Dear LIB readers: I hate the way my girlfriend dresses... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 23 February 2014

Dear LIB readers: I hate the way my girlfriend dresses...

From a male LIB reader
I so much hate the way my girlfriend dresses. I've complained over and over again but it seems I'm not getting through to her. She doesn't think a woman can be sexy without showing body parts. Her clothes are skimpy, trashy and disgusting. They are all either too short, too tight, breast on display, her favourite are transparent clothes. Those kinds of clothes are fine if you're standing on the streets but not when you are going out with your man. I get very uncomfortable when we go out. She likes all the attention she gets from people when we go out but I am embarrassed. I do not want to be seen in public with a girl dressed that way but because I care a lot about her I still haven't broken up with her. What can I do about this lady? I really want her in my life. Minus the dressing, everything else about her is perfect. My kind of woman. Please advise.

347 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 347 of 347
diamondblinqZ said...

Hmm... Let her kn d kinda outfit u want her to wear. Or beta still qo shop dem 4her. If she refuses to chanqe den u kn d ryt thinq 2do I don't need 2say it.

The question is was she dressing like that before and when u met her? Because if she was, it'll take the grace of God for her to change that lifestyle. And if she only started after u guys started dating, then she must be after some kinda attention. Maybe u never paid much attention to her and now she's enjoying getting it from other people outside. Pls note: it does not mean she's sleeping around or a bad girl, she's just exploring a different kinda life but not a sensible one. She'll learn in no time. Communication is key. Wish u all d best

hahahahahahahahah can't stop laughing

First of all, How dare you refer to your girlfriend as "Trashy"? Second of all, you are just her boyfriend; not her father, why do you get a say in what she wears? Have you put a ring on it? Didn't think so.

hahahahaha can't stop laughing

Bruv!!!! My girlfriend can't dress up without showing her cleavage or show some skin. I complained at first but I noticed its better to ignore than to let such bother you.

My brother leave her! If she dresses thrashy, she is obviously thrash! Bet ya she is a pretender too, try introducing her to your folks and see her dress like Mrs Obama! She obviously is a spotlight freak and if you are not enough to keep her attention, then leave her now.

That's swit, threaten her wif another woman that dresses rite and more God fearing.

she was not dressing like that when u met her and decided to woo her?
#Just asking#
Duu

I bet u she dressed dat same way wen u approached her. So y u come dey complain. Did u meet her in church or mosque?. Guy abeg no disturb us. Mumu

Don't complain, sit her down and talk to her about it, tell her how her dressing makes you feel and also tell her you love her but she has to change how she dresses, you can evn take her shopping for some new dresses, relationships work better when you communicate with your partner not complain

Talk to r abt it n tell r u don't like d way she dress ok

Keep talking to her abt it cos I really believe in dialogue & be patience too. When discuss it with her make sure to be polite not becos I are scared of her bt bcos quarreling & shoutin abt it will yield no positive result.
Jaytee

Am so sad for you because I no hw it feels for a guy , tho am a girl. Small girls are very difficult to control . It might be peer pressure and wrong advice . The parents too should play a role . Most young girls don't hone what they are doing to themselves these days , until they grow before they realize . Most people on Linda's blog are teens and people that don't wanna realize what life is all about. We make choices that might end up hunting us for the rest of our lives . Don't just buy any kiddish advice u get on this blog . I just hope your gf will not loose you because you might get fed up one day or see a better girl. You are a good guy and she should know your type is very difficult to find these days. If she is beautiful, I hope it's not entering her head because beauty fades with time but true love is everlasting . If your gf is on this forum , I advise her to change . Guys are mean these days , though you Wunt blame them because they treat you depending on how you appear . If you dress sluty, only random guys will approach you. D devil is really entering this world faster than we thought

Wife her

Oga sit down didn't u know b4 dating

If I b u , I for don liv am tey tey , na dat 1 u wan carry go meet ur mama

Adorable Jewel said...

