Gov Rotimi Amaechi insults Nollywood practitioners to their faces, says they are products of circumstances | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 October 2014

Gov Rotimi Amaechi insults Nollywood practitioners to their faces, says they are products of circumstances

This would have been funny if it wasn't pathetic. According to a few Nollywood practitioners who were present at the Best of Nollywood Awards, which held last night in Port Harcourt, Rivers state, the governor of the state Rotimi Amaechi practically insulted Nollywood practitioners to their faces.

According to a source who reached out to LIB, during his speech at the award after he gave veteran actress Liz Benson a Lifetime Achievement Award, Governor Rotimi said that people in Nollywood are products of circumstances/necessity. He said that the only reason they are in Nollywood is because they couldn't find other jobs, that if they had, they won't be actors. Rotimi said these actors studied sciences, law, medicine etc but because they couldn't find jobs, they embraced Nollywood.

Present when he said this were Nollywood veterans including Liz Benson, Kenneth Okonkwo, Shola Sobowale, Desmond Elliot, Moses Inwang, Dickson Iroegbu, Bob-manuel Udokwu, Patience Ozokwor, Elvis Chuks, AY, Iyabo Ojo, Emem Isong and many others.

Governor Rotimi also put two veteran actresses on blast. He told the crowd that he gives Joke Silva and Kate Henshaw bags of money whenever they come to Rivers state. And then claimed he was the one who encouraged Kate Henshaw to go into politics.

Like that wasn't enough, Governor Amaechi then said he went into politics for money.

Some of the Nollywood practitioners are angry about what the governor said and have asked the AGN to make sure it doesn't happen again.

257 comments:

1 – 200 of 257   Newer›   Newest»

Na wa o

Choi! Amechi onu ukpaka lol

OG said...

Sadly, he spoke the truth. Aunty Joke, I'm most surprised at you!!
Guess that means no more BON in portharcourt anymore..
Breeze don blow!

Jade said...

Haha. That's what u get when u become a** wipes to politicians. How embarrassing.

But I think most of the names mentioned here are very good actors and actresses..they are doing their "Jobs" excellently...acting is also a job..a very good one @ that. He might be a little wrong here. Prov 12:27. BishopDammy#

Wait I can't find the insult here, found it hard to believe these people couldn't deduce what he meant.
He was more referring to the economic situation in our country, where people are forced to do what they hitherto never intended doing. Like a medical doctor going into politics.
He only said the bitter truth.

good for all of them...dining withe devil what do you expect?

But I think most of the names mentioned here are very good actors and actresses..they are doing their "Jobs" excellently...acting is also a job..a very good one @ that. He might be a little wrong here. Rmba no food for the. Lazy man o.. It is well. Prov 12:27. BishopDammy#

first, there is some truth to what he said, I wont generalise it, some of them seem to have passion for acting... and what do they mean by ''make sure it doesn't happen again'' what so if it does what will happen, its not like the protocol unit of any governor will release the speech to anybody before the event.

ANYA IKENGA said...

Now u guys know the type of man Abdulahi Rotimi Amaechi is. He said they steal because Nigerians are not stoning them. So his morals does not tell him stealing is bad.

I DON LAUGH FALL FROM MY OFFICE CHAIR..LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

i no fit laugh....comedy of d year

E be like sey rotimi don high.

ha hah hahahahahhaahahhahahahhahhahahhaaaaahhhahahahahhahahhahahahahahhahahhahaha

Digital Beggars.

Eugenia said...

Are u sure Gov. Amechi is okay? I don't think so. Vote Linda Ikeji as the Most Active Blogger of the year. www.socialmediameritawards.com.

And somebody no give am better slap for mouth? Governor my shit,we all knw he's got a big mouth but this statement is irresponsible, ignorant and uncalled for,shameless, no wonder "na only yoy waka come" and her husband one finish u!!! Nonsense

lol,he acts too rudely but in a way he is right..Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

He probably was high on drugs when he made those comments.

Lolz, he said d truth abt nollywood practitioners being in d film industry as a result of circumstance, that is fact.. Buh saying he gives some pple bags of money dey visit rivers, abeg who ask am?

Don't listen to him ppl he don't haVe word,his Stupid.

