Federal government increases passport fee by 50% | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 26 February 2014

Federal government increases passport fee by 50%

The Federal Government has increased passport fee by 50%. According to a circular signed by the Deputy Comptroller in charge of Operations/Passport and released a few days ago titled 'Passport Reforms', applicants will now pay N15,000 instead of N10,000. (It was officially N10,000 but we all know how much we really paid...lol) Also applicants for change of data will pay now N30,000.

A newly introduced 64-page passport for frequent travelers will cost N20,000, while Passport for applicants 18 years and below will cost N8,750. It's N15,000 between 18-60 and N8,500 for people above 60 years.

Female applicants, who apply for change of name as a result of marriage/divorce or deceased spouse, will pay N8,750, while processing fee for request for change of data will cost N30,000.

All payments will be made online going forward according to the circular

READ MORE:  http://news.naij.com/60269.html

125 comments:

SANDRA said...

Mad men nd women.

Linda plz I need d details on how to go about changing name...very urgently ...pleassse

Am Ur God said...

The online payment feel good but the amount is really high.

diamondblinqZ said...

Obj was ryt wen he said u must b qood followers just like u clamour 4qud leadership. Imaqin 10k officially yet... Leme reserve my comment

they told me to pay 35,000naira as a result of marriage and it would not be processed here in Lagos but Abuja.

May God help us in this country.

Arizona said...

This is much for a citizen of a country. The federal government should pls do something 'bout this.

So na even 10k before,but I know hw much I pay wen I be dey do my own...........#naijatoodeycheat

Hmmmmm kk I tink I hv 2 renew ma passport den...

Was about to go 4 renewal with d fee we normally pay, guess i v 2 add extra extra now. Na wa.

Hey!!!Dis is BS.they don't want ppl to travel out again so that they can eliminate ppl during election ooo.
Is it under Duress to vote?

jude iyke said...

Boko harams are destroying, killing and kidnapping innocent citizen, all we think of is to increase passport fee by 50%..

Choi !!!!!!! Dem dey price am abi ???

Ejòr elo ní nokia charger..

I paid 25k when i did mine.

Mayb the cover is now exensive, we all knw how much they sell ink. Awon were

Well The Increase Isn't Soo Much Though... Good Morning Yall!!

>>My Comment Moderation Disabled<<

AnnMarie said...

Another way of draining the masses

They should refund our 20b dollars dt dey stole instead of increasing pasport charges and other charges. Nothing in Nigeria will ever decrease in prize or charges.
Our governments are like zomby without conscience.
KASH said "PEACE" tnx

Hakeem said...

Nigeria. . . . God save us!

Anyway to get d cash flowing in

Igor said...

With the rate at which Nigerians travel out of the country,I knew it was only a question of time.

Story! Backyard price has increased den!

See thief dem o. Na how much be the passport before? Mtchew. Abeg e dis one dem no get anything talk about

Joyful said...

Linda,
If people choose to pay more than the official passport price to some immigration official so that you can get your passport faster/get two passports with different names/etc, that's your decision. Don't think its fair for you to add that 'we all know how much we paid' bit because no one will FORCE you to pay more than the official price unless you ask how you can facilitate the process.

We can't keep contributing to the problems in Nigeria by refusing to follow due process and then blame 'the Government'. Just think, if no one paid bribes, no one would expect to be paid bribes. If no one jumped ahead of the line, those that had been standing in line wouldn't have to wait as long. If people didn't turn 2 lane traffic into 6 lanes, the 2 lanes would move along faster. Let's do better people- be the change you want to see!!

Federal government all they know is increasing money #bright bravo#

MAMA TEA said...

PLEASE WHAT IS THE NEW SYSTEM, MY PASSPORT IS ALMOST EXPIRED, I GOT MY E-PASSPORT IN JUNE 1999, IT WILL EXPIRE JUNE THIS YEAR,
AM I TO TAKE IT TO IMMIGRATION OFFICE FOR REVALIDATION OR I WILL HAVE TO OBTAIN A NEW ONE? WHOEVER KNOW THE ANSWER SHOULD PLEASE HELP ME. THANK YOU

MAMA TEA said...

