Korean Air executive who turned plane around at JFK sentenced to one year in prison | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 12 February 2015

Korean Air executive who turned plane around at JFK sentenced to one year in prison

For those who have never heard this story, let me give you a summary. On Dec 5th. 2014, 40yr old Korean Air executive, Cho Hyun-ah, who is the oldest daughter of the chairman and CEO of Korean Air, Cho Yang-ho, ordered a Korean Air plane that was already taxiing to return to the gate to force a flight attendant, Park Chang-jin, off the plane because he'd served her nuts in a bag instead of a plate.

According to reports, when served the nuts, a furious Cho said the flight attendant had not followed protocol for serving in first class and screamed at him to bring out the company's in-flight service manual so he could read the proper nut-handling guidelines. When Parf failed to find it, Cho lost her cool and ordered him off the flight. Continue...

The flight attendant was forced to kneel in front of the screaming woman and beg for forgiveness. But Cho was having none of it and fired the man immediately. She then demanded the pilot turn the plane around and remove the man from it, creating a 20 minutes delay for the 250 people on-board.

When the incident was made public, people were outraged and demanded for Cho's arrest. Korean Air responded to the backlash by forcing Cho to resign her job as vice-president.

Cho and her dad (pictured left- the flight attendant Park is pictured right) later held a press conference where they issued a public apology for the incident. She bowed her head in shame and admitted in a trembling voice that she was 'sorry'. and her father later called her behaviour foolish and said he was sorry he hadn't raised her well.

Criminal charges were later brought against her. She was arrested on Dec. 30th 2014 and charged for disrupting the flight schedule, assaulting two flight attendants, coercing them and disturbing their work. She's been in custody since then.

She faced a judge yesterday and was sentenced to one year in prison after the district court in Seoul ruled that she had illegally altered the course of the plane, judging that an aircraft was 'in flight' from the moment it begins to move.

149 comments:

Na wah

Serves her right....some people b feeling like a mini-god

Serves her rite (Y) 1st to comment :D

I bet this will never happen in Naija.

Arrogance at its peak..can u imagine..if men wia God sha..

eka said...

wow......that`s serious
I thought she publicly apologised already,
2 me d sentence is a bit harsh...

Mac JahFrend said...

Good for her.

Choi. But she apologised and reparations were made. They are harsh over there

nicky Skimpy said...

Can such justice ever prevail in my country Nigeria? No way!!!

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

Can this ever happen in Nigeria,only the poor a tried in a law court, the rich do anything and nothing happens, the naija Elite take note nobody is above the law.

Dese Asians so mean spirited

Look at her mouth demanding nut serving protocol. Anu Mpama! Mtcheew
...Mama J...

Angela Judy said...

Equality before the law; and some where in Naija...

DTS WATV POWER DOES TO MOST PPLE IN D WORLD...HE KNELT TO BEG N SHE IGNORED AND STIL SHOWCASE HER POWER.DAT SERVES HER RYT.PRY DAT YOUNG MAN SHUDNT B D ONE TO HLP UR LYF TOMORW CUZ ANYTHNG CAN APEN....tomjerryswit

What a spoilt brat!

www.glowyshoes.com said...

As in ehnn

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

This is what is called hot tempered person. We will definitely learn her lessons why serving her one year jail term

Ntor!!! She deserves it,power drunk biatch

WTF. Omo, see people that don't joke with the law. Despite the public apology, she still will go to prison. I pray the day comes when Nigerians rich wouldn't oppress the poor and everybody treated equally.

K-REX said...

Foolish woman, feeling ur father is rich ehe! go to jail.

Serves her right

issues inside an aircraft are not usually taken lightly, not sure how she thought there wont be consequences.

This is what you get in a country that has a system that works, when you are held accountable for your action. Where lawyers and judges have integrity. Where the rich can't oppress the poor. I pray this country gets there. Vote wisely....

