Nigerian man who killed CBBC presenter found guilty of murder | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 1 May 2015

Nigerian man who killed CBBC presenter found guilty of murder

Jeffrey Okafor (left), who was only 18 when he stabbed Carl Beatson Asiedu (right) 19, outside a nightclub in Vauxhall, central London in August 2009 when a late-night row escalated into violence, has been found guilty of murder.

On the night Carl was killed, he was with friends and had performed a set at the Club Life nightclub near Vauxhall station.

Within an hour of the attack, Okafor confessed in a phone call to his girlfriend that he had stabbed Carl, and days later he told the same woman that he had stabbed the DJ in the stomach. She said he gave her a pair of black gloves to look after which were later passed to police. DNA which may have come from the victim was found on one of the gloves.

Police arrived at his East Dulwich home on August 13, 2009 to arrest him but he was already in hiding and took a flight from Heathrow to Lagos using his brother's name and passport.
A post-mortem examination concluded the cause of Mr Beatson Asiedu's death was a single stab wound to the front of the chest.

Sarah Whitehouse QC, prosecuting, told Woolwich Crown Court that Okafor had no connection with his victim prior to the attack. She said "It is not clear, and will probably never be known, what led up to the killing of Carl Beatson by Jeffrey Okafor. You may hear that there was some ill-feeling between some members of the two groups, but there was nothing serious enough in the background for anyone to explain why knives should be drawn. What is clear, the prosecution say, is that Jeffrey Okafor was the man who killed him."

The prosecution said four days later Okafor boarded a flight from Heathrow Airport to Lagos using his brother's passport.

He was extradited from Nigeria in November last year.

Okafor pled not guilty to the murder but the jury took just two hours to convict  him in London yesterday - six years after Mr Beatson-Asiedu's death.
Judge Christopher Kinch QC will sentence him today.

52 comments:

Shocking!

Good riddance

LMFAOOOO. Read this story in Lagos and thank me later.

ASHANKA said...

SO SAD

Fiat justicia ruat cealum.
Justice must be done though the heavens fall.

Time to pay for his crime...life imprisonment is good for him...just suggesting

Pretty wife caught cheating on her husband with the houseboy

Nadia Buari caught in a Hotel with a prophet

See What this Man is Busy Doing with a Lady in an Uncompleted Building

Crazy Things Uniport Babes Do in their Room when they ‘re Bored.

He will rot in jail now

george wey hate linda said...

This so sad,nigerians sha o!

A country of double standards...
Rich Buruji Kashamu: wanted in the US. Not extradited.
Poor Jeffery Okafor: wanted in the UK. Extradited sharp sharp!
The poor would always be nothing!
Dear youths, by all means get rich! It doesn't matter hw u do it! Else ul suffer d same fate

Chai!Oyinboooooooo.twuale!6yrs after,if na 9ja e don end dia.i hail!

I love Suppy maggie

Issokay

so many Guilty fellows

Discover amazing Fat-melting and delicious weightloss food commonly found in nigeria click here

Joy C said...

At 'only' 18 he can stab & kill someone, let him take responsibility pls. Let's say carl's was a mistake, what about the DJ's? He should be taken out of the streets ASAP.

he should do his time

Discover amazing Fat-melting and delicious weightloss food commonly found in nigeria click here

Good for him Atleast he won't be paying house rent in prison...Plus free food. What a waste to his family..

Serves him right.

How could you even think of harming anoda person?smh

Gud 4 him I tink.nigerians shud learn how to behave themselves outside the shores of dis country.not evry country is like nigeria #lawless

Nawah

This is fashion I really like her sense of simplicity @ askgidi.com

Sorry man but jail is ur new abode nw....

What a waste. I know when he was born there was jubilation, especially for being a boy. And later dedication to God, now see, only if they have known, they wouldn't have wasted their time trying to conceive him and wasting money on him ,bring him up and training.

Killed his own Igbo brother in a foreign land; tufia!

Very good. He should pay for his crime. Linda take note!

*HE CREATED DOUBT ABOUT HIM NOT BEING GUILTY WHEN HE RAN FLED THE COUNTRY. * S M H *

RIP Carl

Oduduwa said...

Linda (a.k.a omo nna), you wont celebrate your Yibo brother now. na the one wey cell motor to mayweather u sabi say na yibo

Well he is done for that one. That is it for him.

Ok, he will face his penalty with gud heart

He juz wasted his life

Goaldyn Boy said...

The murderer ran but he couldn't run away! When he arrived Lagos, he must have thought he had evaded justice! He didn't realize that he had committed a crime against the state of United Kingdom which has a longer arm to rope him, unlike her Nigerian counterpart! He must have thought he was dealing with Nigeria where people commit crimes and get away unscathed! ....
..This is time for him face the music!!!

Why is it that most of the offenders are Igbo. Like 95% of crimes committed aboard are Igbo people.

Maybe na life imprisonment be that

Good to know that he's been extradited to U.K for judgement. He should face the consequences of his action.

princess said...

Good! Hooliganism does not pay and I hope others learn from this that there is punishment for crimes in that part of d world..

His crime finally caught up with him

Continue resting in peace Carl.
Dude has to pay for his sin.

Agiann!

Novena student tho!!!!

Wonders !! drugs in action

The pix by the left Looks like wizkid.....anyways..#SipsHenny

The pix by the right Looks like wizkid.....anyways..#SipsHenny

zibaintl said...

so u killed and u run to LAGOS as hide out abi..but wen u de Uk dey enjoy your life b4, if dem ask u where are u from...d response is ..am british...pls u guys shld remain british n stop runing to naija wen u comit atrocities..bcos nigerians dat are british and doing well by representing UK dont run back to nigeria

O ga, den jst dey disgrace Naija every whr

Berry said...

Let him pay for his sins.

U just talk rubbish he is British by Nationality. Disgrace what? You should read properly before commenting. Stabbing is rampant here in the UK Nationality got nothing associated with it.

He is British. Even though his parents her igbo

I remember Carl Asiedu....his parents where my neighbours in Croydon. finally justice has come for this family. RIP Carl

kelly f baby said...

So many judgmental ppl in Nigeria. Most of you have done worst crimes. I feel sorry for his parents who have lost two sons to jail. And I pray for Carl's family too.

you can say that again.....sad igbos can't stick together