NotJustOk's list of Top 10 Most Gifted Rappers - who agrees with it? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 September 2013

NotJustOk's list of Top 10 Most Gifted Rappers - who agrees with it?

Music website NotJustOk yesterday released a list of their Top 10 Most Gifted Rappers in Nigeria and placed Olamide as the second best rapper in Nigeria after Modenine. See the list below...

1. Modenine
2. Olamide
3. Phyno
4. M.I
5. Sinzu (Sauce Kid)
6. ShowDemCamp (SDC)
7. Ice Prince
8. Vector
9. Naeto C
10. Reminisce

Personal opinion and with all due respect to other rappers in Nigeria, but I think M.I is in a class of his own. I think he's not just the best rapper in Nigeria, he's the best rapper in Africa. Like, he's not even on anyone's level. He shouldn't even be on this list. We should be comparing M.I to Kanye West, Kendrick Lamar and the likes and not Olamide or Phyno. That's my personal opinion. What do you think of the list? Who agrees with it? Some Nigerian rappers don't. See their tweets after the cut.

364 comments:

1 – 200 of 364   Newer›   Newest»

Dont agree...First to Comment

I will come up with my list in a moment

Modenine on the list SMH.Linlin I share same opinion wit u o.MI is d chairman dis list na wash.

Linda and M.I,hmn,issokay!

Personally, i think Jesse Jagz and Vector are so underrated.

Well said Linda; Very Well Said!

linda GBAMMMMMM

If This Is In Heirachy, Then the List Is Shitty!!!

Btw, Nigeria Has Only 3 Rappers...

MI
Ice Prince and
Others!!!

Tecno A2 Release

To some extent,but I quite disagree with the order.
First saucekid is not supposed to be there,Yungsix should av been a better option.
And Iceprince at N0 7 is not fair enough.
and finally Jesse jagz in place of SDC.

M.I is one of the top 7 rappers in the world!! In Nigeria and Africa there is no other better than him, his eloquence, his diction, his skill, his creativity with words, his dexterity with his flows and tunes.
After him then the likes of Olamide, Ice Prince, Vector, Mode9 can follow.

Linda I agree with you SIMPLE!!!!!!

Linda, e be like you get personal something with M.I. Told u before. M.I isn't a rapper. He's a rhymer. He raps for cash and most of his songs are for iTunes. By the way, where the hell is Terry da rapman on the list??? It's not just ok without him.

**Twizzy**

oyekunle.b said...

M.I is telented no dout, but comprering him to kenye.W... linda I think ºU̶̲̥̅̊º are wrong. Olamide is telented but not as gifted as M.I. Mr. Chairman is the best rapper in africa. And what the hell is MOde-9 doing on dat list, is he still an ARTIST?????????

MaYor said...

It depends! You are allowed to make any1 ur best rapper! Like for me its majek fashek! Love ur raps man. Lolz

Antoni Omeihe said...

MI Is the Best.... Ice Prince Follows!!!

The Rest, I Have Not Heard Them Before cos i dont really Like Noisy Musicians.

5000 Retweet Credits On Tatafo.ng

No Phenom? Big Joke, Tf is phyno doing der?

Rough Diamond said...

My own list, 10 best rapper in naija:
Modenine
Tharapman
Mi
Vector
Iceprince
Sinzu (sauce kid)
Olamide
Phyno
Naeto c
Showdemcamp (sdc)
Reminisce my ass!

Bullsh*t list

Fuck that list mehn.where is phenom on that list where???

Firstly; when did olamide and phyno become better rappers than MI(no beef, just saying)
Secondly; vector is on that list and lynxx and jessie jagz are not?
Thirdly and most importantly, who the f**k is SDC?

*sexy diva*

Linda ikeji! What's up with you and this MI of a guy, that ur write up makes u sound like a crazed fan, yes he's a great rapper but common, COMMON!
Ugh!

I agree with linda, abeg who b modenine? D guy still dey rap? MI is better.

True talk, M.I is the best in 9ja, ice prince is dope. Modenine is tite, vector is aite, olamide is aite. No comment on d rest.

I dnt agree..evr1 wit diff opinion

I agree with Godwon and Linda... M.I should not be on that list @ all! Nobody on that list is of M.I's class...Banky is a better rapper than at least 3 niggas on that list despite the fact that he isn't into rapping like that...

Thunder fire the guy wey post diz tin......WTF iz olamide doing on dat list @ first #angry face# M.I iz jst daaa best... Me have 2 rappers in nigeria M.I and ODAS. (˘̯˘ )

MK said...

Linda all these praises for MI...running to youtube to listen to some of his songs nd I will be back to agree with you just maybe.

chioschi said...

