Recently there was a big uproar about the appointments made by President Buhari. I disagreed with those who complained that the President's appointment were lopsided. Appointments should not be made on the basis of ethnicity, region or religion. Appointments should be made strictly on merit! As far as I am concerned, the President can appoint all his appointees from the same state as long as they are the best Nigeria has to offer.
In 2013, Nigeria won the Africa Cup of Nations. That victory was only possible because we selected our best players.
A
large proportion of the squad were from the Southeast and Southsouth
including Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim, Joseph Yobo,
Elderson Echiejile, Kenneth Omuero, Efe Ambrose, Azubuike Egwuekwe,
Godfrey Oboabona, Mikel Obi, Reuben
Gabriel, Nosa Igiebor, Obiora Nwankwo, Brown Ideye, Ogenyi Onazi, while
Ejike Uzoenyi, Victor Moses, Ikechukwu Uche, Sunday Mba and Emmanuel Emenike.
Nobody
complained that this squad was lopsided because we knew these were our
best and if we wanted to win we had to present our best. At the end of
the day they brought home the cup and that was all that mattered.
In
the same vein, nobody should complain about where Buhari's appointees
come from. What we should insist on is that they are appointed on the
basis of merit and that at the end of 2019 they must bring home the cup
by giving Nigerians good governance that will yield tangible democracy
dividends.
Nigerians are always quick to say the problem with Nigeria is corruption, but I am not so sure it is.
Corruption is a symptom of the problem but it in itself is not the problem.
Corruption
is the catarrh coming out of Nigeria's nose. If you experience catarrh
you do not treat it by merely cleaning your nose. The discharge will
just keep coming because you are treating the symptom not the cause.
The way to treat catarrh is by treating its root cause which is the common cold.
What is the common cold that is causing the discharge of mucous from Nigeria's nose?
In my humble opinion, it is quota system and the principle of federal character.
Federal character and quota system are the root cause of corruption in Nigeria.
As
long as ethnicity is the yardstick for admitting children into schools
or recruiting adults into the civil service, we will never have a merit
driven system and where we do not have a merit driven system, the end
result will be corruption.
President Muhammadu
Buhari means well in his anti corruption battle, but if a civil servant
has to report to someone who is less qualified than him and who only
got his position because of quota system or federal character, his
morale would be low and he will not be committed and when opportunity
presents itself to be corrupt, that civil servant will seize it and he
will not feel sorry or guilty.
As long as there
is no level playing field in Nigeria, none of our anti corruption
efforts will work. We will merely be cleaning rye discharge of mucous
from our nose. There cannot be a successful anti corruption war in the
midst of social injustice.
Nigerians are not by nature correct. It is the Nigerian system that is by nature corrupt.
The
other day the Federal Ministry of Education released cut off marks for
unity schools and the cut off Mark for one state is 138 out of 200 while
the cut off mark for another state is 4 out of 200.
This is not a joke! This is a reality in modern day Nigeria in the year 2015 and I kid you not!
Right
there and then Nigeria has planted the seed of corruption in the heart
of the child from the 138/200 state and the seed of entitlement in the
heart of the child from the 4/200 state.
Any
system that is not built on merit cannot but be corrupt. It is a fact of
life and those who do not like this inconvenient truth can get as angry
as they like with me and people like me, but that will not change the
truth.
Whether we like to say it or not or
whether we choose to pretend it does not exist, the truth remains that
so many groups in Nigeria feel alienated by quota system and federal
character.
We have grand plans as a nation of
being amongst the top 20 biggest economies of the world by 2020, but
which of the countries amongst the current top 20 economies has a system
like ours?
The answer is none.
The
G 7 nations of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United
Kingdom, and the United States along with their partner nations of China
and Russia are constantly competing with each other in the areas of
early childhood to high school education.
If
the educational pass rates of children in America is slipping when
compared to that of other nations in the G-7, it will become a major
electoral issue.
The influential Paris-based
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) releases a
regular triennial study of global education systems and these nations
keenly compete to outdo each other in these rankings.
Now,
how can Nigeria expect to join their ranks and compete internationally
when we do not even allow fair competition domestically?
Are
we going to write a letter to the G-7 or the OECD telling them that is
not fair to expect us to compete with them and ask them to lower the
standards for us?
I don't think so!
Merit
is the way. No, I take that back. Merit is the ONLY way. And I thank
God that we have a President with the foresight to base his appointments
solely on merit.
That is a beginning, now we
must ensure that merit is also applied to admission into government
schools and recruitments into the public service.
