Latest political prostitutes in town - Etcetera comes for entertainers in new article | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 14 February 2015

Latest political prostitutes in town - Etcetera comes for entertainers in new article

Singer turned columnist Etcetera comes for all the entertainers who have lend their voices and support to politicians in Nigeria. Read the article below...
Some say Afro Candy is a prostitute. Some say she’s not or at least, not yet. A few others say she’s a porn star, which is not in the same league as prostitution. Porn stars are taxed, prostitutes are not. So Afrolicious baybay, you have to up your game to get into the league of prostitutes, if it is what you really desire. My suggestion would be; instruct your agent or booker to get you appearances in any of the political campaign videos, so you can put to use that floppy behind your mama gave you. And if you are lucky enough, you can get cameos and wiggle that thing around the aspirants themselves. You have to get your bum (sorry your hands) bloodied to earn the highly coveted “Political prostitute” tag. Now my Candilicious Afrolistic baybay, these are a few names of the latest political prostitutes in the country: Olamide, Banky W, Don Jazzy, Flavour, Duncan Mighty, D banj, Mercy Johnson, Ibinabo, Ini Edo, Mama Gee, Naeto C, Joseph Yobo, Daddy Showkey, Kanu Nwankwo, and Sammie Okposo.
I have been asked several times if our celebs should get involved with politics. But today, let me push the same question in different words to everyone reading this article. Do politicians making affiliations with celebs prompt you to vote for them? For me, it’s a definite No. Nigerians are not influenced by celebs to indulge in certain acts because their favourite celeb says so. For instance, I like Kate Henshaw but expecting me to vote for a candidate she supports in the forthcoming elections is like asking me to start buying a particular milk brand because Don Jazzy endorsed it. Puh-leez, things like that don’t cut it here in Naija. Naija is a different kettle of fish compared to what is obtainable in places like the US.

The politicians using celebs for their campaigns should ask themselves what on earth the average person has got in common with Dbanj. He has millions and he may never have to lift a finger again in his life if he so desires. And you think the boys in Okokomaiko who are not smiling will listen to his unrealistic rants on TV and radio? Using a celeb for election campaigns is as stupid as the political aspirants themselves dancing in their campaign musical videos. Imagine Jimmy Agbaje and Ambode dancing in their campaign videos? Ok, I am sorry, no imagination is needed. I feel sorry for the politicians that Nigerians are not fooled by all the media images of celebs pushed at them every day on TV. It has become so much that we can’t tell the difference anymore between political campaign videos and the Nigerian musical videos.

The only cocktail of politics and celebrity that the masses are bound to endorse is that of creating useful awareness that will benefit the larger society. People like Bono have political views which bring attention to real, humanitarian issues that transcend the established political doctrines and have nothing to do with producing those plastic karaoke like political jingles our entertainers are paid to produce. Those entertainers who see nothing wrong in frolicking with politicians will say I am speaking from a misguided perspective. Go ahead, defend your support for that politician. Tell me you are campaigning for change. You can’t fool anyone but yourselves.

Hey, my Afro Candilicious baybay, you go ahead with your trade okay? Don’t let the criticisms of your fellow entertainers bother you anymore. Tell them your porn is definitely a kinder and gentler version when placed side by side with their political prostitution. Now, good day ladies and gentlemen. Please don’t forget to tip the waitress on your way out.

135 comments:

sodablog said...

Etcetera just killed it on this one. Hilarious but true. Please don't forget to tip the waiter on your way out

Etcetera ur a an animal.why r u pointing fingers on pdp campaigners .mind ur business.mad beast.I pity u d day they will kill u like a dog.continue writting u hear.anu mpama.

lol.. anyway, its inevitable in our society

This dude should rest jare. Mtcheeeeeew!!!

Aphrodite said...

Brilliant piece! Etcetera my new Man Crush!

Kikiki,was about asking linda where d hell is etcetera..lol

Nigerian celebs doing political jingles for politicians does not mean more votes for them. They are doing what they are paid to do.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

Nigerian celebs doing political jingles for politicians does not mean more votes for them. They are doing what they are paid to do.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

You know when bad thing comes of age, it becomes tradition. Over here our political waters have become so murky the issue of celebrities being partisan,tends to be a norm.
I only feel for those who form their perception of the polity based on the opinion of a paid celebrity.