Modenine deserves to be on the very top. Second by MI and olamide. The rest can go take rap lessons. Just u sound like a rapper doesnt mean u Have the talent.

Wande said...

I think its just d blogger's opinion, really it makes no sense to me.

Dat list na rubbish....d arrangement is very worse

Ever heard of Tmax? dat nigga is beta dan som of em g`s der #Maximus# btw M.i should be #1

M.I is a cut above the rest.

Linda i agree with u.MI is d best Of d best.

I think you need to stick to blogging linda hes not in a class of his own better than Olamide tho I must say

TWITS said...

@Linda, thank God its ur personal opinion. As for mine, naeto c n iceprince shd b in top 5- MI shdnt b there! My opinion.

gentle gentile said...

modenine 4 me z worth it i love z song...i remember in one of his songs'wit no bling around my neck am still shinin in d darkness'..buo 4 m.1 linda no 2 hype am..buo e z gud..his best 4 me still remains...one naira..

Forbes don do something o, oya ten best dancers in Nigeria, ten best English speaking celebs in Nigeria, ten best, ten best snorers in Nigeria! ~Ritty~

MI should be the first, and next Olamide. And the rest can follow

Well,I only agree with the no 1 as mode 9,MI is supposed to be no 2,then anyoda nigerian rapper can follow

So everybody want copy Forbes, issorai. Ten best everything, just remember to add me in the top ten best naggers in Nigeria or bera still Africa. ~Ritty~

MI number 1 abeg abeg abeg I kant fit shout.

Yomslaw said...

Trust me, Kanye will not sell if He's a Nigeria based artiste

Yomslaw said...

This is Objective enough. . . . I strongly agree with this List! You know nothing about Rap Music Linda! Comparing MI to Kanye is like derating him! Cos Kanye isn't hot enough! Ok? #I'd not have argued with you if we're talking about Modelling here ;) cos that's your calling! But Rapping, mba!

Cweamy said...

That's a wack list joor, what's Olamide rapping that he's better than M.I and Sinzu doesn't know how to rap joor. Vector is a better rapper than Olamide, sinzu and ice prince self. I agree with @GODWON if you've listened to Bad guy remix by L.O.S you will agree with me that Banky is a better rapper that sinzu and some names there. Make notjustok carry their yeye list go throway joor. Jesse Jagz that flows real tight aint even in the stupid list self, nonsense

Make cool cash without stress by opening the link below

http://MegaStoon.Com/?share=33628

http://sms.megastoon.com/sms.php?share=33628

Aymii said...

M.I...................African rapper number one! .....No lie mehn!!!!! ....modenine is cool......he should come in @ second place.....As for the retarded judges who put olamide at 2nd place...they all must be reasoning through their Anus'es not brains...........Please and please and please....English is the world accepted language by which the dopeness of any rap can be judged. not yoruba, not ibo! ....Olamide can't even flow just one verse in good English..he mixes it with yoruba..thats diluted rap..................putting olamide ahead of MI is like saying Pitbull(that Spanish rapper) is better than jay Z....wtf?????..... MI and modenine are on a class of thier own........ice prince,vector, and Naeto C follow.....at the bottom you can now have any Vernacular rapper..........Ignorant niggaz.......even jesse jagz sef flow pass olamide 100 times. .....

Hackzlord said...

True Talk Jesse Jagz....
I can't agree to that list
No. 1 Entertainment Spot in 9ja

I agree with u Linda. First person to tweet #yeahhhhh

p-moni said...

wot a disrespect? M.I name is not sopos to b on d list.i neva here of NOtJustOk b4, i blv they just want pple to kn dem with list such controversial list

Lol. Linda what do u know about rap? U shldnt even comment on this issue.

I agree with u Linda. PAT. First person to tweet

dat is dia own opinion. evry body no dat M I is d best raper in Africa

I agree with u Linda. PAT. First person to tweet

Mich said...

Linda,you really should stick to blogging and stop meddling into matters that you know absolutely nothing about.
Why say a thing as that?how can M.I possibly be compared to Kanye and Kendrick?do you even know what you're saying,eh?
Modenine has no business being on that list,he's not even a rapper to begin with,he's a LYRICIST!do you even know what that means?
Besides Modenine and M.I(who by the way,has become very boring lyrically)every other person listed there is just a rapper so they can have it but please take out MODENINE from that list,he's way better than all those cats,even your darling M.I.
Show Dem Camp are actually very tight rappers,I must say!
MODENINE IS A MILLION TIMES BETTER THAN M.I and that's a FACT!

I repect jesse jagz for his tweet
Tellem bro

Rubbish, MI is the best, linda you are saying the truth, GOD will bless you

Tell me how Ice Prince is gifted. The only gifted rappers there,Mode9,Vector.MI,Olamide. The rest are good but not gifted (thats going by the real meaning of gifted)

This ase people don come with their yeye list!