Well, my governor should know. Given the fact that he beds the best of them regularly!!!

dhobiz said...

Dude is going down and diaris nothing anybody can do about it

www.lifeasvira.blogspot.com said...

Hahahaaaaa... Who vexed him oh?

Was he on is normal cocaine?ds guy has lost it......I cry fr his career

Amaechi must probably be insane...he talks too much as a man

lgho said...

A big slap on their faces....at same time I agree wit him.

hmm
What do you expect? when they've sold their birthright for money.
Why won't they be insulted...

amakaikenga.com said...

Goodness me! That was some serious insults. But talk of pot calling kettle black. He also studied law but found himself in politics. And for spilling that he gives Joke Silva and Kate Henshaw money is totally uncalled for and inappropriate.

I have said it again and again that this man is a tout. He shouldn't be a leader. His utterances in public baffles me all the time. I don't know if he realises there are statements he shouldn't make in public.

WOW.useless governor,is that not too to nonesense at a public forum. Its not your fault but their faults for descending so low to beg from money from the likes of touts and area boys calling themselves governor

Hahahahahha he who pays the piper,dictates the tune.God is vindicating Clarion,when she accused the guild and some actors of collecting money from politicians.Amaechi hahaha your mouth bad sha

Buhahhahahahahahhahahahahahahhahahahahahahhahahahahha...Amechi na mad man na...he no dey look face...he says it as it pleases him anytime anyday...

Kponskii said...

Was he on the high? That was sooooo extreme.

its simply funny linda..this man is so so mean!

Lmao Ơ̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ͡ insult Ŋa̶̲̥̅ wa and oga we knw Đα̲̅T̶̲̥̅ all U̶̲̥̅̊ politicians are thieves dnt bother †o tell us.

Modupe

Princess Charming said...

Shame!

Choi... He should have chew his speech before spiting it out. By their friuts we shall know them. simplyperpet@yahoo.co.uk

BUT HE CLEARLY SAID THE TRUTH...HMMM AM LOVING HIM ALREADY

when u isolate just phrases from a speech it could be misconstrued. Linda lets hear his full speech first biko before we start yabbing him. That's the least you owe him.

mummy3 said...

Lol but it's true if u think of it very few of dem studied theatre arts.

Ameachi u sef, ur mouth no go kil u.

What's his problem sef..mtchewww he that went into politics was that what he studied in skul.@gloell

Same is applied to d speaker
His in dat position of power cuz of one tin or d oda
He needed to make extra quids
So fuck him for been a hypocrite

....SƖεεkz

Lol....its actually funny 😁 to me. Spoke like he was drunk

Olusoji said...

He is very blunt. Reality check though.

Ijjoy said...

Eziokwu bu ndu. Tell them joor

Neks said...

na wah oh, is Rotimi okay? well he is right; woah what a revelation.

T-john said...

Shameless Governor, thank God he didnt tell the crowd how he sleeps with Nollywood actresses.

yanga baby said...

Amaechi lacks home training now so what do u expect. When u invite such an couth and foul mouthed person to ur even what do u expect. He will not look for how to redeem his failed political image. Anofia

the man is drama queen : can't help running his mouth in different directions at all times: no discretion, no diplomacy he just keeps on dishing the insults: whether at GEJ, his wife or nolly wood people.

hats ow people will rise up too to insult and cheek him regularly : what goes around comes around!

As weird as dis may seem, he is the only governor DAT has bin saying do hard truth. Call him carry but which Nigerian politician went in solely to liberate do ppl?.
Hollywood is a total joke

Was he high on something? Lmao..

He is just a loud mouth. Y blow d trumpet? And if he gives them so?

Gov rotimi no wonder obasanjo called u a k leg man...u get bad mouth oo...olubukola daniels aka blackmamba...

But he did not lie. He practically had Kate henshaw as a side chic and was her paymaster. I'm surprised she didn't use her money well. some younger actress has taken over so Kate delved into politics and PDP to make the matter painful for Amaechi . Even Stephanie Linus , they both frequent Amaechi s brick house and left with bags of money like he rightly said. Amaechi spews and tells all and don't expel him to tell you what they had together before he doles out the bags of money ,that will be leaving nothing to your imagination. Stephanie Linus and Kate henshaw rocked govt house of rivers state and they were compensated handsomely. Stephanie opened a film academy and left the political scene, Kate doesn't want the icing on the cake anymore, she wants the cake itself, more so she's single again. I hope hers our journey in Abuja gives her a second child.

