TY Bello speaks on waiting for 9yrs to have a child, her struggle with Endometriosis, IVF & motherhood experience | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 February 2015

TY Bello speaks on waiting for 9yrs to have a child, her struggle with Endometriosis, IVF & motherhood experience

Celebrity photographer and singer, TY Bello who welcomed a set of twin boys in October 2014 after waiting for 9 years, recently sat down with Genevieve mag where she opened up about her struggles with Endometriosis, dealing with pressures from friends and family to get pregnant, the rumors that she didn't carry her pregnancy herself and the birth of her twin babies.

TY, who revealed she went through IVF to conceive her boys, said the journey to pregnancy was a very intense one for her. I bought a copy of Genevieve mag and typed out some of the Q&A. Read after the cut

"My journey to pregnancy was a very intense one. I had just been through the toughest nine years of trying to get pregnant, being confident that it would be a breeze since I had always known that I would make a great mother. It was quite humbling when it didn't happen as I had envisioned it. It was grueling actually" she said
TY says she had always joked about having twin boys to make up for the lost time of motherhood and that she never knew God was listening to her. 
"At first we didn't know I was carrying twins. When I was going for my test, I didn't feel pregnant. Before I went, I heard in my spirit, 'Wear something nice'. I questioned the voice and wondered if it was nice to dress so nicely and get disappointed, setting myself for a heartbreak. In the end, I obeyed. I decided in my mind that whether I was pregnant or not, I was not going to stop believing. My doctor was very dramatic about the announcement too. She screamed so much we couldn't even decipher her words. I had a delayed reaction as her words wouldn't sink in. It was overwhelming, We were truly happy and couldn't stop crying. I  remember two people, Pastors Obi Pax Harry and Angela Ashong telling me matter-of-factly that I was going to have twins. It happened to the detail. My friends know how I have always made it a joke about having twin boys to make up for lost time. I wanted boys because I joked that I was an eternal fourteen year old lanky boy myself and so we would all get along. I can't believe God was listening. It was few months before we could confirm that we were having boys"
TY says she discovered that a long standing undiagnosed battle with Endometriosis was responsible for her delay in pregnancy
"In perfect timing though, two older friends of mine, Dr Odaga and Mrs Morin Desalu came into our lives and helped us be more proactive in our journey to becoming parents. What started with dark clouds took a turn. For instance when Aunty Morin whisked my husband and I to see her doctor at George's hospital. We discovered that a long standing yet undiagnosed battle with Endometriosis was responsible and I just assumed I had the worst period pains. Shortly after that, through Dupe Kupoluyi, we met a fantastic doctor named Yemisi Bero at the Arc Clinic who became our fertility doctor. I went through my IVF cycle with her, probably in the middle of the busiest seasons in my career. I remember jabbing myself at airports sometimes just to keep with the schedule as I worked like crazy. Sometimes I think I stayed so ridiculously busy just to keep my mind off the difficult process. To the glory of God, that cycle was successful and everything inside of me screamed for me to slow downed but I didn't just know how. I decided to start a pregnancy journal and instinctively titled it "Quiet Streams" Immediately I knew then that everything was going to change and it did. It was like a switch was flipped and my body went rest mood"
Asked if there were pressures from family and friends during the wait for her babies, she said
"Oh you can't even begin to imagine. Society and even your personal fears can pressure you before a desire manifests. In our society, as with most, once you hit a four year mark after your wedding, everyone around you starts to blare their alarm. Nine years? Now that was deafening. Every time I prayed, I knew everything was going to be fine and my life was in the course set for me. The pressure gets more difficult when you are trying and it isn't happening. It was important I turn a deaf ear sometimes. It was important that I didn't feed my doubts. Someone once said to me after the babies came, "You can't call your experience waiting, you were living your life to the full before their arrival". I explained that that was exactly my waiting experience. I always say that Christ came to die that we may have life and have life abundantly and that I want to live life to the maximum. If you allow yourself to sustain a state of misery because you don't have something, whether marriage, children or a dream career, then you can't have a full life. It is in the place of living outside of the tyranny of the desire that it comes to you in its full glory. I knew for sure I was born to be a great mum. I just wasn't sure on how it would play out but I knew it would happen nonetheless"
On the lowest points during her journey, TY said
"There were some tough days especially towards the end when I battled with thoughts that God had given me everything else I asked him for and that maybe this was the one thing I would have to let go of. I however knew deep down that this was untrue. I concluded that our desire for parenthood was persistent only because it was a prayer answered. Faith opened me up to the reality that God would answer me and I didn't need to hand-twist  him as to how. This was what helped open my heart to an IVF process in the first place "
On whether she ever considered adoption or surrogacy, she said
"We put every option on the table. It helped that we had so many friends who had gone through the different paths to parenthood. Ironically while trying, I had photographed a family that had tried for over a decade and had just welcomed a bay via a surrogate mother. I have done countless baby shoots before and I saw no difference between theirs and others. It was really comforting when I observed the bond was exactly the same across board. I also have friends that adopted children and they are not in anyway less happy. Motherhood is truly spiritual. I think considering other options isn't giving up but letting go. It's in this place that Miracles happen".
On the effect of the illness, Endometriosis during her pregnancy, she said;
"Endometriosis can make conception more tricky and difficult but I and countless other women stand as testament that it doesn't make it impossible. But at the end of the day, people react differently so its difficult to generalize. For me once my pregnancy progressed, it seized to be a major concern"
Addressing rumors that she did not carry her boys herself, that she engaged the services of a surrogate, TY said
"Funny enough I had a shoot during my pregnancy and the makeup artist who did my makeup during my maternity shoot was in a room where this was being thrown around and she couldn't stop laughing as she spent enough time with me when I was pregnant. I was blessed to have Kelechi Amadi-Obi make the photographs and it was special as he had photographed our wedding as well. Its beautiful to have your bump photographed in appreciation but not necessarily as evidence of your being with a child. There are women who would become mothers via adoption or surrogacy. The difference is insignificant. We all carry our children"
Her advice to women who are waiting for a child, TY said;
"Waiting of any kind can be very troubling. You can't imagine what a waiting woman goes through. I have sooken to may women and they described the process as getting an endless cycle of hope and disappointment. That is what breaks the spirit coupled with the stigma, especially in this part of the world. My advice is to never let go of the desire to be parents as God himself put it there. Celebrate the fact that you are alive and never take it for granted. Give yourself permission to experience joy, to dream and fulfill purpose as you wait. It adds value to the type of parent you become. It is always worth it in the end"

