Meet the honest airport cleaner who earns N7,500, found $27,000 (N5.4m) and returned it | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 7 March 2015

Meet the honest airport cleaner who earns N7,500, found $27,000 (N5.4m) and returned it

Pictured above is a very honest woman, Josephine Agwu, who works as a cleaner at the Murtala International Airport in Lagos where while cleaning one of the toilets at the airport on January 23rd, found a bag containing $27,000 which is 5.4 million in Naira equivalent. Josephine took the bag to the security post at the airport for an announcement to be made for the owner to come forward & collect it, which was done.

The woman earns just N7,800 as her monthly salary for a 12-hours a day job. Josephine, who is from Enugu state spoke to Vanguard about why she took the decision to return the money. Read that after the cut...

"I am from Enugu State, from Obonkpa in Nsukka Local Government. I live at Agbotukunyo in Agege. The incident happened on the 23rd of January 2015. I was on morning duty. So as I was sweeping around 6:30pm, I saw the bag on the ground and there were some passengers there so I thought that the bag could belong to one of them. But as I closed at 7:20pm, the person to relieve me on duty came that time. I was going to the toilet again, I saw the same bag there. Then I told the passengers sitting there that they should be mindful of the bag because once they announce the flight they may forget it. They replied that the bag did not belong to them. Three of the passengers left, so I then picked the bag and took it to the FAAN security people. At first, they put the bag on the screening machine, before they opened the bag and discovered that there were many envelops in the bag containing money in different currencies including dollars. As they were counting it, I saw an NDLEA woman accompanied by one man and both of them were coming towards us. They said that the man could be the owner of the bag. So when they came in, they interviewed the man and the man mentioned the amount of money and the colour of the bag. Before then, they had counted the money and it was exactly the amount that the man said. Then they carried the money and gave to the man for him to count. After counting, they asked him if the money was complete, he said yes and they snapped him picture. They asked him again about three times and they told the man that, ‘look at the woman that picked your bag’, and the man was looking at me. His name is Mr. Obinna Samuel. They told him that he should thank his God that if it were another person, that person would have run away with the bag but this woman didn’t do that. So I left and the man took the money and put inside the bag and went away. Then FAAN security personnel called me back, and they took my number On-Duty-Card (ODC) and my name. That was how it happened. People are praising me, FAAN said that they are going to give me automatic employment but I have not heard from them till now. People should appreciate what they have. People do a lot of bad things because they are not happy with what they have. With the little I earn, I try to manage it well. If I can’t manage that small money that I earn, even if I begin to earn N1 million, I will still not know how to manage it. So, I am telling every Nige­rian to be happy in any situation they find themselves. Don’t be faster than your shadow because so many things will go wrong. Sometimes things get bad because people want to be like others. All fin­ gers are not equal. It is true that God promised those who serve him riches, but people should be careful how they go about it. I am telling people to have pa­ tience. It is because people want quick money that is why some people become thieves. On the part of my management, in fact they are happy, all my supervisors. In short they are doing good things for me, even they are carrying me like egg, even my MD. They have added money to my salary. In short, my manager, Madam Eunice has been doing many things for me since the incident, praising me. She said that she knows that she can trust me, and that I cannot see anything that does not belong to me and I take it away" she said
Josephine says for showing such a remarkable decision, her company has decided to increase her salary from N7,800 to N15,000 monthly and also the management of FAAN has promised to make her a permanent staff
"FAAN (Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria) said that they are going to give me automatic employment, but I have not heard from them till now. On the part of my management, they are happy, all my supervisors. In short, they are doing good things for me. Now, they carry me like egg, even my MD.” she said
Meanwhile the Lagos state House of Assembly on Monday February 22nd at its plenary session decided to invite Josephine to the House to honor her for her honesty.

183 comments:

God bless you sis!

SANDRA said...

Nawa oo, she try

Anointed said...

Waoh,is there still a honest nigerian,may God truely repay her. #linda am here o#

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Awww..may God continue to bless her..nigeria needs more honest people like this

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Anointed said...

Waoh,is there still a honest nigerian,may God truely repay her. #linda am here o#

Anointed said...