PLEASE WHAT IS THE NEW SYSTEM, MY PASSPORT IS ALMOST EXPIRED, I GOT MY E-PASSPORT IN JUNE 1999, IT WILL EXPIRE JUNE THIS YEAR,
AM I TO TAKE IT TO IMMIGRATION OFFICE FOR REVALIDATION OR I WILL HAVE TO OBTAIN A NEW ONE? WHOEVER KNOW THE ANSWER SHOULD PLEASE HELP ME. THANK YOU

How is this going to work? I paid more than even this 15k you guys are saying far back then. Then people would have to pay through their nose now that it has been offically annouced 15k. What you know you can't impliment don't annouce it please Naija Govt.

Lwkmd! I can't even talk sef.

RIP Children

kclub said...

Leadership going wrong in 9ja, is that wht will stop the killing of innocent people?

Ndi ohi.com

If it's an online payment, its great. At least less mago-mago.

They should also increase the validity period of the passport. Going through the hassle every 5yrs makes no sense.

and this bastard man wants to run again in 2015? Anyone who votes for him should know that they are the cause of Nigeria's problems. he's looking for a 2nd term and things are this bad, what happend when he knows he's not going to run again? is this what we need at this time? what justifies this increase? i'm sick and tired of Nigeria!!! i would have relocated since, but my family doesn't want to move. Dammit!

Bahahaha these people are bloody thieves.. I dont believe thats the actual amount to pay to get a passport. Only in naija will you pay almost four times the passport fee. God pass una!!

Hmmm!!!nigeria

Even when the official price was 10k, I paid 25k for mine so no biggie.

Pls I need some1 to explain dis to me.my passport had expired also wanted to change my name to my hubby name but I was told to go to passport office in abuja. Pls is it compulsory I go to abuja? Can't i do it in lagos? Tanks

chai so i paid 15k for my passport lol na wa ooo all dis pple sef

And salary no increase o

They will nt increase minimum wage. Awon were. Mtshewwwwww

Thief ole

JEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEZ why didn't i do this since oooooo chai.

Jezzz dey for wait as I wan renew my morrow....

sTory time.

As compared to the killing of innocent lives dis is very important, dis country is a joke a big cushion joke for people outside. Fools

Let me renew mine sharp sharp.

fly guy said...

lol, i paid 20k for express in 2010, after i was bounced from d plane on my way to london for passport expiry, i think say na visa dey determine passport longetivity

Topebrass said...

Kilode ? Itz much nah

CUTE ONYII said...

Things keep on increasing in Nigeria , when unemployment is the other of the day , God have mercy .

That's too much.. Hanhan!!!

Yeah we all know how much we pay.... So make dem no lie for anybody..

Lol @ we all know how much we pay, I paid 18k oct last year for mine.. Ikoyi office

Abeg...dis one don too much o..make government reduce d fees o

Hmmmm, my country don start again. Why increment now? Our Goverment has never think of reducing anything as benefit of their people. God ll help us. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Nnamdi said...

Jeez...am I paid 19k for just renewal in Owerri..God hv mercy on these people..

ella said...

y now.....wen I was just planning on travelling

Aw is dat affecting our economy?

Visages Parfait said...

Now officially #15,000? Meaning the real deal (you know what I mean) will now be #20k-#25k. Hmmm

Jimcateringservices said...

What is the justification for this increase? To have more money to steal abi? Thank God I did my change of name last year.

Sally p said na wa ooo.nigeria my beloved country...

Just imagine the people rushing to come to Nigeria! Upe!!!

Hahaha dis ppl are not serious big lies passport was neva 10k cos as at 2009 I had my passport I paid 16k plus arrangey money for sharp sharp things so dem dey lie and no matter how much they put it, we will still obtain passport

Linda we do o...i paid 27k for xpress nw na almost 40k pesin go dey pay.....smh for this co

But seriously this is just madness,i didnt even pay 15k for my passport.The fact that it expires after 5yrs is just a rip off,why not 10yrs.....infact i'm just sick of Nigeria.

lord mayor said...

Na wa ooh....God go provide sha.....no mata hw hard tinz go for naija I will survive it

Nigerian Govt, Making things harder for her citizens since 1822.

