With only $150k in savings, Buhari may be the least corrupt in Africa - Washington post | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 7 September 2015

With only $150k in savings, Buhari may be the least corrupt in Africa - Washington post

Washington Post published an article over the weekend, saying that President Buhari may be the least corrupt leader in Africa after declaring that he has only N30 million in his account. The article below
"By the standards of sub-Saharan African leaders, Nigeria's President Muhammadu Buhari is dirt-poor. According to a statement released by his government, he has $150,000 in his savings account. He owns five homes and two mud houses, an orchard and ranch with 270 head of cattle, 25 sheep, five horses and a variety of birds. He has bought two cars from his savings..
"President Buhari had no foreign account, no factory and no enterprises. He also had no registered company and no oil wells," reads the statement released by the spokesman, Garba Shehu, describing the president's assets as "Spartan."

The question on many minds is this: Is Buhari, Nigeria's former military ruler and ex-head of the oil ministry, telling the truth?

Corruption, after all, is a major problem in Africa's largest economy. Buhari himself has publicly said that more than $150 billion is missing from the government's coffers. Still, the public declaration appears to be an attempt to show some much-needed transparency. Buhari was elected in March largely by promising that he wouldn't tolerate corruption.

What's clear is that Buhari has done what his predecessors — and most other African leaders — have never done.

Consider these five other African leaders. They have been labeled by Forbes Magazine as the  "five worst leaders in Africa."

1.  Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, president of Equatorial Guinea
He's Africa's longest-serving ruler, an autocrat who leads the tiny, oil-rich West African nation of Equatorial Guinea. Despite its vast natural wealth, the majority of its people live in deep poverty with no access to clean drinking water, proper educational or health facilities. One fifth of children die before age 5. The money has gone into the pockets of Mbasogo and his family. They own luxury properties in the United States and other countries, a private jet and a fleet of luxury cars.

2. José Eduardo dos Santos, president of Angola
He's Africa's second-longest-serving leader. Angola is the continent's second-largest oil producer, and one of the biggest suppliers of oil to the United States. It also has massive diamond deposits. Dos Santos's relatives hold key positions in his government and control a huge share of Angola's economy, amid widespread allegations of corruption. Nearly 70 percent  of the population lives in dire poverty, and a third of the nation's children are malnourished.

3. Robert Mugabe, president of Zimbabwe
He has ruled the southern African nation for a quarter-century. He was the architect of controversial policies, most notably the seizure of white-owned commercial farms. Though the country in recent years has seen an economic rebound, Mugabe remains one of the continent's most autocratic rulers. He wields nearly total control of government institutions, and his loyalists have used violence to retain control. Human rights abuses are rife, while unemployment remains among the highest in sub-Saharan Africa.

4. Omar Al-Bashir, president of Sudan
Bashir seized power in a bloodless military coup in 1989 and has since disbanded political parties, the nation's parliament and many privately-owned media outlets. Under his rule, civil war erupted, in which more than 1 million people were killed. Bashir is wanted by the International Criminal Court at the Hague on charges of war crimes and crimes against humanity for his role in the killing and rape of civilians in Sudan's Darfur region. A U.S. diplomatic cable, leaked by Wikileaks, unveiled that Bashir may have stolen as much as $9 billion from state coffers and deposited it into his private bank accounts in Great Britain.

5.  King Mswati III, king of Swaziland
He is the continent's last reigning monarch, presiding over a nation with one of the world's highest HIV rates, where average life expectancy — 33 years — is among the lowest in the world. Despite his people's suffering, the king leads a lavish life with a taste for luxury cars, first-class travel and expensive parties, even as the nation's economy is in dire straits.

81 comments:

OK...
BY THE TIME HE LEAVES OFFICE HE MUST HAVE ACQUIRED THE WHOLE NIGERIA
THIEVES

I don't know why i trust this man. Anyway, only time will tell.

Well said

Dogo Dan Daura,Baban Zahra Baba Halima,Gaskiya Dokin Karfe,Mai Gaskiya Mai Jama'a..Ja Muje uban Nigeria.

I voted him because of his character and integrity.
I trust him to end corruption which has been the major impediment to the growth of our country.
Sai Baba!!

