Weeping pilot tells terrified passengers to brace for a crash landing at sea after plane suffers engine failure | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 September 2014

Weeping pilot tells terrified passengers to brace for a crash landing at sea after plane suffers engine failure

Terrified passengers on a flight across Europe feared they were moments away from death after one of the plane's engine's failed in mid-air. After an emergency was declared by the flight crew, the plane's 'weeping' pilot warned holidaymakers that they had six minutes before they would crash, a passenger says.

Travellers were ordered to put on their life jackets and brace for a water landing during the charter flight from Split, Croatia to Nantes, France. Continue...

Tourist Benjamin Girard described the harrowing experience aboard the Europe Airpost flight, saying passengers were 'crying and screaming' in horror as the aircraft was in danger of crash landing in the Adriatic Sea on 23 August.

The drama ended when the Boeing 737 landed safely in Venice, Italy, and now the airline is downplaying the incident.

Mr Girard, who was travelling with his wife and daughters, said the ordeal began shortly after take-off when the pilot told passengers to prepare for turbulence.

He said: 'Then people at the back of the plane said one engine had stopped working, and this was soon confirmed by the pilot. He said we would have to make an emergency landing in Venice, and joked it would be a great chance to visit the city.'

Passengers were not amused and the pilot soon told them to put on their life jackets and remove any jewellery.
Mr Girard said: 'He said we would have to make a crash landing at sea and warned us there could be an explosion. Everyone was terrified, even the cabin crew. One steward was in a state of total panic and another just went pale and silent.
He added: 'When the pilot next came on he was crying. He said we had six minutes before we would crash, but that we should not panic. People were screaming out at the back of the plane.'

After several terrifying minutes, the twin-engine aircraft finally 'bumped down' at the seaside Venice Marco Polo Airport with no injuries, Mr Girard added. 

Europe Airpost acknowledged that there was 'panic on board' but insists passengers' safety was not at risk.
A spokesman said in a statement: 'The flight from Split to Nantes experienced an incident with an engine. This was identified by the crew who took the decision to land in Venice and inform the passengers.
'It was a procedure practised by the crew, who landed the plane safely in Venice.'

Source: UK Daily Mail

57 comments:

how can a pilot start crying? hope it isnt true..dude deserves the sack..no composure

Thank God they landed safely.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Lord have mercy
The pilot weeping, crying for his life...but mercy of God see them thru. Awesome

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Thank U Jesus.

Just imagine wat dey all went through in dat plane....thank God dey are safe

Thank God nutin happened......sum go don die wake up. Inside D plane.

What a miracle the plane never crashed. Thank God for their lives

Michael said...

Wheeew.....Thank God for saving their Lifes....can't imagine....

ILcity's Finest.

Thank God.imagine what it will be like to be in such a situation!God have mercy.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

That moment when you see death coming and you want to embrace God. The fear no go allow any of those passengers enter plane again.!

WTF.......6minutes away from death? I can't imagine what was going through there mind at that moment, mostly those going on holiday.....they'll wish they stayed bored at home o.
Its crazy, God, I don't want to experience that. (Please I bed you)

I can imagine what they must have gone through, I thank God for their lives.

Thank God there were no injuries..no casualties. It is well. Psalm 91:1-3. BishopDammy#

All thanks to God

Peejay said...

Talk about near death experience. I'm glad the encounter ended on a good note.

My name said...

Just wondering how i wld ve felt if i happens to be one of d passengers? Thank God for their lives.

Could imagine how terrified the passengers were.
Thank God nothing happened.

they landed safely, every other thing is inconsequential

Thank God

The pilot must be related to diezani,patience,alimodu
Our weeping leaders.on a serious note,thank God for landing the aircraft safely.

Amicable said...

Suicide mission,thank God they survived

Why scare the passengers in the first place when it was certain they were not at risk? That's very unprofessional. Who wouldn't panic? If the pilot was a passenger on a flight he would too.

NEXT OF KIN said...

Nobody is ready to die, but that was GOD at work anyway.......................................NEXT OF KIN

Thank God they landed safely.

#king said...

abeg wich kind joke..I will just die of fear..went to owerri few months ago entered aero..My God d way d pilot landed assuming I wasnt strong maybe I wont be here typing dis..D landing was scary..very very.............................#KingOfKings

ASHANKA said...

DOUBLE WAHALA

Thank God for safe landing. They should go for thanksgiving in their various churches

king_veev(linda's my fave) said...

Lord have mercy!!

thank God they landed safely.

Fank God everybody is safe..Ne-Yo

Horrifying....Let's make cool extra cash, click and register www.referbizpay.com/?ref=7508

Fank God Eberybody is safe..Ne-Yo

Fank God Everybody is safe...Ne-Yo

NaNcY DreW said...

HIS grace was sufficient 4 dem

This is one state i dont want God to put me in at all.....

was planning a holiday ...now rethinking.

Awwww........can't imagine wat dey must ve gone tru tank God dey landed safely!

Mehn
The pilot shld have stayed strong
That was his balls testing moment
Thought they re walked tru this sorta thing in their training
That proves thatt in the face of death,even d strongest of 'em all,will fear
Thank God them sha,me tire for death news dix days

....SƖεεkz

Thank God
Face of lib

IT IS WRITTEN
He that keepeth ME neither sleeps nor slumber.

What is the connection between jewelries and water?, if you wanna cross over the sea, you will be forced to remove your jewelries, if you wanna crash land in water, the same thing.

Am curious though.

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

Thank God for His mercies.....Otepola Biko what is fank God. I thought h factor was the only issue yorubas had with English nawa o

Shugar said...

Omg!!!! I can relate , I really don't like flying, anyways thank God for his mercies

Shut up

Jewelry can puncture ur floater,get it?

Mschew. Is the pilot not a human being?

If you were the pilot, won't you weep and wail? Onye nzuzu. *anya_o2003@yahoo.com*

SuperDjFlowweezy! said...

i will be screaming God Allah Chineke 1million times before the safe landing! im sure i will also cry more than the pilot!by the way someone above blaming the pilot for lack of composure, mogbe o. kompo wah?can u imagine everyone thinking they might or i say will die in 6minue time? we all aware that only few rare cases passengers had managed to survive plan crash! thankz to God 4 extending their days on earth.

Mama Rere said...

U'r so daft! Wat has facing death got to do wit composure???

REMEMBER "SULLY" ?
Chesley Sullenberger, popularly known as "Sully" was the Award wining airline captain who successfully landed a plane on the Hudson river in NY, without loosing a single passenge - All of the 155 passengers and crew aboard the aircraft survived.
BOTH engines, had failed!
That's the kind of Captain I hope for in any emergency not a crybaby pilot. You must have not only quick reflexes but also nerves of steel to fly a plane.

Vivadrew said...

"how can a pilot start crying? hope it isnt true..dude deserves the sack..no composure"
September 9, 2014 at 2:02 PMAnon 2:02pm,

@ Anon above, I barely make comments but prefer to read and learn from others.The statement you made above shows just how inhumane and vile you are. Excuse me, are you for real? Are pilots not humans like you? Don't they have loved ones like you do? Do you know what it takes to fly a plane or be a cabin crew member? If you don't know a jack about the aviation and have no human feelings, nicely hush please.

AGB said...

Thank you Jesus.

Dont mind dem....they re watching too much American Filmz.
#Halogen

Let the world fall into pieces tomorrow, let the planets collide and the stars come tumbling down. I dont need another day now that my dream has come true. Lucky me, now I have you. See the link below for more info.

#collide
www.ufgop.org