Then they should increase her wages pls to something reasonable 7500 is so fucked, with the level of inflation in nigeria, working like elephant and eating like toothless bulldog mehn, it should be review, if not for anything but for the sake of her honesty...!!!! bicox $12,000 is a huge ransom

Only that, and the owner. Of the bag couldn't even show appreciation by giving her a little token. May God Bless her and her family.

Manuel said...

Irony of it all is she had no idea what was inside but good for her. as for me am keeping it ooo, my trecking days in AAU from school gate to lecture halls would have been over lolz

Very gud women,God will reward u handsomly

Wow....honesty is d best policy one can ever get. Happy for u madam. Its God at work

Linda, point of correction, $27,000 is never N12M... pls,

Like seriously! !!

Lucasbalo said...

Nice but the guy who lost the money should have given her some money to show his appreciation for her honesty. Some people can be so stingy.

Awww How Nice. God bless him

And what did Mr obinna the owner of the money do? Dont tell me he left without giving her a dime?not cool

Linda 27,000dollz is not upto 12million oo.calculate well before you start lying

GR8BABE said...

Pls she deceives something better ,the owner of the money mr Obinna you better do something,I just hope you are not ungrateful...

Wow! There's hope for Nigeria afterall. We are proud of you madam. #jake

KIZITO~SANTIAGO said...

shame to those rags that are saying ''Igbos love money'' u rags won't stop hiding ur heads in shame. I commend d woman who happen to come from my state ENUGU. Nne u're great nd a wonderful woman. Up u!

Linda...$27000 no be 12million Naira na.

They will now compensate her with N15K. How are they encouraging more nigerians to be honest then? Mtcheew

why you shouldn't see 50 shades of grey with your nigerian girlfriend

What can 15000 do for her? Ah! They should increase her to at least 100,000 per month. 15,000 that will go on just transport to the work talkless of her feeding and upkeep and her children if she has any. The man couldn't even compensate her for returning his money, just carried the bag & marched away. Stingy igbo man.

Maslow said...

you don dey get touch abi? How can you say $27,000 is 12million instead of 5.6 million. come let your head correct o before pple go time say something else is wrong with you.

Job Vacancies said...

After all said and done, i want to ask a sincere question. What is the amount of money you can carry into an airline to travel from one country to another?
And why was the owner of the bag not arrested for having such huge amount of foreign currency in hispossession at the airport?

#SFTG

So nice of her, i pray to have such morals like her.

Rare! Good work! Honesty pays regardless of how well paid you are. ~ceze

David N Adamgbo said...

it is said that Nigerians are not hot honest well res ipsa loquitor

Dear Linda, I don't know where U get your exchange rates from, $27,000 ain't equivalent to 12m naira...Do your math well...That being said, Thumbs up to this honest Nigerian. Rare Gem.

Dave Mide said...

They had better do something worthy for this woman ...i mean her salary is not even up to the minimum wage! 15k is too small. And the owner of that bag is a mean guy, he didnt even compensate her for anything. too bad

Nekky said...

Hmm.....dat such moni all dis preaching na 4 who u earn 7,800 and u saw 12m and u didn't collect it now Ure still earning 15k even d stupid man u help didn't even give u anyfin ...I kno dat d woman didn't kno d content inside Datz y assuming she knew na anoda story we go dey hear..

Malaysiame said...

God bless you Josephine... pls they should reward her for her candid... and the owner the money took it and left without giving her anything??? Is mr Obinna for real???

Awwww am impress never knew we still have people of good character......linda I have spoken

wow. Honesty at its peak. Good to know there are good people in this world. This is her beginning of more good things to come. Amen

Why is there always money being lost at airports?

Honesty is a badge of honour. ----C21

Only God can reward U madam.....And HE will..............

But wait oo...the owner of d money just took d bag of cash amd left......he cud nt even give d woman sumthing??????

janelycious said...

God bless u ma'am . greater tins will come ur way.

And the owner of the bag didn't even give her anytng,he should be robbed of that money....mschew

That's a good woman.....God has a better reward for her

::::::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::::

Nkay said...

Exactly my thought as well....Even if he wasn't going to tip her in front of the officials, he should have collected her details so he can thank her later..Some people don't know how to behave properly.

