The school visits, a key
component of the Dettol School Hygiene Programme (SHP) initiative, is targeted
at driving home the key message of proper handwashing culture as the most
cost-effective strategy to reduce potential death-causing illnesses such as
diarrhea and other respiratory diseases often caused by germs and poor hygiene.
On Friday In Lagos, the SHP train
berthed at Chrisland School, Ikeja during the school’s inter-house sports
competition with Dettol Brand Ambassador and veteran Nollywood actress,
Patience Ozokwor popularly known as Mama G, leading the highly interactive campaign.
Through the deployment of
audio-visual kits and memorable sing-along songs, the students fully
participated in the do-it-yourself six steps of effective handwashing, and they
commended Dettol for the initiative.
While encouraging the students,
parents and teachers to imbibe the culture of regular handwashing in order to
live healthy and be active, Ozokwor reminded them that germs posed serious
danger to human health and they could cause illnesses such as diarrhea, flu,
fever, cough and catarrh in addition to avoidable death.
She advised, “Nothing else
compares to having good health. We are unhappy when we or our loved ones fall
sick; we go through pains and unable to go about our regular activities. Germs
are found everywhere; on the playground, in toilets and in trash can. It is
therefore important that after we play with friends or use the toilet or trash
rubbish, we must wash our hands properly with Dettol soap and clean water.”
She affirmed Dettol’s commitment
to the continued empowerment of Nigerians through innovative solutions that
could bring about healthier living.
Speaking on the significance of
the Dettol School Hygiene Programme, the Marketing Director, West Africa,
Reckitt Benckiser, Mr. Oguzhan Silivrili, enjoined Nigerians to embrace standard
solutions such as regular handwashing as one of the cost-effective ways to
protect themselves and loved ones against illness-causing germs.
“Solutions that do not protect
from all 100 types of germs are substandard and we at Reckitt Benckiser advocate
that people do not protect themselves with substandard solutions but with gold
standard solution. Dettol is the only antibacterial brand which has been proven
to protect from up to 100 illness causing germs which is why we advocate that
Nigerians do not take a risk with the lives of their loved ones but rather,
adopt the gold standard kind of protection they can get – Dettol,” he said.
Silivrili added that the SHP was
one of the numerous platforms put in place by Dettol to help Nigerians to live healthier
life as well as empower them to remain active at all times. He said over 3
million children across Nigeria have been reached with the message of
handwashing since the inception of the programme in 2009.
On his part, the Marketing
Manager, West Africa, Reckitt Benckiser, Mr. Ahmed Shah, stated that “Dettol
has been reaching Nigerians with different grassroots activities such as the
School Hygiene SHP, the New Mum
Programmes (NMP) which has also reached approximately 5 million new mums in the
hospitals since inception and Health On Wheels (HOW) which is a mobile
clinic.
“Over the years of having these
programmes, we do not sell products to targets, rather, we enlighten them, give
them brochures to help them recall hygiene messages and we give them free products. All of these programmes form the pillar of
this Campaign and are conveying one singular message of upholding best hygiene
practices.”
Shah said further that, “For the
School Hygiene Programme (SHP), we believe that the formative age is the best
time to inculcate the habit of good hygiene practice in a person; this is the
reason we have chosen to work closely with schools pan-Nigeria to empower the
children with hygiene messages so as they grow older, it remains a part of them
and they can pass it on to generations after them.”
Commenting on the initiative, the
Sectional Head, Gopherwood School, Lagos, Mr. Michael Dairo, commended Reckitt
Benckiser for being innovative. “Dettol visits our school often
and this has really enlightened the pupils on how to wash their hands. Whenever they go to the toilet or after
playing on the ground, you see them rush to the tap to wash their hands with
Dettol soap. It’s a part of them now,” he said.
The Head Teacher, The Royal
Masters School, Ikeja, Mrs. Olanrewaju Anugo, also affirmed the positive impact
which the programme has had on the pupils, saying “Ever since Dettol started
educating our pupils to embrace proper hygiene culture, there has been drastic
reduction in the number of visit to the sickbay and pupil abstention from
school on the ground of sickness. Dettol has gone a long way in ensuring that
the pupils and the entire society are conscious of their health.”
Assistant Brand Manager, Dettol, Tolulope
Olaoye, ; Nollywood Actress and Brand
Ambassador, Dettol, Patience Ozokwor (Mama G) with pupils of Chrisland School
Opebi.
|
31 comments:
Mama D, I see u
Wetin now,? Na Epistle be this now
Good!!
Make dem carry their waka reach public schools as well cos d children wey I dey see here na aje burra kids. Linda take note!
good for the company
Saving us since before.
Linda,i wan fuck ur toto
Hmmmmm
Good health is in our hands.
Pamscrib.blogspot.com
Mama G for general I spot you
•••••••QUEENMAYA•••••••
Kudos 2 dem
Thats nice.....
Health is wealth. It's good they catch them young.
And who is this faceless mother fucker? Keep dreaming!!! Glorified fool.
Health is wealth. It's good they catch them young.
Cute kids......
I love mama G dettol advert
Anyway is a good idea
Health is wealth
Ok nice.. But hand sanitizer has rushed out of the market the same way it rushed in! Lolll
Hand washing, a preventive measure to so many disease. Nice initiative from dettol
good soap good initiative
Good marketing strategy
Thumbs up to them...
Nice one.
Who read am, Mk she/he explain biko. Too long
Good initiative!
Good.