Spot on!!! More brains to the person/team who wrote this.Truth is,Buhari may be many things but corrupt isn't one in his portfolio.Even the goons have no choice than to agree that the old man is a lesser devil when it comes to corruption & indiscipline.
And that is exactly what Nigeria need @ this moment in time.Someone who can fight corruption regardless if whose ox gets gored.Believe u me,all of the problems bedevilling this country boils down to corruption & until its nipped in the bud,a promising Nigeria may elude us.God bless our president & may God give him the strength & the days to heap coal on looters & thieves

preshlight (chioma okoye) said...

Hmmmmm. Let's wait and see the much anticipated change

Nice piece, o love dis. Linda take note!

Thumbs up to you for dis comment. Linda take note!

he's is the least corrupt means he is corrupt but not to a very high degree. corrupt is corrupt irrespective of the degree

Ooooooooh my...!
Dunno ao som pipu are reasoning
Buhari and packaging
All politicians are d same jhoor

It is good to be good.....He has never stolen government money before, that is the reason behind his success...... because even if u steal it won't take u any where. A lot of Nigeria's past leaders are now regretting their actions.... they will all die and leave the wealth for their children at the expense of the poor masses. May Allah provide us with the honest leaders. AMEEN!

Baba is no doubt breaking records... We voted the ryt man no doubt.... #NowPlaying addiction: adokiye.....

Me too

anyone who believes this crappy declaration can believe anything!do you have to declare what your goons are warehousing?utter nonsense!of course,nothing will reflect in any account in his name!let him pay Amaechi his 47billion expended on his campaign from his $150K.We have gone beyond this level of playing on our intelligence!rubbish!

We dey watch

obiora said...

How much was Obasanjo worth before he became the President in 1999? Look at him today.

Well said Bonita, nice one

I have always trusted Him.

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Yes well written,I can't think of any other in the whole of this country.GOD bless you Sir,keep going and pay deaf ear to all your haters,people never like anything good,that's why JESUS was crucified.I wish to have a handshake with you someday Mr president.

In your little corner@preshlight,what change have you shown.Talking nonsense,you are still waiting for change with all he has done so far,maybe it's rapture change you are waiting for.

Oyetunji said...

May GOD deliver our leaders from this heavy lies,they lie everyday.FATHER send Messiah to this country. A country blessed with many resources,but don't know how to use it .so painful

Ameeen

Una don enter APC one chance bus....

alysyn said...

It may be worth waiting to see. Prior to election he had no money to buy his form. He had only 150 cows and only his country home.

The inauguration picture showed the wife wearing a rather expensive watch. And now he has all of $150k, a house in Abuja and extra 100 cows. Either someone is economical with the truth or he is catching up fast!

By the way, that mud house talk on his declaration is just for bleeding hearts, it's utter nonsense!!!! As for land in PHC that he can't find and hence can't declare the exact value or size? We were not born yesterday. Continu

Rubbish. The editorialist can't make those conclusions from self declared assets that weren't verified by a third party. The list was very vague. It withheld the assessed value of non-cash assets.

What he needs is our support.

Not too much critics

Shut up! All these kids here. This man had all kinds of opportunities to be extremely. He was Petroleum Minister during the oil boom, Governor of the whole North-East, Head of State, PTF Chairman etc, but didn't. My friend, not everyone is fascinated by material things!

From his declarations, I believe now that our president is either lazy or simply not an enterprising person. He has no registered enterprise or a registered company, on what name is his cattle farm taxed? He needs to work with economically intelligent personals to run our economy and in so doing he must depend totally on their decisions on our economy. He can first corruption because he is not a covetous person.

Tell me something I don't know.. What a news... I'll be stupid to believe this write-up. Next news plzzzz!!!

Hahaha freeborn i laugh again hahaha.this guy have succeeded in deceiving this ass hole's.i reserve my comment for now.

"might"

They have all the resources, so they can tell if PMB is lying or not, but it seems he ain't so, I do not have any reasons to doubt him anymore.

Certificate forging Bokohari has moved from "not corrupt" to "least corrupt." Eziokwu ga aputa ihe!

Can u all see why many white people call d Africans baboons. Buhari we know is a saint in a land infested by a holocaust of sinners.