Terry d rap man's tweet is funny.u inspired most artiste on d list yet u r nt there.bcos u inspired dem doesnt make u beta dan dem,infact dey are d best.dey no ao to do their tins well.wen last did u bring out hitssince d days of boiz are nt smilling.shm

Why d hell is Olamide b4 M.I??? I can understand Mode 9...what is naeto c, Olamide, reminisce and ice prince doing there sef?? Ice prince that repeats beats and lyrics or Olamide who raps in yoruba 2 confuse the other tribes or reminisce who is has bleached his talent away??....abeg \_____ they shd take several seats!!!!!!

well linda, its by current perfomance. . . I really think olamide and phyno should be ahead mode nd M.i

If tis d List of best rappers in 2013 den I agree wiv d list wivout Modenine there... MI has lost his touch, Jessejags shd pls go to d rehab before we listen to him..who the hell z Godwon and doda guy? SMH

Stale gist... 1st to comment tho

Where is Vic-O? Lmaooo

MI no reach American standard oh... his still a learner... Besides OLAMIDE BADO is my best rapper... No wonder he won 2 awards in d NEA... PHYNO is also in my top list alongside ERIGGA

OMG!WOMAN said...

No one is even talking Mr Ruggedman + Linda I think you have a crush on MI.

mark said...

Babe dis list no b am at all...even though I love these guys...hw in Gods name can u place olamide n phyno above m-i and ice prince...,its not just ok jor..are u a learner

mark said...

Babe dis list no b am at all...even though I love these guys...hw in Gods name can u place olamide n phyno above m-i and ice prince...,its not just ok jor..are u a learner

Phyno phyno I luv U die

Vector should be no. 2 lame list

www.myorgasma.com

Sorry Linda but Mode9 is d no1.Mi can't even come near him

O DI KWA SERIOUS !! Mek this List no bring street Fight!!

M.I is supposed to be number 1. And linda you are very right. Dat list is rubbishhh!!

CZAR said...

Modo is the coup de grace....other rappers or mcees are still disciples

ARTORIUS said...

I disagree with the list completely.. I just laughed when I saw where M.I was on the list, I agree with u linda he's the best in Africa.. The list is wack!

Linda u re so right!!!! This list is total BS!!!

i like dis jags abeg...dts one n number attribute of a rapper...intelligient wittiness

some names ought not be listed here...

fikky babe said...

1. MI
2. Phyno
3. Olamide
4. Modenine
5. Vic O ;-)

@sinzu said...

Lot of beef for Reminisce! M.I should be there Linda....haba! On Kendrick's level....are you high on cheap drugs again linda...awwwwww

Even if i agree with the names on the list, i strongly disagree with the arrangement/order of the list. Hmmm

Top 10 rappers without terry tha rapman and jesse jags is s**t.
Seriously some name aren't supposd to b there eg ice prince, naeto c. Pls who b show them camp o??

ARTORIUS said...

I disagree with the list completely. I just laughed when I saw where M.I was on the list.. His the best in Africa the list is wack!

No long talk,I only have to say "M.I.& Mode 9 are in classes of their own." That's all.

I don't agree with the list jare,wat are the likes of saucekid,NaetoC and Ice prince doing on that list??and if u must mention Modenine as d numba one rapper,then the likes of Terrytharapman ,pheruchious, Overdose, and Ikechukwu should be on dat list. Godwon gan is better than half of those guys mentioned. Why isn't Bouqui on dat list sef?? Dey should av given the ladies a REP jare. Post dis comment abeg o!

if ur rating based on flow nd punch lines M.i nd Vec def Ps;What on earth is Phyno doing on dat list?

If I slap dem ehn? Which olamide? And who's mode nine? And what the hell is a phyno? M.I is the greatest! Show some respect!

bricks said...

MODE 9 No. 1-YES!..the only african MC that can match mode 9's word play is proverbs from south Africa!

M I should be No.2 the guyt goes hard ..and can eat any MC for dnner.
vector is aiight...but he's falling off trying to be commercial.
nuff said!

the hardest people i respect is Mode 9 and M.I both niggaz are Mcs..the rest...are just there..not just OK .com..ur list is fubar!

ARTORIUS said...

The List is wack! and I agree with you Linda M.I is the best rapper in Africa. I just laughed when I saw this list cuz its a complete joke.

I agrEe totally with d list

Obie King said...

Linda U r right 2 som extent Bt Plzzzz dnt ova hype M.I...He is very gud bt second 2 Mode 9......Hw com I dnt C Pherowshuz n Terry da Rapman on d@ list n wat are Olamide, Sauce Kid n worst of all Reminisce doing on d@ list.....Muna n Eva r beta dan dese Niggaz....Plzz they shud revise d@ list.....

