Buhari bans AIT from covering activities - sad for our democracy - Lawyer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 April 2015

Buhari bans AIT from covering activities - sad for our democracy - Lawyer

I'm sharing this because people in the media should be a little scared of what happened yesterday. If they can do this to AIT, they can come for the rest of us. And before you know it, we can no longer write what we want. I hope it doesn't come to that. A lawyer shares his opinion. Read below...
Maybe I should attempt to open our eyes just a little to what is actually going on: 'Buhari bans AIT from covering his activities'. This is nothing for you to rejoice about that AIT sponsored hate campaign and so it's a good response. No! It isn't. It is just a true reflection of the 1984 hatred for critics and the press. Indeed, you may repackage a despot, but he is what he is.
I laugh when I remember his words at Chatham house: "so I present to you, a former dictator and a 'born-again' democrat'. Like really? Do you realize that one Cardinal part of this democracy is the freedom of the press?  Perhaps he understands the role of the media in bringing down GEJ and maybe scared of same.

Let me take you back a little, do you know the APC legislators, last year sponsored a bill to control the press? to be specific, social media?  Do you realize that severally as a dictator, Mr. President-Elect called the media, 'a distraction'.

What then is the lesson?

While I do not subscribe to ANY form of unprofessionalism in the media, this is democracy, you can sue for defamation, except of cos you think they are saying the truth. Further you could prosecute for sedition (that's what I'll do to Sahara reporters if I were GEJ). You do not blacklist the media.  It only starts with AIT and then possibly it will spread to other channels. Then we would have a 'controlled media'.

But then again, let this cloud that is gathered yield us some fruits, 'cos the NextGeneration is patiently waiting to kick all of you out.  Just wait and see!

Gilbert Oladeinbo (Esq.)

375 comments:

1 – 200 of 375   Newer›   Newest»

Really.!!!

This is just the beginning

Gud 4 dem

Dey must ve really pushed d man o

And worst to come..Yoruba's get ready for the shock of your lives!

Shush mr lawyer, AIT are nothing but hypocrite! General has spoken obey!

Mr mallam that's not part of our agreement oO. #detector...

Ndi igbo are in trouble

Huh?

Buhari is coming for them haters one by one. They shd be afraid.

Rubbish article. AIT ought to have been penalized by NBC long ago. AIT threw professionalism into the wind just bcoz of money. Their license should even be suspended

Dix democratic government ooo. Hope d aboki is knows...

AIT lost any moral ground to be allowed any coverage of Buhari's activities when they engaged in unethical hate campaigns against him. He has not been sworn-in yet as our president so he is still a private citizen.

Spontaneous. said...

Hmmm... I still dey look

See I am a Mass Comm Student yea? Buhari had every right to ban any broadcast/print media from covering anything! I mean, these people mocked his late wife and kid, let's just stop stupidity in the name of democracy already! All because of money. And no there is no press freedom anywhere in the world.

Ok noted

9ja Parrot said...

Yes, I said it. Mr. president-elect was wrong. You don't ban or black-list media, you follow appropriate regulation and laws of the land. I hope this GMB will not fall our hands o.

Well it's not too good but the knowledgeable ones would understand the message he's trying to pass. . It's a little indirect. Col 3:14

john thoman said...

This is just s beginning, sai buhari my yansh.... Those who voted for this so called change will have themselves to blame after he has finished with dis country.. I weep for nigeria

Linda hope he won't try to ban blog #dictator....time for bloggers to run to America to be able to blog,,, Nigeria don dey enter one chance.

I totally disagree with you. GMB is right to have barred AIT because of security thus AIT cant be trusted because of the love they have for money. AIT is a disgrace and should be suspended indefinitely.

DE POWER OF SOCIAL MEDIA WILL SO B CUT DOWN LETS C WU WILL WRYT OR ABUSE DS GOVERNMNT ANYHW LYK EVRY YOUTH HAD FREEDOM OF SPEECH BFORE..EYES ARE YET TO BEHOLD DE CHANGE WE SING FOR..LINDA IF U AINT KFUL U WIL B BAN AM TELLIN U...U GOTA WATCH WAT U POST HERE EVN WEN IS TRUE, CUZ CHANGE HAS COME. NO MORE TRUE/FALSE POST,IT MUST GO THRU SCRUTINY BEFORE ITS POSTED..TOMJERRYSWIT

Linda, I pray they don't ban LIB cuz it wil lead to un-employment as many pple , eat, bath, shit and work here!!!!! Ugbua ka wu ututu!!!!

SHOLSBYL said...

Abeg MR LAWYER pack well joR. It's tit for tat. Na by force?

No1. nigerians are always patiently waiting, why, looku-looku syndrome. 2. Freedom of the Press, true . 3. U are biased, AIT was a tool for GEJ. Doesn't look like a 'free press' #kingkoded

Owk na change is hia 4 all Dos glamouring 4 change

Nenyem said...

Karma!!!! May God help us!!!

All the people shouting change get ready! How can you say you've changed? Dictator presditent! This man can only make this country stagnant

Good riddance to bad rubbish. Mosyl sayso

STAFFY said...

E don Happen

All this GEJ boys should go and rest joor, AIT deserve the bar and not ban Lawyer Gilberth is talking about.AIT is a private station and not a government owned station, ethics of conduct should be there guidline. Bar is what you receive when you say what is not true and very provacative of the general. This is a big lesson to AIT. AIT should go and acquire more intensive knowledge from Channels tv

STAFFY said...

E don Happen. yea

FIZZICHILLIO said...