LMAO!HAHAHHA............ KIKIKWAKWAHAHAHAH! IS THAT MAN UNDER INFLUENCE OF "...................". Sorry, but i found it funny. The money aspect might be true.

hahahahahahahahahahahahaha its funny... but all the same, he needs to learn how to start speaking like a man in public. even i he isnt a man, he should just try to pretend to be one for the sake of publicity.

GOVERNO ROTIMI AMAECHI IS FULL OF HIM SELF AROGANT AND FLAMBOYANT THE SHOULD TAKE THIS AS A NITE MOSQUITORS SIMPLE

WHAT THE GOVERNOR SAID WAS VERY TRUE. I AGREE WITH HIM 1001%. THAT IS WHY THEY ARE CHURNING OUT A LOT OF GARBAGE ALL IN THE NAME OF MOVIES. A GOOD MANY OF THEM DO NOT HAVE FORMAL EDUCATION AND TRAINING YET THEY CLAIM CELEBRITY

Uche Emma said...

Wonders shall never end

I guess he was drunk because the occasion didn't call for the insult #onelovefromSnow#

this blasting is too much oo, haba! governor, you do not have to talk that way na , that's embarrassing to the body as a whole

Funny but is d simple truth

lovlyivon said...

Ok they know no amechi b4 now?? Hahahahaha

And Who Approves Linda

pearl said...

imagine the governor of a state.Oh what a country. God deliver us from these evil and aimless leaders

Very funny

Truth is bitter but still it must be told....

Lol, he is high on something

Am almost sure the gov was high when he went for that award.

Mayim Bialik( Amy Farrah Fowler) of the Big Bang theory is a neuroscientist. A lot of Hollywood stars are actually very well educated.

Insultttttttttttttttttt offfffffffffff theeeeeeeeeeeeee. yearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Duke-Ola said...

I think its only Linda that would find such a statement by the Governor pathetic! He his actually saying something meaningful but can be misconstrued by the media. Same goes to the majority of the bankers we have in Nigeria where any graduate even at yoruba studies can be employed to work in a bank. That's Nigeria for you. We are versatile by nature!!!

I think its only Linda that would find such a statement by the Governor pathetic! He his actually saying something meaningful but can be misconstrued by the media. Same goes to the majority of the bankers we have in Nigeria where any graduate even at, Yoruba studies can be employed to work in a bank. That's Nigeria for you. We are versatile by nature!!!

This is serious.

I think its only Linda that would find such a statement by the Governor pathetic! He his actually saying something meaningful but can be misconstrued by the media. Same goes to the majority of the bankers we have in Nigeria where any graduate even at, Yoruba studies can be employed to work in a bank. That's Nigeria for you. We are versatile by nature!!!

COLLIN said...

ℓωкм....my God...very embarrasiing.....țħȋ§ guy z wicked i swear

Did Rotimj really say all these? Well if he did then, hahahahahahahahahahaha! Lolz! Even joke silva sef dey collect bags of money? Wonders shall never cease.

Rotimi Amaechi is one arrogant and experienced politician. Chill Linda! He speaks the truth and won't sugar coat it to make anyone happy. This is election season and speeches like these are expected. Nollwood was born out of neccessity and has really helped a lot of would have been jobless Nigerians without help from the government. By the way is the Nollywood village ready???

But he didn't lie na! What he said is PURE, UNDILUTED TRUTH! most people in the entertainment industry are there because of circumstance! FA E JIRO ANYA OCHA BA NYE THERE

Omaa said...

Pathetic or not, it's the honest truth!

JJ said...

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA...I GUESS HE WAS HIGH WHEN HE MADE THE STATEMENT.some of the tin na true shaaaaaaa

Gee said...

OMG! If this is true then itz very shameful. This guy has a very big mouth n needs to be taught a lesson

Chaiiiiiiieeeee!!!

