Buhari bans AIT from covering activities - sad for our democracy - Lawyer | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 April 2015

Buhari bans AIT from covering activities - sad for our democracy - Lawyer

I'm sharing this because people in the media should be a little scared of what happened yesterday. If they can do this to AIT, they can come for the rest of us. And before you know it, we can no longer write what we want. I hope it doesn't come to that. A lawyer shares his opinion. Read below...
Maybe I should attempt to open our eyes just a little to what is actually going on: 'Buhari bans AIT from covering his activities'. This is nothing for you to rejoice about that AIT sponsored hate campaign and so it's a good response. No! It isn't. It is just a true reflection of the 1984 hatred for critics and the press. Indeed, you may repackage a despot, but he is what he is.
I laugh when I remember his words at Chatham house: "so I present to you, a former dictator and a 'born-again' democrat'. Like really? Do you realize that one Cardinal part of this democracy is the freedom of the press?  Perhaps he understands the role of the media in bringing down GEJ and maybe scared of same.

Let me take you back a little, do you know the APC legislators, last year sponsored a bill to control the press? to be specific, social media?  Do you realize that severally as a dictator, Mr. President-Elect called the media, 'a distraction'.

What then is the lesson?

While I do not subscribe to ANY form of unprofessionalism in the media, this is democracy, you can sue for defamation, except of cos you think they are saying the truth. Further you could prosecute for sedition (that's what I'll do to Sahara reporters if I were GEJ). You do not blacklist the media.  It only starts with AIT and then possibly it will spread to other channels. Then we would have a 'controlled media'.

But then again, let this cloud that is gathered yield us some fruits, 'cos the NextGeneration is patiently waiting to kick all of you out.  Just wait and see!

Gilbert Oladeinbo (Esq.)

375 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 375 of 375

All of you called nigeria are indeed baboons and monkeys that cannot reason. What a it aired was it the truth or not. Sometimes I wonder if your heads are ok

God bless you. Yeye people

I tire ooooo. Help me tell madam linda.

Nothing gladden my heart more than what Buhari did. How unprofessional AIT was prior to last election! It will serve as deterrent to other media houses who can go to any length unethically and unprofessionally just because of money.The era of impunity is gone,things must be done in a proper way it should. God bless president elect GMB, God bless Nigeria.

I million likes for this

This Linda Ehhhh. The move is only temporal. After they had wished him death. Come and report crase people. Abeg dey should go and report on how Gej and patience are parking.

The Dictator is here!
The Change is here!
From True democracy to rigid democracy
Wlc to the military/democracy regime

Bitch?for airing her own opinon?may god take time out of his busy schedule to punish u and ur family for insulting her.

Pravin.zille@gmail.com

Useless lawyer!! Where we're you wen dey were insulting his family? Freedom of speech was not barred and he has a right to his private and family life. I do not watch Ait in my house because of their nonsense so imagine the person it affected directly. Abeg they should go and cover Gej and his wife leaving aso rock. If u like don't do your work professionally the same fate will befall you. Mtscheeew.

Kodjo's Mum said...

Story for the gods. Looking for cheap popularity as always. He banned them frm covering his activities for security concerns.

U need to learn how to do some research before you type with the hands that God gave u.

Mr Man,you sue the stations for defamation or whatever through due process not banning them. Dats not democracy, what if they have news about buharis secret activities? So they don't have the right to let us know? Pls think b4 ur righ

What is this again, is this the beginning of his action? or is there no longer freedom for speech? Why must it be AIT that gives us the latest update as Linda Ikeji's Blog.... please lets see to this matter and act on it on time before it's too late!

AK
stephen.akpan@atlanticfluids.net

@anon9.23am You are obviously very daft. Linda informs over 30million people world wide on a daily basis and you dare say she is unintelligent. Why not state your position on the dictatorial tendencies being exhibited by the president elect instead of spewing thrash. You can obviously never be better than a mediocre. Asswipe. Never step to Linda again in your life. Mumu.

So becos they showed hate campaign he ll now ban them? Abeg let's b reasonable, in that case all d supporters of GEJ shld also b banned from Nigeria na, abi? Hmmmm! Una go soon hear am

A leopard can never change its skin.in 1984 buhari jailed nduka irahor when he was working for guardian for posting something about him.change nko change ni.una don die for him hand.

Pravin.zille@gmail.com

This is just the beginning, am sure at the end we will all parise GEJ

Noordean said...

I support GMB in this, AIT is biased and blinded by money, a Television Network that could go to the extend using wife and dead daughter as campaign tool.

Noordean said...

Mind you, Buhari is not yet sworn in. So, he has every right to do that as a Nigerian

Ain't u way too stupid don't bring ur cursed tribalism iv self here fool!

Go back to sch boy, u ain't learned

Dictator

You're insane, get out of ds blog now!