Wow!!! Wolf in sheep clothing really! Shebi una don shout "Sai Buhari" finish. Woeful screams await all you buhari supporters cos de won't ask u who u voted for before slamming d hammer on you. Meanwhyl, Linda try n get alternative blog site o so we can b doin dis tin lowkey

#FiZz

Linda Fashion Blog said...

Hmmm, I read about the ban this Morg and I have been shaking. To think he has not even assumed office is scaring the s*** out of me!

Lindahrisfashion.blogspot.com

Siddon de look oh! Ntoooo unu ndi nigeria! Unu no na ofe oku! Buhari go deal with una. Watch And see! Devil as a president....dang! I need to wake up!

How many you can stand that? You need to watch those documentariesthey are disgusting, shameful and irritating. Its an height of satanic wickedness for any organization tobe airing a documentary about the demise of your daughter and wife and be using it to taunt you all in the name of paid documentary. Is that part of profesional ethics of journalism? AIT lost it completely with their conduct prior to that election they decied to lower the standard of journalism for monetary gain, even though GMB by virtue of his election has became father of the nation that doesn't mean that AIT can't be caution to ensure that thesame scenario doesn't happen in future and to bring sanity to the system. God bless Nigeria

Oh pls... nxt

Now everyone wants to have a say. Lawyer my foot. I read that he stopped them from covering his activities cos of the sanction against them, that's a good excuse. Where were you when the said station were airing hate campaign against him? Why didn't you jump and pick up your pen as you've done now? GMB isn't clamping down on critics as you want to portray, if not he would never have received Willie Obiano or other opposition elements that either congratulated or paid him courtesy visits. Yes he is right to stop AIT from covering not only his activities but every activity until they are cleared of whatever offences they committed. The problem with Nigerians is that you're not used to doing things rightly, so when someone does something right, it looks alien and strange to you.

Dont fool us...Who are d next generation??? The sons and daughter of dis generation...Fela said it all...Nah d same set of people still dey rule Nigeria...AIT did way too much and were very biased...They should face the wrath of GMB...I am praying the ban will extend till May 29 and they wouldnt be able to cover the handing over

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Shey they voted for him..now that he has won,he is bringing out his true color

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Ummmmm,ummmmm,my fears ooo,dey are manifesting small small..hian!! Buhari please and please,this is democracy,not military rule u can dictate as u want,u aren't even sworn in yet and u don dey ban..ummmm..ummmm

He that seek for equity, must come with a clean hand. AIT threw away a lot of professional ethics by being biased to tarnish a political career of a contestant. AIT should learn from other Television station who placed their work, integrity above personal interest.

You haven't seen anything.... change is coming, what they don't know is what type of change.....is it from good to worse, from freedom to slavery or from light to darkness..... we are waiting.

All this GEJ boys should go and rest joor, AIT deserve the bar and not ban Lawyer Gilberth is talking about.AIT is a private station and not a government owned station, ethics of conduct should be there guidline. Bar is what you receive when you say what is not true and very provacative of the general. This is a big lesson to AIT. AIT should go and acquire more intensive knowledge from Channels tv

He that seek for equity, must come with a clean hand. AIT threw away a lot of professional ethics by being biased to tarnish a political career of a contestant. AIT should learn from other Television station who placed their work, integrity above personal interest.

By the time he is done with you poeple, you guys will know how precious sweet Jona is. Change my foot.

Da real talk said...

In my opinion, I do not see anything wrong with the decision GMB has taken...it's a matter of "ethics and standard, and family concern" AIT threw ethics and standard to the wind while they were broadcasting "the hate video" of GMB, just to spite him, in trying to Favour the ruling PDP. They are even lucky, because if I were GMB, I will direct the NBC to revoke their license the moment I get into office. Nonsense!

Da real talk said...

In my opinion, I do not see anything wrong with the decision GMB has taken...it's a matter of "ethics and standard, and family concern" AIT threw ethics and standard to the wind while they were broadcasting "the hate video" of GMB, just to spite him, in trying to Favour the ruling PDP. They are even lucky, because if I were GMB, I will direct the NBC to revoke their license the moment I get into office. Nonsense!

Tru talk

Abayomi Hidee said...

leave my president alone and let him be biko.

Biko! Linda start thinking of something else o, before this man runs u guys out of business.

What a surprise!Democracy?

I'm tempted to say God punish all the bastards that voted for this gap tooth cow rearing mallam Islamic fundamentalist. Nigerians will soon get what they deserve. I hope the militants cripple the economy. Bastards.

Linda, let me ask you, do you know what danger the lights, props and camera of AIT pose to the man? A station agreed to,produce and air a barrage of lies against someone and you expect him to help them with open arms? You kinda are a shame. I know u will not publish my comment like you always do, but i dare you on this. Has Ait not been sued ? You are not supposed to be partisan and i see how you do it stylishly. Sorry, you just lost my respect. Such are stories of flying and crashing we read in the past.

Linda I just can not believe your stupidity, I hope you save lots of the bribe you recirved from your so called sponsored post during the election. You are such a bad example of what money does to change people. I have been a reader of your since 2010 and I reside in Europe and you have lost respect from me and also many others here. You are beyond stupid. And Yes bitch I am IGBO but I don't have to force my opinion down everyone's throat just because I want GEJ to win. Thread carefully bitch!

Intelligence speaking.

I pity all you that have been blindfolded by stupid CHANGE

hmmmmm all of you that say buhari say buhari what i will say is hmmmmm to you all.

Abayomi Hidee said...

Let my president be nah. He hasnt even assumed office yet.

Really Buhari is wrong to have send the AIT crew out. What happened to freedom of speech? Even if they aired something silly against APC, then sue them. i think at this point, Buhari shd be sued by AIT

tunde said...