102 comments:
Hmmm! Seen
Yeah sure! I 100 % agree with you on this, man. .....
Seen.
Wrong Reno, Onazi is from Kogi.
A WORD IS ENOUGH FOR THE WISE.GOOD THINKING ,GOOD PRODUCT
Linda you sure say na Oliseh Metuh dey talk, impossicant. He truly talks from the two sides of his mouth. Oliseh, PMB didn't put your name on the list of appointments,but with this write-up, I bet you can get a job in America. PMB doesn't need your support or endorsement. Abeg park well biko. Divert the energy into something more meaningful for your past administration or better still Shut up!
Preach on..... shame to bad people, who derive pleasure in spreading corruption, change is what we need and change we must get by God grace... for those who are not in support, u can migrate to a near by country shekenan!
So which side r u on...cnt rily tell. Cos u point ended up being dat his appointments were based on ethnicity n mayb merit. R u advising or criticising, ur epistle doesn't show
Reno omokri, Your article just made my day
Wow!!! So this Reno Omokri has sense after all??? Na wa o! Very impressive piece. Abeg easterners take several seats back. Your wahala is too much, if you can't handle Buhari, you can cross the sea and go and continue your criminal activities in europe
Linda you sure say na Oliseh Metuh dey talk, impossicant. He truly talks from the two sides of his mouth. Oliseh, PMB didn't put your name on the list of appointments,but with this write-up, I bet you can get a job in America. PMB doesn't need your support or endorsement. Abeg park well biko. Divert the energy into something more meaningful for your past administration or better still Shut up sir!
As I read through this write up, I felt a sign of relieve that someone in this country like Reno Omokri still exist. He spelt it out word by word. Kudus Reno, well said.
Nice one Reno,what a fabulous truthful write up.
hmmmmm okay o
aunty linda
hmmmmm okay o
aunty linda
I disagree. There are exceptional people everywhere. So we can assemble a group of exceptional a from every constituency abeg.
Gbam! I concur, federal character breeds corruption and makes mockery of meritocracy.
RENO YOU ARE TALKING RUBBISH. Are wiser that our fathers that put federal character in the constitution as a way to manage our ethno-social crises? Rather Nepotism is the worse cause of corruption in Nigeria and that is what PMB has been doing. Who says there is nobody that is qualified from the other regions that are neglected? I just hope you are not trying to attract sympathy from PMB or APC
I totally agree with him
You have spoken well.. but comparing the governing system to that of the national team is absolutely myopic. The national team first is an open system, it is opened to the study of the viewers to ascertain who plays better when called up. If we have better northern players in the like of garbal lawal they wil be called up.
The Nigerian system is aot different. We have more than "plenty" southerners that that could equate the present appointees by Mr president. If corruption free paradigm is the motive of selecting people, then I must say the president and his entire team are wrong. Corruption is systematic and can be curbed by building a system that closes all loop holes in various sector, it requires utmost monitoring from the number one citizen of the country of which setting down effective policies and good minds to fully implement while at his watch. If Mr president say he hasn't found competent hands to fill the positions of the recent appointees then I believe he is saying the south easterners are corrupt which is absolutely wrong. Data shows that Nigeria has experienced more Embezzlement and money laundering from northern Nigerians within our 54 years as a nation. To keep us as a nation, we must not allow circumstances that led to. The massacre of over 2milliion igbo's occur. That was why the federal character was highlighted and we must lead by it.
The first time he said something reasonable.you guys have not seen anything yet.you people will still follow Buhari by fire by force.
Brilliant write up.
Quite impressive piece and i hope government will look at your propositions.
Dude I can see ur really jobless na who wan read dis ur long dry story. I can see ur really advertising urself for a new job. Smmmmmmhhhhh nothing for u bros, u keep wasteing ur time
best article i have read from Reno. thank you
Dude I can see ur really jobless na who wan read dis ur long dry story. I can see ur really advertising urself for a new job. Smmmmmmhhhhh nothing for u bros, u keep wasteing ur time
i jes tire for Nigerian..its really pathetic, even d so claimed learned ones
So true, wen u tak an opportunity from sum1 who merits it,jst bcos he/she isn't frm an ethnic group,religion,or not connected to d high of d society,u tak away an opportunity 2 c d best from dat system!
Quite impressive piece,more especially coming from Reno Omokri. Nice one
As much as I will like to agree with you, I will want to ask if all our Havard uni grads only come from North West. Are you saying no one has merit to run federal parastals in other parts of the country like south east. It has been the north enjoying lower cut off marks from the inception of Nigeria including Buhari. He is tribalistic period.