Don't cry for the press .When you have compromised your hard fought and won freedom,you the tell those who don't understand what the press stands for you are worth so little. You all came together ,a part for AIT, to get GEJ out of the way. The irony of life is get rid of the common enemy and the group will manufacture another one and it goes on and on,until the enemies are from the group .GEJ gone,AIT gone, and all that were for GEJ gone. And, then, it will get to the western press and the APC people . Don't cry for the press,shed not a tear. Me have entered a season of 'siddon look'.

This so called lawyer is a hoax,its you linda that is scared and cooking up this story.A.i.t is a propaganda its self and they deserve anything that comes its way,u need not be scared(linda)u were neutral all the way during the time of election.

What is this again, is this the beginning of his action? or is there no longer freedom for speech? Why must it be AIT that gives us the latest update as Linda Ikeji's Blog.... please lets see to this matter and act on it on time before it's too late!

AK
stephen.akpan@atlanticfluids.net

Willy B said...

That is good response to partisan TV station like AIT. I don't give a shit to what happen to them. AIT was regarded prior to the airy of false documentary about GMB, to me as a national station. But now, it has lost its place.
In fact, it should be banned from operation in Nigeria.

So GEJ should erase the north from Nigeria because of their "hate campaign"? Receive sense!

Let's understand the fact that Buhari is still a private citizen, and can therefore bring anybody he wants into his forum; he's still the president-elect, not the sitting president yet.
we can only condemn him, if he should do that after stepping into the presidential shoes.
*EndOfDiscussion

Una never see anything.
This is the change ye seek.
#GEJ foever.

#Smile

sweetness said...

Gbam

I disagree, if Obama banned Boston Herald ffrom covering his activities because of their bias in 2011 (http://www.mediaite.com/online/white-house-refuses-event-access-to-boston-herald-calls-out-mitt-romneys-front-page-op-ed/)

WHY CAN'T BUHARI DO THE SAME ABOUT AIT, to a TV station that was not only biased, but promoted hours of hate documentaries and lies against him.

My president is not in office yet so has every right to be private. Who send AIT and who them help.

Shut up, ode, ur generation wl c d worst. Whr ws d useless lawyer wen AIT ws bn paid 2 run false accused documentary on buhari? Whr ws he wen Dokpesi went 2 collide wl d Rec of Edo state n rigged d election 4 jonathan? Stupid pple. Won se se bere ni won ti ri nkan kan. AIT mocked his late wife, children n buhari himsf n now he's talking rubbish. Guess he ws in exile den. Mind u mr lawyer, der is no freedom of press anywhr in d world o

Mr. Lawyer Pele to e oooooo. There's limit to FOS........ never mock the dead. And never capitalise on people's misfortune. Let AIT rethink n go back to the drawing board. There's FOS but FAS is never guaranteed. Lwkmd. Sai Baba. We forgive we never forget

Thank you.But I don't expect a lot of people to know this.Quite a number of people that comment are illiterates.

@private citizen.please explain it to Linda

God bless u

Sorry Linda, even NBC knows AIT has no ethics

Pastee said...

The Person in question is still an ordinary citizen till May 29, 2105 and he welcome anyone he wants in his house. Moreover, you don't expect him to have anything to do with such media house after that bad documentary aired about his person and the party. The president elect said that they will have to resolve some issues relating to issues of standard and ethics with the TV station, so they should wait till then.

God bless u

Koko said...

You ppl are really stupid. WAt did u think would happen. U hvnt evn seen nothn yet. Come n abuse him like u guys did GEJ nw? Sai bullshit. My prayer is tthat he bans blogs too so in 2019 everyone will be blessed with mega sense to vote the mofo out.

Koko said...

You ppl are really stupid. WAt did u think would happen. U hvnt evn seen nothn yet. Come n abuse him like u guys did GEJ nw? Sai bullshit. My prayer is tthat he bans blogs too so in 2019 everyone will be blessed with mega sense to vote the mofo out.

Dear Mr Esq Gilbert Oladeinbo, I can see you are among the multitude patiently waiting and hoping for Buhari to make a mistake so you can jump to the conclusion that he is a dictator. Well, I am very pleased to inform you lot that Buhari doesn't give 2 shits about your biased opinions okay. Buhari will govern this nation to the best of his ability by God's grace backed-up with the prayers of the few Nigerians who genuinely love this great nation. You were very quick to pen down this very misleading, venom filled and hatred inciting piece of trash. Where was your writing inspirations during the corrupt-led incumbent governance? I would have expected you to come up with headings like "GEJ's silence over the missing Chibok girls-sad for our democracy" or "GEJ's silence over the allegations leveled against the minister of petroleum-sad for our democracy"....AIT is compromised and lacks ethics and should be banned until they are credible! You and your lots are the ones standing against the law and order of this nation! For the sake of your lovely family (cos I don't give a damn about you) it will be in your best interest to zip it before you write/talk your way into trouble. If you don't know what to do with your time, I will advice you to take your wife to bed, that will be time well spent!

