls go to zenit.org or Vatican .org and read carefully.

My dear anon1.13pm, i am here to side with any church but to correct ur opinion. We now have the church of Christ in Nigeria Anglican communion. Reason being that the hq in london decided to accept same sex thingy and went ahead to ordain gay revo. So difference dey o

Hope you overcome chatting crap.

Aymii said...

Bloodty Crap!!! .....which one is cross they are called to carry!!! .... Homosexuality is WRONG mayne!!! Let's call a spade a spade! ....let not the pope try to bend the laws to accommodate them!

Mesha naadays av learnt to look at my own front and concentrate on my Own salvation.......This race finally na all man to himself....At heaven the Judgement will "Man o man"! ...each person will answer his own questions......Including the pope too!

On 2 the Next!

Van tex said...

Correct am with you bro, am waiting for one just prophecy to be fufilled... #lastdaysthings

The Catholic Reverend Fathers who want to marry and have children also have gifts to offer the Catholic Faith.

nwachuchu said...

LINDA WHY DIDN'T U COMPLETE THE POST.IT IS LYK U DIDNT UNDERSTAND THE WHOLE THING.AT THE END IT SAID THAT THE ARTICLE IS NOT THE FINAL DECISSION OF THE CHURCH(DOCUMENT MAGISTERIUM).THERE WILL STILL BE AMENDMENTS AND FUTHER EDITING TO IT WHICH WILL BE BROUGHT TO HIS HOLINESS FOR APPROVAL,AND MIND U NOT ALL THE BISHOPS ARE IN SUPPORT OF THE ARTICLE RELEASED .DONT MAKE MATTERS WORSE BECAUSE U WANT SO MANY COMMENTS AS POSSIBLE .ISSUES LYK DIS SHOULD BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY

FYI the more you hating on him the more God blesses this guy...

There is no fence in the kingdom of God...Heaven or Hell. Don't add to God's word.

Moslems don't exchange banters like this na hian....una no dey shame ooo

A billion likes

That is what it is...After all where is the source?

G-bengs said...

Hmmmm lets see how this will play out.

The Spirit of PERVERSION!!!

Its funny how most of you claim God hates it. Who saw God to get that piece of information from him? And then who deliver that same piece of information to you mare mortals? If you were sensible you'd know that what you believe is wrong or right is what the church wants you to be believe is. If the Catholic Church thinks its time to welcome the gay community, then who are you to question that? Do you know how many Pastors, Priests, Deacons, Deaconesses, or Clergy men and women who are gay? Stop being baselessly judgmental and using God as your base for spreading HATE. Never speak against something you don't understand...

*THE STAR*

Apostle Paul said...

They have gone no where, the church condemns the act but u don't throw away baby with the bathing water

Apostle Paul said...

The church has not change the are only been merciful n considerate

Yes,focus Jesus...Cor 15:18-19,Johan14-16,16:5-9 A̶̲̥̅̊₪d̶̲̥̅̊ 12-13,Deut 18:18....

Sometimes I laugh at pples comment, Jesus Christ Neva put away sinners so y shld d church or our so called christain faith, he even dined n wit den.... Tink abt dis b4 u cast d first stone mk sure u re witout sin....

Funny pple

Dr O said...

Hate the sin, love the sinner. In so doing, you can use the love of God to point them in the right way.

Signed
Spirit filled, born again
child of God

This is sacrilege of the highest order,God destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah because of this act with fire and brim stones to tell you the extent of the sacrilege it is to him.and when you see this abominations happening in the church know ye that the end is near.Matt 24:15

Lamanda said...

LMAO! So the bible can't be changed and adjusted? Oya, let us start stoning girls that have pre-marital sex and continue slavery. SHUT UP religious fanatics!!! Fucking Africans. They brought the religions to you. If not for these Catholics won't you still be worshipping Amadioha & his cohorts?

This "ritualistic cult," as one of you described the Catholic church, is the same one you used to exclude and dehumanise gay people for years. Suddenly the Pope is the anti-christ because he told you that gay people are not useless and can contribute positively to the church.

Who are YOU to approve and disapprove of someone's sexual preference? Your journey is your journey so FOCUS ON YOURSELF! God is NOT going to love you more because you excluded and dehumanised gays. Heck, he won't love you more if you participated in stoning a known thief to death.

