Graphic photo: Very strange baby born in Benue state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 7 September 2014

Graphic photo: Very strange baby born in Benue state

A LIB reader based in Benue state sent in this graphic pic of a strange baby born in the state recently. According to the sender, the baby was allegedly born on Friday September 5th in Wanune Local Government Area of the state. I've not been able to verify this but check out what the baby looks like after the cut. *Warning Graphic Content*

245 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 245 of 245
Soul said...

Folic acid people! Women! Men! Parents! Husbands! Wives! Friends!

Karma strikes said...

Linda please take this picture down. It is a congenital anomaly not compatible with life. It can be prevented by taking folic acid in pregnancy . I do not think that it is fair to the baby's family.

Karma strikes said...

Take this picture down, parents might sue you

Karma strikes said...

Take this picture down, parents might sue you

Thank U Doc, tell em.

iffy said...

Mysteries! !!!!

iffy said...

Mysteries! !!!!

It is anencephaly.

What is anencephaly?

Anencephaly is a condition that prevents the normal development of the brain and the bones of the skull. This condition results when a structure called the neural tube fails to close during the first few weeks of embryonic development. The neural tube is a layer of cells that ultimately develops into the brain and spinal cord. Because anencephaly is caused by abnormalities of the neural tube, it is classified as a neural tube defect (NTD).

If the neural tube fails to close properly, the developing brain and spinal cord are exposed to the amniotic fluid that surrounds the fetus. This exposure causes the nervous system tissue to break down (degenerate). As a result, people with anencephaly are missing large parts of the brain called the cerebrum and cerebellum. These brain regions are necessary for thinking, hearing, vision, emotion, and coordinating movement. The bones of the skull are also missing or incompletely formed.

Almost all babies with anencephaly die before birth or within a few hours or days after birth.

Thanks for taking time to explain to these people who will soon exclaim "end time things". Unfortunately, Wanune is still quite an undeveloped little town where many still depend on local midwife's touch and feel manner of antenatal check, no ultra sound. I feel for the poor mother now, because she could have been stigmatised and subjected to some form of "cleansing " to ward off the evil she has brought. Worst still, forced to confess to some sin she didn't commit, in order for the taboo to go.

Robin said...

What kind of things is this .pls I don't think I will be able to sleep #i can't get this out of my head#

This patient has a birth defect called anencephaly in which parts of the brain and skull are not well developed. It could have been detected during pregnancy by Ultrasound. I have seen several in Nigeria anyway. If detected early, it is advised to terminate the pregnancy because they don't leave even if carried to term. The last case we had, the woman refused to terminate the pregnancy based on her believe as a born again christian. "no abortion". Disappeared and never came back. ONE OF THE REASONS WE ENCOURAGE GOOD ANTE-NATAL CLINIC.

kendall flower said...

Linda its a medical condition where d brain fails to develop. Please take this post down cos it may stigmatize the mother. Especially if she is uneducated. Jeez... Everything is not a story. Did you think of how it will affect the mother? Smh

jollypapa213 said...

Ur broda

Dauda Aliu said...

Gush. The baby suffers anencephalic fetus. A disorder that results from a
neural tube defect which occurs when the rostral end of the neural tube fails to close during the third, fourth, and fifth week of conception, It is a very severe condition. It's rear for this kind of baby to survive it. This condition can really be treated if detected during the first stage of pregnancy. Ladies, please endeavour to take ultrasound during pregnancy. I know many of you run away from it due to one issue or the other.

David (dave_gino)

Thanks for this info. You are very informed. Pls if ur going thru this post check up anencephaly

Hahahah u nor well ...... no mind sisi linda....the child is probably dead by now..... I pray the person who sent you this pics aint caught...na offence o , breaching of privacy....I advice you take the post down

very sorry

Eyha. Sad for the mum and the stress she went through to carry the baby. First time i'm hearing about Anencephaly though.
Guys, Do you want a 'serious' relationship? Then Try
BV HookUps

Ignorance is a disease, APPLE

Poor child,d mum took a lot of pills (trying to abort).

