Medical doctors and pharmacists in LUTH protest non-payment of salaries | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 September 2013

Medical doctors and pharmacists in LUTH protest non-payment of salaries

Medical and Pharmacy Interns of the Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH) are protesting the non-payment of their salaries for at least 3 months, some for longer. These house officers and interns are the first line doctors, they are the first to see the patients, first to get to work and last to leave, and for the past three months they have not been paid. Not fair! The relevant authorities should please address this issue before the situation escalates. More photos from the protest when you continue...

112 comments:

Pay them!

How disgraceful and appalling! What a pity of a country! Nigeria is an utter cesspool!! Basic work force like medical professionals salaries are being held, and those corrupt politicians get mammoth salaries! SMH!!

Government should something fast,pls we dey beg oooo

Mich said...

Sad tale.
In a country where corrupt politicians earn huge sums for their thievery.
Who owes medical personnels,please?
Next thing they would say is there isn't enough money in the treasury for remuneration.
Appalling!

Lord abeg i no wan do my residency for 9ja o.. na beg i dey beg Baba mi

Chaii ewoooo c ma skool...to fink dat I'l b goin 2ru dis sh** nxt year...even hed fed govt wants to stop payin HO's n interns..sad fin mehn!

Chinonso Charles said...

When are we going to learn. God have mercy.

Make Naira Online

New word alert! cesspool- a filthy or corrupt place
Prince Charming where in d world do u get to know these words? I cut cap 4u abeg

Lagos is broke!

Pay them
What a shame

Pay them O!!!

See my hungry colleagues!!!hehehe

Some of us hv not been paid for the past 6months

Lindz its Kinda normal oh Infact its of recent some teaching hospitals pay interns b4 3months its usually after d 3rd month dey'd give dem dia bulk payment wch is very exciting at that moment. If theirs is past 3months, its quite cruel now!

ezzyphills said...

what becomes of the patients in the wards???

gush

They shuld be paid oh!!!! Becos dey deserve it.

Yawa d̲̅ε̲γ OºO in Burna Boy's Voice....Naija Wonders!....Ojimsclaxic#

It's really not nice. Never heard of govt. officials going on strike over non-payment of salary...d country is a total mess!!

Abi oo. Luth pay me my arrears as well oo.. Its been 5 mnths n no pay!!! Rubbish. How do u want me to attend to patients

My mum is affected pls D govt should pay them their salaries oooo. She went for a test, D result is out but no doctor to treat her. Plsssssssssss D pain is tooo much for her. God please heal her of this unbearable pain i beg of you. Sadface:(

Pc get out ur very annoyin

Amanda Oguntolu said...

Lolz...Unto LIB chief grammarian tinz,i dey feel you my dear

Nt fair

Thanks Linda for posting this.some of us are dead broke right from our Med school days,hoping to heave a sigh with housejob pay,but here we are still surviving on tips from our parent/guardian whom are supposed to be reaping fruits of their labour.Leadership issue always the bane of Nigeria...#SOSPlease#

brownhottiee007 said...

U spend all those years in the uni plus strike just for this trash it is well o

Dr. Sommiee said...

They should pay my Nekky jorrr. She hasn't gone shopping in over 3months. F***ing government and their f***ing stories!

b8 said...

How do they expect these young professionals to survive? It' totally unfair. And what about the Nigerian medical association and the Asociation of Resident Doctors of LUTH? They treat house officers like housemaids ( some of them even call them so) and yet they won't pay? Shame on the system! Shame I say.

That is nigeria for u

Are they not supose to be the 1st to be paid? Very bad...popcake

And yes linda has listened to me! Thank u for letting d world know...thank u!

Make Money Online Nigeria said...

This is so unfair. What is the Government of Lagos waiting for. They should settle ds amicably asap or else?

Learn How To Make Legitimate Money Online In Nigeria Here

calabar princess said...

My friend is currently working as an intern there, i'm laughing right now cause i can almost hear him screaming i dont have money LUTH HAS NOT PAID US when we see. I really hope they pay them abeg, this ones need money to survive 3months is too much na. They cant be chopping sand

Very sad Drs av 2 fight for deir salary esp d ones dat do d hardest and d lowest of d low of d work+sleepless nights!it's so unfair dat dey'd owe as much as 7months salary and d DA of Luth still claims not 2 knw abt d arrears!