Nice one bro

You only looking for a cheap publicity. Oga park well!

This man shaa
Na him fit tham wella...
I don't even understand d campaigning using a celeb as if it will influence †Ñ’ξ masses decision...

******she's Olive*********

Cheesom said...

Ife afuru akooo.... Everyone with their biased opinions

Same one time patriotic artists campaigning for bringbackourgirls are now dancing to the tunes of PGEJ has been exceptional and best in nigeria so far. Who is a true democrat? Celebrities don't suffer what the people suffer, the voice of the masses still matter a lot, I remain resolute to change.

Well, he has a point. This guy always speaks the TRUTH.

King Fahad said...

nice one

Kponskii said...

Can't believe I just wasted one minute of my day reading this crap. I'm sure Etcetera can do same if called upon...wait in line for your turn bro.

This time I have to agree with him..

Etcetra Tell Them! Bunch of hipocrites.

I really don't like this guy,but sometimes he's so on point. Dude keep it up sha. Soon them go notice u more. Linda I hail thee. Happy val too

Well said tho

Fool. This is total crap.

U ve really gone wako.madness to the highest order

And he is always on shade, whots wrong in his head..Damn

#touring in pluto with my bb curve 2

This is just so true, I was so disappointed when I saw kanu campaigning for president Goodluck, they behave like hungry miscreants!

Angels Mummy said...

Wow et cetera always says the truth in most of his articles. That been said I believe Nigerian entertainers should stop supporting wrong political candidates just because of the political affiliations they are looking for in the corridors of power and look for ways to speak up and support whomever has a blueprint that will create constant electricity, good roads and job creation as well as those that will not loot national treasury. It is so disheartening that these so called celebrities travel out see basis amenities available in all the countries they have been to but come to Nigeria and support mediocrity and people who have no plans for nation building or moving Nigeria forward. Most Nigerian celebrities are not role models but an embarrassment to the youths with no good example of providing ideas to move Nigeria forward or supporting good ideas. Heaven help those who help themselves.

obiora said...

Trashy

Give this guy a title. He deserves one!

I really like your right up celeb in my foot

ETC... which one be your own? All Ashawo na work. Man and woman must chop. Must you degrade one and praise the other...? Even you, cannot say you are innocent of committing Ashawo, at least once in your life. Even me wey nor be christian know say "you without sin, cast the first stone". As you systematically pointed out, hypocrisy na Ashawo. Lack of noble virtues and principles na Ashawo... as long as money dey hand, I go do wetin you want; na Ashawo. And I sure say at some point in time in your life, you don chop Jacob Porridge.

Leave them, abeg. Just follow the one you like. (Afro Candy) I see say you sef like "MILF" to Don Jazzy Milk or Pilfer. (lol)

Ahmed Musa.

He rubbishes them at will and none has had the guts to fire back because there's nothing to refute. Don't take that 'we will not dignify him with a reply' crap. Abeg make una repackage your game.

Buhahahahahaha! Etc will not kill me ooooo! Bt I think he's right cos as much as I love olamide I can't vote for apc.. My opinion though!

Thus guy is damn too goooddddd!!!
Don't like how our musicians run after politicians too.

March4Change
March4Buhari

Lmaoooo don't you just love this man? Afrolicious baybay.....hahaha

Political prostitutes......wow!!! This guy should be careful not to engage in a battle he will come to regret.

::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA::::::::::::::::::

Well said.

True, but i see this Etcetera as a jobless man.

RichyGame said...

Mmmm Mr. E.T.C., you try. I'm not concerned with the article itself but some serious salient point brand managers should take a cue from.

The endorsement are good in the sense that it energizes the music industry and it somewhat starts some form of engagement for the brands through the activities specifically triggered by the brand handlers but not in comparison to costs of signing on these personalities translate to patronage, no. As Etcetera said, it's a different kettle of fish here.