Woooow

Aunty linda

Woooow

Aunty linda

Woooow

Aunty linda

Good lord!, u are so bright and upright, and so blessed with great analogy of our National situation and your word disposition. More power to your elbow.

Let the work begin

Buhari is our man!
Ride on sir na God dey lead u

Ladun Liadi said...

I jus dey laff

The poor people in nigeria that support the corrupt leaders because of sentiments are the saddest most ignorant people to walk the earth

BRock said...

Osinanl,my dear fool, do u knw that last year while Dezani was rolling around in private jets, NNPC cldnt pay contractors? God saved us from GEJ "Stealing is not corruption", shutup and do thanksgiving...Bcos u r not in d position to benefit directly from some politician u knw, doesn't mean we shld suffer as a country

A true leader is still a leader even when he takes up servants' duty, provided he maintains a human face and added integrity to his self-retained qualities.My able PMB, may almighty Allah guide $ protect you us, as far as I'm concern,you are the best president so far maximum love and respect Baba.Allah na tare da kai,ma'assadah sai dai suji kunya.

Wow!

Well written and everytin hav b highlighted thereof. I pray PMB meet d expectations of Nigerians.

I'm nt worried about him amassing wealth. Northerners prefer power to money.

Gabby said...

I hope he continues this way and don't allow the intoxication of power to take him away..

10 TIPS FOR A LASTING RELATIONSHIP

@OSINANL.........You must be one of the youths of today who do not know or care about the history of their country ...Buhari has been a former minister of petroleum, former head of state , former head of petroleum trust fund etc and yet ordinary local government chairmen and permanent secretaries have more liquid cash and properties than him...So when you say he will acquire the whole Nigeria when he leaves office then you soundvery ignorant ...He did not do that when he was young and hungry it is at 70 he will do it ...You obviously do not know who Muhammadu Buhari is.
*Linda's Future Hubby*

Kudos to baba

May d almighty give pmb d strength to yule dis country sai baba

Ok, good for him

If he has only N30 million in his account, How come his children is in private schools in England which I know can cost more than what he claim to have.

Baba Go Slow My Man. Hope u will remain like this?

linda's guy...........#NOBLEMONEY

His past n integrity is speaking 4 him, I v no regret of voting 4 him

Have Washington post ask Buhari what happened to money that lost under his watch as PTF chairman? Stupid report by a stupid, gullible and brown envelope journalist of Washington post

Abeg make we hear. Is it not the same person that told us during his campaign that that he doesn't have 1M naira in his account? Now convert $150.000 in naira. Make una no take us play? What were they expecting, for him to clean Nigeria's money in 100 days? If he can make $150,000 in 100 days, what do you think will happen in 4years?

Endydecency said...

Then he now has the second chance to be the richest leader in Africa or even in the world through coded looting. All na wash!

Gbam!
You said it all.

The title of this article is very disrespectful to our president. Buhari has not done anything to warrant the insinuations that he is even corrupt. Any self respecting Nigerian would be outraged by this. And to some of you idiot saying " very nice post " blah blah blah, the writer just subtly disrespected your president and you are giving him kudos for it. SMH. No matter your political beliefs or the party you belong to, or your religion, the one thing that all Nigerians agree on is that Buhari is not a corrupt man. How then are we okay with the way this idiot Indian Kenyan writer categorize Buhari? Think, think.... smh

I can't say he's corrupt, I can't say too that he's not... I don't enter closed doors with him...and the washington post read "least corrupt" meaning they are suggesting that he's corrupt - a little.. But my truth is that the federal government NEVER tells you EVERYTHING... so if you believe press releases quickly and completely then you are part of the masses..

THE "LEAST" CORRUPT"? This writer is an idiot. This is an insult to the man who has lived a humble life. Buhari is not corrupt. Why the hell would he write this about him? This write need to be thought a lesson. His name is Sudarsan Raghavan, here's his twitter handle;@africawriter

I know Linda won't post my comment because this is the kind of insult he likes to read about Buhari. Its a shame.

So much believe our President will truly change Nigeria. God bless Buhari.

