Medical interns at Min. of Defence protest non payment of wages for 8 months | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 September 2014

Medical interns at Min. of Defence protest non payment of wages for 8 months

Medical doctor interns working at the Ministry of Defence hospitals yesterday September 11 stormed the premises of Channels TV in Lagos to protest the non payment of their wages for eight whole months by authorities of the Ministry.

The doctors numbering about 50 said they approached the authorities of the Ministry regarding their unpaid wages and they were told that their wages was not captured in this year's budget among other excuses given to them. Continue...

The doctors said they have tried all they can to get the government to pay them their their wages but all their efforts have not yielded any result. Only on Wednesday September 10, the Ministry of Defence Pensioners took to the street in Abuja to protest the non payment of their pension arrears.

Reacting to the protest, the Minister of State, Defence, Sen. Musiliu Obanikoro who met with the protesting pensioners said the demands of the medical interns as well as the pensioners will be looked into and addressed.

36 comments:

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Some things are not meant to be heard, I mean how could they not pay them for 8 months? That's wrong if you ask me..!!

Its not a new thing wit ministry of defence, they r bunch of criminals, always owin thr interns. I did my internship thr & they owed us 4 7mnths, nd d most annoyin tin is dt dey wil reduce ur salary. Infact dey r stil owin me 4 d last mnth I worked. I jst pray pple shld stop goin thr 4 internship programs or beta stil they shld b banned frm takin interns since dey r nt ready 2 pay.

Bia linda beta post my comment, u dnt always upload my comment, wetin I do u? Pls let my typin nt b in vain!

ManUtdChic

LONG STORY....NIJA NO FIT GO ONEDAY WITHOUT DRAMA CREEPING OUT.

A whole 8 months? Not good atall. Eph 6:18. BishopDammy#

Double wahala for dead body

#skaler#

8 month?
I swear this country is f**k up
Yesterday we read billions of naira allocated to diff state but ministry can't pay their medical interns & pensioners. The fund has been diverted into their personal account

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

God punish them linda they r evicting us from our rooms as we speak. we have till 2pm to leave the premises. diarisss Godooo

C wahala

drerhumu said...

Same thing they did to my set years back, it took a strike to get them to listen.

They should be paid ASAP!

Derah O said...

What do they mean by looked into...we v been wotking since February and they v d xonsxious not to pay us..even wen NMA was striking..we didnt strike...and now they tell us this...pls n pls..we r civilians and not military personnels...so we shud not be treated as such...#modpayusnow. .

Derah O said...

What do they mean by looked into...we v been wotking since February and they v d xonsxious not to pay us..even wen NMA was striking..we didnt strike...and now they tell us this...pls n pls..we r civilians and not military personnels...so we shud not be treated as such...#modpayusnow. .

Am not surprised about this
Welcome to 9ja,where the OGA's at d top dey use our head dey drink garri

....SƖεεkz

Hahahhaha
Naija madness

Wetin they pain me bsay people's fathers and mothers dey there...... FG pls do help..

So much 4 naija

One week, one problem. The issues in the medical sector are never ending.

haba so unfair.

Lolz. Welcome 2 naija where you work hard with no payment. #####QUEENMAYA####

Very very sad. Who's evicting who from what apartment? Huh?

The military is evicting usoooo. Somebody please for the love of Christ come save us

Imagine a parent training his child through medical school to graduation ,thinking he or she can sit back and reap what she has sown. The so-called doctor then starts returning with demands for pocket money even though he is working. Poor parent can't even have the gain of eating from their children.

Man's inhumanity to man

Monkey dey work,baboon dey chop

It's unfortunate. My dear Doctors, your profession is a dignified profession. No body can steal your knowledge and dignity. Leave their premises. Wetin you go chop no go pass you. It is sad that we treat our doctors with soo much contempt. I guess they should try herbalists maybe their services might come free or cheaper. L

Docayi said...

This is very sad and disheartening ...I weep not just because I'm a victim of this evil but because I wonder if there is hope for this sick nation..and youngsters looking forward to serving an unworthy nation and one day treating the sick.how can health workers who have done nothing but work uninterrupted for months..have to resort to protest to get paid.. I can gladly say we worked thru the Nma strike and thru scary Ebola times..we are not asking for bonuses..all we are asking for is basic salary so we can feed..is a laborer not worthy of his wages ??? As we speak we are being evicted by military police from hospital accomodation because we made a decision to make the public aware of the evil...people is this fair???biko

This country is in chaos! Nothing works especially when it's in the hands of the federal government. The ministry of defense refuses to pay interns for almost a year and then evicts them for protesting. I am so appalled! Nigerian Medical Association is on strike so the only resort for those who rely on public health care is the military hospitals. The interns didn't leave in spite of all this and MOD refuses to pay them? Now where would the common man go to for subsidized health care?

Interns that have worked for free, you're evicting them? Shame on the ministry of defense.

The only thing that Obanikoro knows is to go and help PDP rig election. Pay these doctors for heaven's sake.

Mss Whyte said...

My dear.we had the same issue during our time cos I did my internship there too. U guys should Just pray for God's intervention. It is well.

Mss Whyte said...

It is well. You all should pray for Gods intervention. We had the same issue during our time.

Major Gen. Nkado God is watching us from heavenoooo. both Army, Navy, and Airforce is on strike for crying out loud why are we the only ones evicted with just 1 hour notice? posterity and Karma has a way of getting around.....

I wonder what the excuse is this time, i was in 2011/2012 set and we weren't paid for a whole year. When it finally came, came in bits and we were short changed. This was after numerous calls, visits, letters, protests to newspaper houses, MOD, finance; amidst threats of extension, exposure to needle pricks and other hazards. It took the intervention of Mr Bamidele Aturu of blessed memory(RIP) to fight pro bono for us and numerous visits to the capital.

When will this end? And we were expected to be committed to our jobs ? with no ones committed to us? It takes one who is alive and happy to be committed to the care of patients!! I wonder when this country will realise that it is only when workers are treated fairly that you can ever get the best from them! Its a vicious cycle! Happy healthcare workers, Happy and healthy nations.

After some people will compare doctors in Nigeria to US and other countries. Do you hear of such things in these countries? where most people live from hand to mouth paying bills and depending on a credit system (which is non-existent here) ? Would i go to the market and say "I am a doctor, give me rice"? If not for family support system of which not everyone is opportuned to have, imagine how this young interns will survive!!! Imagine starting out with this mentality. We must all realise that the health care system is directly people based, hence very sensitive. The system is fundamentally flawed! we cannot keep on this way!!! Health must be taken seriously.

We are being owed 20 months and 2 weeks, as at yesterday in HYPREP of the Fed Min of Petroluem Resources. We have met the Perm Sec, minister, the National Assembly, and even the Presidency - and their promises are still unfulfilled. The suffering are becoming unbearable. God help this country!

what the gullible public is interested in hearing is that doctors are on strike for wage increase. the quiet suffering , deprivations, humuliation,doing things some people will not do for their relatives , all unannounced are not recognized. but what do they get in return? scorn, abuse, sabottage. what is the result? the best are leaving at every opportunity. orientation is fast changing from selflessness to minding your own business. the same gullible public pay heavy price for it. I can assure you , the major media houses will not carry this ugly news. they are waiting for the day NMA will protest to practise their hackney journalism.

Please it's not only doctors that are being owed,lab scientists,pharmacists,radiographers,optometrists,dentists...all these people are interns in these hospitals,so please don't get it twisted. It's all of us that are being owed. Thanks for amplifying our voice Linda