Dnt mnd d stupid govnr. All he knws how 2 do is 2 send igbo ppl bk 2 onitsha.

I am currently a luth intern Linda-My week goes thus..work starts usually 7.30 am to prepare for rounds.rounds end @ around 1-2pm den clinic or labs or surgery/procedures till 4pm..and am usually on call(4pm-d next mornin) 3ce a week on less busy weeks ..or 4-5times in busy postings. Isn't it rather inhuman putting in these guelling hours,suufering myself to gv my patients healthcare n yet i hav been starving & haven't been paid since june??
Y Evils naa? After 7yrs in medical school..POST MY COMMENT MS.IKEJI thx(*steam coming outta ears)

Oluwaseun Basit Ogunbona, MBBS, Ph.D said...

This is so unfair and depressing! How will you not pay salary for up to 7(SEVEN) months and expect them to keep quiet and continue working like all is well. We need a dramatic change in the system. It has always been like this, but this time, interns have been pushed to the wall, hence the protest. Colleagues, I salute your courage. We are in it together. Aluta Continua!!!

Federal govt used to be the one paying these ppl but now, they are saying hospitals shud be paying them, a lot of govt hospitals av stopped taking interns cos of these, which is a big problem as they are the ones doing majority of the works in these hospital.

Thank U Linda. God bless u 4 lending ur blog 2 our cause. 7 mnths n counting, no pay! Ah ah! We're nt slaves nah....even slaves r fed by deir task masters.

Pls ooo govt pay them!linda u really need 2 do smetin bout dis prince charming guy *eyes rolling*

OJO ADEOLU said...

Pathetic!! Strike today, protest tommorow!!Is GEJ sleeping?

Pay them their money jor.they work too hard.....

kunle said...

These people are truly working day and nite. They should take them serious so as not to transfer aggression or service to patients.

Hmm what a shameful Country. When medical personnel are living Large in other coutries, Nigerians are purnishing their own. I can see why Nigeria doctors, Nurses, pharmacists in USA and UK will never come back to Nigeria to work, cos Nigeria government will not pay them and even if they do is gonna be penny they will pay them. I spit (tuaa) for this country

C my people ooo,Fed govt plz pay us our salary *straight face*
~Joke~

LUTH what wOuld prOtect get yOu??
When strick has dOne nOthing yet huh??
Its a pity nigeria has immunity for the bad things.
*we need prayers*shikinA!

I hrd its 7mnths not 3 mnths, ds country is deadly!

Olodo is Lagos state govt in charge of Luth or Fed Govt

The same cOuntry expects the best frOm this dOctor__sOOO yOu cOuld see__the best they dO tO get the best theY want__
*One news bulletin i gOt this mOrning was advicing citizens Of nigeria tO get medical treatments and aids here in the cOuntry..and stOp going tO india,USA--etc--__yOu can imagine what it wOuld be like dOing yOur kidney,liver,etc__OperatiOns here i suppOse sOme nigazz wOuld die__at the dOOr__

NIGERIA WHICH WAY!!!!!!
MONKEY DEY WORK; BAMBOO DEY CHOP.

OUR LEADERs LIKE IT D HARD WAY. ITS HIGH TYM THEY CUM; TIRED OF BEING SCREWED.

APPLELIPX

Thank you Linda for making this known. I am currently an house officer in Luth. Its the Fedreral Government thats owing from June-August but LUTH is owing Us from February to May. You can imagine the Director of Administration (that we supposed to be under) saying he wasnt aware we have not been paid. They also owe the intern Radiographers,intern Physiotherapist,intern dieticians, intern nurses,intern Lab Technologists.
Nigerians its time to expose this injustice.

3months ke? Some people haven't been paid for 7months o. Truth is that CMD sef is part of the problem. He is a criminal,a lot of misappropriation of funds going on.

