Federal Govt gives N5million each to families of slain corps members | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 10 May 2011

Federal Govt gives N5million each to families of slain corps members

The president met with families of slain youth corps members today in Abuja at the presidential villa where he apologized to them and compensated each family with the sum of N5million. He also promised jobs to at least one member of each family.

He promised to immortalize the corps members and also look into the revitalization of the NYSC scheme. The president has already said the security of the corps members will henceforth become the responsibility of the governors in states where they are serving.

10 corps members died. The 9 you see above, plus the pregnant lady who died at the hospital. May their souls continue to rest in peace...amen.

38 comments:

yowa, he tried, but money can never heal the pains these families are going thru.
I think they should start letting youth corpers serve in their own state.....or do not allow corpers to go to north unless they want to. or as a matter of fact put a stop to NYSC crap..shikena

may God punish all the people responsible. may their offspring be wasted for 5 million naira. may their childrens children reap the fruit of their evil deeds. 5 million that jona will give his gf for some anal is what they r compensating families for the loss of their children. may God reward them with unique diseases that will make them stand out

linda so you can put this girls picture after the jump but u will be traumatizing us with gory dead body pictures and snakes. so ara e

Good gesture.True it can't bring them back, but it's better than nothing cos we know justice is never going to be served

What!!...N5million???...These 10 families should be suing the FG, NYSC, INEC and Bauchi SG for N1billion each!!...Where are the lawyers who want to make good money??...

pretty said...

good, but , just 5 million?thats too small.Onthe other hand, atleast, some who came from very poor homes would smile in their graves knowing that their parents would find som ecomfort in that money..but chaiii!!!so thats the end of those corpers?so the matter don die be that?naija...i weep.(is it just me?why is it that readers on this site rarely drop comments on issues like this, but if its about who has the biggest bottom in nollywood, they would be posting rubbish?)wink**wink**linda, u too gbaski..thanks for always reminding us of the injustice going on in this country..

passing by said...

I say amin, anons 8:00pm

GEJ means well but money can never heal the sore.

NYSC should be scrapped off!

They should return the money back.. at least 100M each!... 5M can't even buy a brand new tear rubber 2011 toyota SUV.... not to talk of LAND anywhere in any town!.. eat your fucking money, the blood of the kids will hunt you till grave!.. shit head!

GEJ should investigate this and bring the people responsible to book and justice. 5M only when politicians steal in billions so it is only that amount that he can give? he should increase the compensation in fact the families should go and higher compensation lawyers and get more money although i know that money can not bring them back.

NYSC or whatever it is called should be SCRAPPED GEJ remember it could have been a family member of yours and then i would have wonder how you would have felt nonsense!!!

These innocent souls died for putting you GEJ or whatever you call yourself for nothing very painfull!!!

R4BIZ said...

5m naira ?? It's not enough. GEJ's effort is mainly to save his political neck and shut up those crying for jusgice against those evil killers. How many of those killers and those who incited them to kill and cause chaos are behind bars. How many. If you do nothing, they will do it again against Christians, southerns and easterners. His "effort" is an insult. He might as well give knighthood to each of those evil killers. What's his plan in serving justice to those killers? Probably none cos he ain't man enough to take on the powers that be amongst those Hausa and Muslims. Goodluck Jonathan is very weak, shamelessly weak. Smh.

may their souls rest in perfect peace.at least their families will not feel abandoned.d money will not bring them back but it will go a long way.welldone GEJ for acting on time

dangeleyez said...

i cant believe any1 thinks this is enough ..5 million naira?? and some employment thing for at least one sibling.
is that all the government can do??
so they cant do nothing about the education of the one they "promise" giving job to or something about their healthcare or something reasonable in addition if they cant do better than 5million ..
im ashamed of my country..shame shame on GEJ. and then the names of these corpers and their service to the country will be forgotten.
please SCRAP nysc!!
http://dangelola.blogspot.com/2011/05/governments-compensation-to-families-of.html

Everyone saying the money is not enuf should shut the hell up. Lives have been lost and no amount whatsoever can bring them back to life. Are you trying to monetize the lives that are gone? Or are you saying that the lost lives are equivalent of the higher sums you expect GEJ to pay? No matter how much he pays it ll never be enuf.This is a token fee and a compensation. He is not buying over the cost of their lives.

this is a start. but i think they even deserve more.

All the post above me yapping about 5 Mills is too small you lot need to re-evaluate your opinion. If that was to be any of our past president this family would have get nothing but the side eye and nothing anyone would do about it but talk and shut up. 5 Mills, apology, immortalization and an employment for at least one member of each family. Also promise the security of corps will be the responsibility of the state they serve. C'mon now.