Years back in the University when I smoked, I changed my brand to St. Moritz just for the love of the ad, the Lighthouse family music... the experience. I can vouch that three of us friends tried the cigarette brand at that time with a 66% changing brand preference based on the ad.

I have never been spurred by the Nigerian version in no way and many, many share this same feeling.

As someone involved with brand management, I always wonder how these brand managers jump at the slightest opportunity without recourse to research, however minimal. They just go with the flow in a bid to form activity, and waste money.

Quite apt Mr. Etcetera, though sometimes your own dey too much!

Bia E.T.C abi wetin dem call u, wat r u saying? Do u kw wat it means 2 b a celeb? N wat is means 2 have Fans? Hw u wan take kw sef wen ur market no sell, sehbi na bcos dem no carry u 4 any political wrk na him make u dey rant, ma guy up grade jare n stop 2 dey purge bad belle. Well happy Val 2 ma Libers.

I like this guy...he is a good writer.

I swear. . This nigga is a non moda fucking factor! Sing better song! Ubah! No endorsement! No carrier... u hv got nothing but yo silly little delusional sef boo boo...if only u put in so much effort as u do whn writing dis malicious article. . Quite been sad nd bitter. . Ask for help from this so called political "prostitute" . .even d candy girl sef no b your mate.. just move biko! Ugh!

Dumb..very dumb

OPEN HER BOX! said...

Hahahaha...very funny.

My man don vex. Since Goodluck no look him side after his endorsement, Every other endorser like him na ashawo. What kobolessness will cause.

Lolz, if dey catch dis guy, I pity him bt he spoke well o, I pray dey change 4 d better

My friend park abeg

'is like asking me to start buying a brand of milk bcos Don jazzy endorsed it' LMAO!...... Dis guy mehn, ure too much.

Puh-leez this dude should take a seat. Am sure if he was paid to endorse a party even if it was KOWA, he won't remember to write such an article. #hater

facelessnaija.wordpress.com

Lol..etc is at it agn.funny dude.

Mtscheeeeewwww....

I agree with you, man
They keep begging politicians for kobo & coins that why they can't encore their life situation. Some of them can't even take a decision about their life cos they are been spoon feeding from when they are kids.
The crazy part of it is that we all aware of the situation of the nation, till yet some of them keep campaigning for the wrong person all because of coins they will throw in their pocket. But I won't blame them, the rate of poverty makes everyone be at the toes, no one want to go broke...

sky said...

lmao! this guy #youropinion

BB said...

Somebody give this guy a job please.

I miss dis guy o! well said.but u knw some of dos names u mention will come 4 U.

Mtchewww! Garbage trash article

Daily diet tv said...

"It has become so much that we can’t tell the difference anymore between political campaign videos and the Nigerian musical videos". Ctfu

Tendency oby said...

True talk my brother

I wonder how you omiited the name of the biggest of them all. Onyeka onwenu

CAN you NOT ever post articles from this unintelligent, sad, jealous and angry individual?

oiza said...

i personally think this guy should get his brain evaluated.. thank you

And this shows how joblessness he is........
All the stars he mentioned are bigger and better than him.
For his information, anyone flavour vote or stand for
I will vote for! 🔜LindaIkejiClassRep❤❤

You remind me of a close friend. He is an envious bastard. If by grace, u r favored above him...... God help u.

He first let's u know d Favour is a bad omen

Secondly he will then publicly use a weak point of yrs to disgrace u; making u feel sorry for yourself.

Thirdly he wudnt speak wit u until that favour is out in u.

Etc or wat ever ur name is called. U r envious of other people's success.

Hate him or love him......he keep saying it the way it is, no matter whose ox...fuck that,....whose ass is gored. Way to go son

Few weeks ago, Etcetera wrote an article telling Nigerians GEJ was a mere figure head who is not responsible for Nigeria's troubles. That was an endorsement. Why is he mad at others for doing the same thing? I assumed he was paid for that call not to hold the president accountable. Guess he didn't get his check, lol; now he's cursing out the others who did.

KWEEN said...

