Nigerian Saheela Ibraheem, 15, Headed To Harvard With Aspirations Of Becoming Scientist | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 11 May 2011

Nigerian Saheela Ibraheem, 15, Headed To Harvard With Aspirations Of Becoming Scientist

Saheera Ibraheem
Saheela Ibraheem, 15, was accepted to MIT and 13 other schools, including Princeton and Columbia before settling on Harvard after falling in love with the campus. The Nigerian youngster skipped two grades and said the key to success is figuring out what you love to learn as early as possible - something she did at age 5.

“If you are passionate about what you do, and I am passionate about most of these things, especially with math and science, it will work out well,” Ibraheem told CBS 2′s Cindy Hsu.

Her mother, Shakirat Ibraheem, said Saheela has been way ahead of the academic game since kindergarten - never cutting corners and trying to do everything on her own.
“She’s like always independent,” the teen’s mother said. “I never get to help with her homework because she’d say ‘it’s my work mommy, not yours.’”
The Harvard-bound teen speaks Arabic, Spanish and Latin. She said she hopes to become a research scientist and study the brain.

Ibraheem’s teachers at The Wardlaw-Hartridge School said their student was an old soul.
“I believe that she’s 15 years old, because I’m told that. But other than that I have a hard time,” Jim O’Halloran said.
In addition to academics, Ibraheem plays the trombone, softball and soccer. Despite her activities, Ibraheem said her number one priority was her family. Her 7-year-old brother Saleem was her biggest cheerleader when it came to picking a college.
“I was really psyched because she got into a great school and I wanted to go to Harvard, too,” her brother said.
As far as Ibraheem’s advice for her fellow aspiring students?
“Kids should try to listen to their parents most of the time. They know what they’re doing,” she said.

Source: CBS, New York

16 comments:

9jaFOODie said...

wao! that is admirable. Good luck to her.

God bless her

Go on Good Girl.When you graduate come and serve your father land,hope all our corrupt leader would have died finish by that time.Dont let USA get you.they always want the best.

Yippeee... go gurl, do us proud!!!

@anonymous 9:03, and offered as burnt offering or toast? Mchteeeeeew

@ anonymous 9.03pm.

Sorry, but USA 'made' her the best! so why wouldnt they want the best.
Some people always want to reap where they have not sown. smh.
She should come to Nigeria so they can post her for NYSC in Bauchi and be lynched abi??

I'm proud of her. Cool kid. She will have it all. I see her being very successful, rich, happy, healthy and world famous.

••Anonymous••

Oluwapeluwa said...

This is inspiring, the best is yet to come to her. To all others out here with me, we can make a difference in our little way. So, what do you have to offer? the world is waiting for your manifestation. At least me i dey comment, ICS.lol

she is Muslim, so she most likely won't be lynched, that goes to the anonymous that said so.
but truth be told, SHE IS A PRODUCT OF AMERICA, NOT NIGERIAN! in this case, she is only Nigerian by blood, because the naija educational system did not get her to where she is today, and thats a fact. I'm proud that she is a Nigerian doing us proud and someone with a bright future, but no way can we really claim this as an achievement.
anyway, i hope she uses her education to better Naija. EVERYONE abroad could be using their opportunities to better naija. i already have my own plans once i finish Uni sef.

is she the first Nigerian to attend harvard? Nope? So while i admire her aspirations etc...it's somewhat insulting that this made news...better recognize...we Nigerians run things in US colleges and Universities...Columbia University, HArvard, Yale, Northwestern, etc...we run things there. don't be making mundane things like this headlines...when a Malawi kid enters harvard, put that ish in the news. till then...peace

Congrats to her and her family. Wow people, on such a postiive post people can still find something negative to say. SMH. @ Anon 3:52, are u for real? This girl is 15yrs old- not your regular college freshman so plz u better recognize her stellar academic success. BTW, how did Malawi enter this convo. Why do we always try to bring others down to praise our own? Who says other nationalities are not in ivy league schools? Do your research well b4 u come here and make general statements. Wow.

doll (retired blogger) said...

a

LMAO @ Alicia; ur comments dey always dey funny...so u never c person wey finish high school for naija go study for Harvard? abeg, go do ur research...na wa for u ooo

I'm not talking about others, SHERLOCK! im talking about this girl in particular. please grow up.

Awesome job!

afeez mustapha said...

osun state pikin,keep up the good work