119 comments:

David E said...

eya
#DavidKing

GREAT GOD!!!!

CHERRY said...

Its d Lord's doing!

TY Bello d latest KimK on LIB .na wa!

Awww! I thank God for her.
I tap this blessing on behalf of all women looking for the fruit of the womb.

CatWalk With PAT said...

In the end, it always end in praise, happy for her. cute babies

Please click on my name for Fashion/Fitness/Beauty tips

Hintealand said...

Glory be to God.

...............''''' PRAY4NIGERIA ''''................

Uche Emma said...

Thank God

Chidinma Grace said...

Nawa o sad story but thank God for his victory.

opustjkwrites.blogspot.com said...

awww. so nice. ur boys are going to be blessings to you n d world.

Unrepentant Mistress 2

"When will these married women learn?They simply can't compete and they shouldn't even try.I am young athletic,beautiful and sexy as hell.
I am a dark force of nature, every married woman's worst nightmare.

I own houses in Dubai, three in banana island, currently building another estate in Abuja
My collection of cars, rivals most welthy men's in Nigeria.

I have been all over the world . Yes including antarctica. I own a chain of boutiques in the UK and my family lives like royalty.
What more do I want?
I am the modern Courtesan.Call me a runs chick,prostitute,whore of Babylon,the wayward woman..(giggles) who cares?????

I am the Fantasies of men,they crawl on their hands and knees seeking the warmth of my bed.I am the phone call he leaves the room to take, the whisper he masturbates to and the face he sees everytime he kisses you.