Oskirin said...

iya, pls bring us d footage 2 listen. i knw a lot of people dt went in2 nollywood simply bcoz of no wrk.so he might b right.as 4 d abuse,i no know.

He shld ve just said he fucks them and give them bags of money

felicia said...

LOLZ...AM SURE DIS MAN WAS HIGH WHEN SAYING ALL THIS...

Chaiiiiiiieeeee!!!

Gov Rotimi mouth is big....really big......

Lmao he who pay the piper dictates the tune. It's about time the secret bags exchanged in the dark for Goodluck 2015, Amaechi 2014 comes to light. I'm still waiting for Genevieve & Stephanie Okereke to be thrown under the bus too.

Lol cnt just stop lafin,y did he vex dat much

How pathetic. I'm sure d fool tot he wz being funny

Domingo said...

Well well,he is somehow right but not absolutely though.Now to Kate Henshaw who was insulting those who ask her for financial assistance some few weeks ago,u can see ure even a worst begger-fowl yansh don open.una go dey waka kurukere waka go collect money from governors and politician.I call it coporate begging.As for Gov Amaechi,he spoke the truth,pple go into politics in Nigeria for money and not for passion for economic growth.God will judge all of us.accordingly.Kate Henshew ole ole

Wind don blow we don see fowl yansh. See casting

ik said...

Hmmmm! Thats insulting though! When some practitioners have turned themselves to corporate beggers before some politicians...what do you expect? Time is ripe for us to see the industry as a creative industry not entertainment industry...where entertainers are seen as product of "necessity'....Creative people are mind moulders,society changers our entertainers are respected outside here in Nigeria more than the likes of Amechi...

Bold Kid said...

Hahaha! Truth hurts!! Sycophants, good for them.

blaque pearl said...

BIG FAT LIE OOOOH! THIS IS SUCH A MISCONSTRUED VERSION OF WHAT HE SAID!! Y R PEOPLE LIKE THIS - I WAS THERE PLS. THAT'S NOT HOW HE SAID IT

Bold Kid said...

Hahaha! Truth hurts!! Sycophants, good for them.

Hahahahaaaaa!!
Lwkmd!!!
Dem don go embarrass dem self #hungry pple #bag of money lmao

Ds is too raw naa

KWEEN said...

Perhaps he was high on something...

David Iyke said...

THEY ARE HIS COLLEAGUES, HE EVEN ACT BETTER THAN MOST OF THEM. THAT IS WHY THEY ARE NOT ANGRY.HE SO MUCH LOVE PRESS AND ACTING THINGS.

Rose John said...

Lol, the man just spoke the truth. That's the fact. Rozay talking

Good for them. No self pride.

He is talking from experience

naija dj said...

Was he high?

hmmm... otito oro omo iya isokuso (the truth bitter)

Yea nd its true

yaxx said...

hahahahahahahaha,,,,hohohohohohoho,,,chuhuchuchuhuhu,,,spispispipispi,,,lolololoolololol,,,,laughing in english, german, chinese, spanish n french,,,,lol

Amaechi is losing it.

What a white lie!

hahahaha so tru.. dey r all pathetic individuals

Ochuko said...

This is a tactless public statement from a leader however there are some hidden sense in it...The worst part is that everyone present, including the so-called Nollywood practitioners will be laughing as the governor was saying it.

The only thing I can say to dis is dat dis guy was high wen he said dis rubbish

@Charming_rascal said...

Ignorance! He forgot sum people hav passion for it? Not every Thespian ar after the industry money I'm Studying Theatre Arts cos I hav passion for acting it isn't about the money. He should learn.. I used to love this man but I hate him for this..

#The Theist

Olojukokoro! That serves them right.

Osuagwu Friday Niles said...

I don't believe dis. Get a copy of his statement for clarification

Lmfao was He drunk Wen he was sayin All dis? Wow Dairiz God ooo, Buh he's quite Right "Cassandra Carthage"

For me, practical and honest remark.

Complete humiliation, they are always hobnobbing with politicians, they deserve what they got. He forgot to mention Genevieve, a big beneficiary of his cash gift.

For me, practical and honest remark.

