The Other Steve Comes to Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 25 February 2014

The Other Steve Comes to Nigeria

The story of the Apple Corporation can never really be fully told without acknowledging the role of its co-founder, “the other Steve”, Steve Wozniak. Even though the company is best associated with marketing, strategic and design wizardry of Steve Jobs, the other co-founder, the truth is that Apple and indeed the PC industry would not be what it is today, but for the genius of Steve Wozniak. Wozniak was the main designer of Apple I and its sequel, Apple II.

The Apple organization which the two Steves founded is credited with revolutionizing the personal computer industry. In a remarkable shift from the status quo, Apple II was designed to be usable by just about anybody. Continue...

It incorporated a central processing unit, a keyboard, a floppy disc drive and very importantly, colour graphics. No longer did you need to have knowledge of programming language to use a computer. The combination of the colour graphics and the user-friendliness actually made the act of using a computer, “cool”. Little wonder, therefore, that Apple II quickly became the first commercially successful line of personal computers.

The disposition of Woz towards invention and innovation is apparently the motivation behind his invitation to Nigeria by MTN to deliver this year’s edition of its annual innovation lectures. And it may appear like a departure of sorts from the past when the company invited such management icons as Michael Porter, Les Brown, David Plouffe (Barrack Obama’s campaign manager) and most recently, Ram Charan. As an inventor and innovator, Wozniak is skilled at identifying a problem and converting it into an opportunity. Management consultants, on the other hand have a genius for observing, discerning critical trends and patterns that ordinary people miss, and recommending solutions. Obviously, the company realizes that there is a need for a blend of both approaches: the theoretical and the practical.

Wozniak’s profile as an inventor has been long recognized by his peers and the technology industry. In 1985 he was awarded the National Medal of Technology by the US President. This is the highest honour that the US bestows on the country’s leading innovators. And in 2000, he was inducted into the Inventors Hall of Fame and awarded the Heinz Award for Technology, The Economy and Employment for “single handedly designing the first personal computer and directing his lifelong passion for mathematics and electronics toward lighting the fires of excitement for education in students and their teachers.” 

Wozniak’s first coming to Nigeria is sure to inspire lots of Nigeria’s technology aficionados but also management experts as well as policy makers in the public sector.  
Join the conversation using the hashtag, #MTNLeadershipSeminar.

37 comments:

gonn be a good one

You deserve some extra income and earnings. get it here. click

May said...

So long a letter and steve is big o!#myopinion#

Behold the face of a genius! Welcome to Nigeria technology freak!

He's highly welcome to Nigeria,the land with great potentials.

Mr Steve is welcome to Nigeria

You are welcome Sir.

He's highly welcomed to Nigeria,the land of great potentials

Peejay said...

The other Steve indeed.

Noted

wozniak only reminds me of the movie "delivery man" #Okbye

Welukom Sir!! Hope You'll Have A Taste Of EGUSI SOUP!!

>>My Comment Moderation Disabled<<

Dis is good news.

See you on the other side bro. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Linda don hammer

E K O.

Ok! I don hear,make I go look for wetin to co-find too. Big ups

Nice one.. the man resemble apple self.. :-)

Julius said...

Geniuses touches and hold where others can not even see. Welcome to Nigeria

read interesting gist and entertainment

I watchd the movie steve jobs and saw hw steve job and co. Made apple what it is today...... This people are genious......
***CURRENTLY IN THE SUN***

Welcome to nigeria steve wozniak..... I hope yu are not coming to nigeria to invade windows product....??
***CURRENTLY IN THE SUN***

Igor said...

Welcome to Nigeria Mr Steve Wozniak. Furthermore,the way this people are showing intrest in all fields of human endeavour in Nigeria shows that we as a nation,are making progress despite the distraction from Boko Haram.

Linda,Emeka Ike has bn ejected for owing a whopping 8.5m naira rent.Pls use ur "good office" to get d details.God bless ur Antenna.That's why dis hungry actors went begging in Aso Rock na.They ar all broke nd suffering.

MR. GENTLE said...

Great men with great ideas. You are welcome sir.

Wonderful, he has always bn a silent partner cos dis is d 1st tym am hearing his name actually

MR. GENTLE said...

Great men with great ideas. You are welcome sir.

OMG!WOMAN said...

How come I never saw this other Steve except for Jobs, good looks counts o!

Oh simple. Because you're a moron.

Bcos he was the brain behind Apple while Jobs was the face...also, maybe bcos he lives a relatively private life.

Go find your lost pencil

He is highly welcom 2 our gr8 country

Every body want to come to Nigeria now.

This is really good .
I wish I could attend.

Welcome sir!

AnnMarie said...

He's really a genius

I thought news had it that he ψås doing marvellously õk, wit his private school in picture. Wonders!!!!!

Neeqilata said...

He should com and turn my problem to an opportunity