Must every thing be about money. FACEOFLIB

Sureboi for GEJ said...

😅you make me laugh. I have a simple question ... Was she aware that the bag contained money. I'm very sure that if she knew she would have taken the money . That's it

prettiyz said...

God bless u ma

N5.6 million

Me I dey talk my mind,if I wer dat cleaner I wuld take dat money and see it as God,s Blessing.from d story I jst read now I guess she didn't open d bag dat was y she didn't knw it was money.me I go jst take d money go.see d stupid Ibo man didn't ivn appreciate her

99% Nigerians won't do this

Yes o,she dull no be small

The yeye igbo man did not even give her 1kobo, just a thank u. At list 50$ would if been nice

Jst 15k increment,bullshit.im sure she wik b regretting she didn't take d money

Is N7,500 Nigerian minimum wage? Those guys should be sued.....u guys re busy praising the lady nd ignoring the fraudulent act by the company.....Linda I think we should concentrate more on the woman's salary....is it up to minimum wage? KC say so..

Haha very nice thoughts but to be honest is good

Ewooo nwanne m ooo! U ve made we igbos proud,atleast some people will manage dat word "igbos too like money" May God bless u mightily. Ezigbo nne.

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Na waaa o

7.800 a month!!!

And yet y'all dnt want a change in government

And to think this present administration debunked d implementation of 10k a month as minimum wage whilstt their pockets gets fatter

Seriously we nigerians deserve to be angry!!!

How can one be paid 7800 a month 4a 12hrs a day job,isnt that equivalent to slavery

Ain't surprise she hasn't heard 4rm FAAN,all na talks without action,they probably did it just to get accolade not that they meant it

Imagine increasing her salary to 15k,whats that??? Y not make it a whole figure,prolly 20k

And d stingy owner couldn't even give her @leasst 200k to show appreciation

She try wella!!! Not everybody wouldav returned d money and truth be told i wouldn't blame them judging with the state of the economy mtcheeeew

Nigerians it's high time we sat down and had a rethink...Let's vote 4CHANGE

Although the woman need to be commended. It is obvious that she did not know the content of the bag until it was taken to the security post

U obviously didn't read to d end. Always take ur time to read posts b4 u rush to drop comments

Abegi she didn't check that bag before delivery if she had check I swear she will RANAWAY not RUNAWAY with that money! 15k salary na wa oo olohun ma ba tey mi je oo ..Heaven help does who help themselves forget oo.. For this Nigeria wey we dey I go don fly toilet windoor tey tey go better village go rest for like 1month think wella how I go tey spend the money well, I swear that woman no check that bag

5.4m no be beans ooo

@Bernadine, " U err because U know not the scriptures nor the power of God". Jesus said that becuase of yoppy yoppy religious people like many chrstians of today who jump at anything and call it God's will or blessing. They even proceed to give such as testimony in congregations where their kind of christians buy that as the working of God. My friend, stop polluting the works of God. His works ar honorable and glorious. When U acquire things out of ur greed and dishonesty don't play smart by attributing it to God. God won't take that kind of polluted glory, U would only be ensnared into the hands of the devil.

I pray say i return the money ooo
Mo return e ti laja

abguda said...

Igbos are very honest people.

Nawa ooo that man stingy oo cnt even appreciate the woman jus left like that..how are there encouraging others now?

Firstly, I must commend the lady for her honesty, but com'on people she didn't know what was in the bag.

*****************Just Saying****************

Wow! I lyk ds, wen honesty pays, n is bn rewarded n applauded! And then d money owner jst looked @ her n walked away, ok!

Shweetgistz said...

She didn't say it's 12m, she said 5.4m

Wow! I cried reading this. What an honest woman! Can u beat that? 7500 versus 5.4 mil. God will sure lift your head ma'm! He blesses the faithful servants. I didn't such good,honest people still exist!

15K for a monthly salary? For 12hours job daily, Seriously? Just about £50...what a country

Shweetgistz said...

I can imagine her pain when the bag was opened to reveal those dollars, i'm sure she would be like ' I don fuq up', lol, but dt Mr obinna is a bastard sha.

Excuse me!!! D owner of d money didn't drop a dime to thank her or she missed saying dat or wht?