Seun,how's Harvard o jare..*wink*tnk God u left...This is Funky flex(lepsy)
~Joke~

How can these people do any good work if they are hungry and starving from lack of money to even buy food to keep their bodies going? Is it any surprise why some of the patients receive substandard treatment in these hospitals. A hungry doctor worried about where the money is going to come from to keep his/her water, light, roof, food, transportation is not going to be able to give the same level of care or concern to their patient as someone who has none of these things ot worry about. I am not going to even touch the lab people, because lord only knows that a hungry belly will make you see different things through a microscope.

It's not only in Lagos. Even the National Hospital in Abuja still owes their House officers for about the same duration too. Things are really falling apart in Naija.

How on earth can this wicked pple change their attitude to the Niegians, U have all forgot that people voted u into power u a holding now are stil much alive to disgrace u out of d office,All ur children, ur grand nd great grand will suffer in a million ways u suffer the masses by the grace of God

They would keep the money in their accounts to yield plenty profits then when people start protesting for their money they would pay...You people should hook Prof Oshibogun and Ayo Olagunju for ur money..And truely these House officers in Luth rily Suffer...Goodluck to you guys

Nawah oooh
Abeg make una pay dis pple

Wow and this pple work their ass's off,it is not fair oo,pity the married men amongst then that have a family to fend for.

Luth is the most terrible hospital in dis whole federation to be an Intern, I finished my internship since march this year & am yet to be paid for feb & mar,I went to complain at the accounts dept, where I was shown a ledger dat shows dat my money has been paid since june 26th 2013 & am yet to get an alert frm my bank, so I asked the officer incharge d reasons for this irregularities & she said "Doctor go & be praying so that we can remember to pay u" Immagine the level of indiscipline at all ties of operations in luth!!! Same goes 4 a lot of my colleagues,am sure 1 criminal in that luth has all our money in a fixed deposit in his/her name.

eje said...

Mr make money online,ur yahoo yahoo job don block ur sense,LUTH is a fed govt establishment,it has notin to do wit lagos govt.

Anon. 2:37 u be correct mumu..LUTH is nt under state govt but federal..get Ųя facts ryt b4 u start abusing d gov.

Gov fashola policy is not for the people.his policy is to punish anyone who violate his law.good or bad.if you spray clothes beside your house you risk jail term.if he doesnt like you he will deport you.we still have beggers from other part of the state begging in lagos.dont kai officers see them.or is it only the igbos that he saw to deport?

Moe said...

That's the norm.too many corrupt top government officials. During my housemanship, Military hospital paid us our 1st Salary 5 Months after we started house job.and it wasn't even the full 5 months salary. Hope the protest will yield positive response.

Moe said...

Dem be thief. I'm sure those salaries have been put in fixed deposits in order to generate interests for demselves. That's what dey do yr in yr out. They will definitely pay u pple. It's just the time issue. Sorry

Sad
anyway pls visit www.omgville.blogspot.com if you love fashion. Its awesome!

Federal government has issues oh..this stupid IPPIS the gov use to pay its worker..even civil servants dnt get their salaries till sometimes 2 week of d month!prof oshibogun is a very corrupt man!a lot of misappropriation of funds..n they have even reduced their salaries,ask interns in orthopadeic...even when dey pay finally.I know dey wld pay half..Luth is a Mess!no development..my sisters r interns n I know how stressful they complain d job is..cuz dey work their ass.let's see if Luth can survive without the interns!

This is very sad!I really pity these guys.they do all the leg work and some of them hv not been paid for 7 months.I'm a resident in luth and I know tht some of the money (for the first 3 months) has been remited to luth,but the C.M.D and D.A refuse to pay these ppl.Most of the controversy stems from inflating the amount of interns on the payroll and now they can't defend that with the federal govt.May God help us all.We all kip talking abt jonathan and his cohorts when ppl tht are in charge of parastatals can't even manage them properly. Shame on all....

*Linda. The Fed hospital system is broken. Lets privatize these hospitals and let capable people run them. Poor interns, they can't even do locum/ part time jobs yet because of their limited experinces.
Lets get to the bottom of this and expose and sanction who ever os resposible for it

UBTH House Officers are also affected. We haven't been paid 3 months salary (June, July and August) and now we're in September. Enough is enough!!!

