Photos: House tenants homeless as house buyer suddenly shows up in Surulere | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 March 2015

Photos: House tenants homeless as house buyer suddenly shows up in Surulere

There was confusion on Monday March 2nd at 3, Ladele Dada Street in Surulere Lagos, when policemen chased out the occupants of the house following the sale of the property by the daughter of the owner of the house without his consent

According to the buyer of the house, the first daughter of the landlord, a woman named Mrs. Ololo had sold the house to him about 15 years ago without the knowledge of her father. So immediately the man died, he approached her to claim ownership of the house. They even went to court and he won the case. After winning the case, he took police men to the property to take possession rendering tenants who didn't even know all these was going on, homeless...

One of the oldest tenants of the house said;
"Police and some other people stormed the building around 10:00am on 2nd March, 2015". They said they are on court order to evacuate tenants out of the house as the house ownership has been transferred to the buyer.
I have been living here since 1984 and in fact the first receipt I received from the landlord is still with me, the buyer just showed up and threw us out without any prior notice." he said

101 comments:

Chimo original gobe

GHEN GHEN!! EHYA FOR DEM BT BUYER MUST POSSESS HS POSSESSION. HOPE THEY VE SMWHRE TO GO TO...TOMJERRYSWIT

Riketoke said...

Hmm only in Naija! But wait oo u dnt mean it since 1984? *yawns

The Sexiest Mother Of This Blog said...

Chaiii what a sad situation check out what every lady want in a first date not that 6 packs things men think it's the first thing.

Feel sad seeing all these sufferings.

The new buyer should have been patient with them or given them notice.....him no try at alll

De no longer evacuate pple frm their homes without 6months notice....oh no! D man shud be dealt wit! Where does he want dem to move to now? Haba!

This is not fair now
The tenants should have been given notice
Nigerian police behaving like illiterate
Foolish policemen
The man has given them money now
They won't see again
Even if he won in court it doesn't guarantee him to push the tenants out without notice

Expulsion without prior notice doesn't sound right to me. Fashola, come offer some protections to your residents. Your department on tenants' rights is badly needed here.

nkem said...

Omg serious Gobe

Joy(sharonlady002@yahoo.com said...

Haha haba quit notice first na b4 throwing dem out,its nt fair

Rough Diamond said...

Pple dey suffer o! Since 1984 u dey stay person house?! Am jst surprised

The buyer should have give the tenants little time to evacuate the house instead of throwing them out all of a sudden. Linda take note!

The Sexiest Mother Of This Blog said...

What a country nigeria.The rich keeps getting richer whIle the poor keeps getting poorer

Reason why you need to have sex every day

And he is proud of longest tenant achievement! I'm happy for u dat ur curse has been broken..if inly ye coulde see

Which kinda embarrassment be that one? If you course mate they pass and saw you in this condition chaii things don spoil if you're the boasting type......the landlord wicked o.

::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::

this is ridiculous!!! living in a rented house since 1984,chai.

Welcome to Bookybam's Blog said...

How can someone be a tenant for 30yrs. That oldest tenant should be sent back to his village. #keep lagos clean

is a pity...

Eyaah...Buh the buyer should have given them a prior notice na.

this is serious
no quick notice, nothing in place to keep them intouch

Funso Samuel said...

Pele to them

Quasi stessa umiliazione che abbiamo ottenuto dal nostro padrone di casa ieri. ma Dio in cielo non può mai trascurare i suoi figli in momenti come questo

This is why I so much hate Nigeria my country how can court give order without notice given to the tenants.

Poverty is a disease.They should work hard and buy their own house.The buyers are not from the moon.

our prayer is that God will give us money to build our own and avoid this kind of wickedness. God of miracle will visit them.

Taiwo said...

Is it not wrong for any landlord to evacuate tenants from a residence without a court eviction. The tenants can sue the landlord to court because it was the house owner he won in court and not the tenants. After getting the possession order from the court he is suppose to take the tenants to court if the tenants were not part of the case from inception.

Eweeeeeeeeee!!! I just counted d yrs nw. 2015-1984: 31yrs... No be here ooo. Chief tenant... God help dem.. Amen

Awwww, dis is really painful.....they can as well go 2 court if dey were not served quit notice.......truly sad!!!

Vinnie Mcoy said...

Double wahala! There should be a legal solution to this.

GR8BABE said...

This is serious!

God will see them through

Poor tenants, Police and the court should do give them sometime.

Lynda please do something. At least use your influence to open a fund where people can donate to rescue dem from homelessness. Pls let's not see this as just news. I am willing to donate too if there is a medium to do so. Good job linda.

