Nigerian army accuses Sahara Reporters of being Boko Haram's media arm | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 28 December 2014

Nigerian army accuses Sahara Reporters of being Boko Haram's media arm

The Nigerian Army in a statement released on its website yesterday December 27th accused online media hub, Sahara Reporters of being the propaganda media for terrorism & Boko Haram in Nigeria. Find the military statement below...
The attention of the Nigerian Army has been drawn to a publication on the website of Sahara Reporters with the caption “Nigerian Army Presents Unverified “Lt Col” To Refute Petition Against Military Hierarchy”.  It is noteworthy but sad and unfortunate that Sahara Reporters has committed itself to support for terrorism and fighting Nigeria, its people, its military and particularly the Nigerian Army."
Before Sahara Reporters published their purported document described as petition from Lt Col Wende, a serving Commanding Officer, the Nigerian Army conducted a thorough investigation on the document involving other security and intelligence agencies. The process confirmed that the serving officer was not the author of the petition.  Yesterday, the officer dissociated himself from the so-called petition in a press conference he personally attended.  While reputable media organizations were on hand to engage the officer, Sahara Reporters being a faceless medium, preferred to remain faceless and was not represented. Sahara Reporters sadly, but predictably, and in fulfilment of its support for terrorism published in its website a fabrication in which it referred to the officer as “unverified”. How absurd!

Sahara Reporters has strived hard to present itself as a propaganda medium for terrorism and Boko Haram in particular.  It is with this in mind, that the Nigerian Army conducted a press conference in Maiduguri in which the officer who appeared for the press conference is Lt Col Wende, a serving officer of the Nigerian Army.  Since the officer has clearly dissociated himself from the document, it makes sense that the so-called petition is the handiwork of Sahara Reporters. With time, terrorism in Nigeria and Sahara Reporters will be defeated by the collective will of the good people of Nigeria.

OLAJIDE LALEYE
Brigadier General
Director, Army Public Relations

60 comments:

After Feb 2015...if I hear...!!mtcheew

Me too suspects SR..

Sahara reporter has being controversial since day 1.

Don't get tired of life ... Seek for spiritual guidance : Click

Lol Mumu Nigerian army, Sahara Reporters is the most reputable media outlet in Nigeria and discern minds will take their reportage ahead of the Nigerian army propaganda and falsehood. Those guys in New York are the best thing to happen to Nigeria and they will keep putting all you looters and propagandists in Nigeria. If you guys like present a fake soldier in the place of Lt. Wende. Go Sowore, go Sahara Reporters

Mumu army

There is no smoke without a fire....a lot of evil...terrorism and some negative APC shit are associated with sahara reporters, but they keep denying..they better not mess with the Nigerian army Bcos they won't like the outcome some Yoruba niggas be acting without there brain,the fact that the Yoruba he-goat doesn't live in Nigeria is not a criteria for him to be spewing rubbish,he can still be dealt with over there

Oga u should be busy serving lives

Okay oh

Abeg Oga BG, go destroy boko first then I fit listen to your palava with Sahara. Rubbish!

I believe them jare. Those sahara reporters are too forward for my liking

Whether this allegation is true or not, no news outlet has kept the government in recent times on its toes like Sahara reporters. Yes they tend to appear salacious; anti-the present dispensation but the core of the work has being in line with the true spirit of news reportage! You could say the same of Aljazeera, they were the outlet that almost always got Osama bin Laden's video releases back then!

Nigeria army should attack Boko Haram and not the media.

***ECHOMASS***

Oh!

Y b faceless and wht r dey hiding if tney r not in support of BH.

#Royal Priesthood#

this Sahara reporters better mind what they publish before they arrest them for suspect

Wanna do war of words with the Media? Be my guest.

General said...

Hpe dy cant pull strings to tke it down.

Sahara reporters are not faceless and they do not support Boko Haram. It's so stupid that anyone who criticizes Jonathan or the Army are automatically Boko Haram supporters. Most of the reporters are even Christians from the South (Igbos and Yorubas)

Very soon then,we gonna find out who is who

A nice way of Pdp getting rid of SR. So funny and stupid. SR should sue them for defamation.

Nigerian Army should stop being cynical and rid themselves of the corruption that has made them consistently lose the battles against a rag-tag boko haram "army."

Sahara Reporters only report the news as they see it and can't be blamed for your failure. It's founder and publisher is even a Christian so i wonder why he would be a mouthpiece for Boko Haram.

Mind you, SR is operating from New York, so if American govt suspects them of any wrongdoing, the FBI would be the first to act.

Neks said...