BrendaN

Yes ooooo

This aboki. You do realize that social means linda ikeji Twitter and the internet?!! You might not even get a chance to come on linda ikeji anymore and blab rubbish . Expand you mind don't be a sheep that's being lead blindly .

Aunty gwegzzz.... said...

Oga gerrout joor!

Really sad, honestly this decision doesnt speak well of the general at all

This Mr lawyer is obviously a GEJities. Mr u missed the point. Ait is not allowed to cover me and my visitors at least for now... Na by force until may 29 when I become president.... Do u get it now! It's a PRIVATE visit .....moron!

KINGING said...

You are a fool! You are barely a student and still learning so you should keep your mouth shut. @nopressfreedomanywhereintheworld Monkey name 5 developed countries you've lived in.

T.M said...

Mr lawyer barring isn't banning jst as stealing isn't corruption AIT got what they deserved

Linda, so it is ok for media to use their platform for wicked hate campaign? #Disappointed

Linda you're a foolish girl for that statement. No more free money for you now that your boyfriend won't be able to steal our money and guve you. Idiotic girl. Fool so you support what ait did to him

Good for dem, if not dat NTA is a federal TV station, dat one for follow for d ban. Linda take note!

Pls, those of you in support of this rubbish are either dumb or just plain stupid. Which part of what AIT aired was a lie?....If they held no truth, AIT would not have aired it. This his recent action, should be with caution, if he is not careful, Nigerians will have him removed.

Shut up, wat are u saying, u are a mass comm students, it's someone like u that hung around when classes were going on...olodo

you have definitely lost all respect. people like you seize to reason out of sentimental blockage. It is unfortunate. The sooner you start using your brain HONESTLY to asses right from wrong the better for you.

Foreverslim said...

There is nothing sad about what he has done..Senseless AIT are lucky cos if am Buhari i will ban them from airing,they should be ashamed of themself going close to where he is to cover him with their hate documentary even Obj never went that far to destroy anybodys image all in his bid for third term,desperate Jonathan and his team went all the way to do this,wonder who gave him that advice thinking it will stop people like us from voting him a goner and clueless worst president ever produced out.

How is refusing AIT rights to Buhari and infringement on press freedom? Ignorance coated in fine sounding mumucious words.

Serves AIT right. What did AIT air about his late daughter and wife. I need to knw pls.

Season 1 Episode 1

Stop looking for cheap points. Get your facts right PLEASE! that's how you published bello El-rufai's wife's name as "Regina", feeding us with crap wrong info. get ur facts right is all i say jeeez

BUT AIT WENT TOO FAR LINDA THEY ALMOST DESTROYED HIS REPUTATION IF IT WAS YOU NKO??? SAY THE TRUTH WHAT WOULD YOU HAVE DONE ???IT WAS PAINFUL..AND YOU KNOW IT

Ur comment is giving me life dis morning! Stupid idiots crying fowl go to North Korea and do media na!plus he is d media our problem ?no light no water ,no job dey won't write articles on dat its to remind us of wot happened in 1970 shoot!and if d press can instill ethics in dia job nobody will ban den simple!e.g Linda stop posting stories dat will attract trouble simple and yes dis is Rabi come for me I dey wait shior

Linda if it were u that someone defamed like that what would you do..you have come o i know you received huge amounts of money from pdp and you have a pro igbo agenda .....

As in.. Literally

Pushed him to where? He's doing it in advance cos he knows he has several things to unfold and Ait is some channel that would throw caution to the wind and air it.

rollynstonne said...

If i may quote d writer "Bans AIT from covering HIS ACTIVITIES"he's nt even d president yet,so he has a right as an individual just like u & i to keep any media away from our lives.He neva said "National activities".So Mr writer,This piece u wrote or shall I say this Shit u wrote is yet another Hate campaign just like what AIT had done all thru d election process....Its deuces bitches.

Pushed him to where? He's doing it in advance cos he knows he has several things to unfold and Ait is some channel that would throw caution to the wind and air it.

Mr. True Talk said...

left to Me, AIT should have been banned for life, the Man said they should not cover any of his activities. so what is the problem. No credible media house will taking such job that AIT took. All because of the money. how i wish he took them to court.then AIT will become history.

A lot of ignorant people in here.....

How can someone say there is no freedom of the press?.........you can only have that in a dictator regime....else people are free to talk...

If you talk anyhow, you face litigation....grow up.!

Weep for yourself..

Brother abi na sister watz your beef with Linda? Cos the last time I checked everyone has his or her own opinion concerning certain issues, Linda just shared her fears and you're putting her on a blast? You're just a HATER!

Totally agree with you. AIT should not be regarded as a professional media outfit considering the past events. Good media is free fair and unbiased which AIT has failed woefully. Its high time media men began to pay heavily in cash and suspension for unprofessional behaviour

God punish you first,idiot.

Marshall Matters said...

@anonymous you obviously don't know the word sarcasm.

Oj said...

Linda how can he come for the rest of you wen he hasn't been sworn in, how is that possible...as far as I know he is still a private citizen and can stop whoever from covering his private matters.