U increase passport fee, yet the number of valid years remains thesame. Every ministry or dept in Nigeria are completely clueless. Check out my fashion blog. www.meemjay.com

MUFASA 🦁 said...

Mtcheww

###Mubwiz###

Thank God I don't even need it... I paid 45€ for my German ( non biometric ) passport in 2002 which expired 2yrs ago and I paid 59,50€ ( 12k) in 2012 for the New Biometric German passport which is going to expire 2022.

Oby said...

Yeah right! Like we don't have enough problems already, shame on you government. And why is the 64 pages not a general standard? Are we now going to have 2 different sizes of passports? Ndi ara!

Na wa o later dem go sey na bcos of gay.... Government no b only gay won travel comot. Na abiii

Taiwo esther1

Government should help so that there will be steady price for this passport.

I no need worry my self with all this one bcos it aint my bizness.....
***COMMENTING FRM 1770***

Miss X said...

I honestly don't know what passport in Nigeria costs for real. And this is my fouth passport

It doesn't expire after 5yrs,u do a renewal after 5yrs, a passport anywhere in d world is for 10yrs bcos u av to change ur photo.

This green card must surely my hand some day....
***COMMENTING FRM 1770***

I won't render any more curses on these bastards because I'm sure they have more than enough on their heads and 10 generations to come. I paid about 16K for my passport in Lagos only for the chip to malfunction after a year and a half. I was actually at immigration when it was discovered and it wouldn't scan. Only for them to try and embarrass me by taking me to a room to interrogate me like a common criminal, on how I obtained my passport. Knowing fully well that a lot of people had been experiencing this. Note that this was a passport I had used to travel in and out of Nigeria a few days prior (2 and 10 days respectively). The passport was siezed and I eventually ended up having to go to Abuja where I paid 30K "express" fee to have a new one reissued because I needed to travel urgently! No one responsible for my travel expenses to/fro Lagos-Abuja, or rebooking fee for my internatinal flight or change in my hotel reservation or anything else. No apology! I'm even thankful because my case could have been worse, as I met other people in Abuja who were from different parts of the world who just came on holiday/work to Nigeria that experienced this...some had their jobs on the line where they were returning to. All because the contract for these new biometric passports was issued to some incompetent fool! And now these bastards have the nerve to increase the fee...by 50%??! The hearts of wicked men. E never pain us reach sha, if not....

Linda stop eating my comments ohhhh

........Its Mrsexy

Nigeri Govt full of shit. The passport that terrifies u to even show in some places. Expires every 5yr, and its even more expensive than all those blue, red or whatever u call it, western passports now. Na wah for us. Now we hv to pay 35k to 50k practical, cuz that 30k is just paper money which does not include "ogas at top money" as usual.

Still remain myself Godwin

OMG!WOMAN said...

Lol @ we know how much we really pay, yea Linda we know, I'm even shocked its 10k, years back I paid 20, Naija!!!! I doff my hat.

Foolish people...they a®Ü just making the economy worst for we. People evryday...I don tire for una...president jonathan regime is really poor

Pastor caught with another man’s wife in Hotel room
Here

Ashawo caught servicing her Customer in Public
Here

SEE what this guy and his girlfriend are doing
Here

OMG! Girl opens beer with her breast
Here

Ur rubbish english is d reason u were cheated. Clown

fuck dat

Swerve said...

I'm sick of everything that's going on in this country. Always stealing form Nigerians one way or the other. That's how the road safety guy changed the plates nos and driving licences. Now this! Smh and Jona is still condenming and not performing.

It does expire after five years. Renewal now means new passport. Unlike before that extend by five years. Just did mine.

Chai so i paid 15k now they will charge 25k lol nigerians

Akuko mike ejeagha!

God help us in dis country of ours.