Luth C.M.D is a big thief! He earns 2m monthly and he still holds on to doctors' salaries! Oloshi oloriburuku jati jati. Pay me my 7 months salary o. Ole! No pay,no work! I only pity the sick people.

Oga Fash please do the needful

Sunday Otuns@4:14pm. Gov Fasola has been deporting people to western states for more than 2 yrs and this is not a smart thing to do. But stop reading ethnic sentiments into this. I believe you had these facts but just wanted to be mischievious with your statement. Much responsibilities are on you as a UNILAG graduate. These include watching what you say/ do. I have not abused or insulted you, so be civil in your response.

May be they are taking the list of House officers affected to their God father on his sick bed at UK 4 approval(the useless leaders) they must cry for their misbehaviours

*John Hopkins*
~Joke~

orela said...

its this stupid ippis shit......abeg dey shuld scrap us out jare....here in AKTH Kano...this is d 4th mnth nuffin
mctsheeew

Haba, dis is really sad oooooo. I wonder why our government can be dis wicked.

If it is Oga 4 d top dat a keeping our money into fix deposits, hw shall will know? Bcos dea is nobody to report dem to at d fed level, de a all birds of d same feather. Fm GEJ to d lowest of dem, de a all thiefs Awon ole, Oloshi, oloriburuku. Linda post my comment o

Linda I want to tell you a painful story about my fellow houseofficer here in LUTH with me. He was on call one night in his unit when he was called his father was sick and he was brought to the very LUTH he worked in. His father got to accident and emergency and was asked to pay 50k as deposit. His son who is a houseofficer in LUTH explained to his snr colleagues/management that because he hasn't being paid, he has no money to deposit but since he is a houseofficer in the hospital that he can't runaway that he would go and look for money and pay eventually. They refused and while he was looking for money, his father had a cardiac arrest and died in the same hospital he has dedicated his life and work for 7months without pay... Tell me... Isn't this the real defination of injustice? How is he supose to feel? LUTH and the government must pay for this injustice!!!! Solidarity Forever. No work No pay!!!

SIMPLYCOCK said...

This is pathetic. Only a blighted system will owe health-workers their salaries. If you think you are punishing the doctors, then you are making a big mistake. It is the lives of ordinary Nigerians that are being put on the line!!! Strike action is good. If you are a doctor anywhere in Nigeria, and feel that sense of solidarity, this is the time to join in a nationwide strike!!!!

femicavan said...

the truth of the matter is, the money is there but somebody at the top are using their money for personal business transaction until that person is done with lots of profit and keep it in his back pocket, he would not pay them. this has happen to me before when i was in school of nursing Lagos long time ago.

Bankole Abayomi said...

This is a very critical situation that needs an urgent intervention,because if nothing is done now to address this situation payment of House officer ll soon be a thing of the past and that ll spell disaster in the health sector. We want our freedom now.

Indeed medical interns (aka houseofficers) work the hardest among the rank of doctors in a hospital, working from 7:30am to 6pm sometimes 7pm in LUTH, depending on the posting, sometimes being on call 3 to 7days a week, working almost round the clock, and the salary they earn is their only 'benefit' and motivation to endure such a rigorous routine. It is therefore so unfair, if not irresponsible of any government or institution to deny them of their hard-earned wages.

A house officer in LUTH ,his father had a cardiac arrest there was no space in A and E,he dint have N50000 for the spillover ward,he called and begged he was a staff,there and then his father died.
And his registrar insisted he resume work the next day
Pls publish this

oak said...

Who does fed.govt pay. Doctors dem no pay, lecturers nothing. Na wa o.

Annie said...

This is so unfair,After Ministers i rate doctors as God uses them to save lives..

It is a shame but apparently this is a normal procedure from The Federal government. You have to work a minimum of three months before you're paid. Representatives of the FG also make stupid excuses that it's not written anywhere in the code of conduct that staff should/must be paid on a monthly basis. Hence why they do such rubbish. I wish all federal government staff from different offices and commissions would just be heartless and strike (including myself). Let's see whether theyd pay or not. Take heart guys. It'snot their fault. It's because they have access to international health care for both themselves and family members. Heartless bastards!!!!

onyi said...

