Cecil the Lion fundraiser led by Jimmy Kimmel surpasses $150k | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 August 2015

Cecil the Lion fundraiser led by Jimmy Kimmel surpasses $150k

Earlier this week, Jimmy Kimmel who got very emotional about the death of Cecil the Lion made a heartfelt plea for his viewers to donate to Oxford's Wildlife Conservation Research Unit, who were studying Cecil via a GPS collar, in order to "show the world that not all Americans are like this jack****." He meant the Dentist of course.
“If you want to make this into a positive, you can,” he said, before choking up. “Make a donation. Support them. At the very least maybe we can show the world that not all Americans are like this jack****.”
Crying over a lion's death. I never saw him cry over an unarmed black man shot by a racist cop.

The charity's director, David McDonald, confirmed that the plea brought 2,600 donations in the first 24 hours, with the amount of money raised totaling over $150,000 and still growing.
 “People are telling us that they are copying our appeal to all their mailing lists and contacts — this is wonderful, thank you: for an organisation that depends on philanthropy we are deeply grateful for this support, it will be a wonderful monument to Cecil the Lion if we are empowered by these donation to continue and to increase our conservation work. The email deluge is overwhelming us, so we cannot reply individually, but we thank you sincerely.”

Source: The Wrap

29 comments:

K

Wow! Dis is great and nice...

Happy New Month!

Arise, shine; for thy light is come, and the glory of the LORD is risen upon thee. Isaiah 60:1

Henceforth doors r opening, u r moving into a season of open doors. Every door u stand b4 shall b opened b4 u IJN!

God bless Linda Ikeji, all LIB reader's and ur household's! Sweet kisses and luv y'all.

Welcome 2d month of August!
Long Live LIB!

Look at how whites went all emotional because of the death of a lion, wish they could also show much empathy to the black lives lost to their racist policemen.

INK_HER said...

Abeg enough of this lion ish Biko

They are overflogging this issue biko... Nma's Space 

He is nothing but a jackass. Mourning, crying and raising money for an animal. What of all the innocent black people murdered? How much has this jackass raised for them. Very sad.

Mcheeeeeeew! Nonsense. Linda take note!

Kimmel sometimes behave like a jackass himself....what nonsense!

Mcheeeeeeew! Nonsense. Linda take note!

White people self no get job lol

Tochi Paul said...

Nice one...
Immortalization of a friend...
#Dankwata

Happy New Month!

Arise, shine; for thy light is come, and the glory of the LORD is risen upon thee. Isaiah 60:1

Henceforth doors r opening, u r moving into a season of open doors. Every door u stand b4 shall b opened b4 u IJN!

God bless Linda Ikeji, all LIB reader's and ur household's! Sweet kisses and luv y'all.

Welcome 2d month of August!
Long Live LIB!

Mtchheeewww
All for a lion.
How much did he raise for the families of black teens killed by cops?

Whites won't stop to amaze me

Nna for lion again... Serious matter....

That some humans for you. Funny mentality

Who dem dey send d money to? Abeg make dem send am to me

Jide Cole said...

Unarmed black MEN Linda!!!!!! MEN!!!!!! Type a Google search for said subject and u will be AMAZED Linda ikeji! I got stopped by cops last week and when the guy came up to my window I broke down in tears begging him not to kill me. I didn't even know when I started crying. The guy shook his head and even gave me a hanky. But trust muthafucking Texas police still gave me a ticket for being over the speed limit.

feeling disgusted abt people comparing cecil and a black live.. remember cecil made name in africa and not in america but, still got the attention it needed because he was SPECIAL,even when he was killed... HE somehow knew this and made himself adorable to many..we have to learn to be seen as a prospect instead of a suspect. black lives matter too just as an adored specie is...#cecilthelion#, #blacklivematter#

I hear you, sister. Black lives are dispensable in the US.

LIVING REAL. said...

Is like this lion is more expensive than the lives of Nigerians taken by boko. Haram .

Chase said...

Where are our fellow black media moguls in America. What has the likes of Oprah and Tyler Perry said about these senseless and disgusting killing of black folks in USA. Its time to stand up people. This struggle must not be left to the civil rights people alone. Obama what's up? Its your watch.

An animal is a helpless animal to be honest . You can't compare them to human beings .. It's true black men are most times helpless when it come to the police in the U.S. .. All humans are actually helpless when it comes to the law .. But together we can actually do something about it in a case of unlawful act towards us.. Where as an animal CANT ... If not for this awareness do you know how millions of animals get killed ?!'!! And nobody does anything .. Honestly you as a human being to compare yourself to a helpless animal is even degrading ... This story really touched a lot of people . What will happen to the cecils pride ? His kids and all do you know they stand a chance of being killed by a successor ?!' Think about it

andre kelvin said...

Wait! Dah Fuck is this? Lord pls end this world NOW.

Myror Miller said...

And when a black man is shot, the whole world keep quiet and don't care, every black man in America should start dressing like a Lion, maybe when you're shot, America will standstill...

Apparently black lives do not matter. Moreover when people are always in the news for the negative, it is very hard for them to draw sympathy when something goes wrong for them.

Anonymous 11.05... Pls, Tk several seats.. what will happen to the families of the black ones dt were killed.. I bet u re white.. onye ara, in other words, mad person...

If we had just black people on this planet, most animals would be extinct by now. We dont care about nature. We dont know we have a duty to preserve wildlife, to protect them from this sort of senseless killings. Black men getting shot cannot be compared to animals that cant speak up for themselves, animals that cant protest. So please people should stop being stupid and bringing up black men getting shot when we are talking of a poor creature like a lion

Bia anonymous 3:01 ... If I woze u slap you will get sense by Force Mumu .. Heartless monkey .. It's you that's white Mumu