Photo: Nigerian student solves 30-year-old maths equation & breaks academic record at Japanese university | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 8 June 2015

Photo: Nigerian student solves 30-year-old maths equation & breaks academic record at Japanese university

A Nigerian student named Ufot Ekong (pictured above) solved a 30 year old maths equation and broke academic record at Japanese university and he did it while working two jobs to pay his way!

Independent UK reports
A Nigerian student has broken a 30-year-old maths equation and achieved the highest grades at a university in Japan for 50 years.
Ufot Ekong, who studied at Tokai University in Tokyo, achieved a first class degree in electrical engineering and scored the best marks at the university since 1965, the Flotilla Magazine reported.
He began his success early at the university, solving a 30-year-old maths equation in his first semester.

Throughout his university career Mr Ekong has won six awards for academic excellence. The brilliant mathematician worked two jobs alongside his studies to pay his way as a student.

Mr Ekong also speaks English, French, Japanese and Yoruba and won a Japanese language award for foreigners. He is currently working for Nissan and already has two patents for electronic car design to his name.

Tokai University is a prestigious private university based in the Japanese capital, which was founded in 1924. It is focused on the sciences and technology and roughly 60 per cent of all students are enrolled in these schools.

145 comments:

Rubylicious said...

He looks like a geek.

I am proud of him.

Nerd!! Amazing. Thumbs up man.

wow...genius. #proudlyNigerian

Linda for once in your life, WRITE AN ARTICLE. STOP COPY AND PASTE.
Anyway well done to that guy.

Thumbs up bro! It can only get better!

Nice one bro... You should be yoruba

victor said...

Good 4 him

Wow!

Oh my God!!!! This is the definition of success. God bless you dear. Fly with the Eagle.

God bless u. Well done. #ProudNigerian

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Kongratulobia to him....Ujah bless no man can curse!

I am so proud to b a Nigerian. Congrats to him, and I wish him well. Thumbs up to him, and more power to his elbows.

U B MATH WIZARD GUY...THUMBS UP...TOMJERRYSWIT

Niger is blessed

Wonderful. Nigerians are actually good at things like this. We are the best.. we really know book. Luke 2:53

9ja Parrot said...

Thank God, he is schooling in Nigeria. He would have been seriously frustrated by all the pot-belled vision-less and brainless politician!!! Congrats.

MicahJnr said...

Nigerians are the best there was, the best there is, and the best there ever will be.

I'm glad he's Nigerian. God bless him

Wow!
Nice.
For him to beat Asians, that are naturally intelligent, he is definitely a genius.

genius.genuis.............

meenah_wakil on instagram

genius.genuis.............

meenah_wakil on instagram

Hembafan said...

Great news! I'm delighted that this is coming from a nigerian. His parents and loved ones must be proud. Well done

Such a genius! Nigeria is proud of you.

Dude is a Born Genius.
Wish i can measure up 2 him a lil bit.
Congrats Son.
Z is proud of u.

Wow! Its a nice development, congrats to him.

Ajiri said...

And they say school can't make u shine....congrat guy ur future is bright

wowww. GENIUS.
SPACEEEEEE

YOU SURVIVED

andre kelvin said...

He's a Goru! 1st time I'm seeing a black man doing these kinda shit

Woooooooow! Dis is the Einstein of our time. Congrats brother. Linda take note!

Hmmm dis is brains jeez. Some people have it in excess.

African Bill Gates.....He looks like a total Geek!

Wow! He's such a brainy!!

Wow

God Bless u brother, these are the kinda news we wanna hear and not that Caitlyn Jenner science project shit

Stlanre said...

Linda you have posted this story months back with even better pictures of this guy check you records babe

I knew they would colonize him immediately!! This one the Japanese authority wouldn't even bother even if he overstays his visa by a century. Good one bro

God bless you abundantly

7F098C19 said...

Na who set the maths. Their papa left yach. Lol. Engr Emy

Wao... Congrats! Keep Making Us Proud!