Accept her kinda dressing manner den.... Overluk it den and try to live comfortably wit dat

Give her an ultimatum

Ders a sayin...u attract d kind of person u are...if u don't like her dressin she's should nt be ur kind of woman

Naija Gist said...

Nawao, men can be deceptive. what u like staring at is now within your reach but u prefer to see from afar.
Well, she can give her red card, or cope with it or talk it over if she want to change she will, telling her he has no other choice than those

read interesting gist and entertainment

Idiot I know people like you! By the time u marry her and this same problems blow up, u say women are the same. Am sure when u met her, she dressed skimpy innit? now u have her and u expect her to stop. I keep saying it, do not go into a relationship thinking u can change the person! People don't change. Especially men! They do not change. So if u cannot handle your partners deficiencies please run and don't come back and tell us stories that touch! Oloju kokoro. You just feel intimidated. Leave her and allow others thatcan handle her stay wiv her. Stupid men! Una go see good girl, una go talk say she dey boring! Only to date a skimpy slot and then u start complaining! Everybody gets exactly what they deserve. Oshi!

I don't know how long u guys have dated but if it's for years, Haba, she suppose they respect u na . Any guy that sticks with a girl even wit her faults for years, the girl no suppose use am play especially if u wan marry am . Sacrifices comes with love , she should sacrifice , good guys hard for town ooo

I guess you should actually ask her the reason she dresses that way and wateva reason she gives, do not condemn her but instead reason with her. tel her why you do not like it and dat if she really loves you, she shld just do this one thing for you.. but sincerely, you cant marry a woman that does not respect your opinion or does anyhow she likes becoz it might be trouble during marriage... most importantly, put her in prayers.. God loves you

Hmmm guy sorry,if u ve already talked 2 her about it and still no change then I ll suggest prayers.

Nna mehn dis ur babe na serious ashii ooooooooo.....oga Bonario abeg borrow me dat ur vaseline

sweetchinny said...

U really don't know what u want. When your ready to think like a real man,you'll definitely know what to do.. You are addressed the way u dress#fact#

susie said...

Since every other thing is perfect deal with the dressing.

Abiordun said...

Bros I think the best thing 4 u is 2 gv her an ultimatum... And if she till continue... Run!!!

Quite. Simple. Burn those clothes and buy her classy n trendy beautiful clothes. Gbam!

Urmmmm...... Break up with her. She clearly does not respect ur feelings

Mayb she no de feel u, she de look for new market

Nor be the dressing attract you to her??? 0_o....

That's the problem of most nigerian girls these days , no respect. If she truly loves u , she should know she is hurting you and should change

Na small pickin de worry am , by the time sharp girl come carry u , Im eye go clear. Good bobo hard to find

Mumu... no b so u saw her n u toasted her n she com b ya gal frend?(Meemee).

Shez a ho, simples.

Na she u wan marry put for house , I pity u. Person Wey no wan de listen to u

Dude breakup with her sharply or else...u no what will happen na
*vanchuks*

Naija girls smh , next tin dem go talk say all guys are the same , c correct guy Wey care bout am , she come dey fuck up . Na guys like me she need Wey go deceive am come fuck am trowey . Can't give my heart to a girl , they are fucked up

Sturborn girl...

Nau u ar complaining, wat attracted u to her in d 1st place is it not her dressing. Nau u ar complaining simply b'cos u don't wnt other guys out dere to admire n taste ur babe. Well my frnd let be advise u hv bite more dan u can chew dere is noffin u can do about her dress cos it already part of her

There is this my guy Wey love this girl die, they have been dating for years now but the wahala be say the girl Sabi lie . I done tell am say a guy should not take a girl that lies serious let alone marry am . I no say d girl no fit c anoda guy Wey b like am but I pity her the day he gets fed up with her lies . To lie to ur lover is the worst thing that can happen in a relationship .

Buy her clothes, slowly replace the trashy ones... good luck!

Vyolence said...

Why won't he care about her....?? See d thing wey she carry

Darling said...