Unbelievable! Dis is y some Nigerians wil prefer to pocket d money afterall they wil say it our national cake they stole d money frm.

I praise her and may God bless her abundantly and enlarge her coast.

Shweetgistz said...

The woman is an unlucky fellow, this is what I call near success syndrome, she had her blessings right in front of her but missed it, she didn't even open d bag, chai, 15k vs 5.4m and she's still waiting for FAAN, madam, u wd grow old waiting for em, d fool that owns d moni cdnt tip her, greedy igbo man. I'm sure she's using her 'honesty' to console her self of her loss.

Hnmmm! Honesty pays but I hope she'll get rewarded on earth for this. I also hope those that promised orisirisi will fulfil their promises.

God blesses in numerous ways my dear. When her reward will come, miss Linda would report it here. Gal 6:10. @Bishop_Dammy

Shweetgistz said...

And biko Linda Neva said d 27dolls was 12m in naira, she said 5.4m, I don't knw if u peeps r getting dz fiqures from anoda blog or what.

God will reward you sis..I dont know how a matured woman with family responsibilities can manage with a salary of 7500 naira.Linda I beg you, help this woman for being honest after her financial difficulties.Imagine,the transport fare plus working 12hours shift a day for 7500 naira.Mr Obinna sef stingy sha.You cant even give the honest your tithe out of the money..

Fed govt shld adopt her and her fam

Hope she was rewarded?

Wow am really impressed! God will continue to bless u, but I guess cos she didn't open d bag though

who is the owner of the bag?

E b like say na airport b d way now o...
And mind u she didn't know what was inside d bag and she is scared sum1 might question her ...abegiii...her family sef go dey vex 4 her

Awww bless her heart! And they say Igbo like money. We are honest apparently.

Wow.... very honest woman, God bless her .

Doris said...

It wasn't hers nd she returned it. Honesty is a virtue worth havin

At least the rabbit should have given the woman some money...Na wa for "stingylity" oooooo. Lol

Don't understand this govt, her salary is not up to the said minimum wage.. mtchew

She does not hav criminal mind like you dt wss y she didn't check.....a criminal wil alws check any tin in black ba hoping 2 find somfin useful...

obiora said...

Enyia choru dat woman something...even if na 1m

mel20 said...

Never stop the good work, if that man dint see it, and faan compensate u Lil with 15k, know that God sees you and your help only comes from him,his the rewarder of all rewarder,he will never suffer your feet to be moved.

God bless her

Tycoon said...

Jonesty ofvthe woman apart, what is a man doing with such an amount of money in cash? If it was in the UK or any western world, the person will be investigated for money laundering. Infact that money will be seized right there and there. But ofcourse that is not the case in Nigeria.

Did you even read the post? Oh now you're no longer SDK blog boo. It must be exhausting changing changing names everytime you make a commet. Na you sabi.

Tycoon said...

My thoughts exactly @Job Vacancies. The case should be considered money laundering. Cash of that amount should be on yhe bank and transfered electronically.

Ok. I pray you return that kind of money & they snatch it and March off without so much as a thanks

God will bless u but I just hope ur family will understand. And her name is Agwu. Maybe na d agwu cos am....lol

Truth is, she had no idea what was in the bag. Secondly, d man came immediately while they were identifying d bag content. But the guy nor act well, him suppose show appreciation to the woman by collecting her detail even if not monetary.

mimi said...

God has another channel of removing something bigger from OBinner if he did not compensate her.

The finder of the money:igbo. The stingy owner: igbo. This blog owner:igbo.. You see it isn't about tribe. Linda your next giveaway should b to this woman..celebrate a strong and honest woman please

Linda pls I'd like the contact details of the lady I'd like to appreciate her . A man ,my supposed ex husband from same state as her robbed me of 17k£ . I'd like to encourage her financially thanks .

Inasmuch as I really appreciate this rare honest gesture by Mrs Josephine, I really think that she has been under-appreciated by the supposed owner of the missing money, and by her company. The supposed salary increment is really poor. She deserves more than that. And I'm really disappointed with the owner of the money.