Ehen...Buhari is as vindictive as they come. You all haven't seen anything yet.

SHOLSBYL said...

THIS LAWYER IN QUESTION MUST BE BLIND AND VAGUE..........It took NCC a matter of days to stop MTN from working with APC but NBC never moved to stop NTA and AIT from their hate messages.

i couldn't agree more.

no matter what AIT did, democracy means that you allow the institutions that have the mandate by law to sanction them, to do so.there are agencies in place to sanction/regulate them.

the president elect can set processes in motion to do that through those agencies once he gets into power.

stepping in directly to sanction AIT himself is disregarding democratic tenets sand making nonsense of his claims to being a 'converted democrat'. he is just reverting to dictatorial type...and so early in the day too.

here we go again!!!

Bros go and sit down joor if u were in power u would do more

5thMarch said...

True yarns!

Osa said...

Well so unfortunate, this may even affect OUR OWN Linda Ikeji. I hope we all understand what he is going on FREEDOM OF PRESS, hung in the air.

Am I surprised? Nay! Once a dictator, always a dictator!

Mr President elect Gen. Buhari did the right thing. So many stations were use unethically during the campaign and for such misdemeanor they should have their certificate revoked. A true leader must not please everybody but call a spade a spade,we need revamp in our system not a weakling who allowed few hands to enrich themselves at the expense of the general populace. I want to believe that this lawyer is one of the beneficiaries of the high level of corruption in the GEJ administration, you are going to see the wrath of God. Change does not come by mere talks but actions, no river flows through the forest without bringing down its tree, some will suffer as a result of the change that will soon take place in the country but many will enjoy, that is democracy. Gen Buhari, i pray u remain focus and not be distracted by people like this lawyer.

I said it. And some idiots thought I was telling lies. Old bad habits don't die. He has always been a dictator. Watch how all the freedom Jonathan helped develop and allow dwindle down. As for the youths on this blog, remember how careful people were to say their mind in public even during Obj regime, then imagine how our parents were "shut up" and jailed during Buhari's regime. Certainly, a backward change will occur

People like AIT and not Channels should be afraid, I mean they should be really afraid.
But he only barred them from covering his events on security grounds, when he becomes the president and insist on barring them, then it can be argued.

This is just the beginning. I am love it. Nigerians will one day wish the never wished for this CHANGE. Linda you may be next, just joking

Expected, am not surprised at all. Thats what Nigerians asked for and it will serve them well. - "The crowd + Children voters is always wrong"

D handwriting is on d wall

This lawyer can go n shit in shit FOIC. Does freedom of speech in democracy includes malign ? why should press involve in hate politics n campaign? why should press get involve in partisan politics? He should answer this questions before spewing gibberish. The other media house should take a cue from dis. moreover, Buhari is just an individual for now. AIT should wait till May 29th before covering any event on buhari

You can say that when he is president. For now he is still a private citizen and has the right to ban anyone from his activities.

you didn't make any comment on the documentary against buhari now u are saying he should give AIT the chance to haqve what to use in future against him. if u were the one will u permit that?

Justified. AIT is not worth to be a national television. Should be named PDP scamTV. FFK, FAYOSE, Gani Adams are not different from AIT. Their activities during election was so unprofessional.They should be treated alike.

"BANNING" IS NOT THE APPROPRIATE WORD. THIS ARTICLE IS LOOSE AND VERY GAY. IT IS TRYING TO STIR UP TROUBLE WHERE THERE IS NONE. GO AND READ WHAT WAS SAID EARLIER. SEEMS UNDERSTANDING/INTERPRETING ENGLISH HAS BECOME AN AVENUE FOR CHEAP POPULARITY/ATTENTION. NIGERIANS PLEASE EDUCATE YOURSELVES.

He is what he is.
GEJ is a true representation of democracy but then it takes someone with an iron fist to tie up loose ends on corruption, embezzlement, Insecurity,etc. I hope GMB's focus will be on pressing matters than banning social media. It's a wrong move at this early stage.

Lawyer uku mango....miserable charge and bill! I wanna be notice where were u when AIT was airing all those nonsense about Buhari. Onyemechi? If it were me I will do more and Dokpesi will learn to be professional like ChanneltTV.

Gilbert Oladeinbo (Esq.) pack well cos you don't know what you are saying. I'm really in support of what AIT was being served, during the election campaign it showed that AIT could do anything for money. If you care to know, at a point President Obama also barred a news agency, Sir Alex Ferguson did that too besides, some PDP states also barred newspaper coy like The Nation.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1388366/White-House-bars-Boston-Herald-Obama-fundraiser-Mitt-Romney-page.html
I just shared a link on it for any doubting Thomas.

I have been waiting for this to happen,am so happy really love Buhari and as for AIT good for them shitty station.....

He nailed it "It only starts with AIT and then possibly it will spread to other channels. Then we would have a 'controlled media".

We wil b waiting, and dis time around we show him dat we hav d votes, and mandate's to vote him out.

Wht GMB d was immature, and not a good example dat a leader should protray. Wht a shame.

okopi said...

Linda, explain to this so called lawyer.Buhari barred Ait from hs HOUSE for security and ethical reasons. They r free to cover other activities, but PLS STAY AWAY FROM hs HOUSE AND FAMILY.SHIKENA

Frederick said...

Hey don't blow this out of proportion, as long as you are factual, balanced, truthful and avoid hate speech, no one can hold you for libel or defamation of character.

Journalism has set down ethics and it is believed for professionals in the field to adhere plus channels tv has set the pace for balanced reports.

It's just a matter of time before Buhari will come for you and other Bloggers.
but let it be known to him that I will not be intimidated into loving or supporting him.
democracy has come to stay.

