It appears from last night that the Presidency has been put under pressure to relocate the Villa Chapel because the location of the Villa Chapel, which was built and inaugurated by President Olusegun Obasanjo, is said to be too close to Buhari’s bedroom and kitchen.
Sources close to the presidency said that the late President Umaru Yar’Adua, who inherited the Villa chapel from Obasanjo, had assured his predecessor that he would not relocate the location despite its proximity to his residence.It was revealed that some overzealous aides of President Buhari were uncomfortable with the location of the church and had already made efforts to stop the use of the facility by Christian worshippers on August 30, 2015, thereby causing a national uproar in the process.
A source in the Presidency said that security agents prevented the Villa Chapel choristers from entering the building for their weekly rehearsal on Saturday, August 29, 2015.
According to the source, the plot was to erect canopies and have the church service there but the plan soon leaked and the Vice President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo, had to intervene by reaching out to President Buhari before the security men gave way for service to be conducted that day.
The Presidency source said: “Osinbajo was uncomfortable with the plan and he had to reach out to the President before service could be held that day in the chapel.”It was learnt last night as prelude to relocating the Chapel, the Children’s church, which forms part of the Villa Chapel, has been shut and some rooms, converted to shops for storing food items which forced the children to relocate to the office of the Chaplain, Seyi Malomo, for their normal service.
A source at the Presidency said on Tuesday, “As we speak, the children’s church remains shut and everything relating to the church has been removed. We had to beg them to allow us to remove our property. The children’s church has been turned into a store,” the official said.
“As a result of the unforeseen development, we had to collapse some facilities to accommodate the children and keep our worship going.”
That was why the Chaplain said that the church had not been shut but ‘we only had some procedural issues that needed to be sorted out’.
However the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina has denied the closure of the church by the Presidency.Last week, when the issue came up, Adesina, posted pictures of the church service on his Facebook page.
The acting Chaplain of the Aso Villa Chapel, Pastor Joseph Sheyi Malomo also said that the church was not shut but did not make mention of the fact that his office was being used in the place of the shut children’s church.
Vanguard learnt that the Presidency is considering relocating both the Mosque and the Church from their present locations to a more spacious area in the Villa so as to prevent any accusation.
64 comments:
Hmmm! Ok
Whatever! Doesn't change anything.
Ok..
So d chaplain office is so big it can accommodate children church na wa oooooo
Islamist
very soon they will close the chapel
Hmmmmm Shari'a is gradually coming back
Hummmmmmmm......okay o.
Hmmmmmmmmmmm
Can't u read both mosque and church
Hmmmmm...
I hope they wil b faithful to relocate d worship centre's to a more spacious place. We r all watching.
It's part of change,
Hmmmmm...
I hope they wil b faithful to relocate d worship centre's to a more spacious place. We r all watching.
Hahahahahahahahah shame to those hands that voted for islamic terrorist buhari.
Very soon the villa chapel we be close entirely,buhari is an islamic terrorist what do you guys expect from some one like him,a heartless man like buhari is about to islamize nigeria but God and thnder we wipe his and his family.
Hahahahahahahahah shame to those hands that voted for islamic terrorist buhari.
Very soon the villa chapel we be close entirely,buhari is an islamic terrorist what do you guys expect from some one like him,a heartless man like buhari is about to islamize nigeria but God and thnder we wipe his and his family.
Won't be surprised if it happens
Ahh na wa ooo if othr past President both Muslim and Christian hv stay dere all dis while den y cnt dis present government coup up and bear it jst d way othrs hv been bearing it. hummmm fear God ooo change done entr God house again tor lets watch hw it will end.
And Our senior pastor is watching? Very soon he will be converted to Islam, ceremonial vice.......
Hmmm we are watching them o, and I hope mr president will make the right decision without any religious sentiment!!!
For the Christians that voted Buhari, una dey see abi?
Old habits die hard.....
Now I know most of you can not read. Foolllllllls
I thought I read Chapel and Mosque in the headline so why is the write up bothering only on Chapel??? Linda take note!
Can you just learn to stop using "We" for "Will".
PARENTAL ADVISORY
Hypocrisy
If its disturbs him? Yea he should
Buhari should be very careful with the religious extremists in his family and group. Is he there to control gods or rule Nigeria? Sharia people!!!
Hahaha Change indeed is all playing out Gradually, am not surprised extremist what do you expect
Does this man have to be lopsided all round? Even church is a problem to him besides appointmens. I hope he knows the population of CHRISTIAN votes he garnered because of RCCG and the the confidence the christain body has in the church. Extra miles were made to convince Christians that he will be neutral and accommodating to all religions and faiths. This Femi Adeshina sef Na wah, I hope he won't end up being just a blabber like Reuben Abati. When it comes to dirty jobs like this he will pick Yorubas first, but when it come to key and decisive ones he will pick Hausas under whatever guise. Siddon look Na dog name.
Are they no longer your pple,this is just the beginning
I am sorry to say but most of you people here are idiots. Linda bodly put 'church and mosque'. If he was favouring the muslims will he remove the mosque? You people are demented and are the course of the backwardness in this country. An information is relayed yet instead of you to analyse the situation, you will jump and come to a conclusion. Keep up with this 'talk before i think' mentality and remain stagnant in life. You all claim to be literates but lack in mental thinking. God bless
Dis should not generate contention or bad blood just relocate both chapel and mosque outside villa
Change abi! We don dey see am. How the church dey do dem for body?
#Capt.
