Afe Babalola University students deplore increase in their school fees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 August 2013

Afe Babalola University students deplore increase in their school fees

I've been getting quite a number of emails from students of Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti state bemoaning the recent increase in their school fees. According to the students, the school outrageously increased their fees for the 2013/2014 academic session by over 40%. The students got a notice yesterday Monday August 12th informing them of the increase which they say is 'unfair'. For instance Engineering and Law students paid N695,000 last semester but the new fee for this semester is N1,095,000, N695,000 for social and management college and sciences, N1, 200 000 for medicine students, some fees went from N755,000 to N 1,245,000 and so on.

Some students are saying no reduction, no resumption. Below is a broadcast that was sent out
Please let us not go back to school until they reduce the school fees!! Pass this on people..let us protect our parents. If you are not from ABUAD, please pass it on. 49% increase on the school fees is not a joking matter!!
Meanwhile, some students have reached out to the media asking us to appeal to the owner of the school, renowned lawyer, Afe Babalola to please reduce the fees for them. Dear Mr Babalola, please listen to the cry of your students. #messagepassed! :-)

272 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 272 of 272

Education has become a commercial enterprise.

Afe Babalola University is a school that was founded on "DECEIT". The so called "philanthropist" named afe babalola before the school began gave a lenthy speech when the school jus began abt how he wants to help people who can't afford quality Education in the country since he too was a victim of such when he could not afford £5 to go to Christ's school ado-ekiti, thus his making of the school that of "non-profit". He stated categorically that as the years went by, the school fees would gradually decrease to a point that even the son of a farmer in ado-ekiti like he was can afford to go to the school. He said all these so that he can receive donations of money from prominent people for the use of the school to the betterment of education in the country. But I can tell u readers that the opposite has been the case. The school fees always increased each session and the school is light years from being one a farmer's. Son can afford. 80 percent of the students there went to the school not because they are from rich homes but because to get the course of ur choice in a public school is hard and also coupled with Asuu strikes. The school is a family business as the afe babalola put his close relations in top positions in the school even if they are not well qualified for such jobs. Most of them now live in luxuries thanks to the sweat of the parents. And they continue to feed their greed through the rise in school fees. The universities commission who is supposed to protect the interest of the students have kept numb because they have named a building in the school after Julius Okogie and lest I forget the school through the graces of the provost of Law gave her daughter out in marriage to okogie's son sealing the fate of the school in the good books of the NUC. What a corrupt country we are in today. Only God can save us from forked tongue people who use deceit for personal gains.

Nawao! This dead school?? Covenant University is the best private school in Nigeria and their fees is still about N500,000

14500 kini...I pay 5000.thank. God 4 O.A.U

oak said...

Kilode.Haba.Its outrageous. I don't even have anything to say.

claire said...

I wish u put ur name in mister d servcies provided blah blah blah as I student of d skul no service rendered is worth dat amount unlike babcock university we are not given food we purchase those ourselves even water supply isn't a constant thing so wat is dis special service u mean

Sandra said...

ABUAD is AfeBabalola University Ado-Ekiti in Ekiti state Nigeria

Awon Ole, nd am sure dey r not paying d staffs well, rather enriching there own pocket. Is it not beta to travel to odat countries where u can get beta education dan spend so much money hia nd produce rubbish graduates @ d end of d day. Dis people should pity d poor parents now,nd am sure feeding is not included. Govt do something abt our educational system ohhh

Aare afe babalola pls reduce the fees.....your students are begging you ...and I thought u said your school was not for profit ...

Afe Babalola parades himself as a "philanthropist". I guess he does not know the meaning of the word. He should stop calling himself that and call him self a "philanCHOPIST" olori buruku. Mtscheeew

Sandra said...

Abeg are you an ABUADITE

If its a profit making organisation or business like you call it, the least they can do is tell us the truth. Why lie that its a "non-profit making institution" and that Afe is a social entrepreneur???

haba nw.................#koloyen
CU is really the cheapest and finest private school.. not to mention best :D

Honey Child

Does he think people pluck money from trees? The increase is just unreasonable, its almost double if not double of what it was originally, this is totally unacceptable...please more social media gateways should carry this news so he can reduce the fees...

Quiet easily said dear but you ought to have done a thorough check of your own spoken english before condemning others. As if you are better of. Msheww.