If president Jonathan did this 3yrs ago, APC wouldn't be where it is today.

<< LIB Addict >>

He never showed remorse for human ritghts 3/4 he violated. Troubling signs!!!. Hahahahhaaha

very good of Buhari. AIT was involved with dirty politics even as a media house which is against the ethics of Journalism. they shud face the music. nonsense.

Bla Bla Bla.

oya APCriminalsBlindSupporters.. defend your president's undemocratic action..

he didn't withdraw their license, he only banned them from covering his 'personal' events for now, don't forget GMB has sued them and the case is still pending in court,In any case he is not the president till May 29th so there is nothing wrong with this. For those who ll comparing us to America, pls revisit history and find out what happened to Fox news in 2010.Yes we believe in freedom of expression but freedom comes with responsibility.

Turns out a leopard really cannot change its spots, hold on to your hats Nigerians, you have chosen your leader!

dupsy mama said...

Don't blame anybody for your in professionalism and gutter journalism. Constructive Critics are welcomed any day but not paid agents whose life ambition is to destroy genuine leaders with genuine mission. Go and reform your members first. An apology too will be in order if you have a conscience. Kudos to GMB for taking the right decision.

Who be this idiotic lawyer? where he dey, when this so called AIT were dragging Buhari's name, in the name of politics, to the extent of going personal... now dey wan cover him personal life to make there own news... you better shut that trap

I tell una before say Na military rule we dey go back to and una say Na lie.... This man is here to finish this country..... So much for democracy

Justified and a very welcome development. I just read it on vanguard that it was done based on security and family concerns, until they resolve the matter with AIT on standards and ethics. So its not as if he has revoked their license or ban them completely, he just doesn't want AIT to cover his events for now. AIT has gone too far, they need to be cautioned and every other media houses should learn from this as well. They should respect people's private lives, the fact that they are seeking public offices doesn't mean their private lives should be dragged into the mud. For goodness sake, a line should be drawn in their professional conducts. These people are human beings, they have families too, when you destroy them, you are equally destroying their families too. Imagine his late daughter's part of the documentary? That lady had kids, in-laws, etc that will be affected too. AIT should be neutral during those campaigns, even if Jonathan is the CEO. NTA wasn't banned, even though we all knew that technically, they were supporting GEJ but they drew the lines when carrying out their duties. What about Channels, TVS,etc. why are they not restricted too? its simply because they conducted themselves professionall

@iamnoble_d said...

let Buhahi note that we want change from from his govt not chain us.. he went too far on that

Too bad of dis old sch man.well there is God

where were you when the Media is airing false accusation against him? why dont you come out as a lawyer to criticized what they are doing? should the Media go extra mile of spoiling some one reputation?

Mrs E said...

What a shame. Never trusted Buhari from the onset. Those of u clamoring for change, hope u'll enjoy the change

ADA said...

What Nigerians will face in this next dispensation will be the lesson of their lives. Nigerian youths are gullible and i dont pity them yet . make them sha no carry their alanta near my own blog.

Gbam! Meanwhile, the game is just starting bikonu. I don't want complaints flying in here. My advice for all is to endure hardness as good soldiers. As for baba's true colours, onwebeghidi ihe unu huru! I always knew freedom of speech would be the first casualty in this combat.
#backtomysystemjare

Buhari spoil market for u lawyers,that's Y u're complaining,He Barred AIT based on unhectical and questions on professionalism. AIT to me were more one sided before the presidential elections and that is what happen to Channels on several occassions when they were biased in their report. I remember Channels were shut down on different ocassions from Unhectical practices by this same Jonathan Administration. Nobody is restricting the Media from Airing their views but they have to be Objective and professional about it. (tun24de)

I know it will come to this but it's so sudden.. Bad for our democracy

Single Ladies| The implication of Dating married Men

Karlsson said...

This is just the beginning, I knew Buhari was gonna do something like this once it doesn't favour him.
Ubanagum

Hahahahaha, buharist, wey una dey? Daz part of change soon he will ban some blogs frm posting his activities. Kikikikikiki, afta May 29 no more comments for his post unless u want to die. Change ooooo is here

This Linda is so biased. I need to stop reading this shit blog

fave said...

Buhari will only rule for 4years coz we in the south south, south east are voting him out.

Sam said...

The way you started your article is skewed. While I disagree with Buhari on this action, I don't think it is right for you to insinuate he is against press freedom.

Finally somebody with a sense has spoken.......how can a president elect bar a media house from covering his activities, this shows he could not buy them over to publish his type of story, so he had not choice but to let them go, just like a said in the previous post, Linda and the rest u guys better watch ur ASS, Bcos the uneducated MOFO is out for destruction........most of u fools supporting him, would have no medium yo express ur foolish opinion soon.......GEJ administration gave us the opportunity to write all sort of rubbish abt him yet he did nothing....""that's the definition of a true Democrat""" during GEJ administration every idiot had to d right to say and write rubbish abt him....even cows criticized and ridicule him.............Our uneducated, archaic, caveman, aboki president to be has started restricting media house and he is not yet President........Nigeria would soon be like Turkey, N Korea and the likes where social media is a crime.....I weep for our nation and youth....... Nigeria's youth open Ur eyes bcos social site is the only tangible tool we have noe yo handle this fools

Linda, abeg leave tori for matthias, so u come to my house, I welcome u,u go out to write and propagate rubbish abt me and u want a second hosting. U dey crase?!! Feel free to write ur stories, but u have shown u are nt reliable so I will nt b welcoming u any longer. I'm not sure abt Buhari but I support this one. In Oshio's voice "go and die"!

