Meet the first woman doctor to work in Igbo land | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 February 2015

Meet the first woman doctor to work in Igbo land

Dr Priscilla Nzimiro pictured above was the 1st woman doctor to work in the Igbo region in Nigeria. Sadly she died in 1951 a year after qualifying as a doctor. Photo credit: SeeMeSeeNigeria

104 comments:

Oh! I know her, my grandfather's ex.

Linda thanks for the small small history you're giving us o
Am learning

Alright

Wow dis is something to remember

jazz tings

Ehhhyaaa....nice one

Wow! Igbo women are industrious.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

...Beautiful Doctor...beauty with brains,why death....R I P priscilla

Pink Bananas said...

Beautiful woman

Eeyaaa......

GCN( LADY G ) said...

Choi

Hmmmmmmm

Hmmmm History.......eyaaaa she gone too soon

Old school mama....great achievement!!!

•••••••QUEENMAYA•••••••

S/O SMSN

OKORO UPGRADED **

Lmfao

Nice and sad one.

Hmmmmm History.....

Oh so sad. Thanks Lynda for digging history once more.

No be today power of fathers' house begin to operate o. Imagine dying just after qualifying. Hian

Bonaro na real lie she was den my grandpa girlfriend

Peejay said...

Liar liar, pants on fire...*wink*

Olodo oshi see your face

CHERRY said...

Noted!

CatWalk With PAT said...

History! noted

Please click on my name for Fashion/Fitness/Beauty tips

Next

I know her descendants.... Charis Favour

Idle man bonario

My Street Name. NZIMIRO Street

Eeiyaa...

Hehehehe @ Bonario u r funny

You should share more of these inspiring history pieces.

Beautiful woman but painful death

Sweet is the memory of the righteous,i was born ten years after her death

Heiya she didn't live long to enjoy her Fame!!! Sudden death will never be my portion,nor my Mum 5 siblings 2inlaws 3nieces three nephews(1 I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ the oven) my BFF and friends portion I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ Jesus name AMEN!!!

Bonarioa Nnangs now comments like a Tout!!!! Dats bad for business ohh!!! Hmm

Wow.....nice one

Aww great woman

She is from Oguta and a sister to Prof. Ikenna Nzimiro!

Lie lie boy..for ur mind..ur grandfather wey be palmwine tapper for our village, my granddad told me so...lolz

dami said...

Its really something to remember

Okieeee

Thats nice....

Jazz things? U be real mumu o

Saidat said...

Sister linda don turn our history tutor o, #seen#

Great!

Pretty gal. Hope u ar in heaven nw

Doc A said...

Linda, hopefully this comment will be posted, but she is the millionaire you posted last week, Mary Nzimiro's daughter. Also a cousin to Charlie Boy and that singer Dr Alban.

Really? Datz nice

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

She ws beautiful o, may r soul RIP

Lool.... @bona U crazy

flygal Ani said...

Awww very nice

Eeehhyahh..beautiful woman

Hmmm. Odiegwu. Lol @ my grandfather's ex. I bet she was older than him.

And she's so pretty

....and she was so pretty

Linus mba! Abi u won dash ur granny galfrnd or wife? I dnt knw why u lyk all dis ex tins! B4 na ur hrt dem brk, dis tym na ur hand.

Nice nice nice

Ok.

GloriousOsas said...

Really nice... Linda thank you o

Watch and pray for the evil days are here

Lol I was thinking same

Lmao @Bonario's GrandFather ex...she was cute tho

Brilliant!

Then ur father must 20....silly bush boy!
by d way, its not funny!!! She died prematurely so pocket ur joke!!!!

U no well o

Nnadi JJ said...

Her mother was the first Igbo female millionaire. They used to live on Bernard Carr street in those days when we called it Millionaire's row.

ok.......... sad she did not get to practice for long but Linda, seriously? so we should expect more of this your history lessons ba

sodablog said...

People are so cute back then. They take much time taking care of themselves

Something to remember..
Eyaaa.

Nice to hear this..

Princyd said...

Oluku like you bonario.... She is not only your grandfather's ex but the lady that broke your heart...
I thought you will be looking for methods to heal the broken heart???

Princyd said...

Pictures speak... They always bring back good memories ...

Linda I need u to find out what killed her

pearl said...

Who b the enemy of progress wey snuff ha ehn?

Sad indeed. Well but she made one of the firsts in Nigeria.

lami said...

Sad. She was a beauty.

Gerald said...

Yea, God bless you for posting this. She is from my hometown Oguta LGA in Imo state. We are proud of Her

QueenSheba said...

Lol @ Bonario

How does Bona get to comment first, when sometimes my comment does not even show?

Hawtkeemie said...

Awww...so sad

Mercy seat said...

### Igbo kwe zue nu ooooohhh!!!!#

So sad was she a Nigeria .... RIP dear

What a loss.

@Sophia Stephen

Died a year after qualifying?! Hmm I suspect the hands of village people oh, maybe they did her strong thing!

Sad she died after qualifying. Ndi igbo sure ain't pushover. Continue to rest in Christ bossom

Lol! Awwww she was cute RIP ma'am

EVA said...

Oh..and thanks for giving credit. That's the way it should be

Whew!but you didnt state where she is from.

Bonario, ok na. Well done

That's a nice one!

Igbo jazzz

Good to know 🔜LindaIkejiClassRep❤❤

Hmmmmmmmm!!! E be like say u be Linus MBA ooooh

ibro said...

RESPECT

David E said...

Uru dia
#DavidKing

Great woman! And her name was named after a street In Enugu

EAYAAH.too sad

History 101: And they say all we know is business! Her people jazz am sha!

Wow! She look cool and lovely...
RIP to her.

She died in 1950

diamonds said...

my former ladys daughter in oguta where I grew up.sad story about her death tho!
memories.
bonario u re such a funny dude.*laughs*

Funny LIBer's

Please post this. Thanks for the piece of history. Please check some facts. I understand she died in 1950 in Glasgow, Scotland, where she studied Medicine. She never returned to practice in Igboland or any part of Africa. She was not the sister of Professor Ikenna Nzimiro, but his cousin. She was rounding up her medical studies when she died, and did not qualify as a doctor, although she may have been awarded the qualification posthumously. Her father was Richard Nzimiro, first Mayoress of Port Harcourt, and her mother was the great magnate, Mary Nzimiro. Finally, she was Charlie Boy's cousin. However, be strict about facts so that you don't publish falsehood.