Amaechi acts so immature,very typical of him to say things that are not well thought out

Mischievous said...

Serves them right!

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

Amaechi, Amaechi,a man of many sides

FIZZICHILLIO said...

Hahahaha!! RCA is on an insulting spree this time o.. MY lawddd!!!!! ROTFLMFAO!!

#Fizz

Olajumoke said...

Bunch of thieves, Including the Nollywood actors and actresses. No wonder they all want to cross into Politics...They will be exposing themselves one after the other..

Them don possess dis guy ooooo

Don't knw wat to say dis cos I don't understand d Gov's standpoint. Its nt his biz y anyone ventured into nollywood. As for his giving bags of money, I think his mouth is way too wide. Mtcheew #treasure#

And he is exactly correct. How many of them set out from day one to become actors and actresses? How many of them studied performing arts? Insult or no insult, he has said it the way it is.

Story

Cocaine at work

*confused face*

This guy is so PATHETIC.

47___ said...

the guy just said the plain and simple truth!! call a lice a lice

omg. cant believe it, well serves dem right for those who didn't know if to b a politician or an actor.dis governor is a crook.

Oge Nsimah said...

They are the once bring insults to themselves. They allowed the courpt poLOOTican to buy their consince with money.what do you expect?

Fearless Amaechi.Lmao!!!

So why are they angry, 'cos he stated facts? Abegi! Like he said anything new.

At least, he no lie ehhh...lol

auj said...

Lol, this guy is being very truthful..

I wish to apologise on his behalf. He dated J.S before K.H. So he said the truth about the bags of money.

Mma Efa said...

This is hilarious....na man anytime any day. #thisWhatHappensWhenAgovernorIsATout

Sound brash and harsh, but he said the truth. Politicians are into politics to make money, if not the country would have been a very good place to live. Nollywood have joined the act, they befriend politicians for connection and money, now some of them are now into politics.

I don't believe this crap. Really! Linda! Did you verify this information.. i have a feeling someone is giving a diluted version of d story.

Lol..., I see a bit of corroboration between Gov Rotimi and Clarion Chukwura's views!!! Nollywood actors, make una no come thief all Naija moni finish oooo!! Choi! Voters, shine ya eyes!!!

That serves them right. They should face their work rather than running after those useless people at the corridor of power

Jeez I don't want to believe this is true....Amaechi has diarrhoea of the mouth..na wa o..He talks anyhow!!!!

Chai!.. Lekwa mbada mkpari!.. Umu nnem ndi nollywood sorry nu o!.. Another inucho kwa idiot ozo mee invite in de name of governor!...#teamchris

My bet is the governor was drunk in that meeting.

Chiby Kris said...

Lmao, wow! Cnt stop laughing o

Why are they angry at him for saying the truth?he doesn't need them anyone,only he forgot to mention the people he slept with.Who knew Joke Silva could take money from politian,Kate is so obvious

Just a truism...my able gov.

Babiz said...

Hahahhaa... Dere is God oo,,, dats too much tho!

Missd1091 said...

Dis gist is hard to believe ooo...esp. d fifth paragraph,dat he went into politics for money....hmmmm

Wow

THAT'S A FACT. LACK OF EMPLOYMENT IS DRAGING YOUTHS 2 ALL SORTS OF WRONG CHOICES. *****QUEENMAYA*****

DOBY DOBY said...

D man is crazy.. wats in givin dem money if he wnts.. besides hes stil owin 2013 corpers dat servd in rivers yet hes talkin rubbish. . Pls pay ur debt amechi

Gov. Amechi is a Dog

Hahaahahahahhaha, but na true naw

I don't not see any wrong or insult in this statement, because only 5% of Nollywood actors/actress actually studied theater art and 25% only have school cert.

While readn dis dint knw wen my mouth opened...dis guys a seruz psycho o

Sue him

He is gradually loosing his mind

I am,the NoSender. said...

Dementia has several forms of manifestation. One of which is amnesia or chronic forgetful syndrome. Gov. Amaechi should be quarantined from infesting saner humanoids. Nollywood practitioners ought to have asked him if it wasn't necessity that led him into politics. Mtchewwwww

Jostus is here.. said...

