Trailer drivers already flouting Lagos govt restriction law | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday, 7 September 2015

Trailer drivers already flouting Lagos govt restriction law

Barely 24 hours after Lagos state government announced a restriction of movement for Trailers in the state (6am to 7pm) this trailer was seen this morning on a major road in the city at about 7am. Hope the Lagos state government would come hard on defaulters.

64 comments:

Lol maybe the trailer driver is coming from a long journey, Maiduguri maybe & he isn't privy to the new law.

Mayb he didn't hear d news or was coming back from a night journey

I pray so

We pray so...

Was expecting that. That's Nigerians for you, until you go hard on them, allow the law to hit a blow on one person, before they'll start obeying the law.

Why won't they...

Hmm na wah

I just hope they will obey the law

Hope the information was well communicated to them.

Keeping up with such regulation is difficult..the government should build broad and good access roads

them chop craze

meenah_wakil on instagram

meenah83 0n snapchat

them chop craze

meenah_wakil on instagram

meenah83 0n snapchat

It's bound to happen sooner or later....

That has been our p in naija. Enforcement of law is a big issue here.

Arrest them plz.... Linda Y I nor dey see my comments? Take note

They need to come hard on these guys! They need to make scapegoats of some of them, then they will learn!

AQO said...

This country is so lawless! This is very annoying, the government should be stern on their warnings.

This menace will not stop until they start scapegoating them. But the bribery-collectors called law enforcement agents may not be up to the task. God help us!

Anyway, would you support Legalizing Prostitution?

Hmmmmmmmmmm except u dn't knw naija ppl,we can disobey law ehhhh....

....Am gettin dere...

Lol! Lawless pple

If they're caught they shud be dealt with

Force is the only language some people understand. A huge fine and 3-6 months imprisonment term should be the penalty for defaulters. Maybe they will be forced to adhere when someone is used as a scapegoat.

Hmmm... it wud hard to stop this trailer movt thing oo......U knw naija na; our way na our way oo, kpatakpata bad as e bad oo.. lol. God rescue us

the rule cannot work, it is not the best measures to take, businness would be affected round Nigeria, the government should look for another way.

This particular drver has nt received d information yet.......

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB...

Are they goats.. now I'm beginning to miss Fashola.. I jez pray they stand by d law

Trust me when they fine defaulters, d New will spread faster Dan wild fire

preshlight (chioma okoye) said...

Some people will never learn

They'll still comply....

Abeg, dey should enforce dis particular law, its been long overdue. Linda take note!

The law should be implemented and complied with to reduce frequent recurrence of accident caused by trailers.

Franklyn said...

I saw them plenty today at maryland, iyana ipaja... this is not the first time of such laws.. the powers behind trailer owners are too strong for the law to hold.. i would have snapped them but i dont know wether linda wud show them.. linda pls post my comment

Law kee? Hmmm as far as am concerned, Law no dey nija o

Govt shld forget all these ridiculous law and fix our road cos Lagos is among d States in Nig DT has the worse RD if their is good access RD then time and route restrictions law can come in BT Lagos rd is terrible

it will only be effective when the public start taking actions by themselves because they are the ones dying not the government or their families.

I'm not surprised

There should be a month's grace to ensure all have got the info.

Oyetunji said...

This is better idea.keep your words

Am in 2nd Rainbow right now and have counted more than 10 on the road already. Lagos govt ain't ready at all.

In all honesty, the law passed is not the solution. what happened during the day can happen at night. We need to make sure the trucks on the road are road worthy. You can not stop over 10,000 workers that work in apapa because of one truck drivers negligence and greed. The moment a ship berths it is being charged $30,000per day, it is not possible to load and wait till 9pm to move, the terminal will be congested most vessels have capacity of 300 trucks. Enl alone has 9 berthing spaces that is 2,700 trucks in one terminal its not possible. If truck drivers dont work they will result to armed robbery and this will affect all of us. These are my personal opinions. 1. Make sure the trucks are road worthy 2. Give a non rush hour time 9pm to 6am and 10am to 3pm. 3. Coordiate with terminal operators and consignee to never load anytruck above 40tonnes. I think this will work for everyone.

The law needs to be enforced

Yetunde Events in Style Blog said...

We no get government again o, they are busy chasing & discrediting fashola o

Chukwukamma said...

May be the driver is not aware of the decision of the state to now enforce the law

They won't do anything. This law will be non existent in about 4 months.

It is one thing to make laws and another thing to execute and implement the law. We are watching

Trust me our Action Gov is coming hard for them, the law is still fresh so it might take a while before fully implemented.

Hmmmmm...

Linda, dis is wht I call Eko ko ni baje...
Dis law has never b taken serious bcos of d power dat b.

Hmmmmm...

Linda, dis is wht I call Eko ko ni baje...
Dis law has never b taken serious bcos of d power dat b.

Baba Dee said...

Mtchew! Lawless country

Stubborn goats

Ambode n his goons had better act fast by arresting n penalising any of d trailer drivers dat go against d law

Ignorance is not an excuse in d law.

The law is a result of a poor thinking and is not popular around the world. So it will not work. there are 1000 ways to curtail the menace caused by truck drivers everyday in Nigeria. thanks

Linda what is the timing again?

voicetobeheard said...

It is sad that after what happened, trailers still move in the morning and noon time, the govt shld subject them to pay fines and afterwards punish them if they flout the rules laid down, but again the govt shld create security @ night if the trailer drivers are restricted to driving @ night, security for their lives and their goods....else these pple wont comply...my opinion

I always knew enforcing this law will be a big challenge as a sizeable amount of us are lawless. Unfortunately we do not have the infrastructure for surveilance, repository of updated citizen information and manpower that will help drive our rules. we shall get there!

I guess so too. They need to find away to notify the ones still on their way to Lagos.

I know this will Shock you! 5 Foods You Should Never Eat Again

the law states they should start operation from 9pm and stop at 6am.

U can imagine

If it were Fashola that gave instructions, who there go against it?