Linda You no wise oooo...Come to think of it self MI can't stand Jesse Jagz u now compare him with Kendrick and Yeezy..Omo sweet lindiway go and listen to your Ankanchawa or Sister Agata Moses and Leave Rap to those who know Rap,thou i don't see what Sinzu is doing on that list or Ice prince.where is Illbliss,Terry d Rapman? Notjustok is indeed not OKAY AT ALL.

Phyno can be compared wit M.I pls..linda I dnt hear u

Wow! This list is so wrong MI number one, Naeto C number two.

This is the second time am commentingon this blog and dats cos I totally disagree with u Linda. M.I is good no doubt about that buh he'sseriously losing it des days. Mode9 is purely no 1, he's d only rapper in nigeria dat doesn't blab and am sure he won't in future. He's not d popular kid in the block but he's Unique and dope. Then d idea of putting olamide and crazy phyno b4 M.I is way ridiculous. And dis is 2 M.I 4rm a true fan cos am sure u r a secret LIB reader or ur friend is, Plssss stop recording Party track wif flavor and co, u are way more dan dat. U have class, Ego and an Image to protect. U r Mr. Incredible for God's sake, pls bring back d old M.I of "Talk about it" An to whoever compiled d list, pls who the fuck is showDemCamp(SDC) *sighs*

Dis actully bullshit,MI shud be num1,den iceprince,others can fall in!!!

Linda dis is a bullshit list.trust me.how can u compare olamide wit MI...infact no b wetin I suppose to dey talk about be dis

E dey pain u..... Singing in Uhrobo dialet.....;D

oya Linda release your own list na...:) MI has huge accomplishments but placing him top of the list will go further to show how bad Nigerian hip Hop has been. MI is currently not hiphop.. Kanye west.? Linda looooool plz shut it.

Now back to the topic, I really don't think that list went through the proper channel before it was published. Before such list are made public it must go through screening by recognized hip hop heads,record label bosses,Dj,Veejay,music producers, rap critics and public voting etc.. don't think any of those criteria' were followed for that alone i declare the list INVALID.

Thirdly if you wanna make such list then you should have proper knowledge of Rap and it's composition. To make a list of this nature you have put into consideration Pedigree, style of flow, Rhyming ability, Punch lines, Poetic ability etc.. I think Terry tha Rapman, Jesse Jagz,Ruggedman,Pheroshuwz,Eldee YES i said Eldee the Don he raps and he's a pioneer so he deserves a spot on the list. Ice prince rhymes like he still in High school good guy though.But i'd rather listen to Freestyle,iLLBliss, or 2shotz. Content matters a lot if u wanna be rated among the best.

In no particular order here's my list of best/most gifted rappers in Nigeria (IMO)

1. Modenine
2. MI
3. Terry Tha Rapman / Sauce Kid/Jesse Jagz
4. Vector/Naeto C/Ruggedman/Ikechukwu/Eldee
5. Ice prince/Olamide/Reminisce

the others can find their spot somewhere on the bottom half of the list.No hard feelings.

I dnt.

Davies said...

Its a fuckin lie here's my list
1.M.I
2.Ice Prince
3.Olamide & phyno
4.Naeto C
5.Vector
6.Phenom
7.Illbliss
8.Sinzu
9.Reminisce
10.MR RAW

doolex said...

F*** it!!!What is reminisice and phyno doing on that list? And why is tharapman and Jaggo not on that list? Even I could murder five rappers on that list.

M.I is the best rapper in africa...nobody should argue that.

Yinotinto said...

Am laughing in vanacular. Looooolllllzzzzz. Chai see list o, I think I should make my own list too, since there's now freedom of writing.

This is complete bullshit..olamide and phyno above the chairman?? It's true..d website is notjustok at all

1221 said...

Na notjustok nw...d list cn nva b ok...derz a list 4 gifted rappers nd "phenom"is nt der?...mk dem change d site 2 drycleanin agency....nd I hp pple dt crucified davido,will attack d rappers dah cmplaind too....

LINDA re u kiddinq me? That MI should be compared with the likes of kanye west, kendrick etc.... Tell me u ve a crush on MI and i will agree with you not this..Mode still remain the BEST RAPPER... Altho the list ain't right cos terry d rap man is nt there..and jesse jags is even better than MI now, phyno and Olamide re still the street king respectively, iceprince shouldn't be in that list, vector is better that em...ill bliss suppose to be there. Infact Naija dnt listen to lyrics, they listen to beat n hook period!!!