Why would I want to give up this life of pleasure??

My hunger can not be satisfied by one man's body,nor his pockets.They line up outside my door like starving beggars outside a homeless shelter.
"Who cares if they have wives or serious girlfriends?"
continue reading

Touching and inspiring.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

So happy for her

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

sassychicnaija said...

we thank God for her. its a wonderful miracle. aunty linda, u no go do valentine singlers mingle just like stella dimorkukus?

Skipper25 said...

And at the end God blessed her with not just one but TWO. ..Congrats to her. .

Eya!!!
Miracle really exist
After all the sorrows
Thank God it finally ended in joy

This woman gets a piece of LiB real estate every day. It's good she has her happy ending.

Awwwwww,this is soo sincere,touching and true...u could feel the emotions from her words..happy 4 her

Thank God for HIS Gift.......Non shall be barren.........And finally...Bundles of joy appeared.......Who God has bless is blessed

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB.....

I feel your Pain,Tears and Testimony.

My mum went through same route.She stayed Childless for 20yrs after marriage.Talk about Humiliation,talk about insults,talk about disgrace, she went through all of them...My Dad was strongly with her,behind her and lots more.
He refused a second wife irrespective of the pressure he faced,my mum @ some point gave up hope but Dad was her Shield,after the 20th year,she gave Birth....Not everyman can be patient enough,nor every woman..But God does not fail.

Eyaaa. God has blessed her with 2 beautiful boys.

Hmmmm...
To God be all the Glory!
Happy for her.

God is good.

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Touching,, so happy for her. Also admire the courage she has to share this in our society. God uphold her home.

Wow...am so happy 4 u...indeed our God answers prayers...wish u and ur bundles of joy all d best in life.

This has just lifted my spirit. I also have been battling with endometriosis and TTC. I pray God will heal me and help me to trust Him even more to grant my heart desires.

Thanks for sharing!

Am happy for her they ar so cute

eka said...

am so happy 4 her
and pray God hears d prayers of all
with infertility issues

Hello said...

God is good!

http://mightyincome.com/?refer=12344

Good things come to those who wait.might not be easy though.Patience is always golden.back biters have been put to shame. Visit NaijagraphyBlog

Inspiring!

God is faithful in his words. Once again congratulations T.Y.

God's time is the best........thank God for her faith in God

::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Very long epistle but in d end God gave her d desires of her heart, I tap into dat anointing for my friend dat is also believing God for fruit of d womb. May her time of joy come soon, IJN, Amen! Congrats to you & your hubby my dear sister. Linda take note!

Congrats! Congrats!! Congrats!!!
Am so happy 4u and God bless u abundantly for ur patience.

So happy for her

Congrats! Congrats!! Congrats!!!
Am so happy 4u and God bless u abundantly for ur patience.

Truly awesome!! Having waited for close to 13 years myself, I feel her intensely! Although I'm much older than TY, she's one of my "heroes". I just love the way she lives her life without any apologies, doing what she love, loving what she's doing. Go girl, wish you all the very best.

hmm...
I am waiting on God and I know He will do it

Words of wisdom..using my friend who's going 2ru dz process as a point of contact,she's praying 4 twin & I know God 's listening 2her coz she believe..

oh well... Glory to God, the kids are here now

Congrats sis Ty, but will read story later

Congrats ty

Trish Baby said...

This is so touching. TY is a wise woman. Her words in this interview were enough to sooth the "waiting woman". Sometimes the period of wait is the time God uses to build u up perfectly. Thats why those who trust in him get double blessings for their troubles. Lots of women out there are going through same or worse, but by the grace of our Good God whose words are true, they'll come out victorious. Amen.

wow,i almost went to buy the magazine. I wanted to read the full story badly. I am using these cute boys as a point of contact to myself. I saved the two pics and prophesy twins like them into my life everyday. I will be going for IVF soon. God, bless me with twins! give me double for my 3years of ttc and miscarriages. IJN (Amen)

beautiful interview. thanks for the encouragement.i will have my twins boys too in Jesus Christ' name- Amen

God pls give me this bundle of joy to so dat I may further glorify ur name

HRH Jefixx�� said...

