No country can succeed alone in the war against terror - Buhari | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 July 2015

No country can succeed alone in the war against terror - Buhari

Press statement from the presidency...
President Buhari has said that Nigeria and neighboring countries must stand together to defeat and degrade Boko Haram terrorists in the sub-region. Speaking late Wednesday at a state dinner at the Unity Palace in Yaounde, during his two-day working visit to Cameroon, President Buhari said countries in the sub-region cannot afford to falter in their resolve to get rid of the evils of terrorists.
``We recognize that none of us can succeed alone. In order to win this war we need the collective efforts of each one of us, standing together as a formidable force for good, to defeat and end these acts of terror against our people,’’ he said. The President told guests at the dinner hosted by President Paul Biya that the security situation in the region presented an opportunity for Nigeria, Cameroon, Chad, Niger and Benin to work together for their common security, peace and socio-economic development.  

`` Let me assure all of my relentless pursuit of all possible means to safeguard Nigeria’s territorial integrity, protect the lives and property of our citizens as well as my commitment to continue to collaborate with Cameroon and our neighbors, within the framework of the Lake Chad Basin Commission. ``The Federal government of Nigeria is committed to respecting international norms to resolve this matter and to restore normalcy to all the affected areas as soon as possible,’’ he said.

`The Federal government of Nigeria is committed to respecting international norms to resolve this matter and to restore normalcy to all the affected areas as soon as possible,’’ he said.    

The President, who had earlier on his arrival on Wednesday held a closed-door session with his host, thanked President Biya for providing refuge to Nigerians who had fled their homes because of the insurgents. He also commended Cameroon for its support to Nigerian military and security personnel in the fight against terrorism and offered his condolences to the families of the victims of terror in both countries.

President Buhari used the occasion of his speech to announce Nigeria's willingness to expand economic partnerships with Cameroon, through increased joint ventures in infrastructure development, transport and commerce, among others. He welcomed the achievements so far recorded by the Nigeria-Cameroon Joint Commission and all the landmark agreements signed between both countries.

The President, who described the relations between both countries as excellent, recognized the roles played by past and present leaders and Nigerian citizens in sustaining friendly relations with Cameroon. In his remarks, Biya while congratulating President Buhari for a successful inauguration into office said his electoral victory has provided an opportunity for him to preside over the ``destiny of Nigeria.''

``Mr President, a dark cloud is looming over our countries even as we welcome you; we are facing the same threat, which may rock the foundation of our two nations.

``This danger bears the name of Boko Haram, its atrocities and crimes are jeopardizing peace around Lake Chad and especially in our two countries. ``The number of dead and victims are rising, economic activities have been crippled in affected areas, the number of refugees and displaced persons are ever increasing. ``We cannot allow this cancer to spread, we must pool our resources and forces and share our experiences,’’ he said.  

President Biya, who reaffirmed Cameroon’s commitment in the fight against terror, welcomed the ``fresh push’’ on economic ties between both countries through easing of trade.

``I strongly believe in your readiness to work towards that goal and your visit to Cameroon as well as the discussions we have had have strengthened my conviction,’’ he said.

Femi Adesina
Special Adviser to the President (Media & Publicity) July 30, 2015

73 comments:

That's correct o!

Ok Sir.

Story

MercyBee said...

Hmm word!

MercyBee said...

Hmm word!

Apple Berry said...

Thank you Mr President. May God continue to light your path and give you favour, granting you success in every effort you make to make Nigeria a better place for us. We have got your back.

Definitely no country is an island unto itself!

Noted

Well done Mr President. God is with you. Linda take note!

Wilsoniyke said...

I guess you are not talking to me?Because earlier before now,I know you nothing to offer on insurgency and in the claim of one dollar to one naira... I dey laff....

He couldn't have said it any better.
With this new multinational joint task force, the end of boko haram is neigh.

marvelous said...

Fearing tins....d lord thy strength

Okowright Balaxy said...

During campaign he made gullible Nigerians believe he has the magic to end Boko Haram one day I office. It's obvious this dude called Buhari is suffering from amnesia,he has forgotten how he criticised GEJ and the Nigeria military for subscribing to the Joint Task Force,but he's doing same and is even worse than GEJ. Dull and clueless president, deceiving Nigerians that he's fighting corruption,yet he's busy looting and has criminals around him.

NMaa said...

Na now u know? Mschewww perform d magic

dumb statement.... the US did it without any help...

So why did you and APC want GEJ to succeed alone mallam? is it because he is a christian mallam? Why were y'all so unkind to GEJ? Why are you talking from the 2 sides of your mouth mallam?

Okay o

This man is doing just exactly what Jonathan did and they condemned him for.

Okay ooooo......

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB...

I've not seen anyone as confused as buhari and his party APC... The same thing they accused GEJ for, same thing they're doing. I thought they said asking other countries for help is a sign of weakness.

... And Mr. Buhari just discovered now that collaboration is needed in the fight against terrorism? I thought he promised to wipe out insurgency within 2 months abi na 2 weeks sef? Empty skull... U think leadership is cattle rearing? Ode

Good speech there from our amiable PMB, u are welcome home sir. BH will be the thin of the past soon

And your divide and rule will soon produce more group that will give you more heart attack. Just like when you were recruiting boko boys, you never knew they will be like this, hope they catch you very soon and spair innocent people

Now I no how retarded dis buhari and apc were, so it has now become a joint fight against ur boko brothers. But wen jonathan did it u and ur apc condemned his moves against boko haram. Same on u baba go slow shame on apc.