Mehn this a fucked up list Olamide ahead of M.I nd Vector and also Sinzu... Mehn you gat to be sick upstairs

Dear linda pls dont comment on rap again lol m.i best rapper in africa? Hope u weren't deceived by his song with flavor. If u had replaced m.i with mode9 in ur statement u would have spoken well mode9 ahouldn't be listed in same category with the rest

personally i kinda agree with the list, but am confused how sauce kid is on the list.
for entertainment gist, fashion and beauty tips log on to cimdhog.blogspot.com

Lolz rappers in Nigeria

1)Mode9
2)MI
3)Vector
The rest na moi moi shekina.

Anything coming from Notjustok should be taken with a pinch of salt....This List is as BULLSHIT as the word "bullshit"....Its not news that NJO worships and celebrates mediocrity. Granted some of the rappers there are very talented but some pple shld def not be there! For crying out loud, PHYNO! at No 3 & M.I @ No 4?? TF?? What happnd to Jesse Jagz, Loose Kaynon, OD, Terry tha Rapman, Killz, Ruggedman & so many others? Reminisce & Sauce Kid shdlnt even be on that list! Anyway its just like Jagz said....There's a difference btw a rapper an an emcee.

She said her personal opinion. Abii una dey get problem with english language. Instead of attacking her, why don't you give your own opinion. Smh for people shaaaaa

Linda chill on the M.i hype may be the best in nig, sakordie even spits better. No on kanye or kendrik's level

1221 said...

Linda post dis comment na..

Aunty mi you have said it all....

Wack! Wack!! Wack!!! The list is wack wat †Ñ’ξ fuck is SDC doin above vector ãήϑ naeto C well its dier own opinion

Linda i get you like MI a lot but thats a bit insulting to Mode9.
i so agree Jagz on that one.
Mode9, MI and Phyno are truely gifted. they should be 1, 2, and 3.
Olamide should be 9 while NaetoC 10.

Whoever made this list is stupid and knows nothing about rap or hiphop.

Mistr Tee said...

Saying MI in not in the class of other act like modenine inclusive is a big disgrace,i don't blame you sha! you just a blogger not a music analyst.MI is no where on the level of modenine.Is like comparing Souja Boy to pac.Linda if you like don't post my comment,chew it.

ejikebiggerdick said...

I think Mi shuld be first, followed by phyno...but not as if he shuldn't be in dat list at all, what is he singing sef? I hardly understand most of his rhymes sef.
So Linda, this one u always famz Mi, seems u re crushing tho.
If u lyk, carry dis my comment cook ogbono soup..na u sabi

why do yoruba people think olamide is that good. i like the gut though, but just look at the names on the list

10,000 likes

@Linda Ikeji.. It shows ur knowledge of HipHop.. Kanye ain't α rapper in the mould of M.I. He is α pop-rapper like Drake & other rap singers.
M.I doesn't sing his rap.. He's an Emcee..
Best rappers in US:
1: Rakim
2: Big Daddy Kane
3: Nas
4: 2pac
5: B.I.G
6: Jay Z
Not my list.. Its official.

ejikebiggerdick said...

I think u ave got a point here...if Kanye were to be here, am sure no one will ever knw him...hates his songs tho

Lmao Mode9 na rapper??.. you can't compare any Nigerian rapper with M.I.. That dude is talented.. This list is total rubbish. Nigeria beats Malawi 2-0

Mode9 wasuP? I see u bro.

Mich said...

Bricks,I wish I could give u a knuckle shake for this comment.
Proverb is about the only emcee in the whole of Africa that can go toe-to-toe with Modenine,they had a song together back then called "promo" and it was bloody FIRE.
Not only do I dislike this list,I also dislike most of the ignorant comments on here.
If they only knew what Hip Hop is!

Ur brain is upside down i think

Rough Diamond said...

Oh boy! mayor u don wound me wit laff

i know phyno wrote olamide's rap in ghost mode. that song made olamide. so why is olamide before phyno. i guess more people in lagos understand yoruba than igbo. phyno is gifted as a lyricist.

ravenmortal said...

Jesse Jagz is one of the most gifted emcees on the African scene! He deserves a rating on any top list, but I am not surprised he is not. His image needs a complete makeover.

Mode9 wasuP? I see u bro.

10,000 likes

lord frey said...

This list in just not ok.

xdonsq said...

Not just ok.com u're not just ok ur self n 2. Me instead if I must say s**t why not just climb on to ur roof n shout ur throat out u will still attrack plc attention *lol*

Rough Diamond said...

Mi lazy rapper!

Rough Diamond said...

Gbosa!!! Lol @bleached his talent away!

How come no one mentioned ikechukwu? Or sasha? Abi dem nor dey rap too?

