Rape: Its never about the dress, its a game of power - Funmi Iyanda
In a series of tweets, TV personality Funmi Iyanda said rape is a game
of power as men often see themselves as mini gods. She shared the
story of how she was constantly harassed for the way she dressed
while she anchored her breakfast TV show, New Dawn with Funmi Iyanda. She shared a whole lot more.
Continue to see more of her tweets...
get a proper life woman, ure not a role model to young girls out their. you mode of dressing is nothing to write home about.. its not encouraging, what kinda role model do u what to classify your self has? u wear alot of skimpy out fit on all your showa and u want the northern state to air your show... thats total rubbish, check yourself well and know whats bn missing and make amend.
True neither are men "Mini God!" But truth is; sometimes mostly in places like nigeria were all these peeps can easily get away with such act. You need to cover up. DON'T DRESS LIKE MOURIHOS DAUGHTER STROLLING ROUND IN THE EVENING IN A BAD HOOD & EXPECT LESS. BUT IT CAN'T HAPPEN IN EUROPE.
Inasmuch as we would like to run away from the truth, yes rape is a game of power, yes the North has a high standard of what they deem right, yes some people are just not okay in the head but saying that rape doesn't have a thing to do with a way a person dresses is the same as saying that a thief should not enter a house with its door flung open!! responsibility lies with us all both male and female!
I like the part men are NOT God and really can NOT copy or be like God (with a known deeply rooted evil or base nature)... LET ALL men be like JESUS na cos THAT'S GOD 4u!
Serzly at times I feel I cn slap both men nd women to reset their mentality.most men treat women like for been female they re already guilty of something,they treat them like they re beneath them in everything dt has 2 do wit life even breathing in air and we women instead of saying no 2 dt most of us condone dt nd make excuses 4 dem.women lets go bck 2 our homes nd nd make d society treat us d way we ought 2 be treated.if every mother can teach their sons 2 ve respect,protect and love their sisters and women in their neighbourhood,to c women as a helpmate nd not a sex object d women will have a better place in d society. As 4 our gals who c men as a meal ticket,bank account etc,who cn do anything stupid 2 please a man pls nd pls try nd engage urself in something productive becos d foundation nd pillar of every successful home is a virtous nd industrious woman.if u want 2 b respected as a woman u need 2 show a man wat 2 respect. And no man wil respect a whore.
Please God!!! Linda MA please school will resume by next week and me and my little sis does not have money to pay for our school fees but hoping God will provide for us (AMEN). I am in SS2 and she is in JSS2 but I hope and willing to comment on all the posts today because I want to win the MONDAY SPECIAL to pay our school fees please.
It's a game of both stimulus and power but they can also exist differently. While men can commit the crime as a way to satisfy their manhood, sometimes also, d acts are provoked by d raunchiness of ladies
Rape is mostly about men being infuriated into insane action because of what they can't have, shouldn't have or not allowed to have. and for some like armed robbers, they get a kick, a sadistic satisfaction from having something they would normally only dream about, jealously dispersed but never ordinarily have in their life time.
True, rapists are SICK or how else do you explain toddlers that are also been raped? What do they wear? Do they have boobs? Rapists are SICK people. I wish the government will take my advice, make 6 men rape them then still send them to jail.
Sometimes I always wonder why most men dress fully covered and many women don't. I would really like to know why and what their inner motives are when they are half covered while some even go to thge extent of wearing tight pants without wearing pants and bra underneath. I strongly believe it contributes to a portion of rape cases and not all.We can't keep making a case that it does not when truly it does.
Shez very rte,dr is no justification for rape,if dr is why den re d northern ladies dt cover uptil dere eyes stil get raped,itz nt about d way u dress it bout power nly cowards think dy cn gt
3 out of 5 girls have pro ably been raped or abused at one time or the other. Often times, the experiences are not shared. In our time, we have to ensure our children fo not suffer the same fate we did.
We have to reach them to stand tall and strong and always to bolt away from uncomfortable situations. The times we are now are indeed terrible times with paedophiles everywhere. A 27 yr old man is aroused at the sight of a 2 year old baby girl. Isn't it sickening?
Parents, a lot is required frim us. We must protect our kids as they must not suffer the same fate we did.