Wowza! intellectual guys have a way of melting me. thumbs up Ufot, God will bless ur hussle

Congrats bro. We are proud of you

To God be ALL glory, honor and praise amen!! more greece to your elbow young man.

Ade Joke said...

This is news! Good things Nigerians are doing out there.

Nigerians be breaking records. Am a fan!

Linda cogitate

Congrats man.... Yu are no doubt blessed..

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

Glorious

franklin said...

Good for him

Dats good... Nigerians at home are proud of u

We are proud of you. This is the kind of things we want to hear from those of you there. Not for the people that go there to traffic drug. Once again we are proud of you.

Kponskii said...

Hmmm! Nerd! The kind IQ wen this guy get no get mate...Kudos brother!

poker said...

Standing ovation

Congrats to my Efik brother! Though you are from one tribe, we are all Nigerians and are proud of you...even though we know that you may never come back to help us out with your brains.

Wow! This guy don hammer o.

LIB chairlady said...

Weldon Bro... Proudly Naija

TONIA GREEN said...

This is a wow! He has joined the league of Chike Obi them. Congrats to him. Please repent and believe in God and The saviour Jesus Christ. THE VOICE OF THE PROPHETESS

amakandidi said...

wow my country people sabi book ooo no be small thing biko. bros carry go.

P.P said...

congrats! thnks for making Nigeria proud nd ur parents

Bims said...

Uffy! My head boy (Bells) doing us proud.

Nigerians still pave ways in educational level..

Upon all the crimes leveled against us all over the world..congrat to the calaber dude..

...JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

Wow! Dats gr8. He made us proud nt lyk oda pple dat go outside 2 spoil our gr8 name. God bless u man

Stale,read it over a month ago.

Wow! that is a blast.

Oskirin said...

dt's my boy.....na me n him papa go 4 school @ onitolo in surulere.y him no go break d record? calabar language resemble japan language.

BlogProf said...

I need to go to that school. I will beat his records hands down.

Wow...I'm impressed!

Naija 4 Life
Proud of you bro

This is what we are talking about

Congrat guy

nice one

Nice one brothe,the sky is your limit

That's a good ambassador. Keep it up!

That's hw we shld be representing., well done bro.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

More of such good and positive news. God bless Nigeria.

Good one,all hail Nigeria,still the best country in the whole world to me and for people that might think otherwise.Pls stay positive...

Patewo fun ra re. I need me some Horny Honies 2B21D798. Girls only please.

uzor onwusa said...

awesome!

YUSUF BUHARI BABE said...

Awwww making us proud.. Go schl u no go, u cm end up as a driver..@ u. Lolzzzzzzzz

Keep the flag flying

Wow!

Esang said...

bravo,bravo,bravo

This is d kinda news I want to hear abt Nigerians in diaspora....congratulations!to d man wey sabi

Wow, that's great. If feels good to hear nice news bout Nigerians makeing a difference around d wrld

La Parofesseur

Proud of a brother dt decided not to carry drugs there...I'm onli surprised dt he doesn't speak his language instead he speaks Yoruba

Wow! Big congrats to him

Patrick said...

Why would an Ufot not be able to speak Ibibio or Efik? Abi no be the same like Ufot Ekaette?

Naija no dey carry last,Good one

Learner said...

Awesome

Learner said...

Awesome

He should come home and bless his country with the talent God has given him.

Great!!! May God continue to bless him!

genious

Ooosssshh,i'm so loving dis story,so proud of u guy. God bless u more and more
*iyawo Obama

Just can't stop reading d story over and over again,so cool. #special brainhead
*iyawo Obama

C'mon look at him...I bet this guy can solve the mystery of creation.

Wow who say Africa no get person. Who say Naija no get person thunder fire their mouth. Nice of him Proudly Naija.#Lobatan.

G8t news.

He looks like Eddy Murphy in coming to America. Congrats bro for making us proud👍

This guy can solve world problems.