Bonario you will die of sycophancy...

Buhari has nothing to offer... He is busy looting.. .

Same buhari that asked jonathan not to seek international assistance

Yes

Yes ooooooooooo

Correct sir

I wonder!

aproko manager said...

Who una don help wit big big grammar...abeg make una dey comment wetin person fit understnd

Business Barbie said...

Ohhh so now you know... all the bashing on Jonathan was because you wanted to be president. God always vindicates his own. Slowly and surely Nigerians will know the truth. Jonathan was a good man and had the best interest of Nigeria at heart

You're the dumb one. The war against terror was America in collaboration with IRAQ, AFGAN and PAKINSTAN forces.. America relies more on them in terms of local intelligence gathering! #dumbskull

So why did you now criticize Jonathan so much when he went to other countries for aid. Hmm..Karma is a real bitch. Part of the reason why some people dnt like you is that all you've been doing in the battle against Boko haram is retracing the steps Jonathan took. I found your campaign a bit too arrogant for my liking, saying bokoharam will be out in 2 months while doing everything to make Jonathan seem like a simpleton and you are yet to pay for that arrogance.

Buhari is a disappointment.
He criticised Goodluck before, now eating what he vomitted.

Buhari is a disappointment, he has nothing to offer. He criticised Goodluck but now doing nothing

Well said !

Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.

They said GEJ's administration was a failure....I pity this administration cos it'll be even worse...

Go get sum bed rest joor

Now you know baba go slow

So na now you know? Mtcheeeeew! I thought you are a magician. Just call boys to order instead of spending our money 4 tourism and other crooked deals in favour of u

Lets watch and see hw things turns out though....

Gerrraaattttta here! Mehhhn! Shit!

I really pity this government, media are not helping matters again....

Wilsoniyke said...

Please I dont want the yoruba hiporites and saboteurs to complainoooo...See them...Una Don forget 'Sai baba' slogan....You will all regret this alliance like una papa Awo in the first republic with NPC.......

Don't mind gullible Nigerians and their salve mentality. Falling mugu since the 15th century - Portuguese, British slave dealers, Dan Fodio, missionaries, colonial masters; una eye still never clear?

Sharrap anon 10:08! Buhari is full of lame excuses.

You ignorant arse-kicking sad excuse of a human being. "thin of the past"?

You guys are just foolish. Very unintelligent comments must you guys say something. Buhari just had to continue what Jona started cos he can't shot this countries out now. Stupid people with myopic views. Very soon u all will eat your words. I Work with the government and can already see changes in the way this are done in my office. God give him health and more wisdom.

With all the desperate self-serving greedy people around Buhari and in APC, the entire treasury will just become someone's piggy bank.

Really? Mr Integrity my foot! What is the integrity of a man who lied and deceived Nigerians just to grab power! What has Buhari done to fight Boko Haram? The only grand plan wz just to remove GEJ, dat done, now APC is in confusion.....Fools!

frank said...

Hmmm baba we taught ur a magician. The way you criticise GEJ I never knew by now that Boko haram will still exists with u in power

GEJ remain d best itz written all ova, I wish sai baba (buhari) gudluck

Shebi u will here too...??
Pessimist!
For a female that should be delicate ,u say alot of rubbish all d time on lib.

Ur father is a cattle!
Go and watch the al jazeera interview!!!
He has always been a proponent of collab..
He only criticized the FACT that our neighbours were leading the fight and doing better in the bh war- he was angry given oir military history...He SAID he will work with chad ..niger and cameroun..but will lead the fight...BEFORE the elections on AL jazeera - FACT...its on you tube so dont come here and tell us rubbish and distorted facts!
Idiot!!! To think that u even insulted a patriotic man!!!
All over the world when a new govt comes into power,the terror groups already there step up attacks to create fear..FACT..
Try and read or research or sit with intelligent people and not sentimental adults/ tribalists who still wont accept buhari won.

this admin will be the worst Nigeria Ever Witnessed tho!

Clueless and baba go slow.i thought you had the magic : aboki

u are righ mr Buhari. carry onn.

Lol @ mallam.... And mallam again and again and again. Apple u no well lol. Very funny

why are everyone complaining? this president has never pass an EXAM in his life even from primary skull, said by EL RUFAI but now he is ruling us. it means that we are more illiterate than him.

I am beginning to fall in love with you chris, I remember when all you say was to support apc thank God you have come to realise the truth remain bonario my ass and the ducky aboki

America did oh oga!!! So I think the phrase you are looking for is "Nobody can fight a war enabled by the US alone"

henoz said...

Now you know. Brainless with his All-lier Peoples confusion. What have you done differently. One chance Changi.

temmy said...

I stand solidly behind you Mr. Presido but lets watch it even if we want to seek for help from foreign bodies, We should note they don't help without a mission or better still benefit, lets look before we leap so we don't jump into a well garnished and assorted bait!

True

Hahahahahahahaha! Can't stop laughing

I can't believe baba buhari saying all dis. I thought u can do it within one month u entered power. All the mouth that said bad will still say good. GEJ God will bless u. Babe buhari I wish u good luck.