Ubth is also affected, we ve not been paid for the past three months

Hmmmm wierd

Naaar, GEJ is not sleeping. Why shld he bother himself with the prblms of bloody house officers when 2015 is around the corner? Nigerians! Let's vote this guy out in 2015. We can do it. GEJ at best shld be a LG chairman.

kia i beg plz consider d sick ones and their love ones

this is what happens in a country where people worship wealth. Nigerians had better wake up and fight for freedom because this is bondage. you all need to stop respecting politicians and at least send the right message to them through actions.

May thunder strike all the corrupt nigerian politicians and their descendants for looting nigeria's money and killing innocent souls. How can you not give to ceaser what belongs to him? Gods condemnation sure awaits their rutten souls. Bastards

Nafdac abuja please pay your interns too, we are broke haba

Thank you for your comment o jare, your head is there. Where in the world do federal govt pay doctors or lecturers? Let private individuals buy up these institutions and run them properly. Idiots are quick to mention GEJ name. Is he a magician?

Pls pay dem ooo!these pple work d hardest,round d clock(be it med interns,pharm,lab interns) My sister is a medical intern in national hosp abuja.last week she slept 4hrs out of 48hrs cos she was in the emergency.hrd she even hit her head on d wall during work due to fatigue.she was given panadol to take and continue work as dere were many lives at stake! Dese pple haven't been paid for 3months due to a salary restructuring by d federal govt (IPPIS). Don't know why itz takin ds teletubby faced-minister of finance and other involved officials ds long to effect it.and dey are even suggesting not to pay d full amount eventually". Imagine that! These medical personels are starving.even we relatives sef are feelin it as she no dey drop money llike before.the only thin keepin these professionals is the "oath" dey took.if not,a lot of patients wud be suffering and dying.our ogas at d top dey loot money,hardworkers dey starve.God punish our corrupt leaders.wat a country!

Seun how r u?d most brilliant boy of our time with seven distinction he has bsc in physiology nd mbbs,u re my role model God bless u

I don't understand what the problem is with this people called junior doctors/ interns/ house officers or what ever they are called.

Can't they learn from Dr SID.
They should all throw away their stethoscopes and white coats and start singing. This is what is selling in Nigeria now. You don't need any talent for singing these days. Just know how to dance and "you are good to go".
If you don't know how to dance, just go to any dancing school for 3 months top. This is far easier than burning candles learning morbid anatomy.

As a doctor, if you are in private practice, people find it difficult to pay you. If you are working for the government, na the same story.
We have India where we will all be running to when ever we are sick. And if you can't afford to go to India when you are sick, just go back to your village and use native medicine. It works. Or ask your pastor to pray for you. That works too.

So why bother to lean all the pathophysiology when at the end you will not get paid for all your sweat.
Learn all the Pharmacology for nothing.
I beg make them go sit down make we see front.

Nobody should blame our shoeless president for this o because he never created this problem.
Please leave him out of this one because he has enough PDP problem on his neck right now.
Thank you.
Oluatlanta.

oh baby said...

Pls I can't laugh abeeggg

Guineacar said...

Poor picture quality. Which kyn fone camera snap dis tin. Must be an Alcatel fone. Smh...+ Happy protest to u all. May ur cries be heard.

Trying so hard to be funny?U just made a fool of urself..and yes,I dey this Atlanta too.U shld have a gud idea who this is.

noblenenye said...

This is very disheartening. I know how it feels when you work for something and you don't get payed.
The relevant authorities should please do something urgently.

Princess Dee said...

Not good enuf!Naija wetin na?

smog said...

if people that offer such essential services like health and education ar nt being appreciated, then there is serious fire on the mountain. Gov. Fashola, do something.