Everything that God made valuable in the world is covered and hard to get to. Where do you find diamonds? Deep down in the ground, covered and protected. Where do you find pearls? Deep down at the bottom of the ocean, covered up and protected in a beautiful shell. Where do you find gold? Way down in the mine, covered over with layers and layers of rock. You've got to work hard to get to them."❀ He looked at me with serious eyes. ❀"Your body is sacred. You're far more precious than diamonds and pearls, and you should be covered too. "❀ Source: Taken from the book: More Than A Hero: Muhammad Ali's Life Lessons Through His Daughter's Eyes.
So wats with the raping of all those fully dressed little children that are being sexually molested in that same north...i guess its not all about being covered air no covered anymore....abeg live idealism and face realism....
Emm, Dear Ary! Do u know they still rape and molest girls in the north even though they are all covered up from hair to toe? What then would you call that. Do u know U can still get raped wearing a turtle neck big blouse and a gigantic skirt or baggy jeans just strolling around ur neighbourhood tryna buy pepper or biscuit. Pls don't make excuses for rape, it's a mental state of mind dat a guy has, don't ever try to justify rape. Don't play the blame game, ur sister, mother, cousin, aunty could be a victim.
Your cloths cannot stop a rapist. Weda walking about naked or fully clothed. They even scared of the naked girls more. Check on rape victims, more decently dressed girls get raped that skimpy cloths girls. Rape is wrong, be it on a slut or a Nun, nothing on earth can justify rape. Let's call a spade a spade. Let's learn to speak and fight for the truth.
63 comments:
Truuee
Why do I just love this woman??? Well said Fumigation.
Wonderful article....To get latest world news visit here Maalaimalar
meenah_wakil on instagram
Hmmm...:her opinion sha
It has to do with the dress too funmi! That's why all these dem amber and Co has been seducing my spirit since...
Inasmuch as we would like to run away from the truth, yes rape is a game of power, yes the North has a high standard of what they deem right, yes some people are just not okay in the head but saying that rape doesn't have a thing to do with a way a person dresses is the same as saying that a thief should not enter a house with its door flung open!! responsibility lies with us all both male and female!
Even showing your legs from the kneel can be termed seductive ! That is the world we live in as women.
Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.
Hmmmm, its ok
#it Will Only Get beTTer
#It MusT eNd in PraIsE
Hmmmmm...
She spoke well and I wish her all d best. Thumbs up and more power to her elbows.
Hmmmm, its ok
#it Will Only Get beTTer
#It MusT eNd in PraIsE
Hmmmmm...
She spoke well and I wish her all d best. Thumbs up and more power to her elbows.
Hmmmmm...
Hmmmm...it's well
Very true and the caller that called in is a fool
Who made dem mini gods??f**king assholes. She's kinda right although I blv rape has no justification...
I've always known that a woman who has voice must learn to have thick skin.I like her & she makes sense
I like the part men are NOT God and really can NOT copy or be like God (with a known deeply rooted evil or base nature)... LET ALL men be like JESUS na cos THAT'S GOD 4u!
Nd u wil call Beyonce a role model rite?
http://www.bummyla.com
Large part of it is about the dress abeg... #NowPlaying sugar cane: sojay....
Meenah you are obviously looking for followers on ig abi??
She is so correct! I agree wif her
Serzly at times I feel I cn slap both men nd women to reset their mentality.most men treat women like for been female they re already guilty of something,they treat them like they re beneath them in everything dt has 2 do wit life even breathing in air and we women instead of saying no 2 dt most of us condone dt nd make excuses 4 dem.women lets go bck 2 our homes nd nd make d society treat us d way we ought 2 be treated.if every mother can teach their sons 2 ve respect,protect and love their sisters and women in their neighbourhood,to c women as a helpmate nd not a sex object d women will have a better place in d society.
As 4 our gals who c men as a meal ticket,bank account etc,who cn do anything stupid 2 please a man pls nd pls try nd engage urself in something productive becos d foundation nd pillar of every successful home is a virtous nd industrious woman.if u want 2 b respected as a woman u need 2 show a man wat 2 respect. And no man wil respect a whore.
Hmmm, her opinion tho
Please God!!! Linda MA please school will resume by next week and me and my little sis does not have money to pay for our school fees but hoping God will provide for us (AMEN). I am in SS2 and she is in JSS2 but I hope and willing to comment on all the posts today because I want to win the MONDAY SPECIAL to pay our school fees please.
I so agree with her. She said it as it is. Linda take note!
Castrate yourself if you have no self control. Dnt women too look at guys that bare their chest all the time.
@Bonita, don't I just love this Your comment...