Congrats TY bello,ur bundles of joy re sooo cute!

Too long.. .... Good for her sha.. . Thank God for her life

Wapoo great testimony To God be the glory, am happy for her

thank GOD 4 HIS MERCY

Congrats bæ! Now evrytin it's double double!

prettiyz said...

Thank God 4 ur miracle,God will use u as a contact to bless expectant women. Amen

so touching>>>God bless you and your family

Rachenny said...

am really happy for you dearie....people really have to learn how to shut-up especially when no fact is evidenced....ahn ahn! God keep ur boys...cos am also lookin fwrd to havin 2boys...lol

MzJay said...

Wow! Congratz TY. You are a true woman of FAITH

Happy for her

The land was indeed green for her thank God her struggle was not in vain..

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

congrats ma'am... i pray God answers me as soon as possible also

congrats ma'am, i pray God answers me as soon as possible.

christiana owolo said...

what a wonderful God we serve,may his name be praise forever ijn.may God equally answer me as am waiting upon him to become a mother too ijn.

Love her & her story! May it happen for me as my soul desires, amen.

am so happy for her #Godisgood#

I am happy for you TY...your boys are really cute. I have been trying for a baby and the disappointment I felt when my flow showed up this month can only be imagined. And all my medical results say I am okay. *****sigh, sigh, sigh****

wow. Am grateful to God for her. Very excited. Linda we seriously shouldn't imagine the pain they go through.I pray that as many as those that are still waiting; Almighty God will answer them and give them testimonies in Jesus Name. amen

Nne said...

Congratulations,but I don't know why I feel she didn't carry the pregnancy herself. In any case, I rejoice with u.

Linda, A huge thank you for this piece. I have battled endometriosis and infertility for years but reading these excerpts from TY's interview has today further encouraged me and strengthened my resolve that i will one day carry my own children. Indeed the vision is for an appointed time! Off to buy my copy of Genevieve Magazine.

LOVELY piece. God bless ur family ma, i tap into ur blessing of having twins.

Linda, A huge thank you for this piece. I have battled endometriosis and infertility for years but reading these excerpts from TY's interview has today further encouraged me and strengthened my resolve that i will one day carry my own children. Indeed the vision is for an appointed time! Off to buy my copy of Genevieve Magazine.

A standing ovation to Ty, impeccable answers dt I had to ask myself if she was truely a Nigerian... Two thumbs up for whoever interviewed her, very professional abt it and I didn't lose the apetite to continue reading......

Wow!!! Really touching and so inspiring....

I celebrate you and ur family TY Bello and I tap into your blessings and testimony. I have 2 younger sisters who are married 5 and 7 years no children yet and believe me I see 1st hand what they are going through. Their in-laws r another nightmare but reading this has lifted my spirit. Thank you for sharing. God bless and be with you and yours all the days of your lives.

Tolu Abiodun said...

Your children shall surely fulfill God's will for their destinies.

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Ok, we have heard. #happythurs

GOD BLESS TY AND HER BOYS....

Engee via Techno

God pls us, Amen

Boladale said...

What is their business if is surrogate or whatever.

Congratulation dear, God bless your bundle of joy.

Glad she made it.... Nice cute adorable kids..

Rhodaa said...

I am touched by your simplicity and humility TY......and i believe everywoman in the waiting room will be inspired by your testimony....God is still in the business of performing miracles, this is a call for all women/the populace as a whole to remain hopeful and faithful...God bless you sis and may your testimony be permanent.

WOW HER KIDS ARE SO CUTE

wow! so inspiring...

Beautiful woman, soul and spirit. God Bless you TY and keep you and your twins in perfect health and may they fulfill purpose!!