Her dress code was probably what caught your attention in the first place ... isn't it?

May be you are her first serious bf , that's why she ain't serious bout ur tots . By the time u dump am, she go no say naija boys bad

Keep talking. Maybe u shldnt go out wt her anytime she dresses dat wat. I bet u she ll change. #Kate#

Take her shopping otherwise stfu

I wish my guy is like u, my guy don't send any thing I do . Even if I wear pant and bra , I no he doesn't love me like b4 . I hope she don't regret it if u liv ha .

You can't have it all my dear....Nobody is perfect . U met her that way nd that was wht attracted u to her, why complaining now ? Hope u not jst trying to be selfish here ?

Guess u shld buy her d kind of clothes u want to see on her. Cheers

Don't be carried away by luv,as 4 me if a woman doesn't dress decent,ders noting2write home abt.approach her,if she doesn't listen,blush her.If she realy luvs u,she wl blend2ur taste

B prayaful n kip to talkin to ha,neva get tired I blve God will change ha

FDJ

I'm pretty sure you knew this part of her when you decided to ask her out. Deal with it or break up. No two ways about it...

It's obvious you are scared of her... if a man want ur woman to do something u should know how to go about it... so shut up if u are not man enough... may be she's rich and u are scared of loosing her...lol

Either she change or you leave so she won't bring you disgrace when you marry

I guess she loves attention, I once had a girl like yours. She was very pretty light skinned and elegant , a model. Her beauty got to her head, she was very rude and loved dressing sluty and her hobby was to lie . I really loved her and wanted to marry her but she did not want to change after dating her for 3 yrs , I got fed up and left her. Today she is single after dating over 5 guys after me . She don calm down now but it's to late . An married with 2 kids tho my wife no fine reach am but my wife is my angel and gives me peace of mind

Ta! When I use to wear cleavage revealing clothes my fiancé then locked me out when I visited him... he told me severally but I dint listen...but when locked me out I got the message and I changed...

If she looks anything like this picture, then you are the 1 with d problem, she looks fantabulous

ugochysom said...

U been blind, Ni? Wen u chyke am, she bin dey cover her body?? U wantd her, so, u berra stick 2 all d packages she came wif

Heheheheheheheheheheheheheheh!!! "She likes all the attention she gets from people when we go out but I am embarrassed"... Maybe she want u to be noticed too... My friend take her for delieverance oooooo... Hohohoohohohohohohohohoh!!!

ugochysom said...

Buh, d chick gather shaa! Sellin point tinz

gorgeous said...

Try and change her if u think u luv her

gorgeous said...

First to comment

Well, then start wearing skimpy clothes and dressing weird too....

gorgeous said...

First to comment

Adroit said...

Den u shuld tell her ds, tell her how embarrassed u feel when u hang out together. Evn if she gets defensive, atleast she ll get d msg

My friend sharap! You saw her like that and asked her out. All of a sudden you realised she dressed skimpy. You have no justification to complain my friend.

Wat was the attraction to u, if not her dressing. its best u live with it, u can't change her character from personality. Its like marring a womanizer and wanting to change him.

pretend to be interested to be interested in another woman who covers up and make sure ur gal notices, also compliment other women who dress decently in her presence. She might change if she notices that ur attention is gradually deviating from her to better dressed women. Goodluck!

Take it easy with her since u love her. One day she will surely change because why is not easy for u to change her through fighting or anyother way. But with prayer she can change. I have see people like her change.

i suggest you also give her a feel of what you are going through and start dressing to get attention from ladies. if she doesnt mind then youve got a huge problem.

What else haven't you done?

DRESING IMODESTLY IS LYK ROLING ARUND IN MANURE.SHE GETS ATENTION,BT MOSTLY 4RM PIGS.U D8TING D WONG WOMAN.

Hmmmmm. Tell her 2 either stop d indecent dressin or u'll quit d relationship. Its dt simple.

Huh!jamb question,keep advising her on how to dress or even will can exchange lol!