Godliness and contentment is a great gain.We brought nothing into this world and it is certain that we can not take anything out of it.
Madam Josephine,Its certain that you have sown a good seed,mark this, just like the biblical Joseph, you are heading towards the palace.
God has opened the windows of heaven for you.
Nobody can shut it.

Godliness and contentment is a great gain.We brought nothing into this world and it is certain that we can not take anything out of it.
Madam Josephine,Its certain that you have sown a good seed,mark this, just like the biblical Joseph, you are heading towards the palace.
God has opened the windows of heaven for you.
Nobody can shut it.

Wow!!! That's amazing

Obara jesus...(Blood of jesus).

The so called man didn't appreciate her effort,God will reward her!

Ms Air said...

God bless you lady

God bless u ma'am

She tried o
Highest they will just compensate her with small amount
If is me I won't return it o
I will take it as. The God's blessing

@Job Vacancies said... you are free to take as much money as you like anywhere in the world as long as you declare it. Carrying $27,000 is not a crime unless FAAN can prove he obtained the money fraudently

SHOLBEST said...

this are the kind of people to honour by the FG. But rather unfortunate that those been giving laurels are those that steals from the people. well it is not new to me when militant collect more money than graduate.
If I am asked to plot the graph of moral in Nigeria, I would say the more civil & law abiding you are, the poorer you will be. But the more militant and unlawful you are the richer you become.
WHAT A COUNTRY

For wat na?27,000usd...if I no carry am I dey craze.lol.its obvios d guy na drug dealer if nt whr him see dat kain money in dollars.

God bless you dear

Some people are destined to live poor forever

frank said...

Omo she no open the bag on time, she taught it was bomb. Kudos though

Manuel, you are cursing yourself with your own mouth. How can you say you will keep it if you were the finder? Even if that is how your heart is normally, can't you learn and change from this story?

God bless you richly Darling, not to worry you would soon get your reward. Linda take note!

Lucasbalo said...

It's not about money, it's about appreciating the honesty of the woman. A token to show gratitude is all he needs to do. What a stingy slime ball the guy is.

God bless you richly Darling, not to worry you would soon get your reward. Linda take note!

KIZITO~SANTIAGO said...

Stingy igbo man, good samaritan igbo woman!

Jostus is here.. said...

Well, from my own little understanding.. she returned the bag basically because she have no ideal of what is inside the bag.. Nice one sha but you never know, it could be God way of turning your life around either good or bad you made the choice and I don't think you've made the wrong one though but you deserve better compensation

Wow,,, God will bless you,,,,,,,,,,, but the man didn't try at all, FAAN please you have to do something to honour her 15k is too small na,,,,, haba Niger

Isn't minimum wage N18,000? What is wrong with Nigeria and GEJ administration?

The owner is stingy. he cant even release $1000 for the woman. This is why I will not release the bag except the owner makes a pledge of reward. Rubbish.

Are you sure you read trough?. Please read and stop following ppl's comments to judge . Linda said equivalent to 5.4 ml. Show me where she mentioned 12ml pls. Jezzzzz .

#myopinioncounts# said...

She had no idea what was in the bag....just saying

Roman! said...

She is a good person*
#GodblessyouMa
#proudNigeria

2ru talk

Idiot read before you comment, Linda wrote N5.4m not N12m. Mumu

Emmanuel said...

Is minimum wage at federal level not supposed to be N18,000. Someone should ask the authorities why she earns less. We may just be uncovering another scam for all we know.

Isn't it money laundering carrying more than 10k?

People really aren't happy with what they have!..........simple truth...

God has began to open doors for her....

Wow. So rare.

PixMan said...

He might have done it confidentially.

PixMan said...

Congrats, madam. Honesty STILL pays.

God bless u

Question ooooo!
1.Who came forward to claim the Money?
2. Why that large sum in a briefcase?

EFCC...Start work sharp sharp!

NA WA O!
12 HOURS FOR JUST #7,500
GOD PUNISH NAIJA POLITRICKIAN

NA WA O!
12 HOURS FOR JUST #7,500
GOD PUNISH NAIJA POLITRICKIAN

Sometimes I wonder if some of you pay attention to details before you start making meaningless comments. Linda never said $27,000 was equivalent to N12m. She said N5.4m. Madam you have a good heart!!!

Bunny said...