Afe Babalola University is a school that was founded on "DECEIT". The so called "philanthropist" named afe babalola before the school began gave a lenthy speech when the school jus began abt how he wants to help people who can't afford quality Education in the country since he too was a victim of such when he could not afford £5 to go to Christ's school ado-ekiti, thus his making of the school that of "non-profit". He stated categorically that as the years went by, the school fees would gradually decrease to a point that even the son of a farmer in ado-ekiti like he was can afford to go to the school. He said all these so that he can receive donations of money from prominent people for the use of the school to the betterment of education in the country. But I can tell u readers that the opposite has been the case. The school fees always increased each session and the school is light years from being one a farmer's. Son can afford. 80 percent of the students there went to the school not because they are from rich homes but because to get the course of ur choice in a public school is hard and also coupled with Asuu strikes. The school is a family business as the afe babalola put his close relations in top positions in the school even if they are not well qualified for such jobs. Most of them now live in luxuries thanks to the sweat of the parents. And they continue to feed their greed through the rise in school fees. The universities commission who is supposed to protect the interest of the students have kept numb because they have named a building in the school after Julius Okogie and lest I forget the school through the graces of the provost of Law gave her daughter out in marriage to okogie's son sealing the fate of the school in the good books of the NUC. What a corrupt country we are in today. Only God can save us from forked tongue people who use deceit for personal gains.

And he said the school is not profit oriented...smh

Awhy said...

as long as it remains expensive to run a business in this country, Private schools will keep on increasing their fees.
So u mean those who work in not-for-profit organisations work without being paid? You think the institution doseen't have a budget for growth? Has the school repaid its initial investment if there was any? Do you think its a government establishment?
Its sad but we should get our facts right before calling names.

xo sad is the right word #3ook 4 bed space wn its enough for renting a room in some states for a year,medical 50k.how many of us use the clinic and 10k for course form,convocation gown 50k for wat nw a 4 hours tin.and we stil av 2 buy books,feeding money and upkeep stil outn of this.worse of all y is d increment so close to resumption date and xo much tot the higher you go the lesser the fee shud be.pls oo let our parents complain even if they have the money der r oda kids to tk kia of and tins to do.

Omashe o, make una no worry, ndo, God will see you through. But I will rather suggest you use that school fees to start some profiting business because there is no guaranty you will still be getting that after school from your source as you all know say job no dey this country. Winks* just kidding.

Quiet easily said dear but you ought to have done a thorough check of your own spoken english before condemning others. As if you are better of. Msheww.

seriously goin abroad to study is almost same with this 4 God sake.Afe shud fear God and remember his background and the reason he said the skul was established.

I still don't know y dey increasd it, Because last semester was not worth d fees and dey are increasing it, And yet they say d school was not built for profit making , what È‹§ 1.2 million called

Linda God bless u! Am an abuadite! It pains to see dat dis man thinks we pluck money frm trees!

Don't mind em! Most federal uni's despite their shortcomings are far better than all diz private owned stuff. Most of them don't even know what they are doing. As 4 d students, when u carried urselves 2 dat place, u did not know tht fees r high n wd prolly increase abi??? If u cannot afford it again..biko, port!!! Shikena

Wat r u going 2 prove???? Hehehe u will either sit @ home or pay d damn fees! Lmao! Dis is so funny to me!!!

Don't mind em, dey be feeling funky, running 2 private uni's, thank God 4 unical oh, asuu strike will come n go, bt fees no dey shake! Lmao! better still, u ppl shu go 2 d skl n riot, burn down a few buildings, maybe h'l listen! Hehehehehehe na der una go pay 5million! Lmao

See dis one oh, don't resume na?? Who iz forcing u??? All we "public" uni students r saying iz tht, u wer not forced to go there!!! So if u can't afford it anymore jst leave n quit complaining! Finish! No one iz comparing sklz with u guyz! If money no reach again, port!

It is really sad....this is exploitation and some peeps who I guess don't think are cool with this which is a high level of stupidity and self-centeredness..we are talking abt 49% increase and a person decides to write trash. Nigga or Bitch if you were in the school you probably would have shut the fuck up....The man just need to think before stuffs like this

linda y didnt u post my order comment

david said...

Dude I tink u talking about anoda skul not Abuad!! it ws neva built for the less priveledged! Get ur facts straight b4 u comment! Afe built d sku with nobody'z fund!

david said...

U must b veri stupid for dah ur comment!

afe needs to be careful because suicide is real before parents start comiting suicide because they cant afford skool fees

Blog mistress said...

That's an outrageous hike tho agreed it's a private uni bt how many parents can afford that? Throughout my stay in uniben I didn't pay up to 100k for d 4yrs . 100l- 37,500 , 200l- 8,000, 300l-7,700 and 11,500 for final year #sigh....God help us

@lepa shandy, u really need help..am very sure u avnt left d shores of this country..