A leopard it is said can never change its spots. My fear is, can he even fulfill half of all the promises he has made so far when in power?

When they say what is not true you take them to court and claim damages which one is ban are we in dictatorship

Linda u are the next. Watch out

Good for AIT . I hope and pray that the corrupt management of the company also gets probed under this administration for not paying staff for several months. A friend has not been paid since last year February.

Many of the staff there are either prostitutes or earn a living through begging for money. Very few mostly guys have been able to strike big deals with politicians and live large while taking advantage of the young girls there. They offer to offset their bills and sleep with them at will. oga at the top continues to live large.
I hope the lawyer saying gmb's decision is not good for democracy also knows ait's inability to pay staff is also not good for democracy.

AIT bad management.. its pay back time...I dey laff o in OBJ's voice.
I don't pity ait at all if you have worked there you will know what I am talking about.. yeye organization...beautiful nonsense..

Mc-Sandra. A said...

Buhari has done something really badby putting a ban on AIT. They are free to broadcast anything they want to. It is a free country.There is free of speech. Buhari should not be allowed to do such evil. He was elected because people want to see if he will act any better for Nigeria to be a better country not to eradicate freedom of speech.Nawa oo. Very soon we won't be able to express ourselves. Hmmmn, now there is racism even in NIGERIA! IBO, YORUBA N HAUSA!? God help this his tenure.

Abeg joor. Why is this news. Jonathan harrassed the nation and punch news paper with soldiers years back.
Buhari barred them they were not banned.there is a difference. When AIT was going on with their hate campaign against his family no one talked. Even Ben bruce that owns Silverbird television and a PDP senator elect candidate didn't do the unethical rubbish AIT did.

I have said it before and will continue to say it. NIGERIANS ARE IN TROUBLE! Buhari is a dictator, Tinubu is a dictator. APC will show Nigerians pepper!

You are mad do you know what Sahara reporter did to GEJ or TVC or premium times did Jonathan ban them? The guy is just a dictator. His time will also expire is turn by turn

I DEY LAUGH O. ( in OBJ voice )

He Buhari should ban NTA as well. let d Kastina state own TV station and radio cover his activities. it at all his has a tv station. He shuld go back to school and learn democratic principles.
His govt will not last!!!

Mrs TC said...

He can only say so as an individual but as a democratic president, it will be wrong to tell a particular TV station not to air anything about you.

Nkechi J. said...

You should throw away your degree in mass Comm.
One of the cardinal rules for democracy, is freedom of press. You should see the nonsense Fox news says about president Obama.
Like the writer wrote, he can sue them, but he has no right to ban them. That's a bridge of democratic freedom, it always starts from the bad eggs, then it gets to the good ones. All media houses; print, blogs and others should really speak loud against this, because one day it could be them.
If you can only broadcast govt approved information, then the same ethics he talks about is in jeopardy.

Like your write up but they did same to Jonathan and he never stop any of them bcos of freedom of expression. I can imagine what Sahara reporter, tvc and even premium times did to jona anyway once a soldier always a soldier

Mrs TC said...

What about NTA. They are guilty of the same crime with AIT during the electoral campaign. Freedom of speech abeg. If u don't like it, go to court. It's too early oo.

lemme cross my leg, sip ma tea n wait for buhari to start showing his true colour. Of course change is coming. and for the record even if AIT did what is claimed here, a true leader never depicts such an attitude. something GEJ never did. pple of change, change has come from buhari. i laugh. he thinks more of dealing with pple than on how to grow the nationa economically

God punish ur entire generation! Oyinberibe!

Mrs TC said...

Oga please leave AIT and the press alone oo.

Tell us how you will fix power (NEPA) within first 6 months of your administration. Na that one they bother me oo.

GMB only barred AIT from covering his events, and not BAN AIT from operating, so whats the big deal, cry baby fouls

Olu said...

Let me ask who cares to answer, have you investigated the experience of Sahara Reporters , they were denied entry to Statehouse..and there was no issue..no noise.

But I think, that was a wrong move from Buhari, he should use the office in charge of Sanctions and regulations to bring AIT down...

I don't agree with the lawyer at all except if he the lawyer is telling us that he is one of AIT's legal advisers, come on lawyer wake up cos I can see u re still sleeping. Haba for crying out loud I was a strong fan of AIT before there biased, unfair, greed, partisan and unbalanced electioneering campaign, electoral programme. Raymond Dokpesi is greedy self centered. Haba ,I shaded tears when I first watch d hate advert on GMB, as an Individual I took it too personal,GMB doesn't know me,but as if he was my father that was castigated,that hate advert alone made me to have special interest for GMB.i personally started campaigning for GMB,convincing Nigerian youths to vote GMB,I remember some social media platform I belong to, Hw I will make my friends on the platform not to trust those sponsored hate adverts again GMB aired on AIT. Before now I respected Raymond Dokpesi and his Dear communication holding but with that sentimental,baised act of AIT,i better watch a community television station if there is any. I studied mass communication and I know the implications of what AIT Committed so Unprofessional. It serves them right.