Well written. However the question I'm asking the writer is....Are the so called persons with merit found only in the northern part of nigeria? If we have a benchmark then iam sure that there are also persons that meet them too in other parts too.
for once, i will comment on your blog. Reno's write up hits the bull'e eye. he is being factual and I am sure he expects only to give the average 'NIGERIAN' a proper understanding on how to move the country forward. Thanks Reno for the write up; thanks Linda for sharing it with us.
Hellooo
LOL , this guy should give me a break from these idiotic write up. Reno supporting buhari makes me laugh. In as much as appointment on merit is Good, advising PMB to disregard principle of Federal character is like leading PMB to his altimate downfall. BUT thank God PMB is wiser than u RENO lol.
Make sense... nice one Reno
Whilst I have my reservations against this line of argument.
But as the article espoused, Buhari's appointments strategy will only make sense if he ensures "that merit is also applied to admission into government schools and recruitment into the public service."
Ho-ha!
God Bless Nigeria!!!
I hated dis guy b4. I'm now beginning to like him. Lol. Sound submissions
absolutely correct...but we are waiting to see this applied,and hope you will not speak from both sides of the mouth when the table turns around.
Well said and the first PDP member to see right in President Buhari.
well written. We want things to change for the better and if appointment by merit will improve things, it should be considered and supported by all ethnic groups, tribes, religious groups, individuals and society.
Mr. Omokri you confused yourself on a bid to make your point. You mentioned Super Eagle, mentioned admission, competition and merit, and ended by implying that only Northerners are competent to work with PMB. You forgot that apart from Ahmed Musa, no notable professional player again from North can make Super Eagle if its my merit, you also forgot that its only at the North that cut-off marks for admissions are far lesser than the South and you seem not to understand that naturally no Northerner can compete with a Southerner in an open and free competition, and that Federal Character was made primarily to favour Northerners who can't compete favourably with the Southerners, but have the mere population. So if you want talk about merit, direct it to Northerners who are using their sheer number and the dis-unity among the Southerners to subject them to second colonialism.
Okay seen....
I do not like Reno Omokri as a person due to past antecedents, but he has a very valid point here and has spoken nothing but the truth. Nigeria needs to wake up and face this issue. Its now or never!
If Reno Omokri isn't just spewing sacarcism, I must say his article is so apt, he just spoke d truth I have always harped on which is this issue of ethnicity crippling our progress and it being d major feeder of corruption in our Nigerian state. A matrix is something that life grows out of, it's like a mortar and pestle, if d mortar was not well molded and it has inherent discontent and deformation of structure, d pounded yam or any food content will always come out stained and polluted, having impurities, and vice versa if d mold is just fine. Imagine d matrix which produces our fingernails being deformed from its creation or origin, we would end up having a deformed nail. This is what Reno stresses, corruption is indeed of our system and rife in our constitution, no embedded in our dispositions.
This man could not be more correct. When will we see a future bright
My dear Omokri, I can personally infer from your writing that you are a totally confused man. Considering ur statiscal presentation of different state's cut off mark, does it sound audible to you if the federal ministerial position and its like are all dished out to a particular region of the country all in the name of curing the corrupt sectors of the country? Does that mean that there are no certified personalities that are not corrupt from every other regions and tribes of Nigeria except from the north? I now see why Jonathan had problems with Nigerians.....because he surrounded himself with unreasonably blind future foresighters..... It will mean that a particular region's cut off mark for these federal posts is high while the others are low if PMB will continue choosing and anointing position holders from the north..... That notion that one region is a "born ruler" must be erased, let the president open his eyes and make his findings and he will see and meet with leaders with a credible character and personality. And people like Omokri should just stop blaspheming and not create a problem that he won't be around to solve for us in the later future........ #futureleadersmouthpiece
You seem to have a good head on them shoulders, where has it been all the while. Some time ago legislators stopped a scholarship for first class university graduates because some northern states felt they were not getting a fair bargain. Do the organizers use quota for that too.
couldn't have agreed better with reno on this one.. excellent piece of truth.
the Nigerian constitution supports mediocrity by the federal character. The country can never be great if we do not use our best. Many are denied opportunities because of where their parents come from and not necessarily where they are born. so the expectation of 2 children in an exam even though they are both born in Gombe and attend the same school and taught by the same teachers will be different because of federal character. We should address the citizenship question. You should come from where you are born. I have friends who are more Hausa than Yoruba as they are born and raised in northern Nigeria.
