The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transportation, Oluseyi Whenu, disclosed this at a meeting in Lagos with the leadership of the various transport unions in the State. He explained that the restriction was to ensure strict enforcement of the Road Traffic Law, which, according to him, was often violated by the trailer drivers. He said the government would henceforth go tough on any trailer that contravenes the law.
News, Events, Entertainment, Lifestyle, Fashion, Beauty, Inspiration and yes... Gossip! *Wink*
Sunday, 6 September 2015
Amen! Lagos State government restricts trailers from plying roads from 6am to 9pm
The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Transportation, Oluseyi Whenu, disclosed this at a meeting in Lagos with the leadership of the various transport unions in the State. He explained that the restriction was to ensure strict enforcement of the Road Traffic Law, which, according to him, was often violated by the trailer drivers. He said the government would henceforth go tough on any trailer that contravenes the law.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
110 comments:
This is very impressive. Other states shd pls follow suit.
AMEN ooo. This one na dream come true
WATCH ACTRESS GENEVIEVE NNAJI'S BLUE FILM HERE
3 gbosa for Governor wer sabi.
That's a welcome development. Heavy truck trailers should also be forced to undergo drug test in addition to this measure.
Confam
Other states should also make this law.
Thank God o
Ah oshiomole shud do sumting like this here in benin na..chai
*cute bree*
Thank God o
Good.
Its been like that in ph n sum other cities..wonder y lagos just De hear d cock crow.
Oluwaseun. That's goodnews
Amen o
Good!
Better
Better o.
This administration is still confused. What is needed is ensuring that the trailers are road worthy and containers well fastened. So the new directive is to unleash weapons of death at road users who are on the road in the night. Mind you by 9pm most days ikorodu road is still choked and guys are still waiting on the island for it to clear before they get on the road.
That's d way it is!
This is a very good decision by the govt!
Hope they would truly adhere to the tules of the land. Kudos Ambode
Tnk God
NOT ENOUGH. Make sure they secure their containers, tankers, carriages, etc
Fashola did it before, but enforcement was the problem. It was originally fasholas idea. Let's watch implementation and enforcement now
Thank God!
Hope it's true though!
Thank God!
Wow! But it suppose to be 6am-7pm. My own opinion
Thank God!
thank God.
Oh that's great news
Aunty linda biko
Thank God I love it they shud adhere to dis time cos They ve Killed so many ppl for no reason with their reckless driving
Thank you Lord!!!
Indeed we are free
Thank God some people finally woke up from clueless mind, it would have been perfect if its from 6am -midnight and any company that fails to apply this rules should face serious penalty.
Thank God oo .we are getin der.
Well overdue, well done.
This is change abi Aunty linda....
Thank God! I hope they listen
Amen. May this become accomplished in Jesus name, amen. Its been long over due for this ban on trailers plying d city during d day.
Better,linda Watin I do u if I post comment u no dey post am,watin I do u?
Yasssss! Ambode the man! God bless uuuuu. If its true o
Now those death traps trailers without head lights will start coming out well. Please fix the street lamps cos of night crawlers as well.
This is like the best news of 2015, just wot i have been suggesting...... But the time is not right, they shld make it 6am to 7pm.....i think 9pm is very late
No be small Amen o! I hope dis would hold waters. Linda take note!
I pray this is really enforced. Reminds me of the days of Idiagbon when such restriction was placed on trailers. In those days, them (trailer drivers) no born them well to defy that order.
At last
Dat's veryyy gud,hp all d whole state wil strt doin it too...
...Am gettin dere...
So it took the lives of many people for these government to get their acts together. We need proactive people in power not people who act on lost lives.
So it took Lagos state government so long to decide on this.. What a shame!!!...
It shouldn't be just in lagos,it should be every in d country...plsssssss
Wow!
Dis development is so great and nice. I pray dis goes a long way to stop d last incident we saw.
Shalom!
This is good
So the accidents will happen in the dark now? Surely the way to go is to ensure the road worthiness of these trucks and reduce their numbers on the roads.
I really don't get the banning in the daytime.
Thank God,those people that died have paid for others.
Thank God. I hope dey adhere to it
Not back but not yet uhuru.
This is Good News!! I hope this news is confirmed? Fantastic...
Until it is enforced. We are waiting oh
In other countries big truck are not even allowed on some roads. 3T not allowed is everywhere but in Nigeria a country where these truck drivers have no regards for other road users they are allowed to commit murder everyday.
Jehovah Nissi please protect us and our loved ones in the mighty name of Jesus. Amen
That's a good one
Perfect
Tank God. at least traffic will reduce. I left lagos bcus of traffic
Nice one!
What of the robbers that ply the roads?
Is that a solution, they should fix roads and officials should check trucks for road worthiness and make sure trucks are safe to be on the road. Most of the accidents are caused by bad roads and dead trucks that are not road worthy. This are people's means of livelihood too, restricting the good trucks because of a few bad ones is wrong. Just my take
Very good. Enough is enough. I feel bad this rule will affect trailers who are actually compliant but too many deaths and mishaps so i am pleased with this development
I hope it works o....