I thought i was the only one that has lost respect for linda, i just uninstalled her app from my fone. Rubbish!

sp said...

Thank you and linda is dumb

I see a lot of dumb responses here... these peeps are unbelievable. Now I know why the country is the way it is...when u have people who have zero understanding...whose mental faculty has gone on recess...you don't expect anything less than what u hear and see.
Y'all will soon understand...bunch of retards...

Shut up! Mumu! He us still a private citizen. Foolishness won't allow u people think.

Hmmm! AIT didn't show any professionalism at all during the campaign .... I studied mass-com so I know watz up, it's never done dat way....

Wow,am sure you are a jobless, nuisance who is not bold enough to display his identity, meaning you don't even hav a life dat you are proud of,which leaves me to believe that you would do worse things to people if you can hide behind anonymous to say horrible things,you are so full of hatred and bitterness.you need jesus

sp said...

Linda you are not a professional. U are so biased. When A IT did theirs u didn't complain. U drop stupid and irritating innuendos. U just lost my respect . empty head

Can u stop all these generalizations. This lawyer is a yoruba man. Half of yorubas voted for PDP. A lot of yorubas do not like Tinubu & Buhari. Most western states didnt even vote obasanjo. We are not sheep. Dont pretend we are, when all facts & statistics show clearly we are not. We all know the tribes with sheep mentality in this country.

Signed
Yorubas

Jane said...

My dear, we are not in trouble, it is those who rigged for him that are in trouble.

May I remind you that the President- elect remains a private citizen of the country until the 29th of may 2015 when he will be officially sworn in. Till then he reserves the right to choose which media platform he wants present at his functions leading up till the inauguration.
NO CAUSE FOR ALARM!

Hmmm. Fishy

Jane said...

Your stupidity knows no bounds, patiently waiting for the day you'll cry "had I known"... Prophecy

So much bitterness. Ur visa don expire abi. Come back nah

genie said...

GMB should focus on the reason why he was elected abi is he now the NBC DG. he should realise that he has moved from a cattle rearer to a president elect and thus has no private right anymore.

if na witch hunt....how many pple does he wanna witch hunt. hmmm may this not set a bad precedent.

besides hope dey would not deny this tomorrow and say that GMB security detail dat worked him out was high on Orijin....lmao

the general has spoken.. sometimes, the media ought to know that they operate under a law and when that law is broken, then the aftermath is dangerous.. according to IDI AMIN DADA.. FREEDOM OF SPEECH IS ALLOWED BUT FREEDOM AFTER SPEECH IS NOT ASSURED.. HAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA.. carry on DA GENERAL..

Nneka said...

You've said it all my brother. I feel like giving you a hug

Deji Odetola said...

Even in US the baston of free press and democracy Obama officially didn't allow Fox news to cover his campaigns. He never accepted Fox news crew to follow him on his campaign stomps and didn't offer Fox crew seats on his Campaign aircraft. Buhari reserves his right to determine which media outlet covers him till May 29th.

Even as President he can cancel AIT accreditation to cover him as long as he does not impinge on AIT rights to do its business of broadcasting. All of you crying blue murder are hypocritical in my view. You are guilty of what you are accusing Buhari of. We cant take away his right to determine who covers him.

All of you bashing Buhari have refused to address the security concerns he raised. Security has overriding influence on this matter. Buhari has right to his life first and nobody should question whatever step he takes to secure himself and his family. For those saying why didn't he report AIT to regulator or court. Buhari has a right to decide whether he wants to go to court or not. You cant stay in your bedroom to know what he is doing or not.

Buhari's campaign Team has reported AIT and NTA to NBC for breach of ethical standards. Let NBC act accordingly. Till then, Buhari has right to take any measure that protects him and his family. Again we need to know the facility he is using is a residential facility. He can determine who comes to the house to see him. We cant abridge his rights on the alter of emotionalism of press freedom!

He has every right to ban them if they are a threat to his life and reputation. Linda, quit lowkey hating on Buhari.

Go and weep for yourself cos this is just the beginning of great things to come for Nigeria. Keep dwelling in stupidity

Please, someone should tell this So Called President elect...THIS IS DEMOCRACY. they did it to the president while in Office so why not him.. Beside, there is the freedom of information bill... Please Buhari should not offend us the ordinary people of this great Country. AIT will not only cover his events, they will follow him around as long as they are not a security risk.
Otherwise, we will vote him out again..try us and you will see.
Thank You

Better pikin! A million likes!

In politics, der re several campaign strategies provided d monitor is available, wat shuld b don to those pile who carried coffin of get nd pdp? What happened to entertainment industries dat campaigned 4 pdp? If we say d documentary is of hate nd lies,y dhuld pres elect pik offense? Let's b realistic here. If apc can of ford such dey will do it. Buhari is doing too much b4 handover let's put sentiments aside, am already regretting voting him. He deceived us.

