Should a mother be allowed to breastfeed in a public swimming pool? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 14 August 2013

Should a mother be allowed to breastfeed in a public swimming pool?

22 year old new mum, Stephanie Wilby (pictured above), is fighting the management of a leisure centre after she was asked to stop breastfeeding her four-month-old baby in a swimming pool. The staff told her breastfeeding in the pool was indecent exposure, unhygienic and similar to a swimmer urinating in the pool and would throw her out of the leisure centre if she refused to stop
"I would have still questioned their reasons but it would not have been as inappropriate. They made a real scene. They were saying me breastfeeding was indecent exposure. But I was covered more than most of the other swimmers. One staff member also said he would stop a man urinating in the pool and that is why they did not want me breastfeeding in the water. I should be allowed to breastfeed where I want. I felt humiliated and it was very distressing. I even asked about feeding at the side of the pool but they said that was not allowed and said I should go to the changing rooms or toilet. This was the worst possible customer service I have ever come across.'
She reported the case as abuse and now the city council is investigating to see if she has a case. I support the staff on this. A public swimming pool is not an appropriate place to breastfeed a child. What do you guys think?

214 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 214 of 214

Some ladies are just senseless,linda asked 4 ur opinion On d matter to 4 u to throw insult on her just bcos u are envoius Of it not a Do or Die affair!if u ve notin to contribute it wil b wise u keep ur Damm mouth shot.And in this case my opinion is that is "totally wrong" for a woman to brest feed in d pool.d lady dat suggested changing is rite but d toilet is out of it.

Breastfeeding the baby inside the pool was an irresponsible act. Simple! Who does that? I understand that sometimes your baby wants to feed NOW but i am also sure she should have been able to time when the baby would need a feed and at least get out of the pool. She must have offended a lot ofthe swimmers before the management refused to let even feed by the poolside. And this is her own side of the story. I am sure she exaggerated the story to get some sympathy. Sweet mother my foot

SRK said...

Anon 4:52 when u were little did someone drop u on the ground head first? I think they did! What you wrote did it make any sense to YOU?
Christ! Take your time to read and analyse issues before rushing to drop a comment!
And yes at the end of the day management is right! A Lot of High end public establishments abroad now make provisions for nursing mothers in the changing room and the toilet, when they say toilet they don't mean where the nasty is being done! They have a secluded spot for moms that wanna breastfeed or change their babies.
You can't try this Shit in the middle east! (America is free for all, that's why yeye people like this girl thinks she has a case!)

All the poeple getting angry at Linda and saying she should go and born, you guys should vex and hug transformer Linda doesn't even kia. If you behave like a fool and then you complain for being treated like one then your problem is too serious to handle. I'm still imagining what she was thinking by taking a baby inside the pool to breast feed. 22yr old mother needs to grow up. Maybe looking for money to take care of the baby.

its not nice at all to breast feed a baby in a public swimming ppol when its not as if its located in ur ause buh again its not right to the manager to also tell u to breast feed ur baby ib the toilet or the changing room babies at their tender age are prone to catch infection ur car or a very private place would have been nice to feed ur baby

Obviously, this woman does not know about childcare, somebody needs to enlighten her. Obviously the child is under two yrs old, y would u want to expose a child to such danger? Have U ever heard of not exposing a baby to any dangerous environment, food, water etc? Feeding by d pool is ok, but u also have to obey the centre's policy of not wanting u to breast feed by d pool, am sure they have a genus reason

Chop Chop said...

Don't they have bouncer there?

She definately have a case! I wonder how u all think! She said her body was thoroughly covered, what does that mean to you? It means she was not inside d pool cos u n I know u won't wear jeans n top inside d pool, she was by d pool and she has d right to breadstfeed her baby! She cannot breastfeed her baby if the place was not comfortable for her! The authorities were only concerned about their business rather than hers n d baby! She definately has a case n d authorities shud be dealt with seriously

breastfeeding in a swimming pool is just plain wrong. she should have come out and done it on a poolside chair. i support breastfeeding but this is stupid

lucia said...

i would say she shouldn't breast feed inside the pool simply becos it poses a health risk factor to the baby,why cant she breast feed by the side of the pool,worse still why tell her to go to the toilet?I sense chauvinism or racism here

swimming pool!!!!!!!.........its disgusting abeg

"The staff told her breastfeeding in the pool was... unhygienic and similar to a swimmer urinating in the pool"

Yeah, unhygienic for the baby. The pools are full of chemicals because they susppect people will urinate in the water.

Not indecent to feed a baby in public bet if she had been white would not of been all this out cry

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 214 of 214   Newer› Newest»