Ehen hen Nak me tory....you dont say....seriously...ok heard tnx for the gist it was quite entertaining

So i did renewal for 25k when i came home last yr ....i will be hoping to pay 35k next time i suppose ? *sadface

#daveydave

If u dnt no tins,its beta u ask...d official money dat is been paid to bank is 10k so d oda fee attached to it is d person running it 4 u...my Mum works der so I no beta

NOKIA FMC said...

let them keep deceiving us.... that means we should hold 50k or more when visiting immigration office... Chinekeeeee.
FMC UMUAHIA PATIENNTS LYING ON FLOOR.... NOMORE BEDS... FEDERAL OOOOOO

Its not a lie! Go to their office at ikoyi its use to be 10k bt pple plenty der.

na wa for dis country oooooo, they keep increasing and we are not seeing d effect of it. hmmmmmmm

hrm paul ojeih said...

Just great yea reap the people off just for acquiring that bullshit ugly arse green carton low quality crap they call passport screw Jonathan and his government they aint done yet looting this nation and exploiting us soon fuel pump price will go up yet he still wants to come back 2015 i will b damned

Naija 4life.......FG.

SaphicDerrida said...

The House is on fire, this dudes are busy chasing rats...

Moniesola said...

Y the increment? Of what use is it? Which way Nigeria? Are there no organizations that puts checks on all these things? Why do we have to go to passport office in Abuja to do change of name or to retrieve passport if it's missing? It does not make any sense. So many things we need talk about. So many things that needs change. Immigration/ passport office can't just put all their equipment in Abuja knowing quite well that d roads are not safe and by air is not better.

Yeye Country ...While would a person born in the Federal republic of Nigeria , whose parents are Full citizens Pay 2 acquire a passport.

That same country na 20 Billion Dollars 4 mix.. Moni wen go Repair Nigeria .. I mean the full Nigeria OOO.

Only Gods Intervention Would Restore My Beloved Country.

E-passport in1999? E de tk eeee easy nauuuu,

U av to go to abj, nobody will do it for u in lagos.

EVERYTHING JONATHAN DOES IS TO MAKE LIFE A LOT MORE HARDER FOR THE ORDINARY NIGERIAN. LMFAOFF

Abi ooo....na hin I one ask. when dem even start Ecowas passport. Tcheeew

hmmm Now that official fee is 10K it means the actual price to pay for a passport will be between 20K to 28K.
Nothing works in Naija. Passport documents are 'manufactured right around the passport office.thus we have foreigner with Naija passport claiming state of origin Adamawa,Kogi, etc. !!!! - Concerned Citizen!!!

I have never commented on LIB but I have to agree with you! This truth is what is holding us back, BH not politicians. if we want change we should be the change

pls they made mistake on my date of birth what do I do

Why do married women have to go to abuja for change of name and renewal of passport..this is ridiculous what happens to other passport offices around the country.. am heavily pregnant yet I have to travell to abuja to renew passport..I would pay close to 40k for the passport...enter cabs enter airplane..risk my life and that of my unborn child...this is sad..pls linsa help reboardcast this.

Fellow Nigerians, if you can read this you sure know you are Lucky to be breathing. I woke up this morning to read about another set of 43 school children slaughtered by Boko Haram making the death toll in Yobe and Borno to 200 this year alone. If our Government are incompetent and not proactive enough it is because we are too quite as a people. If a part of our country is taken over by insurgents and Our military have less information and weapons to combat them, what happens when the whole Country is under attack!I charge you all to put every other thing aside and let us LOUD, DISCUSS this killings till #BornoMassacre #YobeMassacre is well taaken care of by our government. Let us promo it like that davido-Aye ,Dr Sid-surulere or wiz kid- caro, as popular as those shows and events. Let our PM,DP FB status,Twitter and IG carry this Hash Tag(#BornoMassacre/#YobeMassacre. Let's make this government end this inhuman acts at all cost. Let them know we are unhappy.We know Corruption has eaten too deep into our system but we must not let the act of terror prevail too. Let stop this killings first and deal with other issues as current affairs. Remember, the time is always right to do right. War anywhere(North) is a threat to peace elsewhere(other part of Nigeria)Together we can push the government to Stop this despicable act. #BornoMassacre #YobeMassacre Please RE BC....may God guild us.Amen

Di ole.