Sam said...

The way you started your article is skewed. While I disagree with Buhari on this action, I don't think it is right for you to insinuate he is against press freedom.

Thanks to Gov. Rotimi Amaechi. You fought against GEJ bcos of Patience Jonathan. In my opinion I think he will be remembered as a betrayer.

Finally somebody with a sense has spoken.......how can a president elect bar a media house from covering his activities, this shows he could not buy them over to publish his type of story, so he had not choice but to let them go, just like a said in the previous post, Linda and the rest u guys better watch ur ASS, Bcos the uneducated MOFO is out for destruction........most of u fools supporting him, would have no medium yo express ur foolish opinion soon.......GEJ administration gave us the opportunity to write all sort of rubbish abt him yet he did nothing....""that's the definition of a true Democrat""" during GEJ administration every idiot had to d right to say and write rubbish abt him....even cows criticized and ridicule him.............Our uneducated, archaic, caveman, aboki president to be has started restricting media house and he is not yet President........Nigeria would soon be like Turkey, N Korea and the likes where social media is a crime.....I weep for our nation and youth....... Nigeria's youth open Ur eyes bcos social site is the only tangible tool we have now to handle this fools

ify said...

I knew it was going to b like dis..... U banned a station frm covering ur movement,who does dat.....

Finally somebody with a sense has spoken.......how can a president elect bar a media house from covering his activities, this shows he could not buy them over to publish his type of story, so he had not choice but to let them go, just like a said in the previous post, Linda and the rest u guys better watch ur ASS, Bcos the uneducated MOFO is out for destruction........most of u fools supporting him, would have no medium yo express ur foolish opinion soon.......GEJ administration gave us the opportunity to write all sort of rubbish abt him yet he did nothing....""that's the definition of a true Democrat""" during GEJ administration every idiot had to d right to say and write rubbish abt him....even cows criticized and ridicule him.............Our uneducated, archaic, caveman, aboki president to be has started restricting media house and he is not yet President........Nigeria would soon be like Turkey, N Korea and the likes where social media is a crime.....I weep for our nation and youth....... Nigeria's youth open Ur eyes bcos social site is the only tangible tool we have now to handle this fools

I don't wish that on LIB ever!!!
Maybe, he did that just to get back at
AIT for writing those hateful words about him.
And yes, he's a born~again democrat who
still have the dictatorship blood flowing in
his vein.

Linda, you and your colleagues should be very worried if you print lies and propaganda. If you write what is true, knowing that you've done your research well and validated your article, then you've no reason to fear.

What did you and your colleagues do when AIT were propagating hate and lies about Buhari and his family, you turned a blind eye and said nothing! Wouldn't true journalism have written an article to tell the truth during electioneering?

Now you're worried that you're security and livelihood are under threat. I don't think it is ethical for any media to profiteer from smear campaigns. Buhari has barred them from his private residence' not from reporting on him when he is in office. Even the great U.S. won't allow rogue journalists near the White House - so why are you making a mountain out of a molehill.

In the UK, the government can also take press that report false stories to court. Buhari hasn't done this, he could if he wanted.

Rest assured, that if you write honest stories, your livelihood and security are secure.

The problem with charge and bail lawyer like d writer is that he or she fails to see reality beyond imagination. Is d lawyer trying to say TV stations like Channels,ITV,STV etc don't know what freedom of speech is, or is he or she saying they don't practice true journalism? Does he or his likes think we don't know who Buhari is that nigerians overwhelmingly voted for him? If I were Buhari I will do everything within d law to frustrate not only AIT and NTA but will deal with even idiots like him.

hmmmm, dats all i can say for now

I thought as much, where re buhari's supporters? Una Oga don start o, soon he ll even ban Lindaikeji's blog n ban u all from using phone. Lol. Ghen Ghen! Ait shld fight for their right o. That man is not going to last 4yrs there o.

KC said...

Laughing... More to come... This is just the beginning... This is the 'change' dat Nigerians wants... Sit back Ãήϑ enjoy... #smiling#

Tony said...

Raymond Dokpesi sold his right, trust and belittled himself cos of filthy cash gej splashed on him. pls let him shot down ait for live so tht others will learn. Never sell urself cheap cos of money.

I support Buhari for doing so, AIT tv station was airing hatred campaign against GMB, I can tell u during the presidential election what AIT tv station was airing on their tv station was annoying. I can tell u here that AIT tv station was among the people who doesn't want Buhari to win the presidential election! I was a fan of AIT before infact I love AIT tv station before morn than any other tv station. But what they where airing on their tv station was very painful to me, u can't even watch anything again pas PDP hatred and insult campaign and wike River State governorship aspirant,election was not yet conducted but wike was already a governor. Any other things i watch on AIT was 30 sconce, the rest was PDP hatred and insult campaign, also with their MD dokpesi, when he came to Auchi to intimidate voters with soldiers on the 28 of march of election day. That's why I dis like AIT tv station today. Because what they where airing on their tv station was not true to me again. I didn't even trust them anymore the way they insult Buhari with their PDP campaign slogan was just too much. I can remember during OBJ and Olufalaye, contest in 1998-9, the election campaign was not like this there was no insult or hatred campaign against each other, but this GEJ and GMB, campaign was full of insult and hatred campaign but why was it suppose so be so?

See the mistake happening already, just b4 he was elected ppl visionlised this. Nt surprised at all, he wld move us back 2 rigid democratic time when ppl can't speak up freely bcos of there fears (#freedomofspeechover/honestopinionove/watchout)

Very wrong indeed. ..