So the owner of the money no give dis woman shishi. Na wa o. May God reward u ma

Are you for real ?

Dani said...

Is the minimum wage not 18,000?

*Linda. Lets LIBers donate money for this woman. N10,000 from me.

Nne, did you read the post at all?

<< LIB Addict >>

wow!!!!! lost for words.

Naijasportscrib.com said...

Rare breed. God bless you woman. check out here for sports news

Linda give this woman money

Haba 15k as salary? Kai abeg this is annoying oo n the idiot that they got the money for didn't even deem it fit to tip her or get her details..Now a wah oo let God judge oo chai

4nkylization said...

So the fucking guy went away with the money just like that. He must b silly

SWILL MARTIN said...

D useless man wey even get d monii no fit even dash her like 1 million out of d twelve milla,d mumu waka leave d woman Awon oloshiiii mcheeeew!

there is always a slot for honest people.

You are allowed to carry over $10,000 as long as you declare it. It is not a crime to carry that much. It is a crime IF you do not declare it.

That is true. However, nothing stopped her from taking the bag away and going to a discrete place to check the contents. She handed it over without checking. There was another story about 2 years ago at the same MMA where some cleaners found a bag with some money and ran off with it. Give here some credit for her honesty.

7.5k to 15k not even up to the minimum wage and she work at the airport. I usa u can not be a citizen less than minimum wage And the guy that owes the bag can't even raise the woman. He walked away. In-great

God bless you madam

All you late folks shut the fuck up;l. She has edited it to 5.4, initially she wrote 12. I've been checking this story since morning to see when she'll change it. It's people in the comments that corrected her. *drops mic*

Linda if this is you stop replying every comment! You know you wrote 12 million initially! People now corrected you! What kind of person are you?! It's your fault you didn't check your facts right.

abeg how can this my so called country pay a full Airport cleaner 7,500, abi na for dollar cuz me still they wonder, 7,500 in naira is too poor oooo, linda i need an audio player, cant read this is too long abeg, no be bible....

There will always be a reward for the good.
I pray God comes to her every need.

So the vest the cud offer was to increase salary . she just missed her opportunity to become a millionaire.

Chai.... Ezibo madu..

Airport cleaner? A federal government worker earning less than half the country's minimum wage? that's all that caught my attention though.

beauty said...

She didn't open the bag, she missed the opportunity big time and too bad the owner couldn't even compensate her..

beauty said...

He's coming back.

FAAN this woman's conduct is exceptional so pls honour her more by fulfilling your promise to her and we Nigerians.

#smh.

1. Thank God for people like her.

2. Wondering how people survive Under such a low pay. GEJ this is shameful.

3. Why is someone travelling with so much cash? GEJ what is the definition of corruption?
Someone explain why OBJ increased the savings in our reserves despite average crude oil price of $50 / bbl, he helped us pay our debts with the Paris club and they zeroed it out but GEJ with average 110$/bbl till towards the end of last year didn't only deplete our foreign savings but also increased our debts alarmingly. GEJ DOESNT KNOW THE DEFINITION OF CORRUPTION.

Let's vote a man that knows the definition and can reduce if not end it.

SAI Buhari

Chop Chop said...

and he didn't drop a kobo for you? Let's hope he will be back to reward you. But let me tell you, the whole world is proud of you.

beauty said...

Even the #7,500 is not up to transportation fee.

bro this story na home video for this kind time ? hard to believe

The stupid igbo guy could not give her #5

Weldone woman, you reward is in heaven

She returned d money but not sure it was to d onwer bcos wen i first read it d very day it was posted she returned it to her company and where d pple dat apreciate her by sayin dey want 2 no her and her family beter am sure dey werent able to locate d actual onwer of dat money let alone retunin it d owner might have fled cos d post dat day said she picked it while she was cleaning not like she saw it fell dawn and picked it up and gave it back she just made her company richer and missed a life changing oppurtunity

Pple self who talk u guyz dat dey returned d money to d owner let alone his name as obinna abi d so called owner dey d security dey wait 4 her to return or what who ever she summited dat money 2 are some million naira richer today she lost her oppurtunity in life to a parmanent clearner 4 15k a month am sure she is regretin it right now