NMA said...

Talk 2 her about d way she dresses,make her understand u don't like it and u re not comfortable with it,if dat pix dia is ya girl,she has a 9ix shape

no said...

i dont think that the kind of lady u want .

U knw her better than i do. So u should be able to caution her.meanwhile, if ur gf is a Nigerian and lives in Nigeria then i must say u r lying about this issue. In as much as our Nigerian girls wear skimpy and transparent clothes, none have i seen with that type of attire on the pix walking on our Nigerian roads. Not even the prostitutes. Although i knw that may not be her pix shown.

Ko le change.deal wit it.

At this particular juncture, kindly state her present location for immediate assessment . Loool. Signed :O.M

Linda.. This message is just between us both u need not post it.. The girl whose pic u placed up goes by the name of Victoria lorain and Shes a friend of mine on fbuk and she resides in S.A,.. I strongly doubt this story, thus u need to stop creating false stories..the next might cause great issues cause they are humans after all and have rights. ( from The guy whose post on vote u refused to post.) B

Lucy said...

Buy her the ones U̶̲̥̅̊ would love her to put on!

Wow first of all if dats ur gf am seeing above den u shud expect such,secondly for the fact she is pretty and sexy dats y she is ur kind of woman and u cnt live Without her,by rite ur gf shud nt be exposing her whole body for the world to see,dat means she does nt respect u.so if after u av complained nd she has refuse to change dat means u either live her or u stick wit her lifestyle nd dress codes.

*feonie*

Get her on how do I look...lol

Mr. Clean said...

Put her into prayers n don't Stop talking abt it to her...

BRIGHTINO said...

My brother, abeg go deeper life church Na there u go find the kind of babe u dey look for.

How was she before you asked her out?? Or is it being with you that makes her dress as such?? Ask yaa self...

Deal with it

Bendiwa said...

What oda tin r u lukin for? D girl doesn't want to be decent n u're stil pushing.

Try to change her if u truly luv her

I think you need to work more harder on her, if she truely loves u she would always want to heed to to yr advices particularly those ones that concerns modest dressing which u frown at. Good luck

Dis dressing u described doesn't match wit a good behaviour as u claim.I doubt if she has a good character as u claim. 290BCA3B. Need new frns*wink*

Damochedxb said...

How was she dressed when u met her? The only advise i can give u is to go with her whenever she hoes shopping... U pick up dresses for her that are conservatively sexy. you both need to meet at the middle of the road.

Change her wardrobe!

Mystic Falls said...

Bros go and buy her decent clothes and just sacrifice & remove that DSTV that you have she's probably addicted to watching all em' reality shows if that doesn't work RUN even if it means hiding in Borno state.

Gbam...bros u head dey there.

OMG!WOMAN said...

I think in that relationship you're the only one in love, right now there are very few things I won't change just to mk my man happy.

winniekoko said...

Hey dude use your two hands to cover ur mouth. What attracted you to her at first, isn't the half nude dressing and now u are complaining. Being attracted to such a girl shows you are not responsible too

You are a psychotic beast! God with his infinite strength will punish you! Bad, evil mind! You're one of the things wrong with this world and generation! Bloody vagabond!

Take her shopping buy her clothes and tell her dat everytime she wants to see u.she shuld wear one of the things.

Godbless u...

Like seriously going half-nude isn't making you more beautiful (ladies),just get her decent cloths (not deeperlife's type) and see if she fits in, if she insists on going half nude, look for ur thirst, we've got a lot of decent ladies in nigeria (lagos exclusive)

Soul said...

Buy her clothes. Either by yourself or take her shopping so you can gently show her the kind of clothes you think she should be wearing and will look decent in. Oh, and if you met her that way, and if that's probably what attracted you to her, then you have to be patient with her. Or, if you're really serious about her, tell her you want to take her to meet your mom, dad or any adult member of your family. Trust me, she will scurry around for decent clothing. All the best.

Darling said...