5 million is not enough! that is only rouglu $33,000.
as someone else said, it should be 1 billion each! move their families into better homes, and give them a car, and free education for the other immediate siblings. and after that, they will NOT have to do any NYSC crap.
on top of all of that, FIND THE CULPRISTS AND GIVE THEM WHAT THEY DESERVE! kill them where they die a slow and painful death. their death span will be over a 1 week period. THEY WILL GET NO PROPER BURIAL. we shall also throw them in the Gulf of Guinea as they threw Osama's remains in the ocean as well.
thats how i feel justice should be served.

thinking about it now i feel that those corpers were used for the election.....nigeria elections are not complete without shedding innocent blood...hmn nawa oo may God help that country and i pray that the killers be brought to book!!!!

So sad to read this, GEJ you are really f**kin up,i know u'll think u did what best that your mind tells you to do, but i must let you know dat those corpers died coz of U. WTF is wrong with Nigerian Government. I hate dis.

laela Prucelin said...

5 million bucks? mehn pls.. that is total bull, major B.S. I think the whole NYSC crap should be scrapped completely.. i mean if nothing it should be re-evaluated. all that jumping of hoops, trail blazing, marching, and jungle survival dont make no darn sense.

chidi said...

Linda, the president also said that any direct sibling of the slain corpers that is unemployed will be given automatic jobs with the federal government and that those corp member that were injured, their bill will be paid and will also be automatically employed on recovery. Linda on the list i saw, i did not see the name of AIK Ukeoma...whose name should be ikechukwu...abeg he was so brave, they better include his name i saw the list on sun newspaper's website http://www.sunnewsonline.com/webpages/news/national/2011/may/11/national-11-05-2011-01.html

contraculture said...

Not even close to enough. Does not even begin to be anywhere near enough. Wow!

Lady Jaye said...

blood money - that's what it is. instead of fixing the system so that no other young person would have to pay with their lives, he gives money and promises jobs. mtchew.

naso said...

R4BIZ...WTF...I DONT WANT TO INSULT BUT U SOUND FUCKING STUPID...THIS IS THE LEAST HE CAN DO TO TRY AND COMPENSATE THEM...WE ALL KNOW NO AMOUNT OF MONEY CAN COMPENSATE A LIFE...EVEN IF HE GAVE THEM 3O MILLION IT CANT REPLACE A LIFE..BUT ITS THE PRINCIPLE BEHIND..HE IS SHOWING THAT HE CARES FOR INDIVIDUALS IN THE NATION...HE INVITED THEM TO HIS OFFICE AND PERSONALLY SHOWED GAVE DEM SOME TYPE OF CONDOLENCE...HABA..WHAT IS BAD ABOUT THAT...OBAMA WRITES LETTERS TO FAMILIES WHO HAVE LOST A RELATIVE IN THE WAR...GEJ IS INVITING THE FAMILIES TO HIS HOUSE AND GIVING THEM SOME MONEY..AND UR SAYING HIS WEAK...FUCK OUTTA HERE WITH THAT BULLSHIT

so it had to take 9 people to die for people to get job security? jobs have been promised to majority of nigerians but has d government made those jobs available? imagine loosing a loved one to this arrant fools before you can secure a job

For crying out loud!where in heavens name have we droppped our thinking caps?why are most of us condenming GEJ for his gesture?we all know that money can neva be a sustitute for life that only God can give buh at least he has done what most past so called prsidents would neva have tot of doing.

@ALICIA 1 billion is simply nothing!its not gon make the families of these lost ones wealthy forever so......

*wild thinking* lets see it this way...what if these corpers were alive,made it tru their service year and all and ended up in the labor mkt for God knows how long and prob with one kinda dubious handwork or the other....

the end wld have been worse than this...and the compensatn wld be to rot in jail....so bottom line is God knows why He allowed it happen the way it did.

Kay said...

No amount of money can compensate for the lost life of a loved one. NYSC corpers should serve in their states of origin or the scheme should be scrapped! Period!

passerby said...

A big amen to your prayer *sobs*

Lady T said...

I feel the money is little but also better than nothing.

I pray the families remember this beautiful ones forever, by booking yearly mass for time, and prayers.

Any of them could have been the President.... So so sad.