Lmao! He forgot to mention Desmond Elliot... or was he being partial?

firstly I will buy anything Genevieve endorses so dude you are wrong on that. seriously shut up already, the articles are getting boring by the day. you are obviously pained no money is coming your way. agbaya

I really dnt knw wat dis fool's problem is.. oh wait i get it... a hungry and broke ass attention seeker.. these artists work their arses off to grt to where they r nd u sit down der with ur hungry smelly butt nd write rubbish. U R EVEN MORE FOOLISH THAN I THOUGHT!! its no ones fault that u dnt hav any reasonable talent that can earn ur smelly arse some moni nd pay ur bills dumb fuck! Gosh! Ur a bloody hater nd bliv me ppl like u will never progress.. thats y u r still were u r...#Nowhere!! Get a life man! For the record.. Naeto c's mum has been into politics even b4 u could spell it. So get ur fucking mouth right fool! #attentionprostitute. If u need help? Ask for it nd dnt unleash ur frustation on hardworking and talented artists that work for wat they gat!! Wait! Hold up! Wat sorta name is etcetera? Nd who r u again?? Oh i remember... #anobody get a life man!! Nd try to get paid!! Damn! Ur really fucked up! Lmfao! Hungry arse mofo!

Gbam!

I really dnt knw wat dis fool's problem is.. oh wait i get it... a hungry and broke ass attention seeker.. these artists work their arses off to grt to where they r nd u sit down der with ur hungry smelly butt nd write rubbish. U R EVEN MORE FOOLISH THAN I THOUGHT!! its no ones fault that u dnt hav any reasonable talent that can earn ur smelly arse some moni nd pay ur bills dumb fuck! Gosh! Ur a bloody hater nd bliv me ppl like u will never progress.. thats y u r still were u r...#Nowhere!! Get a life man! For the record.. Naeto c's mum has been into politics even b4 u could spell it. So get ur fucking mouth right fool! #attentionseekingprostitute. If u need help? Ask for it nd dnt unleash ur frustation on hardworking and talented artists that work for wat they gat!! Wait! Hold up! Wat sorta name is etcetera? Nd who r u again?? Oh i remember... #anobody get a life man!! Nd try to get paid!! Damn! Ur really fucked up! Lmfao! Hungry arse mofo!

In all tht we do we must stand firm for wht is right wthr it wl b of gain or pain

Ms lin lin said...

Hahahahahaha .. A lil bit of truth somewhere . Imagine dancing shoki and skelewu during campaigns . Mehnnn

Though filled with humour, his point of view is true. Interesting article. Kudos ! Etchetera.

& u want me to read this sh*t ? Guy put urself in dere shoes u go do more than that

Na beef go kill u

Words of wisdom how our so-called celeb now endorse all this selfish politician crying for change which themselve have not change with their bad odour..Their God father is spending billions fleting on private jet is boy is busy raising lasu sch fees every month as if it is a private university few day to election the cut the price down who is fooling who..kia and lasman are busy terrorizing the citizens befor you collect your driving parmit u will bribe from the head to the buttom..wht is the use of lekki too gate is it not for money laundring yet we are crying for change. Which other change are we asking for..

...JOSHSAYSO...LIB...FAN

prettiyz said...

And he does it again

Bloody asshole... I imagine ur lamenting in pain seeing ur mates all getting endorsed and doing well. I know it kills u and I hope it eats u alive. Attention prostitute...

Smilin....A raund of applause 4 him. Sincerly speakin, dat ambode campaign advert is smaw ....wateve, let d beSt party win joor.Good speech dou....

Teh dem! And i watchd wen Amechi carried Davido around 4 campaign n was even dancing skelewu wt him! Jeezzzz! WTF wah does Davido yet knw 'bout politics? He has money, yes, bt wah else? Hw relevant is dt kid 2d present political situation as he's bn used? Is he up2 20 yet??? Plllsssss!

True word

Etcetera is right. So I will vote for Ambode because
MI, Banky W sang a campaign song for him. Like it
their song that will formulate policies that will
favour Lagosians in the next 4years.
Fashola didn't need their campaign songs when he
won the 1st time.
Even Funsho Williams( God bless his soul) didn't
need all these gibberish songs from the wack ass
musicians that jump to every money thrown at
them, like a dog to a bone.
Later they will say they are doing it for Nigerians,
like the money these politicians paid them is going
into my account.