He can speak efik as an Akwa ibom man

He can speak efik as an Akwaibomite

Old news

Be it makeup, makeup tools, perfumes, deodorants and the lil things of life, Oriflame has got you covered. Being one of the world's leading cosmetic company it is also offering individuals the opportunity to become entrepreneurs and make money either on the side or full time. Head on over to C004C1B4E don't miss out on this opportunity.

WoW! congratulations!. may God keep and protect you

Brilliant! Congrats to him

Governor 77 said...

Congratulations bro!!! You have made us ALL proud in Japan and the rest of the world!

Ayen isong. Song idem o. Ameh nnam afon.

*Mixtape dropping 31-12-15* exclusive to LIB*

*Talk shit & get dropped like a bad habit* 

Love you Bro. 

»» Laud ChicK ««

Amaka.u.l said...

Wow,congrats dear

Congrats to you bro for a job well done and for representing Naija! It's such a shame that commenters on this blog haven't said a word about this since morn, but if it is news about nudity or sex or women, the post would have been filled with comments of various degrees.

What a life we live in. Congrats again bro! All the best. Cheers.

Wow! Congrats to him!

edeh leonard said...

bravo to him

this news is over a month and now Linda...you were busy posting Caitlyn Jenner instead of great news like this..

Dat good one congrat bro

edeh leonard said...

when will my comment be published ......... ah guess 2mao @ LINDA

Na wa o. We too smart

Linda ooooo. U n ur blog are now so boring. D excitement n feel I felt wen I first visited d site has diminished. Taking forever 2 upload comments, u need an assistant asap

molebaba said...

Wow!!! What a land mark achievements from a fellow Nigerian! CNN no go see this kind of story broadcast, na bad belly ones dem sabi!!!

Linda please push this to the government. We need him in nigeria

Merit Bloggers said...

when I see 9ja pikin way make us proud like this, i feel like breaking my head for not been an intelectual. Linda abeg help thank de Lord for this guy

Thank you linda for posting this....its not all about 419ners, fraudsters and corrupt people. we are people of dignity and if allowed, we can excel in any endeavor we find ourselves. Kudos to this Nigerian for representing our country in good light.

Academic excellence, love this

SUPER GAIJIN

AS YOU CAN SEE, IF NIGERIA GOT ITS ACT TOGETHER AND RECALLED ALL IT'S BRAIN DRAINED HUMAN RESOURCES, WE WOULD RULE THE WORLD.

He couldn't have gotten this far if he was in Nigeria. Talents like this are never appreciated here. Well, except the 'scatter my head' noise making musicians we have.

Big ups Darling, sure papa would be smiling down right now...

LINDA AR SURE NO ONE HAS MADE A COMMENT B4 ME, CHAIN
BIG THUMP UP BRO. Naija i hail ooo

congrats to him

He definitely looks like a nerd. He is Calabar but speaks Yoruba instead of Efik. He must have lived in Lagos or any of the SW states before jetting off to Japan

missjack said...

Akwa ibom boys r so handsome nd brilliant

woooow,,very impressive..congrats to him

Aww nah book be dis oo.

Blog tourist said...

U are a fool...idiot!

Ur long spacing don tire u abi?? Otey! Ekot could av been u oo but u chose to b davido's driver!

No pls. Such talent is never appreciated in Nigeria. My brother stay where you are if you don't want to be disgraced.

You will rot in d hottest part of hello with your balls burning idiot driver

Awesome but wait he speaks french and Jap plus yoruba? And can't speak calabar? Oh jus remembered Japanese is actually the English version of Calabar language congrats genius

Congrats, Mr. Ekong. You are the real deal and make us all very proud for dignifying hardwork, persistence even in the face of obvious challenges in a foreign country and sparkling brilliance.

Repping Bells!! Too proud of you, Uffy!

I'm sure there have been many "black" geniuses in history and there will continue to be. The unfortunate thing is we let other people (read: White people) stifle or tell our stories for us.

Lolz... lmao