Continue to rest peacefully in the midst of the Almighty

Anon 12:39 and Anon 9am, thank you for spilling my thoughts exactly!
My goodness people, what's wrong with you?? The Naija of before will not give a rat's ass about these families not to talk of compensating them! I'm indifferent as to the sum (which will obviously be enough for burials and thereafter)but i am not indifferent to their pain. What the country needs to focus on is bringing the perpetrators of these heinous crime to justice so their families can find some peace. Next step is to reform NYSC for the benefit and safety of all. All those castigating GEJ should please have an objective and logical rethink of the situation. If you say money can't bring back their lives why are you saying the money is small then? No matter the amount he gives them, it makes no difference.

@ Anon May 10 (8.00pm)...U said it all!!! My goodness N5million for roasting my son/wife/daughter!!! Oh my!!!! The things I want to say, I don't have words for....I just might start another civil war!! I just pray for the repose of the souls of these young Nigerians!!! Every time I remember them, my hearts breaks....

R4BIZ said...

@ Naso May 11, 2011 7:15 AM

I want to insult you, you dick head. How dare you? Make you damn comment and don't try shutting anyone down anyone cos their comment don't agree with your thick silly head. How dare you?

They don brainwash you lot for that Nigeria that you accept anything and question nothing. In all his so called good gestures, was there any promise to apprehend and lock away those killers??? GEJ and his crew mainly paid out to seem good, shut the people up from asking for justice and for his own self interest. His "good gesture" is incomplete without the killers behind bars. He ain't gonna do cos those killers are Hausa and Muslims. He ain't got the balls to stamp his authority. Those killers, (be they Ibo, Yoruba, Hausa or Alien) and those who encourage them to commit their evil acts deserve to hang. If Ibos or Yorubas mass slaughtered the Hausas while a Northern is in power, they would all have been jailed by now. That was the basis of my comment which I was entitled to make. So, you don't like it, take a running jump from the highest mountain where you are. Smh :)

@Naso and ithers saying the money is ok, your'e as dumb as you all sound, how can you say obama writes letters to those who lost thier lives in war, they are soldiers that entered the millitary whillingly, died for a just cause during war, are we fighting a war in this country? Were the corp members soldiers in war front? Money can't bring them back i know but 5million is to small, do u know how much the families of people that die in plane crashes are compensated with? Did the airline crash those planes, no, but adequate compensation is what we are talking about here, this guys were graduates for pete's sake, do you know how much it costs to train a child to that level? Even a U.K returnee was among, do you know how much it costs to run masters in the U.K and all that? And you open your mouth and talk crap, the families should sue, inec, nysc, fed govt and bauchi state govt, that's what i would do

Awwwwwwwwwwwwww... At least he tried. RIP to them...

THANK YOU anony 9:41pm. YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL.

naso said...

anonymous 9:41 and R4BIZ...ur level of stupidity baffles me beyond comprehension...it is appalling...so u guys dont get my point..i am not saying in anyway that 5 million naira is enuff...infact no amount of money can compensate a life that has been lost..so all this ones ur saying 5 million is too small is not the issue...the issue is the principle behind the gesture...its like when u buy a card for ur mum on mother's day...this woman has raised u..spent a lot of money on ur head and u just give her a card..it is not the card itself that will make her happy but the intention and principle behind it...thats my point...Jonathan is just trying to show them that he cares about their pain...thats why he took the time to call them to aso rock and personally give them some money..it is not about the amount but the gesture...

someone talked about the fact that he should lock up the killers..dint u people see the previous post on this blog were linda showed us all the people that they caught and were awaiting trial...so what u on about...

and the obama point...u sound stupid becus obama sends people to go fight a war...those people die during the war and all he does is a write a letter to their family..i'm not saying that the letter thing is bad becus again like i said,its the principle behind it..but can compare obama's situation to this one...goodluck did not send this corpers to the north personally..but when he heard about their death...he showed that he cared by inviting the family of the deceased to his house and giving them some money to help support...

i see no reason why a reasonable human being will diss Jonathan for that gesture...ull are just fucking stupid..the man is not God...do u expect him to raise them from the dead...vengeance is the Lord's and not Goodluck's so all he can do is show some condolence and that he is what he did...shikena

It is a pity and a grave loss not just to the families but also, to the country as they were on National Service.

As it is a National Service, it is not possible to serve your state. As a citizen of the country they are expected to serve in any state without fear for or actual harm coming to them during this time.

Whilst some feel N5m is not enough, do not forget that it is just a compensation to acknowledge the crime against their service to the country. No amount of compensation can bring back the dead but the jesture goes some way in acknowledging the result of the crime. In many Western countries, there are compensation schemes aimed at those affected by crime and in the same token, a formula is used to determine the pay-out.

5mil does not even come close to what these families should be given- it can never compensate for the loss of these citizens. I mean, are you telling me that the government upon all the looting going on, cannot afford to grant these families more compensation????

truly sad.