You should get yourself enlightened before you write. Look at the story from both sides before you comment. The word the lawyer should have used is BAR and not BAN. Check for the meaning of the two words if you don't know. He has a right to bar any media house from his functions just as you and I do. What he can't do is, stop the media from reporting their stories, whether true or false. That is where the issue of libel/slander comes in if you are not satisfied with what was reported

Gilbert Oladeinbo (Esq.), in as much as you dont support the unprofessional attitude of AIT and NTA, I think you would also agree with me that any one trying to set your house on fire should be bar from entering your compound because that was exactly what AIT/NTA did to perpetuate incompetence government in power by assassinating the characters of GEJ's opponents but God had spoken.

Okowright Balaxy said...

A mad man is always a mad man. Buhari has not changed, rather he will be worse than he was in the 80's. With this devilish move by Buhari to ban AIT from covering public events, it shows that the Nigeria media both print, social and electronic media will not be allowed to enjoy the press freedom GEJ signed into law. With an illiterate like Buhari as the president,Nigeria will experience setbacks and oppression of whoever that will against his administration. You all should watch out, you will see worse and more evil act from Buhari in the coming days. All those that voted him into power will surely regret it because Buhari is a satanist that will never change. LINDA IKEJI you should be worried too,because very soon you will be asked to restrict the content of your post. One thing we the people of the south won't take is stupid laws that will deprive our region of the benefits legally due her. Buhari should be very careful,because Nigeria may still break up if he can't be wise enough to be the president of Nigeria.

Really? What about tvc, LTV and sahara reporters that also got involved in partisan politics, why are they not barred?

Innocentia Annie said...

Sipping chilled coke
And watching where and when its
gonna end

I'll wait for the a more detailed press release from Buhari's people before I comment

All you fools talking about AIT broadcasting hate documentary against Buhari as an excuse to barr them. If that's a good reason,then Jonathan would have barred every media outfit for all the propaganda the promoted against his government. Let the truth be said, Buhari is an hausa evil cow that can never change. But this time around we will not allow his rascality to exceed it's limit. This is democracy and there should be freedom of expression. FUCK BUHARI THE EVIL HAUSA COW!!!

Belu not just Ndigbo but Nigerians as a whole.

Linda i hope you are not complaining? You campaigned for him, sponsored post and all that. You posted so many rubbish about GEJ and PDP. You openly supported Buhari. Social Media is next. You will close shop. Just watchout

UNHAPPY NIGERIAN. said...

UNFORTUNATELY, IT IS ONLY IN NIGERIA THAT WE FAIL TO LEARN. THAT GMB COULD CONTEXT TALKLESS OF WINNING IS MOST DISGRACEFUL STIGMA I PERSONALLY HAVE HAD TO FIND A WAY TO DEAL WITH AS A NIGERIAN. SHAME ON EVERY NIGERIAN THAT VOTED CNN. MARK MY WORDS MY PEOPLE. THIS IS THE BEGINNING. YOU EITHER FALL IN LINE OR YOU WILL AND I REPEAT, YOU WILL BE FLOGGED INTO LINE. BUHARI EQUALS TO ONE WAY, MY WAY OR THE CALITOS WAY. I AM STILL LAUGHING. DO YOU GUYS IN LAGOS REMEMBER THE THREATS THAT APC ISSUED TO ADVERTISING AGENCIES THAT DARE PUSH OTHER PARTIES POSTERS BEFORE THE OBA THREATENED THE IBOS OR THE THREATS ANYBODY IN THE NORTH FACED IF THE PERSON DARES TO BE FOR GEJ . NIGERIA I HAIL THEE. BUHARI,S WIN IS BEGINNING OF THE END OF NIGERIA AS WE KNOW IT. AMERICAN CIA MIGHT NOT BE WRONG AFTER ALL WITH CALLING 2015 THE LAST YEAR OF NIGERIA AS WE KNOW IT. LUCKILY SOME NORTHERNERS AND UNFORTNATELY SOME SOUTHERNERS ARE BEGINNING TO SEE BIAFRANS SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO GO IF THEY REALLY WANT TO. NO UNION SHOULD BE BY FORCE, IF WE DIGFER STRONGLY AND WE CANT AMEND IT, THEN WE SHOULD ALLOW A PEACEFUL REFERENDUM TO DETERMINE IF TRULY A HIGHER PERCENTAGE OF BIAFRANS WANT TO DISINTEGRATE FROM NIGERIA. IT MUST NOT BE A FORMER YUGOSLAVIA BEFORE WE SEPERATE. WE CAN BE CYPRUS OR MOST OF FORMER USSR. THE IDEAOLOGY DIFFERS A LOT. THEY(NORTHERNERS) ARE MORE INCLINED TO KINGDOMSHIPS WHICH DOES NOT ALLOW DEMOCRACY NOT BECAUSE IT IS NECESSARY LY BAD BAD BECAUSE THEIR RELIGION ENCOURAGES IT IN THE EAST, IS DIFFERENT.ILIKE I SAID, THIS IS JUST A TEXT RUN. THE WORLD BETTER BE READY FOR THE SECOND COMING OF GMB. LINDA UNFORTUNATELY, YOU GUYS WILL SOON HAVE TO MOVE OVERSEAS LIKE SAHARA REPORTERS IF YOU MUST WORK FREELY.

