I didn’t take N700m bribe, Rivers REC cries out | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 29 July 2015

I didn’t take N700m bribe, Rivers REC cries out

The Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC, in Rivers State, Mrs. Gesila Khan, yesterday, denied allegation by the All Progressives Congress, APC, that she was bribed with N700 million to rig elections in the state in favour of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

In a statement by her lawyer, Mr Selekeowei Larry, SAN, the Rivers REC said she never received such money from anyone or party as claimed by the APC.

She dared the APC to produce her statement of account that allegedly contained the huge sum of money, Mrs. Khan, insisted that she carried out her duty in accordance with the law and did not take side with any group, political party or persons.

Meanwhile, the family of Mrs Khan of Peretoru, Bayelsa State,  has condemned what its described as the arrest and harassment of their daughter by the Department of State Services, DSS.

A statement in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State by the family through their representative, Mr. Okubama Johnbull, raised alarm over her poor health.

The family which appealed to the human rights community and public spirited individuals to come to their aid over the unlawful arrest, expressed displeasure over the DSS, stating that the arrest of the REC under any guise was uncalled for and vindictive.

According to the family:
“As a woman who was diagnosed of hypertension and diabetic, she was denied access to her drugs. It is a well known fact that all matters or issues concerning the past general elections across the country are presently being   handled by various electoral tribunals.
“We wonder why the REC of Rivers State, Mrs. Khan was singled out for victimization and intimidated by DSS, as all issues concerning the past general elections are before competent electoral tribunals set up by laws of the country.”
The family called on President Muhammadu Buhari to intervene and call the DSS to order and allow due process and the rule of law to prevail.

Denying the allegation levelled against her, Mrs. Khan’s  lawyer  said  “My client wishes to place it on record that she did not at anytime collect bribe from anyone and she does not have such money in her account as alleged by the APC. We therefore, challenge the APC or anyone who has her bank account containing that sum of money to produce it.”

Khan described the allegation against her as “ridiculous, baseless and a calculated attempt  to tarnish her hard-earned reputation.”

She said  that instead of commending her for serving the country, the APC rather chose to vilify her unjustifiably, adding that the DSS, never said that it found the alleged bribe money in her bank account.

She challenged the APC to tell the world the source of the “malicious information.”

Vanguard

48 comments:

Madam, r u sure?

Ok! Gudmorning LIB

We don hear

Hhmmmm, drama everywhere

Adamazi 1 of L I B

Na lie! She collected the money! She resemble person weyy go dey do 419 sef!

Even if she collect bribe,rivers is my home!we don't want amaechi stooge or a.p.c party.
They should leave this woman alone and ask atahiru jega how much a.p.c gave him.

#sad indeed#

Christians said...

APC and propagation again

Who Are The Ten Virgins? Part 5

Put Off The Old Man

Dakuku Peterside at it again

Put Off The Old Man

D wahala dat comes with all dis dem political appointments/jobs...not worth it abeg...which kain life...hmmmm

APCriminals claim they're the main party but behave like the opposition. so they must win every election, abi?? God will destroy that party and everything they stand for in Jesus' name..

This buhari is looking for trouble....!!

ADAMS eMMANUEL said...

so this how to Fiqht curruption .ok qreat

***Adams***
Linda`s cuttie

how do we beleive you ma?well you must go and clear your name ooo

Amechi,u r digging your grave more deeper with that your Big eyes

aproko manager said...

Mama d mama I hail una

Dear APC, please stick to your jobs and stop harassing and intimidating people you people are no saints either. You won the elections in almost all the states please do what you promised us and stop with the madness it's not helping us. And Ambode or whoever that's in charge when are you going to pay the China Construction workers CCEC to continue working on the ago okota road ehn? The situation there is getting critical. Face your work

Did I jus read 700m? This money u people are sharing in Nigeria. Daris God oooo

They always have HBP when they are caught

May God punish this woman, it's obvious bayelsa people can trade anything for money. Despite being obvious that Wike was selected and not elected, she declared him winner. Numerous opponents were killed, injured and intimidated not to vote. Even all observers both local and international ones reported there was no election, this idiotic woman still installed Wike. With deep respect and apology, why are our women just violating public offices: Stella odua, this rivers nec (bayelsan), Alison Madueke (bayelsan), okonjo iweala etc. Is there no sincere and less corrupt person from bayelsa? Now I bliv the adage that says: when the head is bad, the whole body is bad. Jona as the head wad bad, his officials wud definitely be bad.

Trendyify said...

Even if you had collected, would you have told us? Iranu

it is well

They have started victimizing people in the spotlight again...

HEALTH SECRETS REVEALED said...

Only God knows the truth.

Diezani said she didn't take a kobo...but

?

She is indeed a good person,have known her for long.

Sunny9ja said...

Theif u rigged the election in favor of wike u where actually bribed and u shared 15million each to ur seconds in all d local govnt let d law take its cause cos ur sopos to spnd d rest of ur life in jail. Stupid woman wey never c 700million b4. Hypertension my foot

Sunny9ja said...

Theif u rigged the election in favor of wike as directed by ur so called PEJ u where actually bribed and u shared 15million each to ur seconds in all d local govnt let d law take its cause cos ur sopos to spnd d rest of ur life in jail. Stupid woman wey never c 700million b4. Hypertension my foot

HEALTH SECRETS REVEALED said...

We hope so too

She should be ready to go prove her innocence. Linda take note!

Mihearty said...

APC and their wahala. Ok e don set. Produce the statement

She will definitely deny whether she took the money or not.

REVOLUTIONARY HEALTH MIRACLE said...

Time will tell if You did or Not

Hmmmmmm. I wonder how far dis wil go wit all dis arrests here and there. God is watchig!

Madam no worry urself apc can not win rivers state not dis period. Dat is what dey are good at, propagandists, by dere name u no dem.

Its not a case if there is no evidence.

They shud leave the old woman alone jor.....

Yeye dey smell

Diversionary scapegoating or true anticorruption

marvelous said...

storrry story?stoooooory

Hmmm... now that the APC have finally taken the mantle of leadership, shouldn't it be in everybody's best interests if they can bury the hatchet and let by-gones be by-gones? If they have to prosecute public officers, proof of the said crime has to be provided. I don't like this at all

APC ain't u guys really tired of accusations & counter accusations day in day out! Goshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! Its becoming annoying biko!! Whatttttdahell..................

Amaechi and his cohorts should give up already, we have a governor

Shut up!wat do u no

APC...kindly also tells us Nigerians how much you people paid for all the REC that allowed underage children, dead citizens and animals to vote in the norther part...please we are waiting for your answeres

Are u sure?

which governor una get?...mke una dey mumu una dey go...una go soon tire for am...

No mind them. Off course the rigged the election and she was involved.

All of dem dey sick abi? Lol. Oh puleeze

so how much did you take

@ nonym, 1:59pm. shush your stinking mouth.not by making unverifiable allegations like oshiomale, let them produce evidence.