Dear God pls give unwanted babies to those that desperately need them. This I ask through Christ our Lord, Amen.

It's a neural tube defect called anencephaly if the mum was taking folic acid this could have been avoided. It's a Shame we are loosing precious babies to things like this that most western countries are detecting through anomaly scAns which is a requirement for every pregnant lady.

Hmmm i can c so many doctors in da house, God knws it all. God av mercy o

Dr. O said...

Gosh Linda. It's anencephaly. Do your homework and stop exhibiting your lack of education. Beauty without brains. Not like your even beautiful anyway

Dr Jones said...

Anencephaly.... A neural tube defect. The forebrain and surrounding structures fails to develop. May be the mother wasn't taking enough folic acid before or during pregnancy or she is type 1 diabetic. I hope readers who are mothers or mothers to be will learn from this. Folic acid is extremely important to be taken pre and during pregnancy. This problem usually develop early in pregnancy about 3 to 4 weeks (1st month), hence the need to be taking folic acid even before pregnancy. Folic acid can be gotten from liver, spinach, avocado, beans etc. it is also available as an over the counter drug.

mimosa said...

abeg no teach us nonsence biko, there is brain alright , but its exposed,no skull no meninges .thats anencephaly

Dauda Aliu said...

neural tube defect which occurs when the rostral end of the neural tube fails to close during the third, fourth, and fifth week of conception, It is a very severe condition. It's rear for this kind of baby to survive it. This condition can really be treated if detected during the first stage of pregnancy. Ladies, please endeavour to take ultrasound during pregnancy. I know many of you run away from it due to one issue or the other.

David (dave_gino)

Dauda Aliu said...

David (dave_gino)

but couldn't a scan see this before the birth

This is y education is a necessity. Illiterate cow.

Thanks for the explanation. I wish people would think before they post rubbish. A woman gave birth to this ,

Obara jesus

Cecilia said...

And you're one to know because you've done one right? Don't be quick to comment, think, think and think again before you do. This is obviously in pain and so is the parents. God comfort them ijn. S

this happend about a year ago. the baby was tagged "frog baby". and it didnt even survive.

Linda, its not everything you post, why dont you consider if you were in the shoes of the mother, Haba!!!!!

Na wa oh. Thank u 4 tellin me what its about jarE Dr.Ada. I wanna be a doctor someday oh.
#DuchessYanki

Jehovah God bless you all that educated us about this birth defect, am so so glad that i read the reasonable comment of lib medical practitioners. Never new how important folic Acid was. i had to Google it and patiently read about anencephaly and am going to sensitize people about it. am not a mother yet but would love to have mine too soon but not like this anencephally newborn. i pity the mother. thank you liber Doctors and you, you i mean linda love your good work. by the way love that nude shoe. chacha

Sinatra said...

Thank you. Linda get small illiteracy. This isn't suppose to be termed graphic cos it's not smthn dat hasn't happened before. You for research if it is medically possible before u post am like say na extra ordinary thn. Sure u were thinking d woman don born alien. It's just an unfortunate thing to happen to a child or family.

You are gory and your comment reads like one. Educate yourself

Ignore linda ikeji, very stupid thing like this.

linda you are stupidly ignorant...u call yourself a graduate yet so ignorant.....this is a birth defect, what is strange about it? next time do research or ask questions before u display ignorance...

kendall flower said...

Linda please take down this post! Dont be a reason for a woman's misery just because of few comments. I understand uu dont want to post my comment but i suggest also you dont and take the post down

Educate urself. Google is ur friend!

yea, dats why ultrasound is essential during pregnancy, if d mom had detected d fetus condition in-utero she would hv gotten help, al d same der is God.

success igbinoba said...

Chai dere is God ooo. Wat is dis

Its anencephaly. A baby born without a brain or skull. Baby cannot survive.Ladies should please take folic acid when ready to get pregnant to avoid such cases

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 245 of 245   Newer› Newest»