Social media should be regulated Linda. Its the easiest means of spreading hate campaigns and currently does not fall under any regulatory body. I mean, I can post this comment anonymously and write whatever I like, and some Admins are too lazy to moderate.

RM said...

Once a dictator always a dictator, Nigerians ds is just d beginning. Don't rejoice so fast b'cos it will get to all of u dt supported him b/4 d end of his 4years. Somebody should pls tell Buhari dt it is not his programm since he is d president of Nigeria, it is our programmer, if he is celebrating his birthday or any other thing he can ban them from covering it but not when it consigns Nigeria & Nigerians. GEJ will not do ds.

Dave Mide said...

I am a pro buhari, i detest what AIT did to him: the slanderous airing and defamation of character + the derogatory statements uttered BUT i do not support this action of sidelining AIT. It is not good for the true democracy we yearn and its AIT today, it might be NTA tomao

If not for freedom of the media, you won't know if money is missing, and that maybe GEJ administration is corrupt. I just hope we don't go back to when the media is not allowed to report anything and everything they know.

LIBers shouting Change is this the change you are talking of, Linda one day you might not be allowed to write about Buhari again. Hmm

What happening to FOI?

~FromOutOfThisWorld ~

ehnn, oga this is democracy ooo..no carry ur military mentality come this dispensation if not na impeachment dey wait you.

I think Buhari's team has done the right thing. Partisan media outlets who would go the length to defame people should be chided. Same way I won't enter a bus driving one way. I hope this firmness flows into other sectors of the economy. The police would be a good start.

abujakenneth said...

The era of tyrancy is back. Nigerians must not allow retired military men again in our polity again. APC is full of tyrants.

Well, i may wish to educate d Lawyer a little.. As a private citizen which Buhari is STILL FOR NOW(president- ELECT)... He is 100% within his democratic right to ban any media from his activities, just like i can ban dem if i so wish ... So pls, stop misinforming pple and wait till May 29, when he becomes PRESIDENT, den u can fault him as a public figure.

- Words From D WISE ONE

Erhmmm.... Linda. You better start asking for your readers' post office box numbers ooo, so blog posts can be sent that way after he bans internet use in Nigeria.

AIT 'BAN' OR NO BAN

Every man has the right to prevent/stop a particular media establishment not to cover both his personal and public engagements. It is a basic right of choice. ..

Sir Alex Ferguson as Man U Manager banned the almighty BBC from covering his activities as Manager of Man U and as a sporting figure. He reached this conclusion after a series of malicious and lies BBC aired about his person.

AIT in the same vain broke every rule in the books in the run in to the election. They aired very damaging and malicious broadcast contents against the person of GMB, his late wife and daughter. Even after repeated outcry from his party and the viewing populace AIT repeatedly and consistently aired that very documentary.

Most importantly, the institution of state, NBC empowered to rein in on the activities of AIT turned a blind eye and gave the station a clear to go on with the damaging programme.

Therefore, Buhari's decision to me is not about gagging the press but about showing once and for all that the media must adhere to ethical standard in the pursuance of their profession. Buhari is indeed right to ask AIT to excuse him for the meantime until some fundamental issues are resolved.

People need to understand how to read in between the lines. In essence, people in NBC should be jittery now. GMB is saying until I assume office and shake up NBC so that they can do their job effectively, please AIT excuse me.

NBC failed in their duty during the election. It was like a lame duck agency. They failed in their duties to check the excesses of broadcast stations. They refuse to wield the big stick against erring broadcast stations.

To those who have gone to town shouting about ban or no ban, please take a chill pill and sit down. How I wish you all shouted like this when those damaging and reckless broadcast was aired to make a mockery of a man's family and desecrating even the dead in his family. He who must come to equity must come with clean hands.

I am a media practitioner by training and I know the rules to the letter. It is a temporary measure to make a statement. I know the whole issue would be sorted out. But, impunity and irresponsible media practice MUST stop!

Dear Linda, they were barred temporarily from covering his activities until they sort out the issues they have on standards and ethics. In your heart of hearts do you think Ait was professional in their documentaries and campaigns it's easy for us to talk when it doesn't affect us. Why was channels or any other station no barred, professionalism is key! He has a right to his private and family life biko.

So now 'freedom of the press' is important and good. but hate speech, libel, slander and incitement by the press isnt. This outrage would have been good if same had been shown when AIT was busy abusing everybody. smh.

This country must move forward. So many of our institutions have failed, especially within the last 16yrs and I won't forget so soon that AIT went too far all in the name of exercising their freedom and right as many ll put it. I wonder where was the lawyer wen AIT was stepping out of line. The same hate campaign was sent to Channels but they turned it down. I remember one particular Sunday that Pastor Bakare was cut off air duringhis programme on channels TV. That is what we call keeping to the ethics of journalism.... I support Buhari in totality and I believe u all ll learn from that

Interesting piece. But let me ask, is this truly 1984 starting again???? #iFearthisman

No need to pay evil with evil...That is why you are "Change". Be different

Yes. She should, even if she wouldn't. Aren't u educated? Don't u know freedom of speech? Didn't u learn it in social studies? U shouldn't stop som1 from airing their opinion of u whether u like it or not. It's their right. It's the law and no one is exempted or above such laws

When the FG illegally detained Aljeezera journalists for about 2weeks, where were these overnight media rights activists? When the FG sent soldiers toseize newspapers from a media house, where were these media rights activists? Someone openly declares war on you and wishes you dead and because you won the election, you expect GMB to open his gates to all and sundry. Please before you talk about rights and moral apply common sense. Point one - Mr President Elect has barred and not banned. He is in his rights to. Point two - He sited his security and safety as reasons for the barring. Very logical. Point three - He has specified he does not want AIT covering his private and personal events. What is wrong in that?