@Saucekiz_SMILEs

I love dis dude. Always. Saying the truth

The naked truth. Etc, thanks for this one. I started having double thoughts about some of my favourite rappers after listening to their latest single.. smh

Simple truth. Our entertainers r ass lickers. And i can't vote for any candidtae just cuz one entertainer said so.

Gbam# this guy just spoke my mind . correct! Awon alatenuje gbogbo

but they are entitled to their choice of candidates too! well, i guess they should have been more critical of developmental strides of aspirants than just allowing one frog-eyed Jagaban a.k.a CUB OF BOURDILLON buy their conscience over!

They will beat u one day Jona,Buha.Ambo and Jimi will not rescue u.Don't call names again.I don warn u.
OBYCHINA

Lol..etcetera with him plenty grammar..we hear o!

Ijjoy said...

Boy oh boy , this guy is the rudest dude ever! Does he have to call names? Na wah ohh. Anyways let the drama begin I doubt if all this people will keep quiet

The bitter truth! Calling a spade a spade and not a working tool.

1 day u'll b wise....vats y u neva sold records...all do is coment about thingz..u don't make things happen...God bless your hustle bro...buh maybe hif u were relevant dey would hav called u...goat oshhi

Nobody called Oprah a prostitute when she threw her support for Obama or P diddy? Please, these artistes are human and have rights to pick who they think should lead them and if their influence helps make their fans throw their support for their candidates then all is well. So please, shut it! The only draw back is the heat they face if the opposition wins!

Ok but u lied about people not buying a product endorsed by a celeb. If a celeb I like so much endorse a product I would definitely want to use it. Bro huzzle

Read this earlier today and I concluded that at this point, this guy sounds clearly jealous.
Etc, you need to always be objective in your writings and quit witch hunting people who seems to be more successful than you are.
Your articles make sense most times, but I guess sometimes, times like this, people, you inclusive has the right to be stupid.

Dear Etcetera,

Over time you have written a few good narratives, that should make many review lifestyles and aim ahead with vigour.

However your latest posting missed the mark. While you may have a point in the message, the article did not do it any justice.

Artist have a legitimate reason to back politicians, for example, where an artist may suffer from poor infrastructure under one administration, if he loves the policy of another politician he believes will deliver and make his or her life better or indeed the community at large, it would be foolish not to support such a person. That support even if paid is very much in order.

With the economic depression around us, creative methods of income are far better that stealing or what is now called ole, ole.

It would not be out of order to apologise to those you called prostitutes, for that is not what they are nor what they are doing.

You may not buy milk because it was endorsed by an artist, but that can not be said of others.

Sum total of your article this week, very poor. Looking forward to seeing you back in form next week.

Etcetera God bless you I have been thinking about the same thing Nollywood no longer shoot movies all they do now is to follow Jona and buhari about na sidon look I dey

Who b dis one. ..what do u knw abt brilliant piece?...sidon biko

hmmmmmmmmm

That y they are "celebrities".....work in yo poses nd trashy clothes first before u come up here to talk shit. ...bum!....
*new bitch*

Shut up!...like serzly if u hv worked really hard to b recognised by politicians. ..nd u were asked to campaign nd paid for it.. wont u.. who u kidding? ...
*new bitch*

nawa for u man

Better pikin
*new bitch*

Poor mentality
* New bitch*

This guy is just a bitter being who is so broke and only take joy in bringing his colleagues in d entertainment industry u sit dwn in ur one room apartment typing shits bout pple who are doing good and making money fucking hypocrite like u won't lick ass if given d opportunity...etcetera is a bitter broke sad nigga who has nuttin and with all dis ur sad write ups u hav nuttin to show for it

U juz pathetic
Enough said
*new bitch*

Insulting Relevant people is what gon make him relevant?
Enough said
*new bitch*

Disappointed that he made a carrier nd now making money campaigning for politicians?
No booboo...u just b ddisappointed with yo sorry failed ass
*new bitch*

