Should the size of the engagement ring matter in saying Yes or No? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 8 September 2015

Should the size of the engagement ring matter in saying Yes or No?

This Article was written by the Adejoro Olumofin the Relationship Consultant aka "Doktor" Mofin
Ladies, should the size or price of the engagement ring matter? If your man isn't financially equipped or doesn't know the "rock" / ring of your dreams and yet proposes would you accept or decline? This article is inspired by an interesting story I heard from a close friend about a guy who proposed to his 2 year girlfriend with a ring which could be referred to as a "Full Stop" or a "Dot ring" i.e the rock was so small & displeasurable to her.
 She accepted the ring but didn't wear it often or put the standard ring finger picture on social media. After a few weeks her boyfriend got angry and confronted her about not posting the ring out there or telling anyone, she lashed out and said this isn't the ring of "my" dreams.

They got into a fight which eventually led to their breakup. My question; Does the size of the ring or rock matter in saying yes to your man? This issue requires a situational approach or solution as we all have different personalities, family background, or orientations. Psychologically and in my opinion a ring should serve as a symbol of love or an interest in starting a new life with another person, the price of the ring should be based on ur pocket or account at the time, if a big or small ring comes it's the gesture / idea that someone wants to spend the rest of their life with you that matters.

Most guys want to give their lady a big rock but what if there are more pressing issues like rent, business projects, health issues ; will a man leave these things or empty his account for a Big Diamond Rock? As a couple you can always upgrade your ring in time as you grow financially.

Social media and competition amongst friends has made it a " sine qua non" I.e an essential for ladies to have a big rock, some ladies have been proposed to change the way they walk or place their fingers a certain way so the world can see, if that ring was very small/tiny/cheap would u walk and put your hand in a way that will blind our eyes? Do what works for you in your own clime. Don't pass on a good man because of a variable which can be made a constant in time.

Follow @joroolumofin on Instagram for more Articles and Journals..
Email : olumofinj@yahoo.com / @joromofin@gmail.com

125 comments:

It doesn't matter biko. Not every woman is materialistic. Linda take note!

Hehehe social media have destroyed the life of these girls...just putting we guys on pressure. Person gast impress in order not to carry last...that's why I ain't rushing things. I gat to be a BIG BOY first before proposing any rubbish..

Thandeka said...

A variable which can be a constant at any time. Word!

It shldnt matter... wen d money for a bigger one comes we r gon upgrade!

Lmfaooo... women women even God wer create ona don tire... the Devil himself dey fear on o,cus ona carry wahala for head like Kpekere seller for go-slow. Nothing wer man go do take satisfy ona.

Hehe trust me the babe isn't ready to refrain from embracing singlehood. Coz the size of a ring doesn't determine the degree of luv or regard as long as you know the size of your guy's pocket

Hmmmm it matters ooo

danex said...

the lady is so stupid if this is true but i doubt.

Nice article.
Size of an engagement ring doesn't matter to me, is the size of love, respect and care that matter to me.

Yes it does...in case the guy messes up...the lady can just sell the ring and use the money to console herself...lolzzz

Social media will end a lot of peoples relationships.. I always say it stay off social media

Lol no of cause

Aunty linda

Lol no of cause

Aunty linda

Lol no of cause

Aunty linda

That lady is an ingrate with high taste. Smh with ladies of these days who have gargantuan appetite for mundane luxury and pleasure...

May the guy find a more loving, grateful, appreciative and caring lady to call his wife.

Jesus is coming soon.

Is social media now a benchmark or platform ??? The Guy is so stupid, so if I don't want to put my ring on Facebook the engagement should be over.. Such men are very vain and callous

Lol no of cause

Aunty linda

That lady is an ingrate with high taste. Smh with ladies of these days who have gargantuan appetite for mundane luxury and pleasure...

May the guy find a more loving, grateful, appreciative and caring lady to call his wife.

Jesus is coming soon.

Mr relationship .. Are u in a relationship?

