Selma Movie premiere: Excitement Hit Lagos as Nigerian Premiere | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 8 February 2015

Selma Movie premiere: Excitement Hit Lagos as Nigerian Premiere

In line with the promotion for peace through the exclusive premiere of award winning Hollywood movie Selma in Lagos, a Google hangout on United4Peace was held this Saturday. The hangout which took place at 7pm on the 7th of February, a day before Selma movie hits the big screen at the Lagos Premiere, was hosted by Channels TV. 

The line-up of hangout participants drawn from diverse industries and political persuasions further buttresses the Unity and Peace initiative by the House on the Rock Church, The American Embassy and the Rock Foundation. 2Face Idibia, Gbenga Sesan and others connected to the hangout from Lagos, NewYork, South Africa, Dubai, France and beyond as they deliberated on the need for national peace regardless of personal sentiments before, during and after the 2015 general elections.
The hangout covered several topics and communication patterns were one of the topics looked at. “Politicians need to watch what they say and their body languages so they do not incite others and create some unwanted sentiments” award winning artiste, 2Face Idibia noted. 

Gbenga Sesan, Managing Director of Paradigm Initiative Nigeria added that hate speeches have no business on air in the first place.  According to him, people who default, irrespective of their statuses should be punished and brought to book.  Stephen, who joined in from the South of France felt that the NCC need to do their jobs better and not allow hate filled adverts go on air or print. 

Mukthar stressed that the electorate need to understand that the only power they have in a democracy such as Nigeria’s, is who they decide to make as their leader.  He added sadly that for some people, their votes mean nothing to them so they are willing to trade it for a cup of rice. 

Participants all spoke passionately and intelligently, ending the hangout on a note of peace advising that the elections do not mean war, everyone in his or her own little way is an influencer and if we all pushed for peace, a change will come. 

Other public figures, scheduled to join in on the discussion but couldn’t due to technical difficulties include veteran actress Ireti Doyle and singer, Yinka Davies. Ireti  Doyle, however sent in some comments and advised that the Nigerian citizens should refuse to feed the enemy and be violent free, she added that regardless of candidate or party choice, peace ought to reign.

All is set and ready to go for the exclusive premiere of the award winning American drama, Selma happening at the House on The Rock Church today. Follow the stories and pictures live from the Red Carpet and Press Conference on social media using the hashtag #United4Peace. Some TV stations are expected to air the red carpet live so look out for that. 

Visit https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jRqHfnJCNY8 to watch the complete video of the Google hangout.

22 comments:

Dave Mide said...

Dear Onyx, the fact that u are Lindas ordained dog doesn't mean u should bite everyone here. Common sense is not common all the time esp when u suddenly become known (famous is too big a word to use)via LIB and LIB only! Learn to be courteous like your predecessor (Bonario). We all know the struggle is so "real" for u and u are working hard for the next 100k payable at the end of the yr, nobody is even dragging it with u but meanwhile let us who are just here to read and enjoy our day do so peacefully without u cussing all of us. i hope linda can tame u herself. food for thought!

Nice one.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Y'all should click on this http://incomebite.com/?user=30531...Y'all will thank me later

9ice 1

9ice 1

Alrit

Ok. Seen. Thank you. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

If only d'll hear...

That's nice! I understand we can't just attend the premiere though, you have to register or something!

Coolies!

Today the man of God in my church{name withheld} said that the C.A.N has asked all the christians all over the world to vote for jonathan.....I just can't believe it but I know that what Rotimi Ameachi said is now coming to reality....politics in church

••••••••••QUEENMAYA••••••••

2baba is d best candidate to have been selected for the peace election debate

Yes o! Nigeria must remain united & peaceful. Anybody wey dey against d Peace of dis our obodo naija, go face d wrath of God. Linda take note!

Zamani said...

Movies and chocolates. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

I've watched it already
No need
*winks*

PRETTY GIRL said...

Watched the video #VERY INTERESTING

thumbs up to House on the rock church