Well, whether corrupt or not, simple truth was things could not carry on the way they were with Goodluck Jonathan and he simply had to go. Whether Buhari is the right president for Nigeria, only time will tell.

Gbam!!! My sister You have also said it. God bless our President

I know this will Shock you! 5 Foods You Should Never Eat Again

Please post this. I expect perfection of no human being but Buhari is the best we could have. To many others, corruption is a way of life. Many feel only a fool would avoid corruption. Buhari is special. I think he is a blessing to our nation. I pray the Almighty strengthens him to take Nigeria to a new level of decency and probity. Many in high office won't like him of course for striving to end their stealing of public funds, but he is a blessing to the masses.

Amen!!! Ise!! Amin oh! Bonita Bislam.

OSINANL, u can go nd hug transformer it'll help u to stop the heat in ur body. U hate PMB right? PMB is the Man of people in Nigeria right now, I like PMB that is why I voted him to be my president becos he is not a thief like OSINANL nd PDP party OSINANL belong to, can u see the different now? Lol. PMB forever! In Nigeria.

I can vouch for the man anytime anyday. I love him too much to see any flaws too. God Bless you Mr. President.
Sai Baba!

Add Jules on 2BFAD98B for Organic Beauty products

Bonita, I always comment on your post. You are so intelligent. Keep the flag flying

USELESS WASHINGTON POST AND WESTERN MEDIA ALWAYS RUSHING TO PORTRAY AFRICA AS A BLACK HOLE WITH NO HOPE. WHO TOLD THEM THAT NO AFRICAN LEADER HAS EVER DECLARED HIS ASSETS? THE FORMIDABLE THOMAS SANKARA OF BURKINA FASO DID IT IN 1983 AND PATRICK LUMUMBA OF CONGO AS FAR BACK AS 1961! THOMAS SANKARA NOT ONLY DECLARED HIS ASSETS (3 BICYCLES, 1 CAR, 1 HOUSE) BUT HE ALSO REDUCED HIS MONTHLY SALARY TO $450 AS PRESIDENT! HE WAS DRIVING THE CHEAPEST CAR ON THE MARKET, A RENAULT. AND THESE SAME IMPERIALIST IDIOTS SPONSORED HIS ASSASSINATION BECAUSE HE OPPOSED FRANCE THE FORMER COLONIALIST AND REFUSED TO ALLOW THEM TO CONTINUE EXPLOITING HIS COUNTRY! AND WHAT DID THEY DO AFTERWARDS? THEY PUT THAT PUPPET BLAISE CAMAPORE IN POWER FOR 27 YEARS UNTIL THE CITIZENS ROSE AND CHASED HIM AWAY LAST YEAR. THE US AND BELGIUM MURDERED PATRICK LUMUMBA IN THE SAME WAY BECAUSE HE CHALLENGED THESE BASTARD IMPERIALISTS. IT TOOK BELGIUM MORE THAN 50 YEARS TO PARTIALLY ADMIT TO BEING PART OF HIS MURDER. AND THE LIST GOES ON. YET THEY TURN AROUND AND BLAB ABOUT HUMAN RIGHTS AND CORRUPTION. WHO IS SAFEGUARDING THE LOOT OF AFRICAN CORRUPT PRESIDENTS FOR THEM ABROAD? WHO IS SELLING THOSE MANSIONS TO THEM AND BENEFITING FROM THE ECONOMIC CONTRIBUTION? IF THEY CARE SO MUCH ABOUT THE POOR AFRICANS, THEY KNOW WHAT TO DO WHEN THE CORRUPT LEADERS COME TO THEIR COUNTRY WITH THEIR BAGS OF MONEY. BUT THEY WILL NEVER DO IT. HYPOCRITES ALWAYS TRASHING AFRICA WHEN THEY'RE THE REAL SCUMS OF THE EARTH.

When the wealth wz transferred to the first lady. Mtchw

No Buhari is not telling the truth. His mansion in Abuja alone is worth more than what he declared

FunmiD said...

When you say he is the "least corrupt", you are saying he is corrupt but to a minimal level.I thought he wasn't corrupt at all.Can they please correct their English or tell us once and for all if he is also corrupt? After all we ve been through, what we need is a corrupt free President.