@ BIG MICH Larry Hoover cos dats what u are not just MICH...cos rozay said so...u just earned my respect with ur post...TEAM MODE

ejikebiggerdick said...

Haaa! This one dey talk of world! Mtcheeew! Pack wEll osiso! Mi is a good rapper, no doubt abt it but u guyz shuld stop all dis hype pls, he jst raps like all others with little or no difference

U always talk here , but in this one I must disagree , the M.I of 2008 was amazing & out of dis world infact d reason I started loving naija songs , but since he went commercial he got very very weak , "chairman song" is super weak , I don't knw wat 2 call it , ice prince shldn't be dere , terry darapman shld take his place , every oda person on dat list earned dere spot ,
Shoutout 2 phynofino !!! , 2 me he shld be no 1 on d@ list , his is raw & reps the streets of 042

WTF!!! MAny people on here are just supposed to be listening and judging akpala and blues..Dont judge when it comes to Rap. MI is good but that LINDAs hype is too much, I agree with Jesse Jags to some point. Also, i think raps should also be analyzed with more of the English flow. Im a dope yoruba rapper but still wont accept Olamide. Thats entertainment rap, But from my analysis.
ModeNine first,
MI.
others follow...
But wheres PHENOM?
Go listen to dat guy..You wud see wat im talkin about.#
*JAMAL*

m.i is not that great. linda u r obviously not into hiphop

This is my own list....
1)MI
2)Jesse Jagz
3)Olumide
4)Mode nine
5)Vector
6)Reminisce
7)Ice Prince
8)Phenow
9)Terry Tha Rapman
10)Naeto C
Lemme add 5more
11)Yung6
12)Sinzu
13)Phyno
14)Killz
15)Eva, Blaise and Muna
If this aint a fair list, then I wonder which is... And Th is SDC doin on dah list?

U got me laughing real loud

I agree.

mehn linda u r off...comparin MI wit K.DOT lolzz. MI cnt n never b d best rapper n nigeria. 4 me i tink d likes of ruggedman, terry d rapman, lilbliss, ikechukwu, jags should b on dat list. modenine stil d best.

***MAC-CIDO***

Dis mumu LIB readers! Hw do u pple knw linda doesn't know anything about rap? Are u with her when she listens to music or jus bcos som1 is a blogger means the person can't be into rap? Abeg! U guys should tell stella damasus that she doesn't know anything about movies or music or anything else bcos she's a blogger! Kmt!

Poopoo said...

The list is one point. For those who listen to and understand rap, Modenine is very rich with his content, style, technique and all. He is King simple. Pls, MI is commercial and cannot bust a rhyme if given a mic suddenly. I have personally witnessed this. Ice Prince is a really shitty rapper. He just repeats stuff. There is a difference between packaging and taste. Modenine is taste. The LIST IS RIGHT.

Who is modenine ?? I think reminisce should be number 3 in my opinion . Also Linda MI is not even that good he is over hyped sarkodie is way better than him in my own opinion , like how dare compare MI to the likes of kendrick lamar , kanye west ? Abo sun Ni ? Are u drunk ? Also those other irrelevant rappers commenting should just shutup except for Jesse jagz I think he is pretty good especially his new album its pretty dope .

You gonna do Modo like that?

H E N R E A L Oluwafreshboi said...

My top 5
1. Mode9
2. M.I
3. Vector
4. Sinzu
5. Phynom / Iceprince

Exactly what I was thinking , phenom is beyond dope . I think phyno should definitely be on the list but maybe not that high up

How many of these rappers can cypher for 10 min witout reaptin old lines.Mode 9 n MI rocks.

@mich,God bless u. Linda comparing m.I to Kanye and Kendrick is just stupid. SDC are actually very good,y'all should check em out,then Modenine is no doubt the greatest in 9ja.

I can't agree less..after listening to Vectors album mehn...

@PC,if u are looking for where to steal words from then u should go listen to Modenine.M.I was very good,not anymore.

1. Mode 9
2. MI
3. Lyrikal
4. Double k
5. Timi kay
6. Street disciple
7. Books
8. Terry d rapman
9. Pherowshuz
10. Vector

If Dagrin were 2 b alive, he shld Hv bin no 1

To alot of nigerians, Mode9 would come first and that's also bcos not all nigerians listen to or even know what rap really is about but go outside the naija shores, and you would only have to agree to this fact that M.I is number one in Africa. To me i would put Olamide in second place then maybe Sauce Kid..

jloce said...

M.I the chairman

Wande said...

I'm glad you emphasized on "My opinion" its really ur opinion.

LMAO.....u are wicked oooo, leave reminisce to bleach oo

Olamide is not supposed to be there atall. Thts my opinion o! Dude just makes noise with his poor diction. Still tryna understand the hype. Modenine, really?