Bonaro or whatever you call yourself, I know you will always support that old foolish wicked hausa cow called Buhari. I hope you will support him when he imprison you or any of your close family member.

Anonymous @08:26am, buhari seizes to be a private citizen the day he brought himself out as a presidential contestant and the day he win, he seizes to be a private citizen forever because everything about him is owned and paid for by the State of Nigeria. Note, he is a retired General & before now former head of state albeit dictator which by our law, makes him Nigeria,s responsibility until he dies. Ask if you don't know my brother. Nigeria owns him forever. Nothing private about him now or before. Nigeria trained him with full scholarship from primary to general and now still. AIT is a licensed media house until proven by a law court or nbc proove,s that they are not beyond reasonable doubt in an open court not buhari,s ruling council. LMAO to apc supporters. We are watching!!!

Lmao 😂

Foreverslim said...

Lets be fair to Linda Ikeji as tough as PDP was Linda used wisdom in all are write up on elections matter and if the BVs are smart its easy to tell that Linda is on Buhari's side .Lets leave Linda out of this buohahaha.Shes been good all the way mbok.

Nne, biko how much does your respect add to Linda's life?

<< LIB Addict >>

Welcome to dictatorship!

Freedom without responsibilities is a disaster and Ait and other media station must learn that politics is not war nor time to spread obvious lies about our national heritage and Heroes and newtons third law of motion says actions and reactions are equal and opposite

What are we talking about? A IT has no professional integrity. I remember a man was killed in Afghanistan with bomb planted in a press man's video camera. A it can do that, cos Dokpesi benefitted from GEJ. They can even poison the microphone they put in GMB's mouth so please do not criticise our president elect for being security conscious. Who knows what anti progressives are planning. God will continue to keep GMB safe, who God has blessed no man can curse.

Rubbish article. AIT ought to have been penalized by NBC long ago. AIT threw professionalism into the wind just bcoz of money. Their license should even be suspended....AIT deserve the bar and not ban Lawyer Gilberth is talking about.AIT is a private station and not a government owned station, ethics of conduct should be there guidline. Bar is what you receive when you say what is not true and very provacative of the general. This is a big lesson to AIT. AIT should go and acquire more intensive knowledge from Channels tv and the likes..... If you care to know, at a point President Obama also barred a news agency, Sir Alex Ferguson did that too besides, some PDP states also barred newspaper coy like The Nation.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1388366/White-House-bars-Boston-Herald-Obama-fundraiser-Mitt-Romney-page.html......lummy007

If AIT was the only one sent out because of its professional misconduct and others were allowed to cover the event, it is very good. It will serve as lesson for others. AIT needs to face the consequence of their actions. When you deliberately broadcast inciting, hateful and perjured documentary about someone personality in other to run him down in other to promote or give an edge to his opponent in a competition is very, very bad! Since the time Buhari has left the office, what was AIT doing that it did not broadcast it when Buhari contested with OBJ, or when he contested against Yaradua of during the campaign in the election before the last one. So, this confirmed it as a calculated attempt and conspiracy between AIT and the ruling PDP. Since AIT jettisoned professionalism and embrace partisanism, Let us not be carried away by emotions, AIT deserves what is meted out to it by GMB since NBC failed to sanction AIT on that provocative and perjured documentary that was aired by them severally on their station.

This is becoming really sad. How Lindaikeji, my everyday news source is becoming a little biased. I mean, it's so clear by the way she reports this days. Are you taking side now? Why ain't we trying to give this man a chance. You will post GEJ is a good man! For doing something that should be the right thing to do but for the opposition party, only things that would create fear in our heart. Maybe we miss the Linda that was not biased.

he has no right. He is a public figure. He cannot censor his activities. No controlling of the media.

Elhadjkoko said...

Criticism is different from
criminal acts and libellous conduct. Publishing
falsehood is not criticism, rather an act for which
tremendous damages is payable.
You can’t make someone naked in the open and
say it is a joke. AIT is compromised because of
money, everyone knows that so such a
media outlet lacks morals right of informing the
society. Billions of Naira action have been instituted
against the corrupt AIT set up.
Until Buhari is sworn in, he is still a private citizen.
He can choose whom he wishes to speak to or not.
AIT is reaping the seeds of what it sowed. After
May 29 however, this will
be grossly partisan.....

and should FOX News also do same from CNN?

Please speak of what you know. You can easily Google who that lawyer is and find out about him. You at least we know nothing of.

And btw, doing things rightly does not even involve such a restriction. You can try to talk but guy, half-knowledge is not wisdom.

