FG freezes Jonathan’s associates’ accounts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 6 September 2015

FG freezes Jonathan’s associates’ accounts

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC has secretly frozen the bank accounts of former President Jonathan’s associates. It learnt that the move by the anti-graft agency was aimed at scuttling the transfer of the alleged looted funds from the accounts for other reasons
A member of a transition committee of the All Progressives Congress on Friday, said the need had become necessary in view of the magnitude of the alleged theft of public resources by the affected persons.
ADVERTISEMENT
The APC chieftain spoke on the heels of the condemnation of President Buhari’s ongoing probe of the last administration of the Peoples Democratic Party and recovery of funds looted by public officials.

The source, who is now in the Presidency, said although he could not confirm if Jonathan’s recent meeting with Buhari discussed the issue, the action to ‘flag’ the said accounts of his associates might have been for security reasons.
The source also said the opposition Peoples Democratic Party was ignorant of the workings of the Federal Government, especially on security.

The source added, 
“This is not a matter of lobby or any politics that should be shoved aside; what is at stake is the nation’s security and nothing more.
“When the PDP says the current anti-corruption drive is selective, we continue to laugh at them because they do not seem to know what is at stake at all. If only they know, all the noise they have been making won’t be made at all.
“How many of these PDP elements know that just one individual benefitted from a single NIMASA transaction to the tune of N13bn, not to talk of about $57m he was said to have benefitted from controversial contract deals?
“Are these the things they ask us to sweep under the carpet? Certainly, we cannot because apart from the angle of the impunity and financial recklessness, does it make any sense if any responsible government allows such individuals, who had threatened war in the event that Jonathan did not win to have such huge sums in bank vaults? Such accounts must be flagged, of course.”
However, the PDP has asked President Buhari to follow the rule of law in his government’s determination to fight corruption.
The National Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Mr. Olisa Metuh, in an interview with a Pucnh correspondent on Saturday night, asked the President not to spare anyone, including his friends and members of the ruling APC in the crusade.

Metuh said:
“We are not against the war against corruption, but what we are saying is that the President must follow the rule of law.
“The law says every accused person is innocent until proven otherwise. Then, the President must also look at his party; he shouldn’t spare his friends.
“If any of our members is found to be corrupt, let them face the law of the land. But no one should be tagged as being corrupt when the court has not said so.”
He also asked the President to fund the anti-corruption agencies adequately, while saying that the agencies should also conduct what he described as “water-tight investigations” before rushing to the court.

Source: Punch

58 comments:

Kudos to them for this

It's getting interesting n gonna get messier

Very good, this is just the beginning.

#LordSandra said...

That's good

Huh! Dis is getting more serious and interesting. Linda take note!

Really? I hope it's all a rumour.

Hmmm! Now party chieftains dey talk boldly! When anew party takes over and does d same, make no bloody chieftain complain o! Cos i knw Nigerians

Amaka.u.l said...

Hmm

Ok good

How about the accounts of Otunba Akin Doherty frozen as well as getting probed for corruption?

Nice one.change is here in a big way

Elixir said...

I don't get it... a president's account can be frozen, while Stella Oduah can't be questioned by the same EFCC??????????

Ok ooo
We re watching
Let's see hw all dis unfold it's sef
Buhari shld not spare even his friends,supported
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Hmmm PMB is no joking

Nice move.He used our money to travel to Kenya for holiday.jonathan is a criminal.linda ikejis Hero.God will punish all of them

Hmmmmmmm speechless?very soon i mean very soon buhari's mision we be expose.may i just dey watch the terrorist,am sure the northerner's criminal's account we be freeze too.
Linda post it or not thats your business.

rubbish

Hmmmmmmm speechless?very soon i mean very soon buhari's mision we be expose.may i just dey watch the terrorist,am sure the northerner's criminal's account we be freeze too.

rubbish

rubbish

Buhari dey mad. Wat of tinubu and Amechi Acct. Useless Aboki man

Etsako Pearl said...

Oga metu,
Wat says u??

Ok nah

they are trying to use the law as an excuse bicuz they know they can just bribe the judges. These fools should be tried in sharia courts

i'm 100% positive that AllPastCriminals and the Dullard of Daura can't do anything to GEJ... they can harass his associates for all i care, but they'll be asking for big trouble if they dare touch GEJ.. Instead of Buhari to compel Amaechi to go and face the tribunal in Rivers, he's busy witch hunting PDP members.. It won't work Buhari, by the God i serve all APC members will be disgraced for lying to this country and shall be exposed for all their deceits.. Especially ThiefNuBu and Adams Oshomole...

Buhari biko.

Hmmmmm,change has come indeed.and dis write up simply translate to what tompolo did in d buying of ships instead of the nigeria navy.

SayTheTruth said...

what of ROTIMI AMAECHI and so many others ?????

Olisa Metusella or what do u call yaself, Buhari doesn't need your advice or insight on issues, besides watch ya own back, u might just be next. Imagine these PDParians, how one person can loot as much as 13biller. Lord have mercy

Let see where this goes, as many will be affected

Nice step no doubt....

Is APC an extension of the EFCC?

Ifenem...singing in tuface's voicee

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

Bloody thieves

Oh boy. They have really milked us dry

Shocking!  Infographic reveals what energy drinks do to the body within 24 hours

Oh boy, they have really milked us dry

Shocking!  Infographic reveals what energy drinks do to the body within 24 hours

joy Egbunu said...

..............and of the bunch of Jonathan's associates, you chose to use Kingsley Kuku's pic ? Not cool

Tell your Source that Nigerians are tired of their noisy anti corruption crusade by How will the people know and appreciate whatever you are doing when you are not telling them concrete facts. Instead you shout at the top of your voices and fill the media with speculative accusations like "just one individual benefitted from a single NIMASA transaction to the tune of N13bn, not to talk of about $57m he was said to have benefitted from controversial contract deals?". This is just rumours, gossips and fabricated propaganda stories to deceive the public and stigmatize their opponents unjustly. Can these statements be admissible in court? Statements like: "one individual is said to to have benefited" ...... "to the tune of about" Such statements are vacuous beer parlour gossips. Remember the lies spewed by Adams Oshimhole that a USA official told him of a minister who stole $billion. The USA Government debunked the lies and requested the idiot to name names. Of course he closed his dirty trap. Buhari and his APC should let their actions speak louder than their voices because Nigerians a getting deaf without seeing any thing.

Etsako Pearl said...

Boom!

Aunty linda

Aunty linda

Aunty linda

57m$...ahn ahn! Aye jonathan ma baje ni

Marcus said...

Okay ooooooo

We need action d talking is too much

All good and nice...

I wish PMB all d best in his fight against corruption and I hope dis yield positive developments to Nigerians.

Shalom!

Tripllem said...

This jonathan associates,they do have a name don't they,or are theirs names 'jonathan associates?am freaking getting tired of this jonathan associates this jonathan associates that!gosh

oga buhari this no be work way we ask you to do.

They should free this man jare. He didn't make nig ungovernable like Buhari so they should just free him

Get a life looser!!!

Tompolo and Asari Dokubos contract. We know

Guy, don't get yourself angry over nothing. You will be shocked when the financial recklessness started getting exposed. You might need to get worried if you happen to be an affiliate. Its terrible..real terrible...

Who are these pple always eager to defend the North, most corrupt region and origin of great financial recklessness in the govt. of Nigeria...