Wait oh. Is AIT lying???? Did it lie?

And to my personal opinion... AIT should have been closed down long ago. This company came to the stock market, collected people's money and diverted the money for personal use by the chairman. Till date, all they post is loss. Yet, they seem to be growing. Dats Fraud!
But den, dats my personal opinion.

-Words From D WISE ONE

U are an illiterate that's y u wud do more. U didn't pay attention in ur primary and jss social studies class

Served them right, Linda so you think is right to allow media to say or write whatever they like about people huh? upon all the insult, lies, malicious and provocative documentaries, that is capable of sparking civil uprising,you think AIT should be allowed to go free unpunished? common it is time for them to reap what the saw. THE MUST LEARN TO BE PROFESSIONAL PLEASE.

Ama Hope Pepple said...

see who Nigerians are projecting as an agent of change, unity and good Leadership. He is so intolerant - He has started sharing the spoils and hate that dwells amongst us,

oga just shut up there! where were you when AIT was slandering and running 24-hour documentaries of rubbish about buhari? they influence millions of lives whether they like it or not, and if they cannot be objective about what they broadcast, it serves them right.

please go and jump in the lagoon.

Where is ur sense of reasoning, its called campaign... APC did worst....and as a Democratic country is not right to ban a media house from covering activities......its characteristics of a tyrant and not a leader....so quit being stupid

you shouldn't have started with this now, dont u think is too early for this kind of harsh decision.

Nimelda said so....

AIT succeeded in polluting the media just because of its greed for money. AIT and Military exhibited high level of un professionalism......it serves them right.

Lmao. I hope u open this page again Christie and read the contradiction in ur statement. U really ought to go back to Schl and reason well, or if u are presently in schl, concentrate and think properly. Solve maths or somtin, I'll suggest word problems in maths. Lol

@ Lauraauj, shut the fuck-up is not a bad move for GMB to band AIT! Where u not in Nigeria when AIT tv station was showing hatred and insult campaign against GMB?

Shey u sided him from the start. As an Igbo girl wey u be, continue praising him for the money. People will never value what they have until they lose them. Why should expect something different (shebi na change) from an old man. Dem dey change rice to rice. Dey neva see anything.

Oga you can criticize anybody you like that is the power of the press but running a smear campaign is a whole other ball game! What Dokpesi did with AIT was downright dirty!! It all bothered on sentiment and not on finding or exposing the truth which is abhorrent to the dictates of good journalism!
I just pity the bulk of lower level workers at DAAR communications; who haven't being getting regular salary, because a bulk of their salaries come from monies made in political coverage.

@annon 8:43
Must you "SHOUT" to get your point across, by typing in UPPER CASE?
Moron,

No be small thing my brother is only fools that would rejoice over this Nigerians an in for big suprise more to come from our president-Elect we're waiting and watching all I knw is am yet to see better prsident than our able GEJ as far as am concern not GMB once a general is always a general

Anybody supporting buhari is a wicked person period just watch and see what would happen...

I totally agree with you

AIT is not a "SOCIAL MEDIA" mrs no BRAIN!

And how did that work out for you the last time? If Buhari does a great job, he ain't going nowhere! The sooner you know, the better.

Nnaa, he is still a private citizen and not a president and can dictate who comes to his house

Linda little by little I am loosing respect for you, anyways you are a blogger and not a professional jonalist. You have been praising GEJ but turned a blind eye to all the rubbish AIT wrote about him, now he said don't post anything about me you have suddenly awakened and started posting biased statements like this. Any station that is unprofessional with what they air should be treated thus. You are influential and hence you should watch carefully what you influence people think via your blog (like the opening statement of this post) if not you too will be answerable to not just your president but to your God.

ChannelsTv is the worst TV station in the whole world_so shut the f**k up!

Nky said...

Weldon my president, when AIT was making ill documentary about him what were they thinking.. they should accept what comes out of it..

She allows ur hate comment towards her show on her blog, yet u say she is bias. Smh

Linda, I am not against the fact that u re sympathetic to Jonathan's regime but you should learn not to toe the pact of AIT... what Buhari did has nothing to do with freedom of press as stated in your article. There are standard and ethics that guides journalist and the press in general.

Please, for the sake of your business, try to be neutral when it comes to issues of National interest. We have an image to protect and to do that, we must fix our failed institution starting with the military and press.

I support Buhari on this

It is only those who do not understand the concept of freedom of press or democracy that applauds a man who has perpetuated such act.

http://lindaikeji.blogspot.com/2015/04/kogi-radio-station-bombed-4-killed.html#more

Linda you are very unintelligent... Makes me want to think you didn't go to school. What kind of biased post is this?

Mrs telema ronaldo(CR7 wife in making) said...

@laura didn't u see their hate campaign against buhari,why didn't channels or other station showed dat kind of documentry,pls let be reasonable and not sentiment

It's funny anyone would say that Linda is biased. She was pro-Buhari in all her posts oh. I am an ardent follower of linda and I know its true

Shame on you Linda Ikeji, shame on you!!! This is the useless dictator you used your platform to always support! Shame on you!!! This is how it starts, next this same senile Buhari would aim to control you( that's if he hasn't started yet) and other media houses!!! Shame on you because you were part of the people that bastardised GEJ'S administration just to glorify this senile illiterate Buhari!!! He wants to use his office to control the media and the people but it won't work!!! Shame on you!!! Sahara reporters, the Nation's newspaper, LTV etc said worse and did worse things to GEJ, yet he selflessly allowed the tenets of democracy to triumph, he bared the nonsense and false criticisms thrown at him by people like you and sahara reporters, he didn't think of barring them...this Useless illiterate Buhari cannot withstand criticisms, how can he then move this country forward!!!! shame on you Linda, I say shame on you continously because I remember how you continually criticised and blackmailed GEJ with your ill and false news!!!! Once we have a controlled media, then we should forgot any progress we aim to achieve in democracy!!!