This guy like free publicity .. Shameless

100% fukery why would I take a small ring from my man??? See me see wahala o.. Keep ur 50 naira advise

Unbelievable the things we hear these days.. After 2 years of dating, u say no because of size of ring .. Stupidity of epic proportions

Lol...I can relate to that chic. She must have bragged about it or something. Guess she wanted a stone as large as the 1 tonto's guy got her.

I do not believe in engagement ring, it guarantees nothing and why won't men wear one too

Linda keeps giving this guy a platform .... Why????

I'm guessing your life is perfect huh? Stupid

Ok where is the news here? Na news be this??

Develop your Blog.. I like reading what you write Joro Olumofin

Men are so selfish and stingy.. They can buy beer and all sorts of rubbish for Sidechicks but a good fine ring is a challenge ? He can keep his small ring

Brother wannabe Toke Makinwa.. Have several seats

I showed this article to my sisters, the video was featured on a wedding blog.. Hilarious , I pray for all the ladies out there who have this mentality. The Lord is your strength

It's not a criteria Jare, truly it doesn't matter. If d money is available fine, else move on to more pressing issues biko

Small ring big ring who cares???? This guy is running out of things to write.. Go look for something else to do

Ring doesn't and should matter.. Love wins and should always win

This fucktard should shut uppppppp. I want a big ring?? How does it affect you ? Fame hungry joker

Broke guys will be happy about this.. Lmaoooooo

The size may not be the issue for me but the price matters....and if the man in question has any financial issue I'll advice him to go sort himself out first b4 thinking to proposing to a gurl with all dis "wash and throwaway rings"#myopinion#

100% fukery why would I take a small ring from my man??? See me see wahala o.. Keep ur 50 naira advise

Linda i tell u verily, doz issues are secondary and baseless. The major substance is tue love which should transcend materialism

The size may not be the issue for me but the price matters....and if the man in question has any financial issue I'll advice him to go sort himself out first b4 thinking of proposing to a gurl with all dis "wash and throwaway rings"#myopinion#

I'm not a lady, but any girl who refuses to be my wife cos of the silly excuse that the ring/rock is small can take a hike. No bitch is worth going out of place to get her a ring. Big rocks don't project good men, neither would they make d lady a good wife..

Toke Makinwa wannabe !!!!!!!!!! Oshi all of u ur relationships don't work we don't need ur advise

There are people with huge a** engagement rings who wish they have never said YES, so the ring size does not matter except you are vain!

People like this lady referred here need fasting and prayers.. Did u Fada give ur moda big ring? Because of mtv and e news, priorities are misplaced.. Now she's single and won't marry this year

It's about time someone spoke about this. Girls yapa for market single and begging God for man, girl dey return ring .. God punish una papa

OMG I came across this article a while back, I don't understand our generation at all.. Stupidity at its peak

Smh!!! Some ladies will be single for eternity sha

Nice article am sure yoruba bitches are reading this.

This guy is here again .. Go find a life

Nicely written Joro.... You always speak the truth.. I see no reason why the size of the ring should matter.

Linda this guy don pay you ??????

I don't need ur advise.. Big fool

Hmnnn it's not the cost or size of the ring that matters but the marriage it's self. I hve bn married for 10yrs now and I think I had the cheapest wedding ever. But we are so happy together . I got married in England and it was a wedding of about 20pple. Hey guess what we are best of friends .

Well said! This rngagrment ring issue has turned into something else these days. A lot of ladies have lost it.

HollupHollup niggaaa.. Girls dey vex ooooo, returning ring? Ahhh

Very well said, growing financially is very important

I just sent you an email sir.. Do you need a PA my name is Adedeji osinowo

I watched him on some tv show.. He's cute and surprisingly shy.. Big up!!

Uzomabenjaminc said...

"pressing issues like rent, business projects, health issues ; will a man leave these things or empty his account for a Big Diamond Rock? As a couple you can always upgrade your ring in time as you grow financially. I love that line .

