Nigerian man with 107 wives and 185 shuldrens | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 May 2011

Nigerian man with 107 wives and 185 shuldrens

Bello Maasaba (middle)
He fell in love with his first wife because she was sincere and eager to please. His second wife, a cousin, was irresistible because she did everything he wished and nothing he didn't. "That alone made me love her."

His third wife won him because she submitted to his every request. "I saw her, I liked her. I went to her parents and asked for her hand in marriage." Wife No. 4 was very obedient. So was wife No. 5. Wife No. 6, the same. As were wives 7 and 8 and 9 and...well, by then it was the late 1980s things had taken off for Bello Maasaba, an Islamic faith healer in this city in Niger state. He went from a wedding every few months to one every few weeks.

All told, the 87-year-old has married 107 women, which, even in a society with a tradition of polygamy, is on the high side. The Nigerian government is not amused. Neither are Islamic authorities in the state.

107 wives on top one penis? Some women are wicked sha!

But he's still marrying, every time Miss Right comes along. He now has 86 wives, the youngest 19 and the oldest 64. Nine have died and 12 he divorced (for disobedience).

But how on earth does he … ?

To ask the delicate question about how a man with so many wives, well, manages, one first has to cross a dusty street in this hot city in northern Nigeria where the sun bleaches the color from the street. Droning Chinese motorcycles belch choking fumes. Women in flowing garments sit under umbrellas in the market, selling fruit and vegetables.

A looming four-story house with 89 rooms and a broad veranda supported by gold columns overlooks the street with an air of faded grandeur. But its view is inauspicious: an open gutter running from a bank of rickety street toilets, their wooden doors askew.

On the porch, dozens of men are seated, some relations, some followers. They rustle in excitement at the approach of guests. Choruses of "You are welcome" echo like bells as visitors are seated on a red couch beside a large, patterned red rug. The carpet, an island in the sea of Maasaba's followers, lies bare but for one white pillow and one white facecloth.

The pillow awaits. Suddenly, the crowd of males leaps to its feet, bursting into a traditional song of praise.

He is coming.

At the doorway, his long, pointy white shoes are removed by aides and placed in an empty plastic shoe rack tacked high on the wall. Then he rustles in, enveloped by a tumble of shiny white cloth, which the aides spring forward to arrange whenever he stands or sits.

He ignores the pillow and sits beside it. He wears a tall white hat, and smiles a crooked-toothed smile. The pouches under his eyes give him a mournful air. But there's barely a wrinkle on his forehead, and he professes to have no worries.

An aide proffers a microphone hooked up to speakers on every floor of the house so his wives and children can listen. Questions are blasted through speakers over the street so his followers (and anyone happening by) can hear.

Which makes it a little awkward to ask that delicate one.

Source: LA Times

14 comments:

the women marrying him have serious issues..it is at times like this that i truly question womanhood, being a woman myself i find this really inconceivable..

this alhaji should make it into guiness book of record. amazing....! and we use 2think that fela anikulapo kuti was badd...

muero_ebony said...

Alhaji,clap for yourself.i hope you are treating them equally

ON THE REPORT A FEW YEARS AGO IT WAS 86! they were forcing him to divorce 82 of them, but he refused. i guess he just married more.
besides, those all can't be his kids, we're not dumb. does he even remember any of their names sef? HISSSSSS. idleness!!!

Udegbunam Chukwudi said...

The annoying thing be say, if God Forbid he gets HIV, all 107 wives are most likely going to get it and believe me you e hard to convince Hausa man to use condom. I just dey talk from experience for my clinic.

nich said...

linda i love u so much....u surely know how to write this things to attract ur readers.

nich said...

this can only be done by muslims housa or yoruba...cos no ibo man is a muslim....any that claims so is a 419er

LadyNgo said...

This kind thing just doesn't make any sense at all. I understand that variety is the spice of life but come on. Not to mention with all these women he's making babies with...they will eventually be dating and relating with one another. My family is now where near this big sef and i can barely keep up with them so i know these offspring's offspring will be forgetting that this one and that one is sister, brother, cousin whatever.

Ada said...

Question is who are these women marrying him?? Is life that bad that they'd rather be wife 100???
Also if you do a DNA test, more than half the kids wont be his anyway.

Stranger: "How is your sister Fatima doing?"
Son: "WHich one, hajiya 30's daughter or hajiya 80's own. Wait I think hajiya 96's daughter is Fati--something"

LINDA DIS IS RIDICULOUS I READ ABT DIS MAN 2 YRS AGO I CANT COMPREHEND HOW HE IS COPING..........

@ADA U ARE A CLOWN.....FATIMA DAUGHTER OF HAJIA 92.............LOL ........MIMI

Tari. N said...

LMFAO!!! This guy mennnn....na wa oh...he has taken polygamy to the next level..

Linda, in response to your comment "107 wives on top one penis?"

I just want say that it's not a surprise that he would sleep with that many women. Matter of fact, a lot of men do it all over the world.

'Cos think abt it, if a guy sleeps with at least ten women in a year, in about ten years, he would have slept with 100 women. some guys even sleep with more women that that in a year.And this guy has been 'in the game' for how many years now?

The only difference is that instead of just sleeping with them, this dude decides to marry them.
I'm not saying it's normal though, don't get me wrong. It's just a thought. hehe

Islamic law sets a limit of four wives under strict rules at that. This man is just an egotistical shame.

Ibifiri Kamson said...

i cant even believe this. ANd the women that married him what really were they thinking?
www.secretlilies.blogspot.com

By now he shld have his own kingdom.What an achievement!
ME