Thanks TY Bello for sharing your experience. I am also waiting...the doc said mine is due to PCOS but i have in what the ever faithful and loving God can and will do. And Linda for posting this.

i receive this blessing for my sister.i shall come back to Testify on her behalf in Jesus name

I can imagine , a lot of Africa woman are facing the problem of endometriosis but most of them think is a spiritual battle. I also have endometriosis but doctors in Nigeria could nt figure what the problem was, i struggled with it and been married hoping to be a mother was a big challenge.with the love of God and help of doctors i have a child of my own, what a bundle of joy

Let women who know what this sickness is and doctor whom know how to go about it create an awareness.
Stillo

This woman has always been a source of encouragement to me...i'm so damn happy for her!...fine dudes..one of them no dey laff sha...hehehehe

Wow! Such an inspiring story. Thank God for his mercies

omowunmi okunti said...

Wow wow wow! I am so happy for TY Bello. It pays to depend on God. God gave her double for her shame. May the Lord bless everybody believing God for the fruit of the womb, amen. God bless TY and her boys. Congratulations TY...

I also waited for 5yrs nd 8months but now am heavily pregnant, all am praying is for safe delivery nd to u all dat are also waiting upon God for such miracle...dis year wil neva pass u all by IJN

Oh dear God, as u have blessed TY's womb with twins... I thank u because u haven't forgotten me too... I believe very strongly that I will conceive my own twins (a boy and a girl) this month and birth wonderful healthy babies in Jesus name (Amen)

The boys are adorable and worth the wait!

Wooow,m so happy 4her. May God use her as a point of contact to bless women dt re lookin fr d fruit of d womb

Thank God for her

May God grant you safe delivery.

TY Am so happy for you. i pray tht God will also bless me with my own bundle of joy soon. May God continue to bless and keep your Home IJN.

Thank God. I key into her blessing for my twin boys. Amen.

Like one will always say. God is never late. He does things at His own time. and at the end HE makes it beautiful.

TY Congratulations.

Like one will always say. God is never late. he does things at his own time. and at the end it makes it beautiful.

TY Congratulations

Thank God

I use you ty bello as a point of contact to my self.

I tap into this blessing too because have been married for almost 4years without having children. I know this year God will surprise me too with twins a boy and a girl in Jesus Name.

What has touched me most of all, is her sincerity!

Hmmnn
For blogspot n wordpress secrets, visit www.esthaweb.blogspot.com . For online money making tips, visit the blog.

Amen

I rejoice wit Ty bello.......to those of you saying she didnt carry d pregnancy herself, i pray you dont experience what infertility is not to talk of endometriosis. I am currently going through such and it is my believe that i am healed ijn and i claim twins too (a boy & a girl).

Great God.ever fateful

Laude said...

Thank God for your life. Congratulations .

Amen

ebony said...

Thank God u are no a mother.i am believing God for my own blessings.twin boy n girl. It's been 2years nw,same endometriosis. I trust my God would pull me thru

Congrat TY....May the Lord answer ALL other women trusting HIM for Children in Jesus Name!!

Congrats dear. Dr yemisi bero of ark clinic is just d best for if, though my ivf with her was not successful but would rather go back to her than any other hospital including the over hyped bridge clinic

Amen bonario.
Mrs Feyi

Amen
Mrs Feyi

Amen. I tap into the twins blessing. And pray that the wait is over for all those waiting n that all the unmarried will not have to wait for this wonderful gift of motherhood as soon as we marry. Amen

Wowwww Ty Bello Congrats 2u. I cant even fathom d Joy u feel at dis moment. I didn't want 2 stop reading.

Using u as a point of contact 2 dose looking 4 d fruit of d whom, May dis year be dere year in Jesus Name! AMEN!!! & May I hv mine in due course wen d time is right AMEN!

are we sure she didnt buy dem. cos i heard of ppl buyin twins nw and pretendin to b pregnant. God help us. congrat to her anyway.

My sentiments exactly.....I waited 9 years too for a baby and conceived twin girls last year via IVF.......God is indeed good...

I am next ın Lıne

It's worth waiting on God. Congrats!