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

This is only obtainable in yankee
If it's in 9ja it would happen and no1 wld bat an eyelid cos she'd definitely b above d law and besides na her papa get d airline...serves hher right tho cos that was a foolish act,d fact that she's privileged doesn't mean she should be a bigot mtcheeeew

Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com said...

Good for her.

ndidiamaka said...

IDIOTIC HUMAN BEING AT 40YRS, THINKING SHE'S A TIN gOD NONSENSICALLY HISSING.........EGU

Zamani said...

Hehe. Isn't one year too much. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

People can be so intoxicated by power, she want to disgrace d attendant, God come disgrace her instead. Linda take note!

Drunk in power. She will become humble after serving her jail term.
@Carlos via Nokia Lumia

It can't happen in Nigeria

She should have handled it in a better way but the flight attendance also didnt do his job.. People pay a fortune for first class

This is what is called hot tempered person. She will definitely learn her lessons why serving her one year jail term

Dat serves her right, so proud n arrogant

Maybe she's been asking the fine guy out and he no gree...etc

A place where discipline is upheld.
serves her right.

Rich man wahala.

Wicked woman,that serves her right...imagine

#abbytohxoft

I have to points to those of you saying the punishment was a bit harsh because she apologised. First, she didn't forgive the air attendant who knelt and begged for forgiveness. Secondly, the worst air accident of all time happened due to the arrogance of a dutch pilot on a runway in 1987. People must learn the harsh way sometimes!

Wow!!! Datz justice at its peak!!! Can such really happen in Nigeria? Wow, good lesson 2 all dem demi-gods.

If we can learn from that. To make more income visit http://incomebite.com/?user40304

SERVE HER RIGHT! THEY THINK THEY OWN THE WORLD.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Lin lin shey be una don see country way dey work a country devoid of corruption a county were rules work and its applicable to all and sundry if na niaja d girl go go scot free nothing go happen chai Nigeria wat a nation.upon say d gal papa na him get the airline and she be vice president yet she land jail but na strong chick she turn plane around dey suppose fire the damn pilot that should no wen a plane is already outbound or is already taxiing nothing can halt it except medical emergency or security risk or engine malfunction rubbish people

Because of 'NUT' smh

Apologies b wetin? Let her rest in jail dt way she ll learn fast

A spoilt kid will always be a spoilt no matter hw old yu are.... Foolish woman. I wish they could have sentence her for five yrs.....

Possibly

Goodluck Till2019 said...

Nobody is above the law in a country with strong institutions.

Still on the matter.

"I dint raise her well" wot an answer from Dad...1 year sentence! She is lucky

If it does, the attendant may get a job with Don jazzy. Lol

OKORO UPGRADED

My dear things we look at as just mistakes some time could make others cry blood.
This did not happened in Nigeria where the law do not hold.

Stillo

If only u understand d gravity of what she did

We will get there

See cursing.....choii LIB READERS sabi curse people o.......nawa o

:::::::::::::::::::::::QUEENMAYA:::::::::::::::::::::::::

serves her right! foolish woman..its indeed true that power intoxicates and corrupts.

Attendant was wrong. She was wrong for turning the plane. She is getting her punishment. How many of these LIB readers ranting here won't do worse. Make ur point and quit the beef.

Serves her right. All dese spoilt kids who tink oda humans are below dem deserves it.

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Serves her right, she acted like she was larger than life...

Hmm..women sha.like to show thier self.

If only u understand d gravity of what she did

Totally agree with u...

That was harsh and bad judgement. Just like cutting the hand of a man that stole a cow. A fine or Dismissal should have been enough.

I look forward 2 dt day

I can bet she only apologized cos she was asked to. Such a person won't do that on her own volition.

She tinks it's her fathers parlour.

I have been waiting to hear what the Korean airline involved in this will do to this spoilt brat. I hope she learns from her mistake, while she is serving her sentence. A simple lifestyle takes you far in life.

This can never happen in Naija. I remember when Jimoh Ibrahim fired a flight attendant in air nigeria for serving his wife before him. Even though the poor girl was following procesure o. Naija my naija. If men were gods!

SUPERVISOR said...

