Today in Nigeria's history: Gen Gowon and wife visit the Queen of England | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 18 January 2015

Today in Nigeria's history: Gen Gowon and wife visit the Queen of England

Queen Elizabeth II & her husband pictured with former Head of State, Gen Gowon & wife, Victoria, at a State Banquet at Buckingham Palace in honour of Gen Gowon in June 1973. Photo credit - SeeMeSeeNigeria

100 comments:

Epic

I hear. # oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Queen Eliza's been around along time, Charlie may never be King of England...

Hmmmmm, some 42 years ago. Dem Neva born me den, so I don't know what to say. Linda take note!

So wat do we do about it?see me see wahala o.

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Loool...their dressing is nice

Visit my blog

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

Hehehe laughing out loud at Mrs Gowon's attire

Nice one.

Will Queen Elizabeth II take them to paradise after snaping picture wit her)????

If am not wrong, he got married to his wife during d war...

Nice pix... Lili, grt job. Keep it up.

towsynesouchie said...

Lovely!

Ok #onelovefromsnow#

De wife is not bad ooo. As far back as 1973. #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

Nice! Good of you Linda Nwanyi oma.

Lovely pics.

Wooow they all look so beautiful.

Princess G said...

The good old days

Nice to see they represented Nigerian culture well.

Is nice bt I didn't c any tin queen abt dis woman!! Is all gud!

Eeerrmm.... has Jonathan met the Queen??

Beautiful First Lady Victoria
Handsome chap Gowon

@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

CHERRY said...

Cool!

Faith Makky said...

Hmmmm .... Those days

SWILL MARTIN said...

Queen Eliza really lukd gud then ooo,olda aga na yab shaaa.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Hot legs on mama gowon

Good to no

See cowboy tins. Funny photo.

@Sophia Stephen

I thought is a recent pix am gonna see

3years after killing 3.5 million Biafrans. This man a is a devil, human value devaluer I hate you Gowon. He never wanted any igbo alive

talk about blast from the past!
pls visit my blog...

Liflblog.WordPress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERY DAY!

Ochuko Arhiakpore said...

Mrs Gowon is hot with her sexy legs. Beautiful lady

GEJ till 2019

!! BIG BROTHER SAYS SO !!

So there were colored cameras in 1973. Thats great. This outfits r still in vogue o. Lovely pix.

Chop Chop said...

He doesn't show off like the rest of them.

seun said...

Wow! I do like Gowon, he's seen it all

hallyberry said...

Wow! Lovely

They wanted to congratulate him afta nearly wiping out all the easterners abi. Dere is God oo

They all look happy

Lovely pics

The wife is pretty

APPLELIPX said...

If it were This generation of youths, they wont 4get to tell victoria how she forgot to bleach her knee

Waooo this Gowon wife fine no be small. Baby la' hute.
VIVACIOUS

So prince Charles has being tailing his mom all his life? Chai!!! The woman should die already and just let him ascend the throne, even for a moment!

Epic!!!

Jeni_zee said...

Ooo I love history, they look young n fine here

well......that shows mission accomplished you've killed the Biafrans,come and take your price for retaining our territory,those would be the Queens words,that has been the problem of Nigeria..f00king terrorists...

#Linda's give away

well......that shows mission accomplished you've killed the Biafrans,come and take your price for retaining our territory,those would be the Queens words,that has been the problem of Nigeria..f00king terrorists...

#Linda's give away

those days.....mrs Gowon is pretty.

princess said...

Nice!

How many LIB readers witnessed Gowon's regime? Few i guess...love reading historical books. Good to know sha
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Wow !!! Look at the first lady's attire, isn't that what our ladiess are rocking now?..old school come back. ...

It's what we are rocking oh. The same thought came to my mind. Nice though.

Dayo said...

Amazing how far we have gone.

MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.

Lol. Nice one
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

NaijaKOKO said...

Just to let you know that this guys are on point. Naijakoko.com u know.... #wink

So cool

NaijaKOKO said...

Just to let you know that this guys are on point. Naijakoko.com u know.... #wink

That is not true

Blame Ojukwu for that

Na wa for Ojukwu

Gen Gowan`s wife dressing is amazing this is the way our women should be dressing to occasions is lovely and she is so beautiful and adorable on that photo.

Pls goan siddon.
Juliet Take note!

D first lady's attire is d oleku we r rocking now!

Beautiful

kay said...

Gowon and Wife were very Good looking..credit joor

Linda's Elder Sister. said...

Haahahaha ur funny,u wan make she die abi.

U scarce dis days, where u go.

Journalism...History in a hurry. Lynda u hv done well with this post, u indeed deserve an award. 70's in 2000

Haahahaha ur funny,u wan make she die abi.

Na desame tin wey dem rock den ,na him we still dey wear up till now.

Redcandy said...

Those were the days when Nigeria had some respect. I doubt they will want to organise a banquet in honour of our leader now. No personal beef against Uncle Jo oh, I'm just saying.

Redcandy
****www.idoncomeagain.com****

Classic first lady with beautiful elegant legs

Yahgozie said...

dont mind the devil, Bunch of genocidist. Igbo bloods will never let nigeria progress never ever, my ancestors will never let peace rain this contraption

Yahgozie said...

Devil called GOWON genocidist you shall never go free never not while I'm alive

Once upon a time

wonderful

Waooooo

egowein said...

General you carry eye go market ohhhh....
Good looking couple

She does not have to die. She can abdicate. One of the European countries Queen did it for her son last year.

today in nigeria history and you put june 1973at a banquet

The blood of all the innocent women and and children that u and ur Government starved/killed during the Nigeria/Biafra civil war will never allow u have peace..Ur day at the war crimes is still coming,shamless blood sucker..

While in power, you are ontop of the World

This is a very nice picture.

they both look lovely in that yoruba attire. #proudlyyoruba

#secret admirer

they both look lovely in that yoruba attire. #proudyoruba

#secret admirer

....and he went in agbada.. typical

omo so this oleku style na old school love her style sha

They look nice. I wish Dame Patience would learn from Mrs Gowon about the dignity of a first lady. There's no shame in being 'Mrs'. Why does it have to be 'Dame?'

Oleku