When radio biafra said dis it people said us a lie, now what is happening? Very soon is the total closure. But remember ur doing with God this time not tribe. Be careful
They said mosque nd church,pls be constructive in ur thoughts,he can not be like every past president.some clueless Nigerians just want to find fault in all he does just bcos he is a Muslim.....mpshew
The problem with Nigerians is that, we have no clue how things are suppose to work in a functional society. The abnormalities of Nigeria is normal to most clueless Nigerians. If something is not done right, is it wisdom to continue or correct it ? Unfortunately, in a democracy stupid ppl are allowed to participate. There no sensible person that will not see wisdom in moving the church and mosque away from the President's residence to another location to avoid noise disturbances. Most Nigerians need to see how good thinking ppl in other countries conduct their affairs. Thx
It is logical to know that the VILLA CHAPEL IS THE TARGET NOT THE MOSQUE... They are just covering up by sayin both the Chapel and the Mosque would be relocated.
The problem with Nigerians is that, we have no clue how things are suppose to work in a functional society. The abnormalities of Nigeria is normal to most clueless Nigerians. If something is not done right, is it wisdom to continue or correct it ? Unfortunately, in a democracy stupid ppl are allowed to participate. There no sensible person that will not see wisdom in moving the church and mosque away from the President's residence to another location to avoid noise disturbances. Most Nigerians need to see how good thinking ppl in other countries conduct their affairs. Thx
Christians in the North will understand this better... because no matter how they try to make it seem to be fair to all concern, if they are the ones in charge na only God go really help us..
If we must get it right, government should have nothing to do with religious activities. Religion is a personal thing and should be left for the individuals. Since the issue of supremacy in religion is becoming a problem in Nigeria, government should stop all forms of sponsoring of religious activities. Churches and mosques should be removed from all government establishments, including our airports. Whoever is interested in wishiping should find his or place of worship wherever they go. This will drastically reduce all forms religious tensions.
You really think with your anus, dont you? Did you see where mosque is written too? Good I'm happy you have seen it.
What are you talking about? Did you read the article at all? Mosque and chapel will be moved. Dull brain.
That is how it will be shut forever! How many years does Bokohari has to stay in Aso rock that he is relocating the chapel? And with all ds wakawaka that he has been doing? Pls this Man is a sham.
May your hands and your father's perish. Is it my fault that you are always sad as a result of your inability to read simple English?
You ppl should be objective for once .Nigeria is a secular state so why would Obasanjo build the chapel close to the presidential bedroom when he's know that the room will be occupied by future any president who may be of different religion.The chapel should have been built on a neutral part of the villa. Did IBB and Abacha did that with mosque location ?, if not Blame Obasanjo for his lack of foresight or selfishness in the location of the villa chapel.
This should not be an issue as long as he is going to relocate both the church and the mosque and both will still be within the villa.
If buhari tries it, he will never live to tell the story...
stupid extremist
This muslims!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If they relocate the church, they MUST relocate the mosque too.
the church service is strictly by list.yu gats register before yu can even attend.no fones,handbag n cars are even allowed.after thorough checkin,the villa bus will conveine worshipers to d chapel.all this security measures no reach?...if dey relocate d church,den d mosque must follow
The day the Church is relocated, is the day he ceases to be the president. Let this be recorded in the Heavens and the earth.
Surely but slowly the changi is being unveiled... Smh lmao
Just as it will fire ur own entire generation and an end will b put to all ur hate speeches. Cnt u read church and mosque for heaven's sake? See ur poor english as weLl, using we in place of will. EWU
I don't see anything wrong with relocating both the church and mosque to a better and more spacious location.
The bible said I will build my church and the gate of hell shall not prevail. Buhari carry on okay. Jesus watching you.
OREO GRANDE
Enlightened suppression. Mosque had to be included so that we wouldn't raise much dust.
Nigerians are watching. PMB should not be seen or perceived to be dividing this nation on religious and ethnic lines.
Now na morning,by their fruits we shall know them.
We always allow religion to divide us in NAIJA. Y'all really think it's wrong even if Mr. President approved the relocation of the church. As a Christian if your new room is beside mosque. happy and comfortable? As for y'all, no choice but for him he has choice.
Hope this is not the beginning of trouble..
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Issorite we siddon dey watch
There is something about Buhari that is sly, devious and sinister!!!
It beats me that while neither Yar'Adua (a Muslim) nor Jonathan ever contemplated physically moving the Church, for Buhari the Aso Church is a major problem that must be moved...
To push the impression that the Aso Chapel is not the target, Buhari is talking of applying the same whip on both the Church and the Mosque....
What a mind-game!!!!
In Shi'a Islam it is called Taqiyya; while in Sunni Islam it is termed the Muruna strategy...
I'm however more saddened by the fact that most Nigerians are laboring under Buhari's SPELL and would not so much as voice out against this man's inanities including this manifest Islamization project that is beginning to pick velocity...
They not only would buy the new excuse, they would amplify and democratize it!!!!
The Buhari-can-do-no-wrong spell thus seem destined to see Nigeria Islamised with the full consent of the majority who are bowled over under a demonic influence!!!
Mr Simplycock, sorry but I must say you are a cock indeed.
"It beats me that while neither Yar'Adua (a Muslim) nor Jonathan ever contemplated physically moving the Church, for Buhari the Aso Church is a major problem that must be moved..." - What was the outcome of their presidency. STOP WITH RELIGIONIZING everything in the country and most especially educate yourself.
Just going to repeat this for Kim. If you are Nigerian Kim, then you are indeed one of the smarter ones.
Anonymous kim said...
Change !
Bonario wher are you u fool! Why no comment today????????
Idiot boy. Nigerians have been hoodwinked!