Ss2 on LIB.sell ur phone. U av waec in view
It's a game of both stimulus and power but they can also exist differently. While men can commit the crime as a way to satisfy their manhood, sometimes also, d acts are provoked by d raunchiness of ladies
Same way u'll need to amend ur english... dee
And who told u with all d useless covering frm head to toe in d north they still don't rape... dee
Hian!!! This is not just necessary nah... dee
Rape is mostly about men being infuriated into insane action because of what they can't have, shouldn't have or not allowed to have. and for some like armed robbers, they get a kick, a sadistic satisfaction from having something they would normally only dream about, jealously dispersed but never ordinarily have in their life time.
Only dumb, myopic person wud say improper dressing is not a strong catalyst for rape. Bt rape cud stem 4rm othr reasons
Gerarway from here!!! Cunt
Nice one. You also forgot to add ' let all women be like Holy Mary and quit scandalous dressing ' both ways the world would be a better place for all.
Very true. I agree.
True, rapists are SICK or how else do you explain toddlers that are also been raped? What do they wear? Do they have boobs? Rapists are SICK people. I wish the government will take my advice, make 6 men rape them then still send them to jail.
Sometimes I always wonder why most men dress fully covered and many women don't. I would really like to know why and what their inner motives are when they are half covered while some even go to thge extent of wearing tight pants without wearing pants and bra underneath. I strongly believe it contributes to a portion of rape cases and not all.We can't keep making a case that it does not when truly it does.
Awwww. Don't worry...from the way you 'speak', you are obviously not her target audience.
"Castrate yourself..." LOL! Love it! If you cannot control yourself like animal, perhaps you do need to be neutered like the dog that you are!
Your sentence formation and punctuation sum up to naught. U should keep your comments to your chest sometimes.
If you know what you wrote is right then why are you anonymous ?
Shez very rte,dr is no justification for rape,if dr is why den re d northern ladies dt cover uptil dere eyes stil get raped,itz nt about d way u dress it bout power nly cowards think dy cn gt
U are nothing but a stupid discriminating human being for crying out loud what do u think u kno
3 out of 5 girls have pro ably been raped or abused at one time or the other. Often times, the experiences are not shared. In our time, we have to ensure our children fo not suffer the same fate we did.
We have to reach them to stand tall and strong and always to bolt away from uncomfortable situations.
The times we are now are indeed terrible times with paedophiles everywhere. A 27 yr old man is aroused at the sight of a 2 year old baby girl. Isn't it sickening?
Parents, a lot is required frim us. We must protect our kids as they must not suffer the same fate we did.
Stern, guess that's why gals under 8yrs get raped. Afterall, dem no dress properly to cover their well formed boobs & rounded bum.
Everything that God made valuable in the
world is covered and hard to get to. Where do you find
diamonds? Deep down in the ground, covered and protected. Where do you find pearls? Deep down at
the bottom of the ocean, covered up and protected in
a beautiful shell. Where do you find gold? Way down
in the mine, covered over with layers and layers of
rock. You've got to work hard to get to them."❀ He looked at me with serious eyes. ❀"Your body is
sacred. You're far more precious than diamonds and
pearls, and you should be covered too.
"❀ Source: Taken from the book: More Than A Hero:
Muhammad Ali's Life Lessons Through His Daughter's
Eyes.
So wats with the raping of all those fully dressed little children that are being sexually molested in that same north...i guess its not all about being covered air no covered anymore....abeg live idealism and face realism....
Emm, Dear Ary! Do u know they still rape and molest girls in the north even though they are all covered up from hair to toe? What then would you call that.
Do u know U can still get raped wearing a turtle neck big blouse and a gigantic skirt or baggy jeans just strolling around ur neighbourhood tryna buy pepper or biscuit. Pls don't make excuses for rape, it's a mental state of mind dat a guy has, don't ever try to justify rape. Don't play the blame game, ur sister, mother, cousin, aunty could be a victim.
Your cloths cannot stop a rapist. Weda walking about naked or fully clothed.
They even scared of the naked girls more. Check on rape victims, more decently dressed girls get raped that skimpy cloths girls. Rape is wrong, be it on a slut or a Nun, nothing on earth can justify rape. Let's call a spade a spade. Let's learn to speak and fight for the truth.
Power or no power dress properly
She is so right. Our society is just messed up. It's lack of strenght as a man to try woo a girl dt makes dem rape.
Linda please contact him and assist him. God bless you.
Awww the activist in Funmi.