You are one sick and f**ked up ainmal. Linda how can you post such a filthy comment?

Anon dere is a diff btw u meet her dat way n u're in a relationship, n u want to settle down with dat person, u're d one who need to shut up, bush person.

If she doesnt want to change leave her. Crystalgist.blogspot.com

ZeeZee said...

What was she wearing when you got drawn to her? *Shut up my friend* it's like meeting a prostitute taking her home and asking her how many men she's slept with and if they're over 5 you'd be upset!!!!! #sit and take it

didnt u see the dressing before dating her, abi no be wetin attract u in the first place. anyway if u really love this babe sit her down and tell her ur mind especially if you have marriage in mind. if she truly loves u, she would moderate the trashiness into classicness

na wa linda u neva post my comments. wetin i do u

na wa linda u no dey eva post my comments wetin i do na

I'm disappointed by all the "didn't u meet her that way?" Comments cuz the west promotes licentious morals doesn't mean we africans follow suit and I reckon all the beautiful things are actually hidden ,take ur pick diamonds? Pearls?gold?even oil . girls being jewels should dress decently.........hope the girl whose pix u displayed doesn't sue you o!

how were u attracted to her in the first place? was it her dressing?

AnnMarie said...

I doubt if she can change, some women are confident when they dress sexy maybe that's her problem

IF YOU DON'T LIKE IT, TELL HER, IF SHE DON'T CHANGE, WALK AWAY COS SHE'S NOT REALLY INTO YOU!

This is irenethedream on instagram..bad gurl she is!

Abegi. Na wetin dey destroy marriages these days be DAT. Wanting to change people, see its frustrating trying to force change on others. You either accept her the way she is or take a walk. Some men like dier babes DAT way.

As a matter of fact am married and very close to being an SU, LOL. Am trying to say that I don't dress that way neither am I condoling indescent dressing but my point exactly is 'accept people the way they are, point out your concerns but don't dwell too long on it. My hubby complains abt practically any tin I do, yer I try to change to please him now am a complete shadow of myself... Am living a very unhappy and unfulfilled life.

Am actually living his life and not mine! Sory 4my rants but its really sad

cool true talk nice idea bro.....your head they on board

Are you having problem with BBM version 8 on your Blackberry smartphone...no long story download your old version back
Here Now

Bros, I can categorically tell u she is also cheating on u....u just haven't found out yet....no decent girl with good morals will derive joy by indecently exposing her body...be wise bro!

Was she dressing like this when you met her? If the answer is yes guy you are selfish. As tacky as her dress sense sounds you never date or marry someone hoping to change them. My advice, move on leave her to find her type. Apples and oranges guy apples and oranges.

Omalicha Speaks said...

I think the fact that you live her is preventing you from putting your foot down. Yes you've told her to stop, but how did u say it? Did you give her the reason/reasons why you don't like the way she dresses? More importantly, where did you meet this chic and wat does she do for a living?
Checklist before you say "I do" on omalichaspeaks.blogspot.com

Ole! Talk to her ko! I know u're type. No number 4 u.

All these men self...was that not how you met her?....smh.

Ibrahim Tijjani Abdullahi said...

This is a persnl issue no suppsd brodcst .... Well, since u need our advsd then Marry her she mst ans u , or pretnd like u r dating anoth girls , if she really loves u she wil going bck to decend dresssss.

You met her that way. You didn't feel embarrassed when you approached her. So why the hustle now, make her reason along. Dont bring her case out making her look like a bad person, cos that also attracted you. She's sexy tho

@BOBO_EDO said...

Helper of Life.. Well done.looooL....
If she loves you and wouldn't like to lose u, she'll adjust..

@Bobo_Edo

I totally disagree. If u are sure that she is the one, and u have the means, take her shopping. She's wearing wht she gas in her wardrobe, so buy her nice sample clothes of wht u wld like her to wear. If she persists break up...simple

If she no be your girlfriend, you no for chase am? sharrap ya mouth jare. Hypocrite!