He must be high on heroine before going on stage..

LMAO! THAT'S HISTERICAL!

Hahahahahah .... some people are always high on something. Maybe Amaechi was high on the holy spirit. Who knows.

Why do I feel this dude was drunk and spilling the obvious.

Was he high on something?Dude is blazing like a loose cannon...I like him tho...

Tragic times are here. Tone of despair and inconsiderable loss,its not enough to have money...its not enough. Poor Amaechi,poor hollywood.

Fortunedexcel

Diddy said...

Nahhh... He couldnt possibly say that, no no no no no way.... Does he use drugs? loooooool

I think the governor speak the truth,,,,,,,,,,,,,

I love this man, he go talk him own without looking at Uche's face. Na true talk jare..........Lol

D man must av been high on sumfin. Can u imagine

Was he high on sumtin?

Lmao!!!!!he must have been high on something........'blame it on the a-a-a-a-alchohol...'

*Kismet

Story - Story...
S-T-O-R-Y.
***Multibillionnaire***

Hahahahaha! I can't fit laugh. Omg, I like dis man jare! Always speaking his mind @ all times, not dat useless governor Akpabio of Akwa Ibom state, wasting the state funds on nollywood worms. No wonder nollywood actors and actresses are all trying to make a meaning of deir life, it sudnt just be politics, der are so many other opportunities out der!

HRH May said...

It doesn't really matter what you study. People discover themselves and rediscover. If they are happy and also successful, what then is the biggie

HRH May said...

As some of us spend so many years in school and end up as housewives

Ada Jesus said...

Gov Rotimi there is God oo all this thing ur saying

Laughing at how this pple disgraced themselves in Public

TRAITOR!!!!

This man slf en own dey en body every time na only him dey worry nawaooo .CHI.

zibaintl said...

amaechi...did u study politics...u are a product of circumstance in politics becos dat was your way out to joblessness n entrance to making millions thru stealing govt funds...wait a minute..d responsibility of employing youths lies in which govt...if ur trying to point fingers to d fed govt, u lie bcos d fed govt canot employ all..besides rivers is one of d richest states in d country..are all your youths employed,,wat measures have u created to employ dem as d state govt?...speaking trash thru frustration...besides most parents foce childrn to study certain courses but as dey graduate dey begin to discover their talents n follow dem..

Rotimi no send anybody fada he can't lie abt it......

The things we hear...

CHAI DIARIS GOD OO, HE JST SAID IT D WAY HE SEES IT. LOLZ

ColdFlame said...

I see no insults there at all. The man was stating the obvious. Most careers in today's Nigeria are determined more often than not by circumstances arising from very excruciating lack of appropriate opportunity. I know a chemical engineer who presently makes do with a place in a marketing firm and another with a doctorate in political science employed by a bank. These guys may end up making the best of their jobs but that still doesn't disguise the fact that given a choice they'd have chosen differently.

But joke and Kate are veterans with over 20 years in acting. A lot of actors studied theatre arts like Rita. Why is he talking rubbish. Don't they give most visitors to govt house money token. Why name joke and Kate for something that's not peculiar to only them.

How many hollywood stars studied jack! Are they not our role models! Abeg Mr Gov take several seats

He spoke the gospel truth.. love him or hate him, the man says it as it is. He is better than most ass licking politicians. Miszhiphe@gmail.com

Governors don't just give women bags of money, they get fucked. Hahaha!. Breeze don blow, fowl yansh don open. Et tu Katie and Joke!

Very generous to Genny too! The oriental goddess! The list is long oh! Lol

Auntie joke,na whao

When you see a Nollywood actress driving a N12 million naira car, you know there is something underneath. Many of them are mediocre, some are just absolute rubbish when it comes to acting, they are in the 'business' to sell themselves to politicians and money bags. One home video, with show of breast, and a call from the governor's pimp. That's all. High level prostitution! And they brag by posting their acquisitions on the internet. No morals! No shame!

Bestest comment ever! Help me tell d yeye man o!

La Crunch said...

Living in naija is hard! Na better life everybody dey look for. Lol

unknown said...

Okay!!

This Ikwerre man go kill person. Hahahaha!

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 257   Newer› Newest»