IF SHE WAS THE DAUGHTER OF THE OWNER OF A NIGERIAN AIRLINE, NOTHING WILL HAPPEN!!!

Wow. The daughter of a chebol..lol..well,good for her

prettiyz said...

See what her stupid show of power got her,next time u will treat pple under u with respect not regarding their status

Most def not... Nigeria is a lawless country, besides we don't have a national airline if we did, it will go un purnished.... Well they have laws and it's a lesson that NO ONE is above the law... Hope the steward got his job back tho...

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

Can this ever happen in Nigeria,only the poor a tried in a law court, the rich do anything and nothing happens, the naija Elite take note nobody is above the law.

Discipline served right, wow

Onyx's Girlfriend (he isn't gay pls) said...

Dat serves her right, she is sick in d head. #happythurs

Wen will naija do dis ???

Good for her, if nah Nigeria now them go use money cover everything.

K.Adebayo said...

She must be nuts!
Serves her right.

uwa said...

I wonder what she was thinking that led to that drama . Less than her 5 minutes rant and fame fetched her a long HAD I KNOW VISIT BEHIND BARS & HER IMAGE .
If is in my naija ,the pilot will be the one in jail .
Sorry dear .Don't worry,when you're done with your sentence,you'll be forgiven and your popularity,Sky Rocking .

She would have been free if it happened in Nigeria. This is a country where people are held accountable for their sins.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Well, she was angry when she was served 'some nuts'. Now they are going to serve her 'some jail term'. Her reaction? I just wonder.

better

Pride goes before a fall. Text Fortune to 33020.

kanma said...

Serves her right.....since she didn't accept d apology of d flight attendant on board. why should hers be accepted. Mscheeew

ayodolapo said...

Did u say a bit harsh. That sentence to me is perfect.

For blogspot n wordpress secrets, visit www.esthaweb.blogspot.com . For online money making tips, visit the blog.

Witches are everywhere,not only in the Village. If. I were d judge I would have given her @list 3yrs! spoilt brat!

Good for her! Too much hyping

This is what we see in a PDP led government. Soon they will start blaming APC for everything..

know thats discipline. everyone must behave well and not think they have the right to behave anyhow because they have money. nigeria pplsss learn from that. governors sons and daughters behaving any how. beware beacuse change is coming else, u will b served hot beans just the way this babe was served

Ehe before viewing the pictures I have imagined their faces ,and there is no difference from what I have imagined. They all look like what I see in Korean Movies #Rotfl

REXOVIC said...

good judgement!

luvlyn said...

I wish diz can be done in naija to those so cal superiors

Haha,it was called the 'nut rage case' she's a spoilt brat, she got what she deserved. This is a society where nobody is above the law.

joystickextender@gmail.com said...

Silly girl,m sure she will learn some lesson behind bars

Meanwhile email me to know how to enlarge your joystick and stop premature ejac n let your woman respect you

That's a sane society where people are made to pay for their indiscretion. visit www.konga.com/Elevensept for that lovely gadget

Spoilt little 40 year old brat

Buh in nigeria!

LET HER FORM AGAIN NA.SHE DEY FEEL, GOOD FOR HER

NICE TO HEAR THAT.SHE DESERVES WHAT SHE GOT....AKA....HAPPY

Dis is a country where no one is "above d law". I hope our law enforcement agencies can learn from dis? Even our Judges too

Olatee

Skipper25 said...

I bet u it can....

See talk o..Well,serves her right.

Phewww

Shut up!

Serious minded country
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

NigerianStyles said...

VERY FUNNY HEARD IT ON THE RADIO, SERVES HER RIGHT

SUPPORT US

http://applytojobs.blogspot.co.uk

Collins Uwadia said...

IF THIS HAPPENS IN NIGERIA, THEM NO BORN ANYBODY WELL TO EVEN QUESTION HER, IF MY SWEET HEART POST IT ON HER BLOG, AM SURE THEY WILL ARREST HER OR SUE HER FOR DEFORMATION OF CHARACTER, THAT'S COUNTRY THAT HAS RESPECT FOR LAW.