So u dnt hv a problem with them campaigning? But u hv problem with them supporting the "wrong" team
*zoom dp*
Rest anty
*New bitch*

Emma emma
Work on your hustling ..who knws? Mayb one day politicians wud run after you too
Pooor mentality
*new bitch*

At your age uncle?
*new bitch*

What do u knw abt writing?
Ok let me answer thst... judging from your statement nd dp.. NOTHING!
HI LINDA.........*FLIPS WEAVE*
*NEW BITCH*

Asif u get money to buy movies
Mugu
*new bitch*

RAW said...

Sounding jealous on one side and objective at the other end.. Nice one though

I do not see the sense in what MI said, it’s all gibberish. Hate Etcetera all you can, the guy is saying the true, not always but right on this occasion. Let us all take a chill pill and think DEEPLY about what Etcetera said. It's only in Nigeria that you find a well articulated, eloquent person spiting rubbish, just as what we've just witness from MI. MI, on this occasion you are 100% totally wrong. Please don't let the 10 year old plus commentators fool you. Please let’s engage are brains and not are hearts, emotion, etc when issues like these come up. That is my piece on it. Question to MI, please have you just taken your IGBO, Marijuana, Skunk, weed, grass, Buddha, bud, cannabis, reefer, indo ,hash, herb, ganja, maryjane ,loco weed ,gangster, pot before posting your rejoinder? Await your response Mr MI, thanks.

Wilsoniyke said...

If you said that what Etc . said is wrong write your own to refute his claims and facts or stop ranting.... You are a wonderful columnist ETC

Linda222 said...

Go and sleep

Yes I will rather "celebs" choose a candidate to support because they believe he can make a change not because they have been paid but lets be clear some do follow their heart and use their popularity for the right reasons. That said, I still dont like this dude.

By the way, he is very wrong with this: "I have been asked several times if our celebs should get involved with politics. But today, let me push the same question in different words to everyone reading this article. Do politicians making affiliations with celebs prompt you to vote for them? For me, it’s a definite No. Nigerians are not influenced by celebs to indulge in certain acts because their favorite celeb says so"

He is flaunting his ignorance here, of course people follow celebs and do things they say or make decisions because a celeb they look up to influenced it, that fact that he does not believe this shows how naive he is

APPLAUSE!!! Very well said Etcetera! The man has said it all! Love this piece! Disgraceful ashawo entertainers!

Cash said...

Beautiful piece Etcetera.

It's amazing when Chimanda Adichie wrote her article everyone congratulated her, Etcetera says the truth people wanna cuss him down and bury him.

Nigerians stop being followers, learn to be objective in your judgement.

Tony said...

hey u are the failed ass hiding behind an annonymous profile. cunt

I 8 gej....buh I don't 8 on a man's hustle...kanu hs worked hard to b recognised..and dis politics is all about intrest

New bitch u are obviously jobless.

All said and done" he jut said d'fact and truth' even tHo its sounds painfull" all dis celeb" darisgodooo.. Only in 9ja u wud see black and say it white" but soon sha" when i leave d'continnent" me no look back finally" am out!!

Ure d minority ya vote is nt needed..#change

Wu is goood...your sense of judgment is wack aF

Ode hif dey depend on u 2 buy deir movies dey would be broke...one kan o wo oja

Na wa o. Didn't he mention olamide, banky and Don Jazzy? Do they support PDP?

subomi if yo so called politicians knws this why are they still doing that?!! Well some youths are uneducated and they jst wanna feel the groove and catch the vibes! Becoz sososo party organised a paarty and invites their favourite artist ofcoz they might be convinced! Or coz they got their shirt signed by Badoo they might be convinced! It bad abeg this is naija celebs should nt be involved in campaigning to the masses No No No NO!!! It total desperation!

Ecetera plz if u haave got more to say or post dnt hesitate plz! They should keep being political prostitutes and u too should never relent on being activist to the masses! As for "miss new bitch" if be leader u go desperate and selfish! Prosperity for all nt for few! "Lamiracares"