Many die as Cholera outbreak hits Maiduguri IDP camps | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 16 September 2015

Many die as Cholera outbreak hits Maiduguri IDP camps

No fewer than 16 people have been confirmed dead with over 170 hospitalized after a recent cholera outbreak at the three IDP camps in Maiduguri, the Borno state capital. UNICEF officials and those from the World Health Organizations who are stationed at the camps say the situation in the camp at the moment is terrible and requires immediate and drastic action.

“The situation at the camps is terrible. It was sudden and already a large number has been affected. At the last count, we have 16 dead and about 172 affected. We are in an emergency health situation in those camps.”one of the officials told Vanguard in a telephone interview.
Meanwhile National Emergency Management Authority Information Officer, Abdulkadir Ibrahim has denied the outbreak of the viral disease but rather reported cases of diarrhoea and vomiting

32 comments:

hrm paul ojeih said...

They better contain it bfor it gets worse

I knew this was going to happen. Nigeria can't manage an IDP camp.

Oh!

Hmmm! RIP to d departed

Hmmmm...

Lord pls reach ur healing hands to our beloved and wipe out dis ailments frm their midst. RIP 2d dead and speedy recovery to sick.

When devil mean you, he go attack you from all side!! How unfortunate can a people be?!

Serious issue.

St Baggy

Tristanflow said...

Lord have mercy

May their souls rest in peace. Drastic measures should be taken to address the situation

Eyahhhhhh, double wahala. Something should be done ASAP pls.

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Oh may their soul RIP n I wish those injured quick recovery

Aunty linda biko

Mehn... Terrible, something should be done asap..

aproko manager said...

So bad

Northern Princess 7 said...

My State, how I wish I was the governor....Rip to them

Oh no :(

So sad. May the souls of the departed rest in peace + a speedy recovery to the sick. Linda take note!

andre kelvin said...

Na wa o! What is the govt doing

I have say it before an we keep on saying it,northern nigeria are curse there is no evil that you dont hear there.

Who we go believe?

The state government better sit up and do the needful.

Ehhhyyyaaa Fg shld do smtin asap biko ooo...

...Am gettin dere....

Linda, when did cholera become a viral disease?

FG shld pls control it. We no want epidemic o

Norrrrrrrrrrrrrrth! Arrrrghhhhh!!!

Dubby said...

Why do they always deny the truth? Rip to the dead

Quite sad! RIP to d dead.

Why do we have to wait for things to degenerate this bad before we do something

eljiggy said...

Linda come o . u r nt gettin smtins ryt o. Dis ur blog 4 b area wer we fit conduct reliable opinion polls on govt policies n happenings in d country. Dis gov almakurrah issue dey pain me wella. We shld nt let it die jst lyk dat . we gota embarass dus man till he apologises. Pls rerun dat story n lets n suggest wot shld b done 2 him. Obby ezekwesilli alredy started it. Lets continue. Almakura wall of shame till he apologises. N pls continue wit d aluu 4. One day it will b revisited