Wow!
I am so bless reading dis wonderful article. He spoke well and its as if he took dis words right out of my heart.
He nailed dis write up frm d beginning to d ending mostly wit dis vital point "Any system that is not built on merit cannot but be corrupt".
Thumbs up and more power to his elbows for dis wonderful and lovely article.
Wow!
I am so bless reading dis wonderful article. He spoke well and its as if he took dis words right out of my heart.
He nailed dis write up frm d beginning to d ending mostly wit dis vital point "Any system that is not built on merit cannot but be corrupt".
Wow!
Reno just ended up contradicting himself. What a shame coming from someone like him. He talks about merit being the only yardstick yet supports buhari's appointments that cannot be proven to be based on merit.
This is true, merit is the only way forward for us in Nigeria to be better
Reno spoke well.
I agree sir!
Well said! It is about time we do away with quota system or federal character or whatever it is called. PMB is on the right track and we should not allow these political bigots to distract him.
Oga ar u nw a buhari supporter
I strongly concur with you sir...I'm we'll get it right soon and we'll finally get there.
God bless you! Please can we be friends? Your writer up is one of the most sensible I have seen on this blog. Mr Omokri It looks like this is a desperate attempt to find favour in the eyes of the president because of the contradictory statements.
God bless you, we need more people like you in this country
Hahahaha... this only makes me laugh. does it mean that there's no qualified candidate with good merit from a whole geo-political Zone. Reno!!! This is just like an insult to the Southeast and SouthSouth. How I wish can see you and give you a good hot slap for this insult. Madman Reno!!!
This article should have ended with "of course this is sacarsm" the part about the tertiary institutions and their cut off mark contradicted his stance on merit. Asides that he mentioned the nation's cup of 2013, my question is which other northern footballer could he point to that deserved to be on that team asides Ahmed Musa since we are talking about merit. With all due respect sir you have actually contradicted yourself so much that you have managed to sound senseless.
Both of you are obviously brain dead. I weep for your foolishness
Who is this anonymous PDP man going about making unintelligent people seem intelligent. I will personally counter all your deceitful posts
Royal priesthood I'm impressed
Tony Elochukwu a whole nation is not based on an appointment from your tribe. Is that all that really matters to you? Really ?
Lovely lovely lovely write up. God bless you sir. We have honest people after all. God bless this fight for change. God help us as we separate the weed from the crops. God has remembered nigeria with buhari. The way Israel was remember with Jesus but the people did not see, still cannot see otherwise we won't have Jews till now. When a messiah comes the people that are blind get their conditions worsened but we that can see, see even brighter. God bless you sir. I'm an igbo girl but never a tribalistic one. GOD bless my president God bless nigeria.
Article is on point.I couldn't have said it better.
Until we start to reward excellence,Nigeria as a nation will grow slowly if at all.
10,000 likes for dis coment. Dis guy is worst dan Oshiomole he criticized a few days ago. North n merit my foot. Den wen som1 frm south East gets into power, d best will immediately bcom d easterners.#creatin division n disunity witout knowin is wat hapns wen u play down on d federal xter principle.
Reno-O-Mockery,if you have a president whose part of his mission statement calibrate the country into percentages,well the idea of merit lost its value.Participatory Governance is not football..Exclude any part,under any argument,that part becomes a conquered territory/ or occupied zone.Dont tell me you would mind if the British is still ruling us as long as they can deliver at the end of the day.
Hehehe Nigerians have one talent. No, I take that back. Nigerians have JUST one talent 'FAMZING'. The same Reno Omokri that criticized Buhari during the campaigns, supported AIT while they blasted Buhari but to name a few and what can we term that? He was doing his job. I laugh real loud! The trouble with Nigeria begins with YOU.
Can't wait for FFK to render his support also. Alongside others. It's such a pity. The same men and women who instigated GEJ's downfall simply bcs he trusted, would stab the same GE. Well I trust Mr President, he'd never fall prey to these backstabbing folks and he's a sage, way too smart for child's play.
That's the way to go...
Very true and realistic
See how ignorance is flowing from your mouth, Easterners? You're so gullible, how I wish you would study your history before talking. Godforbid I ever have a one on one conversation with someone like your, your ignorance can be transmitted.
God bless you. You have spoken well
And that is democracy to you? See why we're almost stagnant as a nation? smj
*write
Wow!
