Teenager faces10 years in jail for having photos of a minor - himself | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 8 September 2015

Teenager faces10 years in jail for having photos of a minor - himself

A 17-year-old boy is facing 10 years in prison after being charged as an adult for having sexually explicit photos of a minor – that minor is himself. Cormega Copening, from North Carolina, where the age of criminal responsibility is 16, is facing two counts of second-degree sexual exploitation and three counts of third-degree exploitation.

The third-degree charges are of sexual exploitation of a minor actually stem from the pictures Copening had of himself.

Each count is a felony charge carrying at least two years in jail.
“In North Carolina you are considered an adult at 16 years old as far as being charged,” said Sgt. Sean Swain of the Cumberland County Sheriff’s Department.
“But to disseminate and receive sexually explicit texts, photos or videos, you must be over 18.”

The Authorities said the sexting charges came about when police took Copening’s phone while investigating another incident. Officers discovered ‘sext’ messages between Copening and his 16 year old girlfriend.

Both teenagers were charged as adults for the sexual exploitation of minors – themselves – for taking and possessing naked photos.

His girlfriend took a plea deal on a misdemeanor charge of ‘disseminating harmful material to minors’.

District Court Judge Stephen Stokes sentenced her to one year of probation without access to a phone, a $200 fine, and a class on making smarter life decisions.

If convicted, Copening’s name would be added to sex offenders registry. He has a Sept. 30 court appearance.

The charges have resulted in the teenage quarterback being dropped from his high school football team.

48 comments:

It is wa!

Chai!

Hian! I reserve my comments on this. Linda take note!

Owk next

C'min, 10 yrs is just too much for the act he commited.. it's nothing so serious.

Oyibo no get work

***ECHOMASS***

Confused people!
They should have charged kylie too now.

Na wa o

Good for him

Woooow serious

Aunty linda

Woooow serious

Aunty linda

Woooow serious

Aunty linda

Woooow serious

Aunty linda

I dnt understand his own offence? 10 years for possessing nude pictures of himself??

Swerve said...

Is this a fucking joke?!!

Dem officers dat arrested him are just jobless....is it their business what's in his phone? Ain't it supposed to be his personal stuff? Racists!!!

What the hell??!! Why do white people derive pleasure from making black kids look bad? I'm not saying the kids having nude pics on their phones is good for em, just saying they should be rebuked as teens and not made to feel like paedophiles. No one can tell me Kylie Jenner didn't send nudes to Tyga when they were together, we don't hear anyone arresting her for having the pics on her phone.. i'm so repulsed by white Americans being racist towards issues involving people of colour. Hate them!!

You're joking.

What rubbish?!

This is quite funny though.....lol. Are they not images of himself!

Nice one.

Nice one.

Some kid can so fuck up though.....

Na wa ooo nah naija dem wan try this one

Hmmmmmm...

He should b punished accordingly so dat dis wil serve as deterrent to others.

SWILL MARTIN said...

Reaaaally???they care about suuch stuff??oyobo pple na wa for them oo.

Nice punishment, others will learn if they want to

#iT WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN pRaiSe

we deal in all types of human hair extension. Get ur Brazilian, peruvian,indian and Mongolian hair extension @affordable price. Add us BBpin_2BB1296A.

SMURF said...

Really? Did he distribute the picture or did he send it arnd to people, besides, it's his fone and he can snap whatever. It's something else if it was a picture of another minor.

Hmmm...imagine

lol oyibo and their laws, thank God am a nigerian

ogechi0502 said...

They dint catch Kylie Jenner when she was doing her own oh.smh

Ophacy said...

I don't understand.. Ten years is much now

Hmmm na wa

2 people of the same ages committed the same crime at the same time against themselves.

Just one of them is persecuted though.

Even this blogger named just one, although the original source of the story named both. The picture of the other party is not shown.

The law wants to punish just one.

Guess which gender is held accountable.

Misandry affects us all.

Pls I dnt understand

I love nigeria! As in this nor fit happen na

Aunty linda biko

WTF!

What a funny country America is!!!!so forked up

Mumu. Why not plead like d girl do?

Linda you are corrupting me. Pls am a virgin o.

freddy phil said...

how do you go to jail for having pictures of yourself.. as in, committing a crime against yourself. no body goes to jail for being suicidal

America is just a useless place, a country where all the wrong things are good and all the good things are bad. Sodom and Gomorrah was way better than America.

That's serious