AIT did too much. FOX News does soo much. Are they restricted?

This is not equity it is the law. Where there is equity and law, the law prevails.

And when you leave government what should the next government do to you and your policies??? Do we ever think before we write?

You don't reveal the truth by baring the press either. Sue them. Not act cowardly.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

So very sad!
Indeed a people get the leadership they deserve...
Reading through the comments of the die-hard Buhari supporters on this blog, I can't help but wonder: Is Nigeria really ripe for democracy?
Are Nigerians really ready to join the rest of the free world??
Could it be that indeed President Jonathan does not belong to this age, which is why in the last election seemingly most Nigerians chose the unrepentant despot and authoritarian over and above the urbane, self-effacing epitome of the democratic ethos?
How on earth can anyone ever justify such an action by the president-elected, which tends to suggest he's out to settle scores; act which is a brazen curtailment of press freedom, and all this in a 15-year-old democracy??
Here is a party, APC, which benefited the most from bad, wicked, partisan, combative and irresponsible press that apparently felt no evil was too much to write against President Jonathan, and yet GEJ displayed such uncanny maturity that seemed to say: muzzle the press and kiss democracy good bye...
So, just because AIT (and a few others) were not involved in the destroy-Jonathan-at-all-cost but seemly were protective of his interest then they must be singled out for ostracism...
What truism that a leopard never changes its spot...
Well, we are watching!!!!

What lies? All AIT aired are verifiable and true. If he feels they were lies, let him sue AIT.

It is a pity where ever you pitch your tent.

Will you prefer a Rubber (Money Rubber) as your president (you have him and his tenure ends in days ) or a dictator if he is with a well governed nigeria and prosperity ?

Where ever you swing,you have no choice.You take solace in this pray for your leaders as directed by bible and above all ,be a good citizen.If you have been stealing ,steal no more.The bible have this to say,let him that stole steal no more.This should be your good service to nigeria.Come May 29, if your have been writing rubbish,smearing others ,stop this act.If you give and take bribe,a percentage ,stop that .YOU HEAR..... see you born again.You have not fully repented.You need to change. If you have stolen money ,collected what is not yours and part of our dollars during elections, this is the time for you to restitute.The holy book demands this.God bless Nigeria

Bishop, long time.

Hahahahahahah.... Linda are you scared now? na una follow do supporters club na, this is just the beginning ooooo, make I carry sit sef... am laughing at all of you. pay back time

slylov said...

Hymmmm well na d yorubas go suffer it more

Etim ebok said...

Leave those cowish yorubas

Fallacy... I question d source of ds subject. A president elect cannot issue a BAN full stop!
Pls pipl beware of false info dt go by d media sources.

Can someone who has NOT even been sworn in do such... Power freak dat is ALWAYS equal to tyranny equal to Muslims.

Weak souls can NEVER take hard truth in whatever form.

Linda so true

Then he should quit defense quarters and go back to daura

Steve said...

I feel the same bro... Next! Already

The question is, "Who watches AIT and why is there such a fuss about what they could cover or not cover? Whether they cover or not, " who on earth watches AIT, except for Telemundo, Young and Restless and all those life crabbing contents....

That man will Islamize Nigeria

Wolespeaks said...

I am open to proof that the incoming administration isn't gonna perpetrate regrettable sort of governance...I am verily open to proof from them...

@ANONYMOUS 09:27am, so this is what u call democracy. The key to democracy is diverse views to everything my fellow nigerian not a one way o ne of approach. This is not North Korea or even China. Wake up.

You this Gilbert Oladeinbo you have brought this ur Buhari Hatred from Facebook to this place. Don't worry all ur GEJ dirty deals will surface soon.

The fear of foreigners- Xenophobia.... The fear of the media - Mediaphobia ... Monkey na monkey o,

While I appreciate you candid opinion, but if you want to talk about a controlled media, then i refer to this current state of media. The media only report news that pleases the government (before March 28 that is) and while i agree that there might be other ways to handle the issue, but it is not fair for you to cast him in a light that you are clearly not casting this current administration. A light by the way the belong to.

Good for you. U haven't seen anything yet.. that guy is a heartless soul

Unchained said...

Sorry eze, who are you again?

You are very stupid! 'it's called campaign' TVC with the full backing of APC never aired anything that concerns Gej's family. U are just so full of hate and common sense has thus deserted you.

Gej's administration gave us the opportunity to write rubbish about him yet he did nothing,under Gej's administration,Nigeria's treasury was almost milked dry by the greedy fools he appointed,while the citizens languish in poverty,yet he did nothing,now,according to a senseless kid that goes by the name Henry Eze,that's the definition of a true democrat. Whoever did this to Nigeria,by bringing u into this world has not done well at all!!!!

Receive sense!!!!

I really hope President Buhari stands his ground on this fight against these idiots that sell chaos for news because there is no law that controls them. I hope he bans every social media house and television channel that has their head loose.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 375 of 375   Newer› Newest»