1221 said...

Anon 7:24...I tink u nid 2 listen 2 d translations of olamide's rap..he is gifted...lemme ask u,cn u evn wyrt 2 krrkt sentences in ur dialet?...itz harder wn u use ur dialet 2 sing..nt jst using english nd gvn us wack ryhmes...M.I shuld b second,judging 4rm his mixtapes nd 1st album....den vector shuld follow..phenom shuld cm b4 iceprince..

Linda, STFU!!! Do you even know what defines rap? Do u know what they call bars? Do you even know what it takes to make the content of the art of rap??? Take several seats abeg.. M.I. is WACK!!! All he has is the "package" of a rapper.. M.I cannot and I boldly repeat, CANNOT stand a battle with many rap cats in Nigeria! So does Ice. And you're calling rap greats and you dare mention Kendrick Lamar??? WTF? How many albums does he have to his belt? GKMC? So because he caused a controversy means he's that good huh? What happened to the likes of Eminem, Jay Z, Diddy, Melle Mel..?? It's obvious you know next to nothing about rap and it pains me to see that people would sadly be convinced by your 'personal opinion'..
Get ur rap game tight Linda!

And yes, if there's ANY rapper worth to be on that list, it's Terry Tha Rapman.. Sinzu, Reminisce, Naeto C, SDC and Phyno are all worthy mentions, not saying they should be categorised as Top Ten though! Modenine lives on past glory.. He should take a cue from Jay Z and Eminem and stay relevant in the game

And if you like Linda, don't post this like you did on the other post about the graphic photo. As long as you see and read it, #MessageDelivered!

Killer_Keed!

First i want to correct your notion above, MI is a gifted rapper fine and good but he is in no way out of the league of those rated on this list. So better stop bitching since u obviously know nothing about rap/hip hop.Better stick to the blogging and don't get some lazy ass numbskulled lunatics started.

Secondly Modenine deserves to be No 1 any time any day (This is only for those who understand what Rap is all about).He is not just an emcee he's a Versatile Emcee with unbeatable ryhming ability, punchline king,internationally acclaimed lyricist finally he posseses an Undisputed poetic advantage over all other rappers in Nigeria. Check out cry ft Nnena, Ogun Isoye ft Nomoreloss,Regular guy ft Nnena & Mike aremu the list is endless....Terry Tha Rapman & Sauce Kid are not exception they have got pedigree and skills

FOR YOUR OWN GOOD POST MY COMMENT COS IF U DON'T I'LL BE COMING BACK TO HUNT YOU **BAZINGA**

jay said...

Hmm wat a dead list.MI ur numba 1 on dat list,followed by ice prince nd den mode9.... All odas can fall into any of d rest positions.shikenna.

The person who made this list is a mothafucking retard.

Is there a "LIKE" button 4 dis comment? Mich u just took words outta ma mouth...#teammode#

A̶̲̥̅♏ sorry o bt if ÈŠ̝̊̅†̥ isn't M.I den its NÕ̸̳͡ oda person. Lke U̶̲̥̅̊ rightly said M.I is †Ñ’ξ best rapper ιη Nigeria i dnt NÕ̸̳͡ abut dat of Africa.

NaetoC a rapper ewwww! That guy talks about his msc all the time he spoilt Davido's song for Gods sake.
Imo babe

Ibo boy ill bliss not there? Wack list then.

SOLID C said...

Well, the list may not be 100 percent correct but I agree with most of the names on it. I think JESSE JAGZ and PHENOM should have gotten on that list too. Again, I like M.I and I think he's a good rhymer but I don't agree he is the best in Nigeria. I believe MODE 9 is the best. An artiste is not the best just because he makes commercial music and sells the most copies of albums. Nah! It surely doesn't count like that in HIPHOP. Even, in America, as good as JAY-Z is, he isn't considered a better rapper than NAS. DOPE MC's are revered not just by album sales but by EVERGREEN LINES AND RHYMES that they spit. When you google even the 10 BEST RAPPERS OF ALL TIME as evaluated by MTV, you'll find that NAS always makes the cut before JAY-Z even though JAY has far outsold NAS till date. I guess REAL HIPHOP HEADS know what I'm talking about! NAS IS A RAP LEGEND JUST LIKE JAY BUT NAS GETS MORE LYRICAL RESPECT WHEN HIPHOP IS DISCUSSED IN AMERICA! In other words, M.I might be considered a very good rapper in Nigeria but he's definitely not better than MODE 9! #HiphopSpeaking

Shut up punk! U seem to know a little about a lot. Grammar can't save you out of this one cos u just spoke from the bottom of your ass....M.I, among the seven best rappers in the world. My eyes must be failing me. M.I should just hire you already. I hear he's been looking for a brand manager. Well, he just got one.