For you to still think that gay people, especially in a homophobic country like Nigeria, choose to be gay is a sign of your mental regression. What do gay people have to gain from WANTING to be gay? If it was easy to just not be gay do you think the world would be battling homosexuality as it is now?

It is all you useless omo jati jati bitches that I hope get the brunt of it. I PRAY that you marry a gay man like I did. Let him fawn over your gorgeous hair and makeup and have no interest in touching your vagina. Let him kiss you while he pines for your muscular brother. Let him leave you so sexually unfulfilled that you cheat on him with your gateman.

Well said ONYX Godwin

RareSpecie said...

The world is tryin 2 betray me bt ain't gonna have none of that ish. WTF is really goin on wit this gay shit. I am fuckin SICK from this sickness afflictin the world, my beautiful world that God took precious time to create. We need to rise up as conscious people to heal the world from this affliction from the pit of hell. I am not surprise at the catholic church stance on this issue (study an unbiased history of its emergence n u wil knw how filthy the church is, even worst than Islam). I have a God given purpose to lead a movment on removin this gay bum n as the self proclaimed leader of The Homophobic Movement (THM), i hereby declare WAR on them. This is necessary to save the human race from extinction.

Am not suprised though cos Ive always said it that Roman catholic is the biggest Cult and Fraternity in the world. Now its Catholic against Genesis.... My heart is my church/mosque..... Religion hmm i reserve my comment ....GOD is Great

It is well

The church did not say she will join gay couples or accept homosexuality. The church condemn the sin but accepts the sinner. Even Jesus dinned with sinners and tax collectors. Come to think of it, if homosexuals are not accepted into the church, how will the church preach Christian values against homosexuality to them?. "let he who has no sin cast the first stone - John 8:7 " We should desist from judging the church, the pope or even homosexuals because we are all sinners. However, we should condemn the sin.

LALAcious smallchops said...

When other denominations re tryin to play catchup by turning churches into banks nd business centres, catholic church has passed that level, theirs is now showing us how the time of Antichrist will look like. God help us

the Anglicans in Nigeria separated from the Canterbury bcs of same issue.The bible made it that those involve in this abomination should be stoned to death.Sin is sin,abomination is abomination,No compromise.

All this blind Catholics worshiping a mortal pope .His words are final to you and you take it over The living God's word shame on you bonario I actually came to read your comment silly hipocrite that is how the Catholic church behind m house will be partying playing secular music breaking bottle to fight in the church hiss .The standard of God standeth sure he won't change it for your pope or any pastor the soul that sinneth it shall die .To angry for punctuations jor nonsense

That being said all sins are sins adultery formication etc if they are not condoned in the church why should homosexuality be given s nice seat .shame

Your Pope needs to get off the fence.and stop seeking for the whole world to live him.they never all loved Jesus

Haaaaa !!!, don't be carried away oooooo, Read Roman 1:18-32 sir/ma

This is sensible. It's foolish to throw away the baby with the bath-water, to cut the nose to spite the face. Fornication is sin, whether gay or straight. Why should a straight fornicator feel morally superior to a gay fornicator? The church states that only a married couple should have sex. How many 'Christian' adults break that rule all the time, yet have the cheek to condemn gays. The fact is, the vast majority of the brightest people in human history showed a gay orientation. Western civilization is mainly the history of gay achievement. The Pope probably knows that, and many intelligent, well-informed people know that. To persecute gays means to suppress ability and talent. It is an unwise government that would do that.

Christian have become so religious..have we forgotten Christ came for the sinners not saint..if we kicked them out to the world... They become worst...if we accept them...he could work his wonders...the best way to love God is loving you neighbours...dats wat Christianity is all about..post this linda

Linda you are a real hypocrite.... What is 'huh'.... Are they not human beings like you with don thing to contribute like you and I? So why the 'huh'??? Becos if you say what you really think your viewers will abuse you!!!! Hypocrisy at its best !!!!

I thought God destroyed sodom and gommorrah because of homosexuality[sodomy].

People like to hear what tickles the ear. If the church approves this, certainly individuals who support this motion are happy to hear it. The bible clearly mentions homosexuality as one of the thing Jehovah detests. However, God's word the bible still explains further in 1 Cor 6:9-11 that this is what some were(homosexuals) but they have turned away from it and become sanctified. Its really nice to know God still loves all of his creation but doesn't like the evil and disobedient act they involve in. We are living in the last days, God's holy organization is becoming evident today.

Something is wrong somewhere.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 264 of 264   Newer› Newest»