To Anonymous Sept 3, 2013 at 1:25pm

I was not trying to be funny. I was stating facts.
Wande coal just bought a clean Benz. How many of these doctors can afford that? Though the Benz might be a used Benz but Benz na Benz.
Dr SID who burnt candles and used lanterns studying all nights at Uni Ibadan reading Dentistry is now a singer and he has almost completed his own private mansion at Lekki. How many medical doctors can afford to buy land in Lekki not to talk of building a mansion there?
The last time we read about Dr SID on this blog, Linda showed us his picture touring Europe with his girlfriend while all his old classmates here in Nija were and are still doing locum and can't even afford to pay their rent.
I even read on this blog about a Doctor in Nija, who threw away his steths and started selling illegally acquired petroleum. He claimed he was making more money scavenging fuel from leaking NNPC oil pipes and arranging them for sale.
In USA, doctors need to get mortgage to buy a house. But in Nigeria we have artists and singers who have never been nominated for Grammy b uilding mansions, buying cars, flying private airlines,and splashing 'ego'(money) on their multiple girlfriends as if there is no tomorrow.
Even the leader of OPC who used to be a good doctor running a nice hospital treating poor Mushin olosa people now runs an hotel making cool money. What about Dr Okupe? The same thing. The last time I heard, Dr Okupe who has thrown away his white coat is now running around in a cool brand new BMW courtesy of our once-shoeless president. Would he have been able to afford that in Nija, if he was still hanging that little funny looking stethoscope on his neck and using it to listen for murmurs and crepitations from people who will never pay him back for his services?
So, I am not trying to be funny. I am stating the obvious.
Oluatlanta.

Shade's Files said...

Dz is so sad to think of d benefits their counterparts abroad enjoy! Wch way 9ja!!!?

Interns here don't make a lot of money.. you make enough to live, because you are being trained... so they should be able to atleast pay them ontime. The amount of Nigerian doctors in the US in unbelievable, and can you blame them. SERIOUS BRAIN DRAIN.

By the way please don't compare SALARIES OF doctors in Naija to doctors in the US when it comes to paycheck.. they can't make the same, because they don't spening $250,000 for their EDUCATION; that being said I think they should make atleast what bankers make in Naija.
-MD

The IPPIS thing introduced by government is the cause of this. Other categories of interns yet to get their salaries are Radiographers, Medical lab Scientists, Physiotherapists, Dental Technologist and Dental Technicians. Corpses are also not left out. Full time staff have been receiving incomplete salaries since June that this IPPIS was introduced in the hospital where I work. So this is not peculiar to LUTH but all teaching hospitals in the country.

chennaidentalcentre said...

The Best Dentist providing services for all dental related problems for past 13 Years in chennai India.

welcome to Chennai's Best Dental clinic with Chennai's best dentist as consultants treating all dental problem. The dental Hospital Provides root canal treatment,implant dentistry,crown fixing,orthodontics,endodontics,child dental care,elderly dental care ,laser dental treatments,sedation dentistry,microscope dentistry and all maxillo facial surgical cases like trauma etc.

The director Dr D.P. Uma Magesh MDS has been in the field of dentistry for more than thirteen years providing best guaranteed ,higher patient satisfaction and quality dental care in chennai with a motto of taking Indian dentistry to international standards at a cost affordable to all chennai people.The chennai dental centre has five branches in chennai located in ECR(East Coast Road), OMR(Old Mahabalipuram Road), ADYAR, TRIPLICANE and CHROMPET.Chennai Dental Centre has best reputation as a service provider for dental Tourism in chennai and India dealing with expats with tourism needs and rendering best dental Hospital treatments in chennai.

The Chennai Dental Centre is well designed and integrated with best Protocol systems there by consultations, history recording, treatment planning, patient educations, preserving the patient data and x-rays which facilitate the appointments and later follow as per the requirements.

The Clinic is equipped with Best Dental Equipment's with all safety Standards, the sterilization provided for the instruments are at par with international standards and norms.The best dental clinic in chennai who are can providing all dental treatments like Advanced dentistry, Complete oral rehabilitation and Superior Dental smile designing are under one roof . The dental hospital provides the Best Orthodontic Treatment at affordable cost.

The Interiors of the hospital are well designed to make the children feel comfortable with contrast colors, play area, toys, videos, music and separate chairs.

Na wa, I know the story.it is a sad one

Oluwaseun Basit Ogunbona, MBBS, Ph.D said...

I am fine :) Thank you.