Photo: US warns of 'terrorist' attack threat in South Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 8 September 2015

Photo: US warns of 'terrorist' attack threat in South Africa

The United States embassy in South Africa on Tuesday, September 8 issued a rare 'terrorist threat' warning to US interests in the country, and advised its citizens to be on heightened alert against attack, AFP reports. The security message issued by the embassy in Pretoria said there was no information on the possible timing or target in South Africa.
Extremists may be targeting US interests in South Africa, to possibly include US Government facilities and other facilities identifiable with US business interests," the embassy statement said.
Remain aware and vigilant of your surroundings. Be vigilant and take appropriate steps to enhance your personal security."
A spokesman for the South African ministry of state security told AFP that the government was aware of the US announcement, but that it had no immediate comment.

The embassy issued a general security alert last week ahead of the September 11 attacks anniversary, but the warning on Tuesday appeared to signal a new level of concern. Security analyst Ryan Cummings said the US had last issued a "terror threat" in South Africa in 2009.

The embassy was unable to confirm the date. "One would not immediately associate South Africa with Islamic extremism, which is the driver of international terrorism against US interests," said Cummings, a Cape Town-based analyst at Red 24, a risk management firm.

"We haven't had an extensive history of transnational terrorists targeting US interests (but) there has been evidence that South Africa serves as some form of a gateway or potential logistics and financial hub. "The fact that this warning speaks specifically to South Africa means the perceived threat is specifically within our borders."

Source -AFP

37 comments:

Mandymice said...

Even SA get extremist

Hmmmmm...

May dis never come to realitic bcos of our Nigerian brothers and sisters we hav in dat country.

Hmmmmm...

Nawa o

Hmmmmm...

Speechless.this is what muhammed has cause before going to hell fire,by deceiving people with fake believe.
Let me see what imbecilic obama have to do.

Hmmmmm...

Speechless.this is what muhammed has cause before going to hell fire,by deceiving people with fake believe.
Let me see what imbecilic obama have to do.

Linda this is to you!!! Y don't u post comments on time!!!!!!!!!!! Arrrghhhhh!!!!!! How can u put a post since 12noon and post comments by 10pm!!!?? That is CRAZY! U knw what make ur blog interesting? It's pple's comments!!!! Get it? COMMENTS!!!!! Am screaming here and evn if u see this and ignore well that's ur freeking problem and it shows u dnt take advice! Better don't be like DSTV dat don't listen to their customers! #Enough!!!!!

Phew! South Africa already has so much to deal with in terms of insecurity. I hope they put up measures to forestall any terror attack.

Linda this is to you!!! Y don't u post comments on time!!!!!!!!!!! Arrrghhhhh!!!!!! How can u put a post since 12noon and post comments by 10pm!!!?? That is CRAZY! U knw what make ur blog interesting? It's pple's comments!!!! Get it? COMMENTS!!!!! Am screaming here and evn if u see this and ignore well that's ur freeking problem and it shows u dnt take advice! Better don't be like DSTV dat don't listen to their customers! #Enough!!!!!

Their wahala.

aproko manager said...

Okk oooo

That's the importance of intelligence gathering.You've gotta respect the proactiveness of the Americans in terms of intelligence
When will our security agencies be like this?

People will start panicking any hw nw.... God help us shah....

Interesting build up
A recent South African foreign policy paper being debated at its parliament specifically requested that south africa champions the relocation of all American military bases and installation out of africa. Now south africa is suddenly under a terror treat.
Are they south Africans now about to pay for their anti western foreign policy positions?

Hian! Wahala everywhere bikonu. It is well! Linda take note!

Ok they should b vigilant

Aunty linda biko

F**** terrorist

Build A Power Bank Yourself Guide said...

Hmm! Like seriously it seems no place is safe again.

I hope any such attack is averted.

mrs chukwuma said...

Everyday terrorist is a sign of the End time

Get prepared my people
Jesus is coming soon

EL Chapo said...

Mk dem bomb am nah

I hope it doesn't happen. Security agencies in South Africa better get to work now. I just wonder how Americans get these info.

onyeuwaoma said...

Dear lord, never again

This guys are here again with silly speculations

TASK: Use the link below to generate traffic and earn money 15$ for every unique visitor that clicks your link.
Good places to start posting your link are social websites like Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Youtube, forums, chat rooms, blogs, etc.
http://jobrize.com/index.php?ref=160018

www.google.com/keacyz said...

I suspect this Americans, they just want to distroy any peaceful country.

U.S=Public Enemy

And secondly, do not be afraid of libel. Publish all comments no matter whose ox is gored. Feel free to add that all posts are the independent opinion of the posters. Then you become a censor free Change Agent. It will do us proud. After all that recognition by ThisDay shows you are making a difference. Do not be afraid. Your work is not even as difficult as NAFDAC.

The U.S is the largest breeder, groomer, recruiter and trainer of Terrorists followed by Saudi Arabia. Now they want South Africa to buy outdated weapons by all means from the U.S war mongers and manufacturers. Terrorism is a business racket by the West using the Jihadists as a cover.

ghen ghen! Thats how it started in Nigeria. e don happun!