Mennhh i gave my girlfriend of 3years a ring of 50.000naira i bought and she
accepted it but after 2weeks she told me baby you should have upgrade this ring cos
my friends thinks its cheap,i said oki to her and asked her to give it back to me
so that i will go back to upgrade the ring cos i was tested if she will give it back
to me,and she did.i collected,,the weekend i asked her to invite her friends to a
place so that i can give her a new ring open in her friends eyes and she did,
mennhh i went there and handed her over to the hands of her friends and asked her
never in her life she will ever looking for me or contacting me in any form,thats end.
i am about to marry now to my sweetheart who accepted me for who i am......single is her name now,my ex

Mennhh i gave my girlfriend of 3years a ring of 50.000naira i bought and she
accepted it but after 2weeks she told me baby you should have upgrade this ring cos
my friends thinks its cheap,i said oki to her and asked her to give it back to me
so that i will go back to upgrade the ring cos i was tested if she will give it back
to me,and she did.i collected,,the weekend i asked her to invite her friends to a
place so that i can give her a new ring open in her friends eyes and she did,
mennhh i went there and handed her over to the hands of her friends and asked her
never in her life she will ever looking for me or contacting me in any form,thats end.
i am about to marry now to my sweetheart who accepted me for who i am......single is her name now,my ex

Mr ashawo of lagos..

He has made some good points. I hope ladies would listen.

Wow!

Dis is nice write up and he said it all.
Thumbs up and more power to his elbows.

http://thejuixreviews.blogspot.com.ng/ Chai, the things ladies do to themselves. So it's all about competition now abi? Smh! Well, for me the size of the rock is secondary. You can carry a sign post for all I care, what matters is what you feel.

I have so much for this man right here! Very well said... Well done doc🙌

Oyebimpe said...

I gotta say a lot of naija babes need to learn and stop being so materialistic and superficial! Bare babes r single because they judge men and ring sizes by what their friends have...

Thanks for sharing.. God Bless

This is what external exposure does to us.. Big ring small ring who cares .. How did our parents do it? Let's be wise

So people ought to know that the ring is the symbol that seals a marriage not "the size of the ring"

Anonymous Personified said...

Fact! Individual differences though.

Dont impose your view on us.. I want a big rock and so what??

Linda! U said it all "Don't pass on a good man because of a variable which can be made a constant in time."

MAGIC SAID....to me the type,size or shape of the ring doesnt matter...what matters is that both of us will spend our life together...gbam

David said...

Funny enough my 4yrs relationship ended because of d pressure to buy a ring that was about 8months my salary even if it meant us not having a home yet and drinking garri in my bq... Naija babes of today

Ladies with long throat.....

Joro from Babington.. LOL

Well said...

God Job.. Aunty Folake

it is not all about the ring or watsoever, mine husband proposed to me by words of mouth and i accepted it he then later got me a ring with a small diamond which i accepted and liked t though look cheap but Expensive and unique on it own.

Ladies be wise and stop whiling away your tym waiting for xpensive rings and cars for proposal.

if you love your man u should accept wat ever he gives to you no mata how litlle or graceless it is.

My Instagram Crush... Joroolumofin

Basic Article.. Can't believe I read this at all

NOT AT ALL

Size doesn't matter so long as it's original, am cool with it

#iT WiLL oNLy gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN pRaiSe

Lmaooooo.. Girl return ring ontop say e no big .. Only waka come

Joro I heard you are a rapist,Is it true?

Good article, many ladies have remained single bcos they wnt a guy who can customise the rock.For me its worthless if the guys gives u a rocking rock and does not geniunely love u. eg d news from our celebs. His rock is his love and faithfuness.though its beautiful to have a rock o,if the guy willingly offers it.

and this is why african women are avoided worldwide. It's only about money for them

No ring is better than a ring I'm not pleased with.

No..

Thank you we ladies can always get another ring even before d wedding date learn to be contented. Ring or no ring love your man, ring must not establish your union or love with your man.

SMURF said...

It's the size of the pocket which will be used to buy the ring that shld matter!! U don't expect someone with 100k to buy a ring of 80k.