Flight attendant! Dummy! I bet u will do worse. All these spoilt kids sef. #smh

Very good .Thats a country where their judiciary system is working.If it is Nigeria OYO.

Nigeria and Africa as a whole ve a long way to go in d area of obeying and maintaining law and order.U c dat intimidating some 1 in d cause of doing his or her job is an offence which is punishable, but he in Nigeria it is d other way round d bourgeois delight in humiliating and intimidating pple as dey carry out their job functions. God pls purge my country Nigeria of all dat is evil in actions, character and person.God pls purify Nigeria and Africa as a whole, we r d laughing stock of d continent.

Na wa o.

Heard about it then...she's totally drunk with power, serves her right!

Spoilt brat!

This is why I love Asian cultures! There is such a thing as bringing shame to your family name and bearing the consequences of that! Some even commit suicide when they have disgraced themselves. Very good! No show of favoritism or nepotism!

Jolly said...

I have never seen my comments on linda blog. Anyway Buhari is coming to instill this kind of discpline in Nigeria. Sai Buhari.

Lol. Pun intended?

Hw could she ave treated d guy like dat so rude

Element says; if na Naija nobody would have the gut to do this shit to a flight attendant, don't ask me why

Tay said...

JUSTICE!!!! Something that other countries not just Nigeria need to learn about! We need to set the right example that money, power and position does not excuse foolish behavior!

Law's r respected over there...
Come and try dis in Nigeria and see hw far u go.

Change scholar said...

For those complaining about the sentence of one year, understand the issue. The sentence is for putting 250 lives at risk not for maltreating her staff.

Why? It's her company. So if Richard Branson was on a virgin flight that didn't follow specific customer care rules he should keep quiet?

She was defending her brand. Extreme, yes, but that's what it was. Maybe it's negligence like that that grows and leads to asian flights falling out of the sky.

If that lady was in Nigeria, she would have walked free.that is an example of a country with. Strong judicial system.

Did this really happen, the gal should sue him to court.
VIVACIOUS

Money madness

Don't compare that country with Nigeria, Nigeria is lawless country.

I hope our govt learns from this. #stupidcorruptsystem#

Victoria said...

Sorry anonymous 2: 46, this is not nigeria where play blame game, every action has a consequence and the actors must bear the responsibility.

Bullshit

Okay...Good for her.

twenty4yu@yahoo.com

Okay...Good for her.

twenty4yu@yahoo.com

Okay...Good for her.

twenty4yu@yahoo.com

A man lost his job for servin nuts in a bag, knelt and still apologised to this spoilt brat... what is she? Mini god? It serves her right joor

Mumu!
Wetin concern PDD and APC for this post?????

<< LIB Addict >>

Just d right punishment 4 her stupid behavior

Slave labourer. 1year nor reach.

Put other people's lives at risk because of her inconsequential issue.

This 1 that's talking... do u think apology solves evrytin?

pixy said...

And I hope she gets fat eating all d *nuts* that would be served *on a plate* in jail

Aburo Patience Jonathan Badluck of Otuoke. Satanic attitude and behaviour.

Chigo said...

If it is in Naija, d reverse wld ve been d case. She wld ve been promoted join.Lol!

Naija she una dey hia how dem take dey treat such cases. ...thumbs up to the Korean government and the father of the spoilt old , single and frustrated botch!

They respect law in their country....unlike us....

@ anonymous 3.18pm..u are absolutely right..
She would never have apologised ay her own volition. ...am very sure some of the the staff of the Korean air company will be celebrating her jail sentence....Happy valentine Korean airways. .this is ur best valentine gift...

some women can be wicked.

Sammy said...

EGO!!!
people should learn to hide their ego.

Lifematters-Mattersoflife(PEOPLE AND SOCIETY) said...

Train up your child in the right way then she can attempt to heed, abi see Kristina Bobby now, Americans should learn and we all should learn from this , discipline your children not destroy them