Miss thaaaaang said...

Was she wearing buba and iro when you met her.. loool

There's nothing you can do about it bro cuz she's not done attracting customers. Never make a hoe a house wife so you better take the next available flight and bounce. #ShaddyRaheem

Gracee Love said...

Pray for her

White Gardenia said...

What attracted you to her in the first place?

otevee said...

u have not stte your mind clearly on the said issue cus if u as d man cant tame ur woman nobody else will..most especially if u ve made ur intentions known to her...no decent lady will xpose her body in such like manner..so drive home ur points bfo she gets day raped ooo...dey r watchin too cuz wen it gets out of hand..ehnnnnnn

White Gardenia said...

What attracted you to her in the first place?

Try this out. Stop complaining about her dressing. But when ever you both have to go out and she dresses up like she does cancel the outing and if its an occasion u can go alone leave her out. By the time you do this 3 or 4 times she will know how serious u r and how ur dressing is getting on u.

Нaнaɑº°˚=Dнaнaɑº°=D=DНaнaɑº°˚=Dнaнaɑº°=D=DНaнaɑº°˚=Dнaнaɑº°=D=DНaнaɑº°˚=Dнaнaɑº°=D=D OMG: am laffing in 5D, Like seriously ur funny

Нaнaɑº°˚=Dнaнaɑº°=D=DНaнaɑº°˚=Dнaнaɑº°=D=D Wow u guys are just funny, imagin what is running tru dz one head now: lolzzz seriously ur really a clown anyway but in a stupid way lolzz

I know this chick on IG

Chioma Badmus said...

Was she not dressing that way before you met her. Why did you not talk about her dressing before you started dating. Now you are looking for excuse to end the relationship. I am also very sure there are things about you that she would like to change. Maybe she doesn't also like the way you are trying to correct her. Try and reach a compromise and stop trying to change an adult. Adults can't change, they can only pretend to change, please!!!

Lols ashewo oshi!

Aby said...

You cant change her! is either leave her or marry her like that as it will take the intervention of God for her to change.

GUESS WHAT! SHE WILL NEVER CHANGE. DUMP HER AND GET YOURSELF A DECENT BABE. I DONT KNOW WHY WOMEN/LADIES FEEL THEY HAVE TO DREESS LIKE HARLOTS TO WIN A MAN'S HEART. WHEN YOU DRESS LIKE A WHORE, THE MEN GET ATTRACTED TO YOU AND FUCK YOU BUT WILL RARELY MARRY YOU SO WHY CHEAPEN YOURSELVES AND ALLOW YOURSELVES TO BE USED OVER AND OVER AGAIN? THEN YOU GO TO CHURCH AND PRAY FOR A HUSBAND AFTER SLEEPING AROUND AND USELESSING YOURSELVES. THIS IS ONE OF THE MAIN REASONS WHY CELEBRITIES AND CELEB WANABES GET MARRIED LATE OR DONT GET MARRIED AT ALL. IF YOU ARE A WOMAN AND YOU ARE SEARCHING, BRING OUT ALL YOUR CLOTHES AND SORT THROUGH THEM. DISPOSE OF THOSE THAT MAKE YOU LOOK LOOSE. STOP MAKING MEN TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF YOU. AND ALL YOU SINGLE AND SEARCHING STEALING OTHER WOMEN'S HUSBANDS. BY THE SPECIAL GRACE OF GOD, YOU WILL NEVER KNOW PEACE! IF YOU EVEN KNOW PEACE NOW, IN THE NAME OF JESUS, I DESTROY THAT PEACE (AMEN)

Brother, Move on with your life. I have come to realize that some girls are here for no good. They are primarily here to ruin guys.

The first man, Adam was brought down by a woman.

The strongest man, Samson, was brought down by a woman.

The greatest Man/King, David....woman.

The wisest man, Solomon, nko? women.

......guy move on or perish.

#true

PP said...

wonder what she was wearing when you met her...

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 347 of 347   Newer› Newest»