Fool.didnt tvc other apc owned stations do d same to jona?

Nonsense as usual from you Linda. The man is still a private citizen(until May 29th)and has asked that a particular media house be excluded from his house and his events. This has fuckall to do with press freedom. AIT scrapes the bottom of the barrel when it comes to journalistic ethics. This man has simply said he doesn't want them covering him. This is a far cry from shutting down a TV station or influencing media coverage which the government of the day has shamelessly done through the NTA for years. So please lets forget this none-news and move on to other pressing matters like ermm for instance how that Diezianni has been pissing our money away for years like it was her father's personal property..

AIT is the start as media.. clamping on social media wont be a stress. Watch out

@where were u when dey where showing rubbish hate campaign against buhari

Unhetical...stupid cunt cant spell like gmb..abeg fly

To kill his character in a documentary, they involved is dead wife and daughter in the lies. So good for ait

I can't believe people in their right senses would defend this action. It as if you have been brainwashed and you can't think properly anymore. When it dawns on you the implications of this I hope it won't be too late. Goodness! this is unbelievable. Nigerians always proving they are the source of their problems

Very well indeed. Real change is here, this government will be a government of transparency not propaganda. It's a game over for all that instigate negative vibe and cause confusion in our democracy..a very nice move Mr. President.

The move is okay by me, dat station is the enemy of the nation especially the masses. A selfish, greedy and glutton station.

No dear. He is within his rights. He still has a right to private and family life. E never enter as president and he has not banned them this is only temporary till things are sorted out. If like say u watch that documentary Chei u for sorry for this man. Ait was Trully unprofessional and NBC did nothing about it. E no good na. Obama sef bar even sir Alex ban BBC sef. So this should send a message that you can not lay professionalism at the altar of money or favouritism. God bless Nigeria.

Exactly.

@ henry eze, u re a born throw way pikin because there is different between a child and pikin,and u re the idiot u mention here garbage go and hug transformer!

Linda I am loving your new style of blogging. I actually disliked you before but you are stepping into your own. You are supposed to be on time influential list cos you have greater influence from the whole Nigerians put together on that list. You know that this are signs of worse to come cos you have foresight which unfortunately the sheeple don't possess.

an illiterate aboki ur president and u a literate,arent u ashamed of ur skinny self

Minus 2 readers wont change shit.abeg make una go read una yansh.fools.what is biased there now.thats d truth.buhari will always hate democracy.una don die for d nxt 4 years.

Pravin.zille@gmail.com

BT said...

Linda is obviously anti Buhari. That's why she didn't post the full story. I read it on another blog. He only stopped them for a while till ethical checks can be put in place for their news coverage. So they'll restrict them with legislation so they don't go about broadcasting rubbish, then they can cover his activities again. Linda if u like show your bias and don't post this comment

A very nice move Mr president. No vacuum for lies and conspiracies..

This lawyer obviously missed the point. GMB barred AIT from covering his personal activities which I believe everyone have a right to or do you open your door to everyone that knocks? AIT have not been barred from covering the activities of the the FG so let's wait till he's sworn in.

I ,M not surprise,Nigerians will later see reasons to appreciate. GEJ.

No need for jokes...it is absolutely possible!!! and Linda knows this, that's why she selects the comments she approves because she knows that Buhari can shut her down anytime if she says anything against him, that was why she always writes anything about PDP and GEJ as sponsored post while those of APC and Buhari were proper news!!!! So let's wait to see what happens to her and her blog, whether she would stand on her ground to join course in seeing Nigeria grow by providing news the way they are or chicken out and stick to providing soft landing for Buhari's dictatorship!

He is not chaining anybody. The move is temporal. It is till when issues are sorted out. Shebi Ait is not the only tv/ radio station in Nigeria? Shebi even silverbirds boss contested and won under the pdp platform was his station barred? No! so point is Ait went overboard.

Shame on you Linda Ikeji, shame on you!!! This is the useless dictator you used your platform to always support! Shame on you!!! This is how it starts, next this same senile Buhari would aim to control you( that's if he hasn't started yet) and other media houses!!! Shame on you because you were part of the people that bastardised GEJ'S administration just to glorify this senile illiterate Buhari!!! He wants to use his office to control the media and the people but it won't work!!! Shame on you!!! Sahara reporters, the Nation's newspaper, LTV etc said worse and did worse things to GEJ, yet he selflessly allowed the tenets of democracy to triumph, he bared the nonsense and false criticisms thrown at him by people like you and sahara reporters, he didn't think of barring them...this Useless illiterate Buhari cannot withstand criticisms, how can he then move this country forward!!!! shame on you Linda, I say shame on you continously because I remember how you continually criticised and blackmailed GEJ with your ill and false news!!!! Once we have a controlled media, then we should forgot any progress we aim to achieve in democracy!!!

Very well said. Linda is just afraid because she knows that half of what she writes is compete and utter rubbish whilst the other half is plagiarised. and why is she even complaining when I know that she screens unfavourable comments on posts about her friends. Don't you think it's the same thing. Madam please shut the fawk up and have several seats.

Oh shut up!!! Do ur home work before you start blabbing. He has a right to do what he did biko!

Linda why are u like dis,didnt u see d hate campaign against buhari,stop being sentimental if not u will lose many readers

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 375   Newer› Newest»