In accordance with the appointments made by the president are we saying no other region has qualified men and women as much as the north? maybe you don't understand but 35 out of 42 appointments? And we are here talking about merit? Please where is the logic in this? So no one from the east merits it? Please what are we saying as Nigerians? Don't be blinded by the change we want this is not it.
God bless you!
To contribute to this comment is Mr Reno saying no one merited any appointment from an entire region/geo political zone? Not one appointment from the east? How is this not an issue? 35/42 appointments were merited by the North? How is this not an issue? When it's time for university cut off marks then the same north would have a special review case how is this not an issue? NIGERIANS PLEASE WAKE UP, WE DESERVE BETTER THAN THIS, WE AS YOUTHS NEED TO STAND UP FOR OURSELVES, Mr Reno made no point if you critically look at it but as usual those who are gullible would praise this insult for a good write up
And how well as it worked for Nigeria? We are looking for a way forward and people like you can't keep us down. Better shape up or ship out.
Reno omokri, it is true that buhari needs to appoint persons based on merit. It is also true that people of merit are in every regions of the country. What your write up is about is that you called our past statesmen who knew about the complexity of the ethnic make up Fools. They knew why they enshrined in the constitution the Federal Character Principles so that any region would not be marginalized. That is the reason why the Middle East hast exploded into Anarchy and Genocide because a particular tribe wants to lord it over the other. So your opinion on this is very Foolish and don't make any sense. Let me divert to another area that need discussion. Gov Fayose lambasted the buhari administration on the recent invasion of the Akwa Ibom state house. A lot of the attack dogs that support this administration attacked the governor saying it is none of his business. That the Akwa Ibom government should speak for itself. Now, a member of the house of Representatives representing the state has come out with a scathing Allegation that the Invasion was an Assassination Attempt on the life of the New Governor. He said, if they have succeeded, the government will put the blame on Armed Robbers. I totally agree with him. Just 100 days in office of this new Administration, Assassination Attempt is now being planned. The DSS carried out the orders from Above. I think this country is entering dangerously new level of Anarchy. Nigerians should watch out.
Very shallow, confusing and self contradicting reasoning. Out of job, out of pocket and out of deep contemplation. The decline has started.
Reno knw dis today,i believe u re older dan me bt there re tins i knw dat u dnt knw.nija is a tribalistic nation nd nobody can change dat.b4 d election we heard abt nija bcoming a muslim nation bt it was al a rumour bt now lok @ his appointments nd see if it is true or nt.
I do agree with you Reno, but how are we sure the president is sincerely using merit to appoint these individuals to these various positions. If I must say, if you must use federal character, you should not use it at the expense of merit based appointments, both can be used together. Also merit does not necessarily equate with superiority in the civil service, they are two different things entirely, A person can be effective for a post yet inferior in ranking to his alternative. so saying the morale of a worker made to work under a boss who is less qualified would diminish is wrong. Finally, if we decide that the federal quota system is no longer working for us then the president and the Senate should make moves to amend the constitution, after all the federal character system is in our constitution.
*The root problem with this country is not the federal quota system but our disregard for the constitution which you openly endorse.
Well said Endydecency
All wailers are pdp, but apparently not All pdp are wailers....this is what opposition is actually about...giving CONSTRUCTIVE criticism when necessarily....not whining, lamenting, crying, complaining, and wailing for everything....even things of benefit to yourself and the nation.
Oooh, so he is talking rubbish and you are talking nonsense. Your fathers that were super tribalistic had the wisdom to introduce federal character because they could not stand each other. Where has it led you to? Are you any better off for what they did? Are you a better person than they are? Or are you as tribalistic as they were? Why is it that when someone is trying to be objective you are always like "he is looking for something". I guess you're that kind of person that does "something for something"
He is jobless, he is well known. You on the other hand that is not jobless, you're on lib reading his dry story. Who is deceiving who
Good bless you, however you are do wrong. You my dear is tribalistic. You see yourself as a tribe, not a Nigerian first and foremost. How do you truly work as a team when you consider yourself different from other members of the team. No wonder there is no positive development in Nigeria. It is always about tribe. Even within the tribe, there is division, yet you want progress. Which is more important to you? Appointments or progress, I already know your answer.
Keep wishing
U are sooo on point!!
Merit! Merit!! Merit!!!. If we are talking of Merit southerners is merited for an appointment than northerners so no body should talk of Merit in d issue of appointments period.
We need more comments from people like you. Clearly,you know what you're saying. It'll help a lot of clueless people on this blog