LOVELY ARTICLE FROM A GOOD RELATIONSHIP COUNSELLOR....THUMBS UP SIR
TO ME THE SIZE OR VALUE OF THE ENGAGEMENT OR WEDDING RING DOES NOT MATTER, BUT THE TRUE LOVE, AFFECTION AND VALUES OF MY SAID FIANCE OR HUBBY IS ALL THAT MATTERS TO ME..... DONT FLOW WITH THE CROWD!!!

Thumbs up!

Hell Noooooooo any ring a guy used to propose is a sign of his love. If u as a woman don't like d ring, u can upgrade it later but it must not be immediately, cuz if u upgrade immediately, it simply means dat u are only in love with d ring and not d growth of the union/marriage.

Their(ladies) competitive lifestyle on social media and peer pressure will make them loose a lifetime dream. Ladies Learn ooo.

the rock definatly matters to me becos i am a ringabling person!!! Cushion cut canary diamond plzzz!!!!

Nyc one,don't mind ladies of nowadays.they are so materialistic.waiting for rich men,bla bla bla.money s good o,but it's not evrytin.the most important thing is u love,support and appreciate your mind.when money comes he wl give u your dream ring.

#isaidmymind

Chaii dat gal isn't good fa...anyways d size of ring doesn't mata atall. And all tnks to our celebrities na dem dey flaunt massive diamond and nw our gals aint smiling

Yes it does. B4 proposing, try 2 find out d kind of ring she likes. It does matter.

No it should not

Seriously ... that's a question....
I don't want to know how it is or how it was bought but I will still advice women to make it matter because there are lots of Rev. Sisters out there who haven't known a man sexually so decline the proposal and join us in the parish....lol
You women better pray and work with the Holy Spirit not with your ordinary eyes, after all the ultimate thing in this life is to serve God and know him in truth and in spirit so I urge you girls to decline the proposal any way any how so you can join us in the Parish to serve God.
God bless you.

Nice one, ladies una done hear?

Da Vincci. said...

Very sad, but good to the man cos God saved him from the marriage he would ve live to regret all through his life. My own is, the size or type of a ring shouldnt matter but the heart matters.

It doesn't mean anything jare

No it shouldn't

Anty linda biko

Dis is a gr8 advice 4 d single ladies out der

obietrezy said...

Well its their business...... Jor oh

Na only mumu go dey ask 4 big rock or small rock,wen there re more important things to take care of.Na ring u come chop abi na marry u wan marry.mtchewwww fake women and dia wahala.

chidi ijeh #uniport said...

OHHH BEAUTIFUL PIECE....GOD BLESS YOU REAL GOOD sir!!....I HOPE THE LADIES LEARN....DONOT PASS ON A GOOD MAN/ A MAN THAT HAS VISIONS FOR A BETTER TOMORROW JUST BCOS OF A MERE "RING" OR WHATEVER.....WHAT COUNTS IS YOUR HAPPINESS NOT COMPETITION...
LADIES GROW UP IN YOUR REASONING...GOD BLESS YOU ALL
#From -the-desk-of - the- Billionaire Mind......
#chidi #uniport

DIVA MUA said...

It shows the size of the woman's brain, if she can attach must bigger value to the ring than her relationship, I am sorry she is not a marriage material and should be dumped ASAP.

Oh yes! it matters but it depends on the way you go about it. My boyfriend (now my husband) proposed with some silly ring and I accepted it but I made it known to him that I didn't like the ring and in the long run i'll be changing it and I did 2 years after. Firstly, he got the size wrong even with the help of my friend but he forgot the size and order a smaller size so we decided to extend the ring with the help of the jeweller but it came out wonky, so I mellowed until after our marriage 2 years after and I order myself the ring I wanted (He was aware) and he paid for it 6 months after.

@ anonymous 10;41. Lool, I like U jawe, bluntly straight forward!
*Tlop

It really doesn't matter

Wagbayi eyan mi....

The size or the cost of the ring does not count who proposes count if he is a suitable marriage material

GBAM

jamos B said...

thumbs up

jamos B said...

thumbs up