***Twizzy***

I agree with you Linda

M.I number 1rapper ιη Nigeria dnt NÕ̸̳͡ abut dat of africa Ooº°°Âºoo

I don't even know why they had to make it a list of ten. We barely have 5 credible rappers in the country. Modenine, terry, olamide, m.I and maybe, just maybe, I don't know. Maybe a list of four would have been okay. **sigh**

**Twizzy***

Soul said...

M.I is the chairman of what? Excuse you? Puhlease, anybody who doesn't recognize Modenine as the King or Pope of rap in Africa should go take a fucking leap of faith off a fucking cliff. WTF? That aside, naeto c, vector, sdc and ice prince shouldn't be there on that list. That is disrespecting the cats on that list and those who should be there. Terry tha rapman should be apologized to by Notjustok. Same as Jesse jags, Ikechukwu and Uzi.

Abeg d person dat made dis list is olodo,MI is number 1 abeg.Lindodo ow far now

bricks said...

y'all should listen to proverb(MC FROM SOUTH AFRICA)-WRITER'S CLUB.them you will know that all this naijah rappers (asides from MODE 9 & may be MI if he is serious) are moi moi and pap-soft!

Linda you a woman you can never understand what makes a great rapper..get this..Rap..Hip Hop..Lyrical..Gangsta..Party Rap..Conscious.. all different genres..just like you girls never get offside rule..stick to playing with dolls..

Puffinnocentchukz said...

Pls,where is illbliss?eeh?

Yes his lyric like "mices" abi #blah

M.I is Nigeria's rapper number one NOW, judging by his first 2 albums not so much his chairman album. I agree though modenine used to be the greatest but he has taken a back seat simply because he does not do mainstream music. But asides that, I think the rest of the list is wack, for me Ice prince sings more than he raps, he is more of a Nelly, Olamide is good too, because he blends the traditional with the contemporary and Da grin woulda made this list if he was alive. Vector is good too, same goes for Sinzu. About M.I being number one in Africa? Linda haven't you heard of Sarkodie? There is a debate there.

Dana said...

Wow, easy.. Its not a fight.. We get your point buh you don't have to eat Linda raw for giving "her" own opinion.. Btw, I dunno jack about rap buh I just got a few pointers from you :D

You wey know oya clap for yourself.

xdonsq said...

Thank u abeg ma not just ok get sense if dem no get moni na

Gbamm!! Ʋ took the words right out of my mouth MI is jst unbeatable as in dia is something abt that short black dude wif a very big ass Ʋ jst can't help bt └ºνє♡ him even his haters └ºνє♡ him dey re jst blinded by hate and I also agree with who ever said Ikechuwku was missing on dat list ♍ÃŽÅŸs Jenny

MI to me is the best.. His ability to merge commercial success (Albums) and Hardcore Raps (Mixtape) is 2nd 2 none.. Also he is d most intelligent rapper in Nigeria and Africa. His lines sumtyms make U pause and think twice..

GBAM!

C'mon.. This is trash!!! M.I???!! *pukes* Is modenine still into music???! Here's my own list:
1. VECTOR..
2. Olamide..
3. Phenom..
4. Illbliss..
5. Sinzu..
6. Jesse Jagz..
7. Phyno..
8. Ice prince..
9. Reminisce..
10. Ikechukwu..
END OF STORY. If you don't like it, drink perfume. Joor o!

How the Fuck wouldn't M.I and J.J not be on the list? Btw M.I should be no 1 and notjustok.com is a shitty website yer? Well said linda , this being the first time I'm commenting on your blog.

♍ÃŽÅŸÅŸ Jenny said...

Painment na em dey worry Ʋ... Dia is one line MI said dat I └ºνє♡... Too many confessions like usher guy and Ʋ say Ʋ no understand MI's rap is self explanatory lolzzz na una type of pple wey make MI say see them see them dey wanna beef me now that dey see BET on my CV now dat I be frequently on d TV, THEY WANNA GO THERE BUT CNT AFFORD THE TP, His motto is do more, talk less never get mad @ another man's success S♡ when pple try to make sure MI chopless he said NO BE UR FAULT, YOU re just JOBLESS NONSENSE.... I could go and on and never get tired MI is just outta dis world he is gifted infact em over gifted make up for em height S♡ if lin lin dey crush on my MI... Lin lin 3words CRUSH IS LEGIT

See d pple dt made d list Not just OK.com dey r not OK indeed. Ols who is SDC where is Jags Phenom n M.I is d 1st I knw mode nine is gud

craig said...

Wtf jesse jags not on that list....hmmm,phyno has no album

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 364   Newer› Newest»