Thunder fire u....low class poverty striken idiot. Use ur brain

At least we don't ve asuu nd cultism issues

Ehhhhennn! some Nigerians r thieves in disguise oo, what is all these list of items with its ridiculous prices tag attached to dem? common ID card- 5000# (is it made of gold), library 10000#(r dey gvin dem the book 2keep afta reading?), sport 20000(hope they are gvin each student gold medal afta each semester,or even a gold aboki chain afta the semester), okay ooo, which one is nw o'level verification #7500 (is it dat the staffs are goin 2d students individual sec skol to collect verify their result, even if hw much is trans?) lab coat 10000# (common cotton white cloth *china white of 150# per yard*) tie$ scarf 10000# ( na wa o hope its LV design), mattress n pillows 9000# (who is he deceiving, let him jxt round it up to 10000#)... where i skol our official id card is electronically slotted to verify our payment of skol fee b4 we write exams.. but the id card doesn't cost 5k, its jxt 1000k, and dat id card is valid thru out my period in d skool, not like dz thief of a skol which steal 4m students every semester for a renewal...dey cant try all dez rubbish in our skol, we wuld jxt burn down d 4k'd up skul down...Oga stop using ur student's parents sweat to wear agbada... judgement day wil meet us all#

D fees re not too much abi? Ode ni en. Na asuu don put ur brain for reverse

Its too much.

uchetech said...

Tnk God am in madonna university.Dat afe babalola is a criminal.

chukwuezugo said...

What???!!! maybe because ABUAD sounds like ABROAD.. and did you say "per semester"? fees = astronomical; 40% increase = not a very funny joke.

2 All Da Folks Out Here Suggestin' Dat One Should Leave Da Shores Of Nigeria & Go Study In A Place Like Ghana, Benin Republic, Togo e.t.c I Believe Dat's An Insult 2 My Country Nigeria If None Of U See It As One Cuz Dey Ain't Beta Dan My Dear Country Nigeria. I Rather Pay Thru My Nose & Study In A Country Like UK, U.S.A & Canada Dat I Know Dia Educational System Is Top Notch Right From Onset. Don't Get It Twisted Cuz Am Passionate Abt My Country Nigeria & No One Else Is Gonna Put Things Right If We Continue Dis Sojourn Outside Oda Than We Da Citizens. One Luv Y'all...

The students should just shot up ,this is a private institution not Unilag or Osu where the lecturers embark on strike at the drop of a hat. It is meant for only those who can afford it ,not for and any dick ,tom and harry. The proprietor is not father christmas ,he's a lawyer and a business man, you can only appeal to him not drag his name in the media as if the media can force him to rescind his decision. Trust me Linda will not contribute a penny to your fees, beg your papa to work harder and pay the difference or do jamb like others and go to a free school where Assu reigns supreme. A private sch for those who can afford,not for wanna bees

Why are these folks complaining? Why not simply exercise your power to choose? Like go somewhere else?
Why do you want to force the school to stick to what you want?

How can manufacturers increase cost of their products due to increased cost of operations and a private university cannot?
Is this school private or publicly owned?

R u sure abt dat...maybe u shld get more current...no offense either

This is barbaric

And what of the final year students?

Like say dem compel u 2enta private uni. Don't goan write d jamb ur mates wrote and hav dia degrees now even MSc sef!

Men.......am a law student of dat school...... I beg san. Afe babalola to reduce the amount of the fees.. Because every one in d school nw either ur rich average rich or poor or being sponsored to abuad...can't afford dis school fees we plead.... To the founder...and board of directors of school to listen to voice of the student and. Parents of dis great school..

Nawa oh! Nigeria we hail thee sha :(

I'm student of Abuad (300L)..dis is very outrageous of course but I don't tink dis media broadcast is gonna solve d problem bcos d decision has alredi been made by AFE nd his so called advisers his wife nd his brother (the bursar) Evangelist Modupe Babalola nd pastor Modupe Babalola respectively.dis ppl who claim to b missionaries ar d once confusing d old man.. My advice is dat we shld all tell our parents to start preparing any parent dat wants to collect loan shld apply for it now nd any one dat wants to do money ritual shld start d preparation as well....

I dnt knw y i left university of uyo to dat gud for nothing school......hw will i tell my mum dis? ARE AFE BABALOLA.... CON, SAN,LLB........PLEASE REDUCE UR FEES......stop using our money to train ur children n buying cloth for ur wives.... Abeg.....mbok

Baba should come done on this outrageous increase.The management of the school should think of gradual increase and not such sharp increase.it is a long term investment the dividend of which cannot be derived in a short while.The school shld bear in mind the plight of many parents whose children are about finishing and have zeroed thei mind on the old fees.