The truth of the matter is government in government out, things will continue this way,prices of various goods n services will go higher and citizens will be milked dry until we take destiny into our hands and OCCUPY NIGERIA.
Our leaders have taken us for granted and labeled us as fools.

benito said...

why pay more for this worthless piece of trash? Why is the Nigerian passport only valid for 5 years. My American passport is valid for 10 years & does not cost as much

benito said...

Why pay more for this worthless trash? Why is the passport only good for 5years? My American passport is good for 10years and does not cost this much

Bunch of morons, they collected $30 from me at the Consulate in D.C to mail the passport to me in Texas once it was processed. All of a sudden it was only cash they collected for mailing passports, all of a sudden nobody had change after handing $40 cash, all of a sudden passport arrives at home in Texas with $5.62 receipt from post office on it. Whoever is pocketing the balance from this mail back scam, I sha hope they will pay tithe and offering out of it too. 9ja we too much as a people from Abuja to Washington D.C we can't change.

blog troll said...

Linda,the wait for LOST cases is now 6 MONTHS o.I'm in abuja now to get a new one cos I lost my passport and that is wat they're telling me. Incredulous! Wat kind of country is this?? We seem to be regressing rather than progressing. Where in the world does one wait 6 months after having lost their passport?? Ridiculous! Rubbish!! Shame on those lawmakers that are hellbent on making the lives off their citizens worse rather than better.

So it was 10k before? Oga ooooo, the new price is even less than how much I paid to get it previously.

Yinmu....in 2005 sef,I paid more than 15k to get my passport ,and when I renewed it,it was more than 30k....stop deceiving urselves by putting dis up... Abi nw dt its been increased by 50%,how much dem cum dey pay b4...Rubbish govt. Awon werey.

PAVOUR said...

Passports should be cheap I beg. Why d increased?

Why won't the government keep reaping and raping us every time when people like you still exist. I can also afford it but what of those that can't? Don't worry by 2020 it will be 100k mumu oshi
-baby face

They no go kill us for this country oh!!! God is watching

Ahbaaaaaa too high, i hope validity would be 10 years wt such fee.

is it everything federal govt will use to collect money from their citizens?first plate number,now passport....na wah..

Jonathan Onche Edeh said...

With a large pool of persons waiting in line for Enrollment, that is the process of entering individual information on the system, which I suppose was a core reason why there had to be an online registration in the first place, the passport office in its undermining role had only two old computers for over a hundred files, and a crippling snail like internet service that should supposedly be the best in the country. While for the Capturing Process, the same two old like computers, when there should have been at least seven brand new latest versions of Apple or Dell computers for the capturing purpose to speed up and facilitate a smooth issuing process, complemented with a safety risk (in case of a fire outbreak) of piled up files at the two ends of the corridors, not to mention other room-full of those needless papers. The point is, when one considers the problems crippling the system and the e-passport issuing process, which shouldn’t take more than fifteen minutes of ones time, one then wonders why the government incessantly fails to come up with effective measures to improve the passport service of the Nigeria Immigration Service, but dares to come up with reforms that causes more hardship and less comfort for most Nigerians. Obviously, the minister of the federal ministry of Interior, Abba Moro is bent on generating more money for himself or someone in the corridors of power, and hasn’t learned any lessons from his act of impunity in the death of some innocent Nigerians during the immigration recruitment exercise in March 2014. Therefore, suffice it to say that, if as the president has said in his speech on the launching of the new 64 page e-passport; “Visitors that come into the country have different impressions about our immigration officers, so they must improve; they are the image of this country. How they handle visitors matters so much, if they conduct themselves poorly, it reflects on all of us.” It is also paramount that Nigerians at home are treated with respect, and given the necessary and best support in obtaining any desired services from the Nigeria Immigration Service, or any other government, private or public institution. Anything less than this would reflect poorly on the country’s image regardless of how well Immigration personnel’s put up improved performances to deceive foreigners on its dysfunctional system, that got a young man at the Kaduna passport office screaming at the top of his voice that “common Ghana’s passport services is more efficient than Nigeria’s.” I add; we must improve on what is presently available, like improving the Nigeria police force than agitating for State police. As it is overly necessary that the system is overhauled to get it more functional, effective and productive, than the introduction of political moves or reforms that doesn’t in anyway improve the system and lives of the common man, or average Nigerian.