You can imagine where you read it to because that's your way. Oh less I forget you re still a student no wonder your english is something else

Gobeee

Since 1984, na u suppose buy DAT house sef, but witches for ur village say dem nor grew, and u still av ur 1984 receipt...u one use am win promo, stay for a decade, get 1 room free...

Lagos courts with jibity judges

XTACY said...

Just like that.. Where the hell in justice, what court order rubbish ppl to evacuate wtout any information. Before hand hmmmmmm #not makin sense oooh

Whatever happened to months of notice before evacuation???? such apity.......

People are really suffering shah.....

Eya...lindaobserve

eya, its not fair at all, at least they should have been given a quit notice letter earlier. this one na serious gobe. i pray the Lord sees them tru their ordeal. #smh for the new buyer#

Wickedness!!! i remember something like this happening to us many years back at VI no prior notice and we were not owning. The landlady just appear one morning and evicted us with touts as if we had problem with her before that time. it keep telling you how wicked people are. my advice to people please try and build your own house to avoid these shame..

KING OF LIBERS said...

Now this is a most unenviable position to be in. DAMN! Very terrible.Where dem wan start from abeg?

But still on still sha, LIBERS LOVE AND HAIL THEIR KING.

serious matter, staying in a rented apartment for good 31years curse broken happy for u but the new owner should have given notice of 6months. its well with our country Nigeria.

eyah

Why is no one questioning the fact that he did not purchase the property from the owner but his daughter while the owner was still alive, If he truly felt he had purchased the purchased properly why did he wait for the owners death before claiming ownership. I guess the other parties defence was a banana or he bribed the jury.

he should be kind enough to give them notice.

The new owner ought to give them at least 3months notice b4 ejecting them.. I mean they r humans not animals.. if he waited 15years to claim it, why not chill 3months for the pple to sort themselves? Na wa o

barrister said...

Its only just to have given them prior notice. I wonder why the magistrate/judge didnt include that in his ruling/judgment.

What a country nigeria.The rich keeps getting richer whIle the poor keeps getting poorer its well with them Jc

sodablog said...

Lagos is worse in this aspect

Pure wickedness + I dnt wnt 2 see anybody posting 1comment 10x..

Lawless country.. .... ..

Vote no fight

Living in a rented house since 1980 is his choice and nobody's business, so please judgers shut the fuck up!!!

Elvis said...

http://onlineyouthjob.com/?user=1108

Eyah, the new owner is suppose to give the tenant notice and time to vacate the house. Its really unfair

Na wa ooo

Were dem go go now?

@Fashola see to it mbok.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Moses u no read d story d guy bought d house 15 ,years ago is dat not enof time.d tenant should hold d stupid daughter responsible wen she sold d house she kept quiet she is mean and wicked

hrm paul ojeih said...

Ada but d man waited for 15 years haba d guy try joor.d problem is dat the daughter dat sold d house is wicked and evil. Sell house and for 15 years u kept quite instead of tellin dem but non d less I blame d police they are custodians of d law dey should no better

What about the tenants? So annoying.

Enyaaaaaaah

I am quite sure this case would have been going on and the tenants will be aware of the suit.so ignorance of the case it's no excuse

Bolateethole.blogspot.com

This a common occurrence in Lagos! Tenants go through this situation more often than we think and nothing is done to help them!

There is no fairness in court order. The owner had to go to court to prove his ownership and the court has granted him judgement.

I saw this on my way to the office ooooo around 8am. They were just flinging stuffs from the second floor downstairs without mercy. Hmmm FASHOLA please come to our aid in lagos o with landlord and tenants wahala. Now you hardly see a year's payment it must be from 2 years and above.

It's really sad! Since 1984, that's a long time to stay in someone's house...

sexy chizzy said...

1984, 20yrs, go and give testimony, the house even look so dirty.

This is injustice how can you evecuate tanent from the house without giving them prior notice..is on called for

...JOSHSAYSO...LIB...FAN

Esh.... said...

She. Is a woman...

fola said...

Dis is serious oo god wil Mk a way 4 u oo!1984 haaa

How can a court pass jurisdiction without the notice of the tanant atleast they should be given a ultimatum.if their is a learned person is that house he should take the case to a supreme court..

...JOSHSAYSO..LIB...FAN

How can a court pass jurisdiction without the notice of the tanant atleast they should be given a ultimatum.if their is a learned person is that house he should take the case to a supreme court..

...JOSHSAYSO..LIB...FAN

I pray he help them out...