All these shouting won't get to him... Maybe his staff will see it but im not sure anyone will have the liver to show him... The only way is if it is published in the newspaper.. Sun especially.. Just a small article and when they see it is afe babalola uni it will be published.... Some speeches here make sense but we need it in the newspaper with links where they can find more info... Biko post my comment.. :)

Na wa for AFE n ALL of them for that skul oo, wetin dey worry dem sef...Studying abroad is half of this money they are asking for......shey dem wan buy space bus ni? or they wan build for mass? shey no be thay ABUAD with cracked wall, spoilt toilets n leaking ceilings of theirs...........God come safe ABUAD STUDENTS n PARENTS OOOO... NOT until they point a gun at us before we know they are robbers fa........

You guys should stop disturbing yourselves, that old good for nothing man is not in the country for now. The new gist I just heard this morning is that he as also gone for vacation in UK. Guys wat next ooo, wat do we do?

It's a non-profit organisation nd yet the fees cn give one a hrt attack. come on, do they think that our parents have money trees sumwhr??? I dont actually blame them, if only our STUPID nd IRRESPONSIBLE govt considered education a priority, we wldnt hve been in dis mess!!

bullcrap!!

Nice one Keed...
those going to 200L still have a chance of porting outta abuad..
May God help those of us that are stuck there.

Afe Babalola is an etremist he does things to the extreme i think because the students did nt protest d last increase he is nw using dat as an opportunity to increase it. i even hear afe gives 5.0 to some undeserving students while the brilliant once are giving G.P like 2.5, 3.9 e.t.c. it is unfair, it is a school graduate that makes up a school if the alumni refuse to come back in d future to invest in d skul na afe sabi o. i hear d law college especialy the 500l law students are full of brilliant persons but d unbrillant once among them are recognised with 5.0 i can even mention d names of those who get 5,0 every semester since 100l who are nw in 500l law. students, fight your rights.

Truthhurts or whatever u call urself, as others have rightly said get ur facts straight before u open your silly mouth. If you are ignorant of who the top people are in this country, shut ur ignorant mouth before u open it and disgrace yourself publicly. Aare Afe Babalola is an icon in Nigeria, the lawyer to the Ex-president of the federal Republic of Nigeria, Olusegun Obasanjo and the owner of one of the oldest and best law firms in Nigeria and the UK and Afe Babalola University Ado Ekiti(ABUAD) has been rated as the fasted growing University in Nigeria by the Nigerian University Commission (NUC)having over 50 accreditted courses under just 3years of its development including medicine and Law which has never been achieved by any other university in Nigeria

@truthhurts such an ignoramous

You are obviously a staff. Mtshewwww

Queenty pls. Who says we cant afford? Afterall the skl was expensive to begin with and we came willingly not by force. But the fact that we may be able to afford it is not enough reason for us to be exploited. That is what this cry out is about. Unjustfully exploited not a cry out of poverty. So pls take note.

Pls can we not divert from the topic here. Who care!!!

Modern Nigerian Visual Artist said...

Nigerians better wise up... The owner is trying to attract the elite (so it could be an exclusive school where if he need to raise 20 million, all he has to do is ask and may be 2 parents would settle/donate).

It is time that the government ask him to pay tax. "dis wan na wayo"

the oldman has reduced 20k frm d increment....high school fees plus expensive standard of living.....den he opens his mouth to tell me its a charitable org....

if u guys can stay 10 in a room, then he could reduce it to d standard of other schools n consequently decrease ur fees .. Chief Afe is interested in quality.. University education in Nigeria is the cheapest is the world, dats why our standard of university education is very poor .

i am a student of abuad, with the outrageous skul fees increment, the skul is stil nt in order. is an apology d way d boys hostel is messed up n lack water...plz afe do somtin...plzz

You bunch of cry babies. Why did you go to the school in the first place. Afe increased the fees of his school, did he also lock you in. If you can't afford quality education get the fuck out of ABUAD and go to those schools where you spend 8 years to do a 4 year course. Harvard is non profit, is it cheap? Bunch of low lifes. The serious students in ABUAD are studying while you are busy talking trash here. Afe should be careful in his admission screening to weed out the misfits. While looking for admission you run around for people to help you get into ABUAD, now you do not want to pay. Is quality education cheap? Pay or ship out. Were u forced to choose ABUAD or are you forced to stay? Linda Ekeji will post anything to get traffic to her blog. She's just doing her bit to get paid.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 272 of 272   Newer› Newest»