>>>> Accusation coming late, I had thought so in ages. <<<<

Cynthia Iyede said...

And that is how the trading of blames continue. What is their bases for this allegation?

This as been the major problem of this government,they know how to fight the wrong fight,now you want to put your failure on a reporter,you that is with all the armor is crying that someone with keypad is with boko haram,what a shame. nigerian army as reduced to nothing,thank God that is not war against another country by now we would have been history**EMZEALLOUS**

I actually was thinkin the same about this Sahara Reporters too. They are so anti-government and very pro-BH.

So Sahara Reporters will take the blame now it's alright I just can't wait for this BH menace to stop #onelovefromSnow#

OBEYA FRIDAY's Official Website said...

FOR GOD SAKE, THEY SHOULD STOP ALL THIS TRASH. NOT EVEN SAHARA, THEY THEMSELVES KNOW AND HAVE HAND IN THIS BOKO HARAM ISSUE. LETS CALL SPADE A SPADE

Sugarvie said...

Abeg joor... The military should go and TAKE SEVERAL SEATS!

#SUGAR#

Useless soldiers that are very good in battering innocent civilians but find it very very difficult to deal with BH menace

I sense trouble for Sahara reporters...

So this is wat our army has been reduced to? Chai

Nigerian army should go and fight boko haram and stupid the silly social media thing..wot a pity, this is not the army i used to know

Sahara Reporters is the media wing of APC while Boko Haram is d military wing...they work together hand in hand...this is a known fact

Hmmmmmm,ur quick to brin out report of wat sahara reporters said,use dat energy n find boko haram.

MR EDDY said.
Nigerian army should go focus on the tax ahead instead of pointing accusing fingers.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u merry Christmas and a happy new year.

MR EDDY said.
Nigerian army should go focus on the tax ahead instead of pointing accusing fingers.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u merry Christmas and a happy new year.

Lol.soo even Sahara reporters will be defeated.

The duty of Nigerian Army is to fight crime and protect the citizens from terrorists...Oga go and fight crime and stop ranting and bashing journalists and degrading and shaming Nigerian Army
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Put ur energy into work n stop accusing people

Rubbish

Very true. Sahara Reporters aka APC aka Boko Haram. GEJ till 2019.

Ur a fool to say that. Bcos u no carry gun enter bush go fight Na why u dey talk trash. Smh rubbish

Suspect SR? SR has always being like this from Day one.....Army should live up to there responsibility instead of point fingers at a mere SR please

Army go and crush Boko Haram instead of a mere media house....shuu!

This is my problem with Nigerian army, you leave the substance and you are pursuing shadows.The last I checked, FOI bill is in place in Nigeria. They should get their house in order and face the BH menace. Let us even assume that SR is their media outfit, how has that got to do with the army's inability to end the crisis? Nigeria we hail thee! SMH

Sahara Reporters need to be investigated on its source of information and sponsor, because he has done damage more than repair

3 Things That Make People Cry

3 Things Christian Churches Can Do to Fight Ebola

Recovering The Lost Art Of Personal Evangelism -Mark 16:15-20

The more reason why this Govt. Of GEJ is dump n clueless, if APC is behind boko haram as you keep saying why can't the govt arrest them free Nig from this menace.

Sahara reporters have always bn controversial and faceless but their news and report is always true.

Steady said...

Shut up mumu, what do you know...ode

Steady said...

How I wish he said handiwork of APC
.. I am suspecting them.... Well, I support you

I am saying it again. You and your stupid comment. Can you make your opinion without generalizing.

"This is a known fact"; you can say that while you sit on that your chair. I don't know why some Nigerians or Libers like dishing out emotional and subjective thoughts.

Nigerian Army shouldn't be a failure. Upon all the 1trillion Naira defense budget or thereabout, what's the result. Corruption Goodluck Jonathan

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

What has that gat to do wif the topic bro anonymous?

Nigerian Army.. Offspring of the GCFR himself.always looking for who to blame... Naive set of people without a sense of direction.

Oluwatobi Adegboyega said...

Let this people stop this blaming and deal with the terrorists first. You can also visit my blog fantastic070.blogspot.com for amazing gists.

WD said...

Most fools here keep saying 9ja military should first fight boko haram and not media.
Wat they do not know is that wars are worn this day with media power and not physical power. for example this stupid sahara keeps demoralizing our army wen they are risking the lives for us.
God will judge u Buhari and co.

DIPIKUGBE said...

In my honest assessment even though I think the military is a mess right now. Sahara reporters is a very unprofessional platform. They push unverified reports as facts and they sensationalize without balance or common sense censorship. it's terrible they add no value to web content development