This is inhumane

Oskirin said...

too bad......d lady is wicked.also d new landlord shd av given dem time 2 pack out.not d commando style n start ejectin people any how.

That means that for the past 15 years when the case was in court the tenants were not paying rent. That may be the reason why they were forcefully ejected.

Man Of God said...

i don't blame the buyer! the questions that should be ask are these: for the past 15 yrs has the tenants been paying rent for the apartment they reside? who has been collecting such rent? i believe they have not paid any rent for the past 15yrs, so why are they crying foul now

Sad, i hope they find a solution

WizzyEsq said...

Oh no.its unconstitutional to evict tenant like that,the Act is actionable...a 1yr tenant deserves 6month notice.a 6month tenant deserves 3months notice whilst a 3month tenant deserves a month notice as d case maybe...even at d elapse of d notice,the landlord will have to file a RECOVERING D PREMISES NOTICE to d court,which d court will right here evacuate d tenant(s)...its a total infringement which d police n d landlord is liable.d remedy is damage n injunction

commenting 4rm d

TEMPLE OF JUSTICE EQUITY N GOOD CONSCIENCE.

WizzyEsq said...

Oh no.its unconstitutional to evict tenant like that,the Act is actionable...a 1yr tenant deserves 6month notice.a 6month tenant deserves 3months notice whilst a 3month tenant deserves a month notice as d case maybe...even at d elapse of d notice,the landlord will have to file a RECOVERING D PREMISES NOTICE to d court,which d court will right here evacuate d tenant(s)...its a total infringement which d police n d landlord is liable.d remedy is damage n injunction

commenting 4rm d

TEMPLE OF JUSTICE EQUITY N GOOD CONSCIENCE.

Not fair...

omowunmi okunti said...

Wonders shall never cease to end in Lagos... I feel for the house tenants o,...

Ah! I feel for them, its fair at all...

I feel for them, this is not fair at all...

Firstly, linda should verify her news before publishing or posting as it were,
The house in question has been in the courts since 1999, my sister bought the house from lagos state as they were the probate to the man ololo. The first son now came and said because in ibo culture he his entitled to the hosue and took my sister to court, the said first son lives in the house with the tenants that has been there since 1984. He took to his heels when police arrived and he is wanted cos the court judgement specifically asked him to pay all the money he collected has rent since the suit was brought to court. So to everyone saying the owner should have given them the tenants notice, I pose this question, if it was you that has been deprived of the usage of your house for 15yrs what would you do

D buyer is wicked. He should have given them some time to relocate and not storming d place with policemen.

Too bad!!!

Too bad

You need to grow up miss. Your comments reek of stupidity. While you are at it, it would do you good to spend more time with books such as Students Companion, The Oxford Dictionary etc. Linda Ikeji blog should not occupy all your time. You are a pretty girl and the way you reason reflects in the way you write here.it would be nice if you made more of an effort to match your face with the way you write. You don't reflect any level of intelligence. Your sense of reasoning is quite on the low side so you need not let the whole world know by putting up comments on social media.

@toto eater, u are just and idiot. Infact u are abnormal bastard and i cant really blame u coz ur handle says it all. Inconsiderate fool, as if u have an apartment urself. Goat.

Riketoke said...

@Meeydrelevans ur comment is cracking me up. But ma true talk sha. Rotl

I am currently leaving somewhere which i understand has now been sold to one of the big and fast growing churches in Nigeria specialised in praying "die, die, prayers" They have refused to come forward to meet with existing tenants but are working through some or an agent to get us off the premises.

Wondering why the Church does not want to deal directly with us?

They are buying up all the properties in the area as much as possible to monopolize the area in the Yaba area of Lagos. I wonder which if these assets will be taken to heaven while the poor who cannot afford getting new accommodations are thrown on the streets. Lord help us

Both d buyer n d judge r heartless n v no human feelings, BRF shd pls assist dos involved o n as 4 d old tenant, 1984? U really need 2 relocate

@Louis I guess you're APC supporter.
Why blame the buyer instead of the landlord's daughter.
Blaming Gej for Abia state bad govt.

@eater you're a VERY BIG FOOL.

Paul Ofou said...

Sad story of living in Lagos.....

I understand the plight of the tenants, however if you have experienced what tenants can do....some of them take the piss! You give them notice, time comes for them to leave even after notice...They will start begging you "in the name of God". Next thing they turn around and sue you and they are living in your house rent free for the next 5-20 years. I don't blame the owner!

My goodness!, since 1984?. Dats quite a long time