103 year old Georgia woman banned from her church | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 16 September 2015

103 year old Georgia woman banned from her church

103-year-old Genora Hamm Biggs has attended the Union Grove Baptist Church in Georgia since she was 11 years old and even worked as the church's secretary for some 40 years.
But Biggs was banned last month from attending after she disagreed with the church's pastor over his preaching style, Fox affiliate WAGA-TV reported.

Biggs said she disagreed with the way the pastor preached which she characterizes as a "Holiness style" that she claims doesn't belong in the Baptist church.

Biggs told the station that she and the current pastor of six years, Rev. Tim Mattox, have long sparred over his preaching style,
"At one point, he had a crew in here and they were hollering and falling out in the middle of the floor," Biggs told the station. "We don't do that in the Baptist Church."
Biggs said tensions came to a head in early August when Mattox sent her a letter stating she could no longer attend church there "for any reason whatsoever," the station reported.
"This letter is to inform you that according to the By-Laws of the Union Grove Baptist Church, and by vote of the active members, any membership or associations that you have had with this church are now officially revoked," read the letter, dated Aug. 2.
On Sunday, police was called to the small, white church in Elberton, Ga., after Biggs decided to attend service anyway, according to the station. Police said there was nothing they could do because the matter is a civil dispute between Biggs and the church.

Biggs, meanwhile, said nothing will stop her from attending the church.
"This is my church, I love this church, and he cannot stop me from going," Biggs told the station.

40 comments:

Beautiful butterfly said...

In emJay's Voice "just negodu" and "Jesus Fix it"

Nii said...

This news article is really interesting. If she disagrees with her pastor's preaching style, why should that lead to her ban from church? Or wait, they expect us to be quiet and watch them destroy the Church? I am so pained :/

Nice one ma'am. Speak the truth always. Irrespective of whose ox is gored.

Hahaha...dat pastor doesn't have respect for his elders.

St Baggy

Why ban 103 years old woman from attending church? That pastor needs serious deliverance

Northern Princess 7 said...

Nothing I will not hear here Linda ikeji blog

Bann someone from church because she disagreed with your preaching style? How petty and unchristian like.

seyi crown said...

Make them sort am out their biz

Seyilicious

Roseberry said...

D pastor is out for business.... Church business

I love your faith n determination Granny G. End time pastor take note oo

Not every one seems to be a fan of the extravagant preaching we see these days! LOL

Like seriously ? The pastor needs help !

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

Imagine banning a women who is close to her grave.

onyeuwaoma said...

The pastor should rather leave the church with his cohorts and go form another church where they can practice in their style.

Aha!

Grandma tins must change for d better and u don't expect d old style practice to stil continue in dis current move of d holy spirit.

Indeed change is d only constant tin life and all must adhere to change or b short change.

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

Bitter pastor

Aha!

Grandma tins must change for d better and u don't expect d old style practice to stil continue in dis current move of d holy spirit.

Indeed change is d only constant tin life and all must adhere to change or b short change.

Aha!

Do you know if the woman was causing disturbance. Sometimes old people especially women can be so cantankerous. Also sometimes some people especially older people push against anything resembling change. Should two different pastors have the same preaching style. She is just saying her truth.

Lolz...asin ehhh

Thanks ma for your courage, the church is the body of christ, therefore, no pastor has the right to ban anybody, you can be suspended from activities you are involved in IF you are found wanting...but certainly not ban.

Why wouldn't they respect the opinion of the oldest member, she certainly knows what she is saying having been there for so long. Linda take note!

Missy Jay said...

Wonders shall never end. That woman dedicated her life to the church for more than 90 years and this is what she gets in return

andre kelvin said...

How dem take dey ban person from church again

That pastor need cain

Aunty linda biko

Who is d pastor 2 ban a person 4rm attending church, Is he d owner of D church? JESUS owns d church not d human, hmmm!!! May God save us 4rm all diz fake ppl parading demselves as men of God

Since when did people get banned from church....nawa oooo...this is wrong

Very good that she did not listen to the pastor trying to stop her from going to her church, he want her to start looking for another church at her age haba, the pastor should not be rigid, he should be open to criticism he should learn from his mistakes and be a better preacher to his congregation shikena!!!

Teddy said...

Ur so shallow! Good thing ur pretty, but can only take u so far...
#teambeauty&brains

If am to be their judge,I will put the blame on both of them because i will say Biggs is wrong saying she disagree with the pastors way of preaching then on the other hand I would say the pastor on his own side was wrong as well, banning Biggs from worshiping in God's own church, the church in the first place belongs to God almighty and not man but would you blame the pastor when most pastors of his type see the church as theirs and not God's own

Agatha said...

Churches in Nigeria are seeking members while some are banning members.

Madam don't mind him, follow what you believe in.

The pastor is insane! Who is he to ban someone from entering the church....smh

Sadly this is what 'the church' has become...showmanship.

Gbam! D old woman has said it all....nobody can stop her from attending church there! Go granny!!

Real Jewel said...

Mama says she has a problem with the "holiness style" of preaching, what I understand here is that mama has been an orthodox church person and the new style of preaching doesn't suit here style and so she is revolting, if the church system sees her as a threat they have the write to ask her to leave cos their other churches she can attend that will suit her own style, Btw at 103, she is expected to act stubbornly.

Dubby said...

No one has the right to ban someone from attending church service. I wonder what the pastor preaches

AND THIS IS WHY I LOVE WHITES,THEY ARE TRUTHFUL TO THE CORE,REGARDLESS OF WHO IS INVOLVED. NOT NIGERIANS THAT WORSHIP THEIR PASTORS INSTEAD OF GOD. NO NIGERIAN CAN DO THIS.

Imagine a pastor just for 6 years banning a woman who has been attending the church for 92 years?