Thank God!haba enough of the reckless driving!
This is a very welcome development. The trailer accidents has become just too much. I'm glad something has been done finally. I hope the trailer drivers/owners adhere.
Good
Just that? Will there be checks to ensure all trucks are road worthy and containers are properly strapped before they are allowed to move? Please bear in mind these containers can still fall on people's houses
Well...
OKORO UPGRADED
As much as i understand the plight of lagosians, this makes no sense. i own 5 trucks and i will explain what this means for the haulage business. a ship berths at terminal and is being charged every day it stays. Are we saying the ports should only be opened overnight? Do we actually know what this means for the haulage industry? i think the smart thing to do like every other sensible community is to give non rush hour times to trucks, let trucks move any time from 11pm to 5am and11am to 3pm. We should also not allow trucks that are not fit for the road load talkless of even moving. its not rocket science.
I'm not excited about this because I already know how it ends... we are in a country where rules are not enforced. That law has been in our statute books since 2012 but has never been implemented. I don't see what has changed. The way I see it, the implementation of this law will endanger more lives on our roads...LASTMA officials will now struggle steering with drivers and in the process... Your guess is as good as mine. God help us!
Nice dev
We said,
I swear that's what i wanted. Enough is enough
Amen... Hope the law enforcement agents would enforce it. Same goes to all d governors in south east and south south.
Now the government is working. Bt must they wait till something tragic happens!
Use to be like dat in ph, bt nw all dis trailer drivers don enter rd again
nonsense,,what if they are stuck in traffic within those hours...how on earth do you enforce such laws for truckers...CLUELESS MORON!
Uk Tog
It took how many deaths for this government to swing into action.. I must say I am disappointed..!
I hope other states follow suit
It's not enough that Lagos State restricted the movement of trailers. Buhari needs to create a transportation department that requires registration by truck companies; mandatory insurance premium coverage by these same companies; and the certification of truck drivers.
This is how you create jobs. You see a need within society and fill it.
***Lush
It's not enough that Lagos State restricted the movement of trailers. Buhari needs to create a transportation department that requires registration by truck companies; mandatory insurance premium coverage by these same companies; and the certification of truck drivers.
This is how you create jobs. You see a need within society and fill it.
***Lush
Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This has bn my prayer. Tnk u Lord
They had to wait for people to die, everybody in Lagos knew those trailers were carrying containers not tied to the truck and it was risky nobody did anything about it until these accidents started claiming lives as usual? Smh
good idea, I'm really impressed
#Good!
This is a welcomed idea,, but I do wish that fines should also be imposed on Trailers that are not fastened , hefty fine of about 1 million naira , this will make the transporters to sit up.
Praise God> this is a welcome relief>
nice one.
hope the state has made provision for parking cos they will end up parking on the roads waiting for ti e to pass
Thank God Ambode is the man.. Please send this massage to our president so that he can stop all the trailers from using the road till night, they have destroyed a lot of families and caused pains to the nation especially the dangote trucks that all the drivers smoke indian hemp while driving and they knocked down the my trucks carrying LPG and until now they have not compensated the family of my driver who was killed in the accident and even my product that is worth almost 3million. Am coming for them Dangote All your tucks should even be banned from using the roads until you you employ experienced drivers
yaaaaayyyy now we can have peace of mind while plighing the busy roads by day,and i pray dis thanker drivers and their owners can adher to this law and never go against it.
Well,
The law seems to be good on paper, but in the actual sense, this law is unsustainable.
Most companies in Lagos and environment needs their raw material to be supplied 24hrs non-stop, hence the need for trailer truck or else these companies will fold-up.I beleieve the law can be reframed to be; strictly no truck movement between 7am and 10am and betwen 4pm and 7pm( we also know what happened the last time thesame law was introduced; Dangote contest it at the court of law and won against the govt.
The solution should be, The transport sector should be regulated,evry tom , dick and harry should not be transporter. The govt and her official are also contributing to all these fatal accident, or how do we explain it, the trucks that we all see not to be road worthy are certified by govt official to be road worthy. why are container truck allowed to carry containers without properly latching it? who is to be blamed?
I think before such law can be introduced our inland water ways transport system must be revived, the rail system must be up and running, these will automatically reduce the pressure on our roads and reduce the accidents. Govt should promulgate laws that will enhance other forms of tranportation and even the ports in Lagos should also be decentralised by having inland prot at diffrent locations in all geopolitical zones of the country.After these the trailers will fade -oof the road without being forced by law.
The govt shld enforce dis law once and for all, I remember hearing this before no truck shld move bla bla bla ....please stand on wat u've enforced and save lives....recklessness is taking lives...else lagosian will take it up...any truck seen at noon will be stopped and driver held hostage.
I concur with your submission. Plus this would lead yo over congestion of the ports and loss of revenue. Ports in neighbouring countries will be uses to decongest and this would badly affect our economy. NY implication, are customs and clearing agents moq being mansatef to work at night to the detriment of the safety of their lives?
I understand that this move is clearly for over riding public interest but tact and diplomacy should also be employed by the state government
Well said